Skip to main content

Full text of "Commercial and architectural St. Louis"

See other formats


NYPL RESEARCH LIBRARIES 



3 3433 08192186 2 





yr - *-^> 



P 



""h^.yvul. 




\Ma 



V 






Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2008 with funding from 

Microsoft Corporation 



http://www.archive.org/details/commercialarchitOOorea 



(S01{!lBGRCIHi; 



p^' 



^ 



HBCHITECTiRHIL 



ST. Koais. 



:X.ILTJSTI^^ TEID. 



JONES & OREAR, Publishers. 
1888. 




INDEX 
FOLLOWING CLOSING PAGES. 



Copyrighted bi/ G. W. Orear, 188S. 



NIXOX-JONES PRINTING C'»., 
FRINTERS. 



BECKTOLD .t CO., 
BINDERS. 






» 1*; 



5 PIE many attractive architectural features added to St. 
Louis in the past few years, and the growth of her 
commercial and manufacturing interests justifies tlie publica- 
tion of this work, which sets forth many of these improvements 
in as brief manner as possible. 



THE WEW YORK 
PUBUC LIBRARY 



innfgirr 




Then and Now. 



Library 



In 1763 Mons. 
Pierre Laclede 
Liguest explored 
the Mississippi 
river to the mouth of the Mis- 
souri, noting on his wa}' a 
particular point to which he 
returned and after marking 
the site as was the custom, by cut- 
ting pieces from the trees, continued 
his way down stream. In the 
archives preserved by the Mercantile 
— journal of M. Chouteau — is the 



following : — 

" You will go and disembark at the place where we marked the 
trees ; you will commence to clear the place and build a large 
shed, to contain the provisions and tools, and some little cabins to 
lodsje the men." This was said bv M. Laclede Lio-uest to M. 
Chouteau — the instructions were carried out and the first house 
was built on the site of about where Barnum's Hotel now stands. 
Thus began the great city we have to-day. The first blow of the 
axe occurred on the ]5th of February, 1764, and the party con- 
sisted of a hand full of men; on June loth, 1888, the cit}' of St. 



6 



COMMERCIAL AND 



Louis contains 500,000 souls, and instead of cabins, as her 
founders had, she is a city of magnificent architecturally built ed- 
ifices. St. Louis is situated geographically in the very heart of 
the American Republic and besides the location being a central 
one as regards the vast extent of territory constituting the whole 
United States, the city lies in the very heart of the greatest agri- 
cultural area known to civilization, with Illinois on the east, a 
state where every foot of soil is tillable, and produces 3'early 
increasing tons of cereals. With Iowa in the north, a state whose 
corn product is the greatest of any ^ ^^.^_ 

of the states, and with corn the great ^ * 

American Hog is made. With Kan- ^ 

sas on the west turning out 3'early 
millions of bushels of wheat and 
corn and a state whose agricultural 
importance is rapidly growing to, if 
not already the largest of the states. 
With Arkansas on the south turn- 
ing out a wealth of cotton from the 
soil, and an almost unlimited supph' 
of yellow pine and other fine timbers 
from her forests who can say but 
that St. Louis is happily located. 
But these are only a moiety of the 
valuable territory' that pours its 
wealth into the commercial channels 
of St. Louis. The states and ter- 
ritories lying west of Kansas are 
naturally feeders to her commerce, all the states of the Missis- 
sippi valle3% also, should look to St. Louis as their mart of 
supply. A little to the south and west lies the great Empire 
state (Texas), the resources of which have not as yet been 
determined. With every variety of soil and a temperature equal 
to the "glorious climate of California" the citizens of Texas 
have hardly a conception to what magnitude their state will yet 
attain, and all the trade of that vast empire should flow into the 




Old Spanish Fort. 



AKCHITECTUHAL ST. LOUIS. 



gates of St. Louis. Just beyond the Lone Star state lies a region 
sc rich in mineral and so poor in all that goes to make a progres- 
sive race — as viewed by the American eye — that the merchants 
or manufacturers who instill into the people of Mexico new ideas 
of husbandry, of mining, and of living will turn a trade for Ameri- 
can products, and St. Louis products particularly, that will reap 
a rich reward. The early history of St. Louis is replete with 
interesting incidents, adventures, etc., and if it were not for the 
fact that the age in which we live cares not foi* past ages, some of 
them would be referred to. There are a few old scenes of St. 

Louis in early days 
that will be repro- 
duced here, more 
for the purpose of 
comparison than to 
bring to memory 
things of a long ago. 
While there still re- 
mains some few of 
the ancient, or 
buildings c o n- 
structed in the early 
histor}'' of St. Louis, 
only one or two are 
of sufficient importance to be illustrated or referred to. The 
present age is of what we have to do, in fact the business world 
cares very little for even the day just past, unless perchance dur- 
ing its brief existence a stroke of good fortune was made or a 
great loss was felt. St. Louis was fifty years ago a frontier vil- 
lage ; to-day she is a vast city both in population, commercial im- 
portance, architectural grandeur and municipal management, 
with a trade reaching out from the AUeghanies on the east to the 
limits of civilization on the west. 

The struggling light from a world so bright, 

Dispels the darkness into day 
The radiant light that makes this world bright 

Tends westward on its way. 




Old stockade. House, Ttiird and Ulive. 



COMMERCIAL AND 



Streets, Ways and Boulevards. 



The wholesale business of the city is not confined to one district 
or street as in former times when Main, Second, Third and Cooi- 




R. L. Coleman >fe Co. German Savings Institution. 

View on Third Street South from Pine. Merchants' Exchange on the right. 

mercial streets held all the big mercantile houses. In these streets, 
however, the bulk of the wholesale grocer\^ is yet to be found ; 
also, that of cotton, iron, woodenware, wagon stock, flour mill 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 9^ 

furnishing, stoves and tinaers' stock, paints, mactiinery, etc., 
togettier with the large cotton factors, commission and wool 
firms ; besides these in these streets from Elm on the south, to 
Morgan on the north, will be found the greater number of hard- 
ware houses, paper dealers, saddlery manufacturers and sad- 
dlery hardware houses, and some of the great houses handling 
plows, agricultural implements and wheeled vehicles. Through- 
out this area the handlers of teas, coffees and spices are located 
including the principal mills for preparing, grinding and putting 
up coffees and spices. In the district bounded by Locust on the 
south. Fourth on the east, Lucas avenue north, and Eleventh, 
west, are to be found the most imposing commercial structures in 
the city. The entire wholesale dry goods business is done in- 
ide that boundary ; the bulk of the wholesale boot and shoes 
trade ; all of the wholesale hat and cap trade ; all of the wholesale 
millinery ; all of the wholesale clothing and gents' furnishing 
(distinct lines) ; all of the wholesale plate and window glass ; all 
of the wholesale woolen goods trade ; part of the wholesale hard- 
ware and wholesale saddlery, harness and hardware trade. The 
commercial structures on Washington avenue used for wholesale 
purposes are monster buildings, presenting fine architectural 
features and are the equals, if not generally superior, to buildings 
used for a like purpose in any city in the country. This fact also 
applies to the many buildings in the streets just adjacent to 
Washington avenue. 

And yet the grandeur of these palatial wholesale buildings will 
in a few years be completely surpassed. The new edifices just 
going up, some almost completed, others only partially, while 
numerous others are being excavated for, that when finished will 
make an array of wholesale houses the superior of any city's boast 
in our country. The principal retail thoroughfares are along 
Fourth street from Franklin ave. north, to Walnut street south, 
Broadway from Elm south to Franklin ave. north, except the three 
wholesale blocks between Locust and Washington ave. Olive street 
from Fourth to Grand ave. will in a short time be one continuous 
hive of the retailer ; it is now up to 12th street the home of the 



10 



COMMERCIAL AND 



fashionable retail buyer. Franklin ave. from 4th to E as ton ave. 
and Easton ave. to Grand ave. is perhaps the longest retail 
thoroughfare in the U. S. This whole wa}' is lined with retail 
shops and is the most thronged of any of the retail streets barring 




lu Forest Park. 



the two blocks on Broadway from Lucas ave. to Franklin ave. 
Market street is also a busy retail mart from Fourth to Twelfth 
and from Fourteenth to Twentieth a large amount of retail busi- 
ness is done. In the south end from the fish market along- Fourth 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 11 

to its intersection with Broadway, down Broadway to Anna street 
there is a tremendous retail business done. It will be seen from 
the distance these marts are from each other that the great jams 
experienced in other cities by the concentration of their retail 
centers is only partial!}- felt in this city and yet all these thorough- 
fares are comfortably filled each day of the year. This city is 
numbered, each block representing a hundred, and the dividing 
line is Market street north and south. The river front mves the 
starting point for the number west, therefore the stranger can easil}- 
find the way. Broadway is the main thoroughfare through the city 
north and south, beginning at Baden north, runs through the citj^ 
between 4th and 6th sts., to Carondelet on the south, giving a 
continuous line of car service of some 13 miles for a single fare of 
five cents. 

The boulevards of St. Louis, are growing rapidly and in a few 
years there will be some fine drives. 

Grand Avenue from the "Water Works on the north river to 
Carondelet on the south, will furnish a complete circuit of the 
•^city via the west end. 

LiNDELL Boulevard with its double way set on either side with 
foliage, grass plats, etc., from Grand avenue to Kings Highway 
(to Forest Park) 100 feet wide with drive way 60 feet wide of 
Telford pavement. 

Forest Park Boulevard with its 100 feet wide of drive laid out 
in park-like attractiveness. 

Page Avenue commencing at Grand, thence west for more than 
a mile. 

Locust st. from 14tb, to Grand avenue with its smooth asphalt 
and lined on either side with beautiful residences. 

Pine st. from 22d to Grand avenue laid with asphalt paving 
and handsome residences on each side and West Pine St. 
Boulevard from Grand avenue which is being improved rapidly 
and will be in the near future, as part of it is now, the handsomest 
residence way in the city, are a few of the best drives. 

Washington Avenue from Jefferson avenue to Grand avenue 
•contains many fine residences and is laid with wood paying. 



12 COMMERCIAL AND 

Delmar Avenue from Grand west is another splendid drive 
among cosy residences surrounded by ample grounds. 

Vanjueventer Place is made up of a park in which all ihe- 
residences are palatial. 




In Forest Park. 

Lafayette Avenue from Lafayette Park to Compton Hill, in and 
around Compton Hill Reservoir, and along Grand avenue in the 
vicinit}', is one of the fine residence districts. 

A few years ago a system of macadam paving prevailed. It 
was very unsatisfactory, but the city could not afford to replace 



AKCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 13 

it with the more expensive granite, wood or asptialtum. A law 
was in existence providing for the improvement of streets at the 
expense of the owners of abutting property up to a certain per- 
centage of the value of the property. Under this law finally the 
city began the general reconstruction with granite of the streets 
in the business portion of the city. As the business section of 
the city was improved, attention was turned to the driving streets 
toward the west, and their reconstruction with asphaltum and 
with wooden blocks laid on a concrete base was begun. This 
improvement has been continued since, until St. Louis has finally 
almost as perfect a system of street paving as could be wished. 

The length and character of the street improvements at the end 
•of the last fiscal year, April, 1887, was as follows: 

Macadam. feet. miles. 

Within the former City Limits of 1870 l,LS4r,432 214.85 

Within the extended new City Limits of 1876; 334,910 63.43 

Wood. 

Nicholson (old sy.stem) 2,040 .39 

Wooden blocks on concrete base 12,433 2.35 

Limestone blocks 5,223 .99 

Granite blocks 163,345 30.93 

A -phaltum blocks 509 .09 

A-phaltum pavement (Monolithic on concrete base).. 20,373 3.86 

T. Iford pavement 41,262 7.82 

Total length of improved streets April 1887. . .1,714,537 324.71 

Length of improved streets, Jan, 1, 1888, 327.38 miles. 

Since the last report of the department there has been added 
a number of miles of improvements, while others are in progress 
now, so that the record stands thus : — 

Street Improvements. — With granite pavement, complete, 
33.25 miles; in progress, 7.34. With wood pavement, complete, 
2.72; in progress, 1.50. With asphalt, complete, 3.86 ; in pro- 
gress, 0.10. 

Streets Paved with Wood: — Chestnut street and Washington 
av., from Jefferson av. to Grand av. ; Lucas av.. from Beaumont 
street to Garrison av. ; Garrison av., from Locust street to Eas- 
ton av. 

Streets Paved with Asphaltum: — Pine street, from 19th 



14 COMMERCIAL AND 

street to Grand av. ; Lucas place, from 14th street to Jefferson 
av. ; Locust street, from Jefferson av. to Ware av. ; Beaumont 
street, from Chestnut street to Locust street ; Leffingwell av., 
from Chestnut street to Locust street; Ewing av., from Chestnut 
street to Locust street ; Garrison av. , from Chestnut street to 
Locust street. 

Channing av. from Chestnut st. to Olive st. Leonard av. from 
Olive st. to Locust st. 

The length of Telford paving on Lindell Boulevard is 1.70 miles 

and cost about -$125,000 

Bridges built in the Mill creek valley over the railroad viaduct: 

12tli and Uth streets, at a cost of 56,000 

Jefferson ave., *« " " 74,000 

18th street — Tayon ave., — at a cost of 160,000 

Grand ave., when complete, " " " 450,000 




Cuurt Hou-«e, Fourth, Broadway, Chestnut aud Market Street-. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



15 



City Government and Buildings. 



The City Government is under a mayor as its chief head, who 
is elected by the people for a term of 4 years. The present mayor 
is David R. Francis, with headquarters at City Hall. The differ- 
ent wards of the city are represented in bodies who enact the 
various measures pertaining to the general control, improvement 

and c n- 
duct of the 
city. These 
bodies are 
known as 
theCouncil, 
and House 
of Dele- 
gates. The 
d e p a r t- 
m e n t s of 

the city con- 
City Hall, Eleveutli, Market and Chestnut Streets. "^ 

sist of a 

Board OF Public Improvements — which includes a president 
of the board ; a 

Street Commissioner, under whose supervision, together with 
a competent corps of assistants, the streets, ways, alleys, etc., 
are improved, graded and opened ; a 

Park Commissioner, having under him the proper force for 
the maintenance, regulation and improvement of all the parks ; a 

Sewer Commissioner, having the care of drainage under his 
management ; a 

Water Commissioner, in charge of the water works system ; a 




16 



COMMERCIAL AND 



Harbor and Wharf Commissioner, under whose management 
the tonnage of the city is looked after ; 

The Health Department — under a Health officer, through 
whom the sanitary condition of the city is kept in order ; 

The Building Department is under a commissioner. In this 
department all plans for new city buildings originate and their 
construction carried out, besides all plans and specifications for 
private buildings must be here submitted and permits granted. 
The offices of these different departments are located in the City 
Hall building. 

The FiNANCfE Department is in fact the assessor, collector and 
comptroller. The first regulates the rate of taxation ; the second 
sees to the collection of the money, the other to the proper dis- 
tribution of it. The former are located in the Court House, the 
other offices are located in the City Hall. 




Custom House and P. O., Olive, Locust, Eighth and Ninth sts. Thos. AValsh, Archt. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



IT 



Public Buildings. 



The City Hall is a monster barn, built of brick, located at 
Eleventh, Market and Chestnut streets, and if it does not fall 
down, it will be because luck is in favor of its occupants. The 
lot on which it stands would afford ample room for a building- 
commensurate with the growth and improvement of the cit^^ 

The park at 12th and 
Market has been sug- 
gested by many as the 
proper site for a City 
Hall, but the city can- 
not afford to rob the 
people in the center of 
the city of any such 
place, in fact the city 
ought to buy a half 
dozen blocks in the 
down town poor di- 
stricts, remove the rub- 
£:j^.£?/ky'. '^—'~^^^=:^:::£:::u^^^^^^^i:^^^^- \yv%\i and improvc them 

Four Courts and Jail. ^g breathing places for 

the thousands of unfortunate down towm residents or hotel guests. 
The auditor, register, inspector weights and measures, com- 
missioner of supplies, inspector of boilers, department of election 
and registration, and couiTsellor are in the City Hall. The coro- 
ner, the marshal, the city attorney and the jailer have offices at 
the Four Courts ; the public administrator is in the Temple 
building, Broadway and Walnut. 

The Court House, located in the center of the city, although 
erected many years ago, is as fine a piece of architectural con- 

'1 




.a. 



18 COMMERCIAL AND 

struction as can be found in this countiT. not excepting the 
capitol at Washington. It occupies the entire block, furnishing 
apartments for the collector, assessor, tax department of comp- 
trollers office, recorder, the several district courts, numbered from 
1 to 5, the clerks of the courts, court of appeals, probate court, 
the central fire alarm service, law library and sheriff. 

The Four Courts, a mngnificent building, contains the head- 
quarters of the police depart ment, the health department, the 
several citv courts, the court of criminal correction, first dis- 
trict police court, St. Louis criminal court, the jail and hold- 
•over. The main building fronts on Clark ave. the length of the 
block from 1 1th to 12th sts. and the architectural features of the 
structure are grand and imposing. The monster jail building is in 
the rear center while the Morgue occupies the northeast corner of 
the block, which is the propertj' of the city. 

The Custom House. — The government building in St. Louis 
has often been pronounced the most substantial in the countrv. 
When the foundations were laid the excavators found solid rock 
only partly, therefore thej^ were forced to drive piles whose ends 
would reach the bedrock. On these were laid immense granite 
stones and on these other granite blocks, for the building from 
base to dome is of this durable stone. In its spacious halls 
are the post office department, whose management is perfection ; 
the internal revenue collection department of the state, the 
United States courts and other sub-United States offices, including 
the signal service department, who have an observatory in the 
towering dome, the United States circuit clerk, district attorney, 
engineers, headquarters lighthouse inspector, inspector steam- 
boats. United States marine hospital service, sub-treasury, 
special examiner and examining surgeon of pension office, mar- 
shal and railwa}' mail service. The United States offices in St. 
Louis are the medical purveying dept., 500 North Commercial 
alley ; Q.M.dep't., 304 North Eighth street : subsistence dept., 1 12 
South Fourth street ; pay dep't., SO-t North Eighth street ; clothing 
dep't. , Second near the Arsenal, recruiting office, 908 Pine street ; 
cavalr}' depot, Jefferson Barracks; United States assayer, 210 



ARCHITECTUKAL ST. LOUIS, 



ly 







North Third street ; Mississippi river commissioner, survey dep't, 
2828 Washington ave. ; construction dep't, 2G53 Olive street; 
lighthouse engineer, 1415 Washington ave. ; supervisor of educa- 
tion, 304 North Eigth street ; jury commissioner, 417 Olive street; 
registers in bankruptcy, 506 Olive street: United States com- 
missioners and masters 'in chancery. 

The Fire Department is equal in efficiency to any in the coun- 
try. The headquarters are at engine house, 816 N. Seventh 

street. The de- 
!> a r t m e n t has 
twe n tj^-s even 
steamers, five 
Babcock chemi- 
cal engines and 
seven hook and 
ladder companies 
in service. O f 
men there are 
some 328 with 8 
officers. There 
are four hundred 
and twent3^-five 
fire alar m sta- 
tions all cunnect- 

A Fire Departmeut Buildiiiic. j^o- with the 

central fire station in the Court House and from there to the en- 
gine houses. The striking of an alarm unhitches automatically, 
tlie horses, who run to their places at the engine, where in a few 
seconds they are harnessed and hitched. There are 185 horses, 
27 engine houses, 3 reserve engmes and 1 hook and ladder truck 
in reserve. 

The Salvage Corps is maintained by the fire insurance compa- 
nies. It is their dut}^ to attend every fire and protect stocks of 
goods from water by tarpaulins or removal. Station Seventh and 
Locust streets. Ten men and a captain constitute the force. 

City Patrols. — This is one of the few cities having this sys- 







mti\ 



20 



COMMERCIAL AND 



tern of caring for unfortunates, and is a part of a most efficient 
police department. Tlie little corrugated iron houses around lamp 
posts contain a telegraphic and telephone instrument accessible 
to policemen onty, thus to the unfortunate in an accident of any 
kind, may be summoned within a very few minutes a patrol wagon 
which conveys the person to hospital or dispensary. They are 




-.".i.:^is:'t t':i:-f:. T. nho iFmr irtGCQ-- 

Police Station iu Lafavette Park. 



also for the summoning of the patrol in case of arrest or for com- 
munication in case of riot. 

Police Department. — This department of the city government is 
under a Board of Police Commissioners appointed by the gover- 
nor of the State and consists of the following: James L. Blair, 
V.ice-President ; Frank Gaiennie, purchasing member, Oliver P. 
Gooding, commissioner, Edward Wilkerson, treasurer, Frank R- 
Tate is secretary- ; Hon. David R. Francis, Mayor of the city, is 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS, 



21 



Ex-officio President. The Force consists of one Chief , six Captains, 
45 Sergeants, 440 Patrolmen, 10 Detectives, 1 Chief of Detectives, 
and 25 emergency specials. There are 13 station houses, 5 patrol 
wagons and the total worth of real estate 
and personal property belonging to the de- 
partment is valued at $174,149.84. 

Water Works. — The first water works 
built in St. Louis, date back to 1830. The 
first reservoir was located at Ashley and Col- 
lins streets on the east side of Broadway. 
The initial point of the system is a cast-iron 
tower, 
rising in 
the river 
at a dis- 
tance of 
200 feet 
from the 
bank. 
Thirteen 
cast-iron 
sections 
enter in- 
t the 

structure of this tower, which is 
oval in form, 21 feet long b}^ 10 
feet wide, with a height of 80 feet, 
and its base resting on the bed- 
rock of the river. It was sunk 
tiirough 20 feet of sand, and its 
position is strengthened by rip-rap 
rock deposited around the out- 
side, while strong ice-breakers still further secure it; the bottom 
is filled with concrete to a depth of 24 feet. Water is ad- 
mitted into the tower by means of flood-gates placed at dif- 
ferent heights, while a strong iron screen prevents the entrance 




.Jll^^te^ 



Water Works with Tower. 



"11 



COMMERCIAL AND 



of drift or fish. An induction pipe 5 feet 6 inches in diameter 
leads to the engine pit of the low service structure on the river 
bank. A foot bridge, 200 feet long reaches likewise from the 
river tower to the engine house. The low service buildings, on 
the margin of the river, consist of engine house with boiler, 
coal-storage houses, and a chimney or smoke-tower 125 feet 




lu Laiayette Park. 

high, standing at a distance of 10 feet from the boiler house, with 
a connecting pipe passing between upon a brick bridge of 5 
arches. These structures are built of bi'lck, with bases, quoins 
and mouldings of Joliet stone. The engine room, 50 feet long 
and 41 feet wide, is wainscotted with oak and black walnut, and 
the floor is laid with cast-iron plates and encaustic tiles. The 
walls of the engine house are more than 2 feet in thickness, and 
the roofino^ is all of the best Vermont slate. The river engines. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



23 



of which the original 
the Cornish Bull class, 
inches in diameter and 12 
plungers are 56 inches in 
stroke. The maximum 
capacity of each engine 
A battery of 6 Cornish 
diameter and 30 feet 
for the engines. 

The settling reservo 
little distance from the 
of these basins, which 
form, and each having 
They are separated by 
gether form a quadruple 
green embankment. 

The great central 
marked by several subs 
chimney-tower rising to 
The engine house is a 
by 92 feet, adjoining 
76 by 88 feet, and a coal 
length and 63 feet wide. 

The hio^h service en 
were sufficient at the 
beam, condensing en 
fly-wheel. The machiii 
such as a working beam 
tons' weight ; a fly-wheel 
batteries of boilers, each 
tension of the works was 
a contract was let for a 
cost of 
and another 
hiojh service 
$280,000, 





New Water Tower. 



number was two, are of 
with steam cylinders 64 
feet stroke. The pump- 
diameter and 12 feet 
is 17,000,000 gallons 
of water in 24 hours, 
boilers — each 7 feet in 
^ong — supplies steam 

irs, are situated at a 
river. There are several 
are parallelograms i n 
an area of 16,000 feet, 
walls of stone, and to- 
reservoir, bordered by a 

point of the system is 
tantial buildings, and a 
the height of 134 feet, 
two-story building, 86 
which is a boiler house 
building, 100 feet in 

gines, of which two 
first, are direct-acting, 
gines, with crank and 
ery here is stupendous — 
30 feet long and of 30 
26 feet in diameter, and 
25 feet long. An ex- 
found necessary in 1873 ; 
low service engine, at a 
$118,500, 
for two 



engines at 
the new 



24 



COMMERCIAL AND 



works being finished and in place in 1874. The grounds occupied 
by the river portion of the system include 100 acres. A possibility 
ior beaut}' exists here, with all this great and wonderful utility. 
With foliage, statuarj^ and fountains a fine park might be created 
the reservoirs being screened as thev are in foreis^n cities. 

The storage reservoir on Compton Hill is 830 feet long, 500 
feet wide and 22 feet deep, with a capacit}' for 60,000,000 
gallons. 

There are two water towers connected with the system, the 
first one built is 
located at Grand 
avenue and Four- 
teenth street. It 
is circular in form 
and rises to a 
height of 118 
feet. The new 
tower is located 
near Grand ave., 
«ast of the old 
tower; it is 
square in form, 
and is built of 
press brick sup- 
plied by the St. lutherark 
Louis Hj^draulic Press Brick Co., with stone ornamentation. 
This tower is 220 feet high, and is a ver}' handsome piece of archi- 
tecture. During the past year a new high-service engine was 
completed aiding materially to supply the 30,000,000 gallons 
of water used daily. 

Sewerage. — A great underground conduit through the course 
of the valle}' where Mill Creek once flowed forms the central 
feature of the drainage system. This main sewer of Mill Creek 
was not the first, however. The Biddle street drainage canal was 
undertaken about 1851. The sewerage s^'stem of to-day is per- 
iect and constitutes about 250 miles of drain. 




THE KEW YORK ) 
PUBLiC LIBRARY * 



A€TOR, LENOX AND 
TILDEN F0UNDAT/0N8 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS, 25 



Population of St. Louis. 



1799 925 I 1850 74,439 

1810 1,400 I 1852 94,000 

1820 4,928 185G 125,200 

1828-.. 5,000 i 1859 185,587 

1830 5.8G2 ! 1866 204,327 

1833 6,397 j 1870 U. S. Census 310,864 

.1835 8,316 I 1880 " " 350,522 

1837 12,040 ! 1885 Estimated 400,000 

1840 16,469 1887 " 450,000 

1844 34,140 188S " 510,000 

Aiea 62^ square miles. 

Bonded Debt, April 11, 1887 $22,105,000 

Less Reduction through Sinl:ing Fund 61,000 



$22,044,000 



At the close of the fiscal year the city's bonded debt may 
amount to $21,830,000 at the least, or $22,044,000 at the most. 
The fiscal year closes April 9. The interest on nearl}^ 20 per 
cent of this debt, however, will have been reduced from 6, 7 and 
8 per cent to 3.65 per cent. 

Assessment of Real and Personal Property for the Past Four 

Years. 

Eeal and 
Beal Estate. Personal . 

1884 178,596,650 210,124,370 

1885 177,857,240 207,910,350 

1886 187,291,540 218,271,260 

1887 184,815,560 217,142,320 



'^(^ 



COMMERCIAL AXD 



Parks. 



The orio^inal idea of establishinsc and maintainino^ at convenient 
points throagiioiit a city, public places for rest and recreation, 
entitles the originator to be classed as a public benefactor. The 
need for such places whether they be large or small parks or even 
squares is only felt or appreciated by citizens of a large city. Iw 
the smaller towns land is cheap, there the resident can surround 
the homestead with sufficient ground, which properly improved, 
affords a park on a small scale at home — but in a populous city, 

with its miles of 
paved streets- 
lined on each side 
with houses built 
with bricks and 
stone and the 
ground estimated 
^;i by the foot, grreen 
^ —^'- spots are rare in- 
deed. Therefore 
it is the duty of 
every c i 1 3^ to 
maintain a sys- 
tem of parks, open to the public, when those who desire it, — and 
nearly all do — can enjoy a bit of fresh air. The parks of St. 
Louis will compare with those of any cit}^ in this country both in 
extent of acres, in landscape architecture, forest foliage and 
plant life. 

St. Louis has a system of parks, both public and private, which 
has rendered her famous. The largest of her private parks is 
that of the St. Louis Agricultural and Mechanical Association, 




In Tower Grove Park. 



ARCUITECTUHAL ST. LOUIS, 



2T 



known as the Fair Grounds. In these grounds is one of the finest 
zoological collections in the United States, an unequalled collec- 
tion of buildings for the exhibition of agricultural and other 
machinery and farm products, and a race-course acknowledged to 




In Forest Park. 

be one of the finest in the world. Here is annually held the great 
St. Louis Fair, the largest and finest agricultural fair in the United 
States ; one of the chief attractions of the season of fall festivities. 
In the spring a race-meeting for running horses is held, and in the 
fall a trotting meeting. The zoological exhibition is permanent. 



28 COMMERCIAL AND 

Benton Park was formerly the city cemetery and is situated 
between Jefferson avenue and Arsenal street, Missouri avenue 
and W3'oming street, and has an area of 14. 30 acres. The ad- 
vantages offered by its undulating surface have been well improved 
and it is now confessedly one of the most beautiful attractions of 
the city. The monument erected by the citizens to the memory 
of Col. Fred. Hecker in 1882 is situated in this park ; it also con- 
tains a good house for the keeper, fine green house and several 
good row boats for the pleasure of visitors. 

Carondelet Park, old limits, is an unimproved tract of land 
containing a little more than three acres picturesquely stowed 
away in sink holes. It is an almost valueless remnant of the old 
oity commons, and the time for its development has not yet ar- 
rived. 

Carondelut Park, new limits — containing 180 acres and ex- 
tending about one mile westwardl}^ from Ninth street in South St. 
Louis, between Kansas avenue and Loughborough avenue, is 
developing finely and will soon be a favorite resort. 

The St. Louis, Oak Hill and Carondelet Railway Co. received 
authority from the municipal assembly to run though this park 
along Glaize Creek and to construct a fine boulevard bridge over 
the main drive leading in from Kansas avenue. 

This park was established by an act of the General Assembly 
of , Missouri in 1875. 

Carr Square lies between east and west Sixteenth street and 
Wash and Carr streets, covering 2.3G acres. 

It is much frequented and is surrounded b}' a high iron fence, 
which has been permitted to remain there at the special request 
of the citizens residing in the nei2:hborhood. It was donated to 
the city in August, 1842, by William C. Carr, "to be forever 
used as a square." 

Exchange Square. — Containing 12.86 acres and situated be- 
tween Warren, Clinton, First and Main street and the river, was 
formerly a conglomeration of low ground and unhealthy ponds, 
which have been filled during its connection with the Park 
Department. B3' virtue of ordinance approved February 8th, 



ARCHITECTL'KAL ST. LOUIS. 



2» 



1887, it has been placed in charge of the Harbor and Wharf 
Department. 




Forest Park. — The largest of the public parks, covers an area 
of 1,372 acres, and is chiefly, as its name implies, a natural 



30 



COMMERCIAL AND 



forest — lyins: a little more than four miles west of the Court 
House and extending thence westwardly two miles by a breadth 
of a little more than one mile. The land was acquired by con- 
demnation under authority of an act of the General Assembly of 
the State of Missouri passed in 1875. in which provision was 
made for its maintenance by an annual special tax to be levied 



by the County Court, 
the scheme and chart 
this park dependent 
municipal revenue for 
dinarily is so drained 
departments that but 
mental purposes. 

The improved driv 
ten miles in length, 
roads aggregate a 
thirteen miles, besides 
mile. .Steps should 
cate that portion of 
which is in the park, 
highw.-y. outside of 
all the roads and dr 
vision of the Park 
are ten bridges in the 
are now 
nently reco 
of stone 
and three 
rebuilt so 
for many 
Bridge No. 

the most centrally located, was reconstructed at 
87,974.50, and will last for all time. The extension of the city's 
water system to Kings Highway and Lindell avenue has been a 
^great benefit to the park. Under ordinance, approved March 11, 
1887, a one-half mile speeding track is provided for in the park. 





Blair Monument. 



but the adoption of 
er unfortunately left 
upon the regular 
its support, which or- 
by the needs of other 
little is left for orna- 

e-i are now more than 
while the summer 
length of more than 
a race course of a full 
soon he taken to relo- 
the Claj'ton Road 
and is still a pulilic 
the park, so as to have 
ives under the super- 
Commissioner. There 
park, two of which 
p e r m a- 
'-;::.? "^ .. n^tructed 
and iron, 
Lave been 
as to last 
years. 
5, one of 
a cost of 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



31 



The United States Signal Service has been granted permission 
tc establish a branch station in the park. The Park department 
have set out fine trees along Lindell avenue, between Grand avenue 
and the park, which will in a few years make Lindell avenue one 
of the most pleasant drives to the park. 

Forest Park Boulevard. — Under provisions of ordinance, ap- 
proved March 
15th, 1887, a strip 
of ground fifty 
feet wide in the 
middle of Forest 
Park Boulevard 
and extending 
from Grand ave- 
n u e to King's 
Highway, lias 
been set aside for 
park purposes 
and placed in 
charge of the 
Park Depart- 
ment. 

Gamble Place 
contains 1,15 
acres and is sit- 
u a t e d between 
Gamble and Day- 
ton streets and 
Garrison and Glasgow avenues. It adjoins the Divoll school 
and is locally in great favor. 

Gravois Park containing 8.26 acres, is bounded by Potomac 
and Miami streets and Louisiana and Compton avenues. Al- 
though rather inaccessible it is quite a fine park and has a pagoda 
and other handsome improvements. 

Hi'DE Park — Lying between Twelfth and Fourteenth, Salis- 
bury and Bremen avenues, covers an area of 11.84 acres. It is 




lu Lafavette Park. 



32 



COMMERCIAL AND 



one of our finest city parks and has an elegant fountain terrp.ce 
and cascade and quite a capacious green house. 




Jackson Place — a small circular park that intercepts North 
Market, between Eleventh and Twelfth streets, contains 1.62 acres 



ARCHITFXTURAL ST. LOUIS. 33 

and is of great local value. It has a handsome small fountain 
and the park is most excellentl}'^ kept. 

Laclede Park is bounded by North and South Gasconade 
streets and East and West Iowa avenues. It is a fine little park 
containing 3.17 acres. 

Lyon Pakk is situated between Carondelet avenue and Colum- 
bus street, and Arsenal and Utah streets. It contains 10.62 acres 
and is the western portion of the old arsenal grounds, having 
been donated by the United States. It is improving very rapidly, 
although only taken in hands since 1878. The obelisk to the 
memory of Gen. Nathaniel Lyon is not renowned for special 
beaut}^ of design or magnificent proportions, bat was placed there 
through the efforts of a few patriotic citizens in order to save the 
grounds to the cit3\ 

Missouri Park has been licensed to the St. Louis Exposition 
and Music Hall Association for the term of fifty years by Ordi- 
nance No. 12,338, approved March 7, 1883, and although nom- 
inally retained under the control of the Park Department, has for 
the time being lost its usefulness as a park. 

O' Fallon Park contains 160 acres, and is situated about 
four miles north of the Court House, between Bellefontaine road 
and Florissant avenue. Like Forest and Carondelet Parks, it 
was acquired by purchase in 1875, under authority of an act of 
the General Assembly of Missouri. It is well worth a visit, as 
from its heights one of the finest views of the Mississippi River 
can be obtained. A great many young trees had to be set out to 
improve the landscape and replace the old oaks that are dying out 
very rapidly. 

St. Louis Place is a long, narrow park between Solomon and 
Rauschenbach avenue, intersected by vSt. Louis avenue, and hav- 
ino^ a leno^th of about 2000 feet between Benton and Hebert streets. 
The northern portion is not yet quite finished, but the southern 
half is finely improved, having a terrace, small lake and handsome 
fountain. Ordinance No. 13,928, approved March 12, 1887, con- 
tinues this place through the old reservoir property to Maiden 
Lane, leaving North Market street open, however. 



34 



COMMERCIAL AND 






Lafayette Park lies in the southwestern portion of the city, 
and is in the midst of the fine residence portion of the south side, 
being bounded b}^ Mississippi avenue east, Missouri avenue west, 
Lafaj'ette avenue south, and Park avenue north. It is under a 
board of special commissioners, and thev, toojether with the park 
department, have made it one of the handsomest pieces of land- 

scape architec- 



ture to be found 
in the United 
States, not ex- 
cepting any. 
During the sum- 
mer the cit}^ pro- 
vides a band of 
music for both 
Tower Grove and 
Lafayette parks, 
and on the days 
set apart as music 
days these parks 
are thronored. 
Lafayette park 
is not a driving 
park, no vehicle 
being admitted 
larger than a 
child's perambu- 
lator, but of these 
on an}' fine dny 




In Shaw's Garden. 



there are thousands, while in the lake boats are plj'ing by hundreds. 
Among the statues in this park, those of Washington and Benton 
occupy a prominent place. Of the rare and curious plants, 
creepers, mosses, etc., and of the beautiful foliage, grottos, shady 
nooks, glades a.nd other attractive features, a volume could be 
written. One must see such a place to appreciate it. 

Shaw's Garden. ^— Here is a place that the gift of a Longfel- 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



35 



low would fail to describe. To one not present, it would be al- 
most impossible to even give a fair idea of its many beauties. 
Imagine then a grouping systematically arranged of flowers and 
flowering shrubs, plants and creepers, in fact something of every 
species known to botany, growing in their most luxurious foliage 
and flower, and you get a mind's-eye view of Shaw's Botanical Gar- 
den at St. Louis. As an educator in botany, Shaw's Garden is= 
the best practical college in the world, for there is nothing in the 
world like it on 
s grand a n d 
complete a 
scale. The mu- 
seum of natural 
history is filled 
with a multitude 
of interesting 
objects, and the 
hot houses and 
green houses are 
filled with the 
best specimens 
of rare and curi- 
ous vegetation, 
arranged with 
scientific ac- 
curacy. Every 

city has its particular object of interest, and while old abbeys 
or ruins of the old country or colonial relics of this, are well in 
their way, this botanical paradise is a living monument that 
outshines them all. It is of easy access — lies adjoining Tower 
Grove Park, and can be reached by the 4th st.. Market st. or 
Pine St. lines of railway. 

South St. Louis Square cont-ains but 1.6G acres and is situated 
in the extreme southern portion of the city. Its improvement as 
a park only dates back four years, but it is already beginning to 
be appreciated by the residents of the neighborhood. 




Cohimbu:-! Monument. 



36 



COMMERCIAL AXD 



Tower Grove Park. — This is a wonderfully beautifal park, 
differiug greatly from Forest. Two hundred and seventy-six 
acres have here been tastefullv laid out in o-rand drives, charmins; 
walks, with perfection of lawns, seldom seen in this country. 
Three grand bronze statues, thirty feet in height, adorn the drives. 
Of Shakespeare's, Miss Neilson declared that she had not seen its 
equal as a work of art in any European or American city. 'Twas 
she that planted the tree nearest the statue. The bronze tablets 




In Tower Grove Park. 

inserted in the granite pedestal depict scenes from Shakespeare's 
plays. The park view, east from this statue, is said to be une- 
qualed in this country. The Baron Von Humboldt statue is the 
same size as that of Shakespeare, was erected " In honor of the 
most accomplished traveler of this or anv other age." At the 
eastern end is "Columbus" with bronze medallions set in the 
pedestal. All of these statues were designed by Fred'k Miller, 
of Munich, and cast there. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



37 



Washington Square, situated between Market street and Clark 
avenue, and Twelftli and Thirteenth streets, contains six acres 
and has a neat fountain in its center. It is much patronized by 
the citizens, is an ornament to the city and very much admired by 
strangers who pass it on entering the city from the Union depot. 

Total Cost of all Parks in St. Louis, 
parks in charge of the park commissioners. 



Name. 



I Area 
lAcres. 



Benton Park 

Carondelet Pk., o. 1 
Carondelet Pk., n. 1 

Carr Square 

Exchange Square . 

Forest Park 

Gamble Place 

Gravois Park 

Hyde Park 

Ja'cksou Place 

Laclede Park 

Lvon Park 

0"'Fallon Park 

St. Louis Place 

S. St. Louis Square. . 
Washington Square 



How and When Ac- 
quired. 



Cost of 
Purchase. 



Total L79B.37 



14.30 From city com. .1866 
S.iyiFrom citv com. .1812 

180.00 Bv purchase 1875 

2.36 Bv donation. . .1842 

12.86 By donation. . . .1816 

1,371.94 Bv purchase . .1874 

1.15 Donated by city,1874 

8.26 From citv com. .1812 

11.84 Bv purchase 1854 

1.62 By donation. . . .1829 
3.17 From citv com., 1812 

10.92 U. S. donation. .1872 
158.32 By purchase 1875 

10.80 Bv donation 1850 

1.66 Donated bv city .1882 
6.00 Bv purchjise. . . .1840 



$140,570 10 



849,058 61 



36,250 00 



259,065 35 



25,000 00 



Improve- 
ments and 
Mainte- 
nance. 



.$68,555 43 
3,011 86 

121,596 13 
43,046 93 
17,633 43 

695,545 65 
11,562 96 
24,359 65 
87,118 61 
25,137 72 
16,564 84 
22,281 52 

228,244 60 

86,265 16 

2,548 98 

70,477 17 



Total Cost. 



$68 
3 

262 
43 
17 
1,544 
11 
24 

123 
25 
16 
22 

478 

86 

2, 

95: 



,555 43 
,011 86 
,166 23 
,046 93 
,633 43 
,604 26 
,562 96 
,359 65 
,368 61 
137 72 
,564 84 
,281 52 
,309 95 
265 16 
548 98 
477 17 



$1,309,944 06 $1,523,950 64 $2,824,894 70 



PARKS IN CHARGE OF SPECIAL COMMISSIONERS. 



Lafayette Park 

Tower Grove Park 



29.25 

266.76 



2,095.07 



From city com . . 1844 
Fr. cond'l dona. 1868 



380,236 60 
715,390 06 



$2,619,577 30 



380,236 60^ 
715,390 06 

$3,920,521 36 



The Park area of the different cities is as follows : 

Acres in Parks. 
Philadelphia 3,000 



St. Louis 

Chicago 

San Francisco 

New York 

Baltimore 



2,107 
2,000 
1,181 
1,094 
750 



38 



COMMERCIAL AXD 



Agricultural and Mechamcal Association. 








The annual Fair of the 
St. Louis Agricultural and 
Mechanical Association 
has gained a world-wide 
reputation as being the 
greatest exhibition of its 
character on the continent. 
In 1856 the inaugural Fair 
was held which was rather 
a small affair when com- 
pared with the Fair of the 
present, at which is con- 
gregated exhibits repre- 
senting ever}' branch of 
industrj' in the countr}- as 
well as a live stock exhibi- 
tion, unequalled by anj'- 
the world ever saw. Over 
870,000 is distributed by 
the Fair Association an- 
nually in premiums. The 
28th annual Fair will be 
held this \'ear from Oct. 
1st to 6th, and during the 
time St. Louis is overflow- 
ing with the rural popu" 
lation. In 1876 the 
management decided t o 
add to its other attractions 
the zoological gardens and 
from 3'ear to year addi- 
tions were made to this 
feature so that now the 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



39 



•collection of wild beasts, birds, etc., is unequalled by any garden 
on the continent. The gardens are open every day in the year. 

The Fair Grounds is situated in the north-western part of the 
city and the facilities for reaching it are of the best, there being 
five street car lines running direct to the gates, one of which is a 
cable line. 

The grounds cover over 143 acres, which includes the finest 
one mile race course in America and on which is located that 
architectural gem, the club house of the association as well as a 
grand stand, which is built of 
solid masonry and iron and 
is one of the finest structures 
of its character to be found 
anywhere. During the meet- 
ings of the St. Louis Jockey 
Club or the racing meetings 
of the association, the finest 
thoroughbred horses of this 
country are in attendance to 
enter into the contests of 
speed that are enjoyed as 
much by the thoroughbred race horse as by those witnessing the 
sport. The course here has few equals and the management is 
the acme of success. The panorama lying in view from the grand 
stand showing the smoothly rolled mile of track, the inner grounds 
between the track circle, rich in blue grass, the long line of hand- 
somely built stables beyond, the architectural beautiful row of 
houses built by the different agricultural implement firms along 
the west side and the far-stretching display- of well improved sub- 
urban residences makes a picture that would well repay the visitor. 
Add to this a field of thoroughbi-ed race horses, jockeys mounted, 
dressed in flashing colors speeding away at a rate thatonh^ racers 
can, and one has a scene only witnessed on rare occasions. 




Humboldt Monument. 



40 



COM3IERCTAL AXD 



Street Railways. 



The street railways of the city are conducted on the liberal 
plan, furnishing as clean cars and as good service as can be found 
in any city, a great deal better than many. Several of the pres- 
ent lines have authority to change their motive power, which 




In JJentun Park. 



will be done either to electric or cable or some other than the 
horse, when the proper s^'stem is perfected. Some new lines are 
on paper, and in all probability will be built or commenced dur- 
ing the next year. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS, 



41 



The Benton - Bellefontaine Ry. leaves 3d and Washington 
ave. via the latter to 10th into 11th to old water tower, thence 
west on Grand avenue to Florissant avenue, thence north on to 
• John avenue. 

The Cass Avenue and Fair Grounds Rt. leaves Broadway and 
Walnut, along the latter to 7th, to Cass avenue, to Glasgow ave- 
nue, to St. Louis avenue, to Grand avenue near Sportman'sPark, 
•better known as the Base Ball Park, into Fair Grounds. 

r 




In Lafayette Park, 

Citizen's Ry. (Cable hne) leaves 4th and Morgan over Frank- 
lin avenue to Easton avenue, to four mile house, passing Chris- 
tian Brothers College. Loop at Grand avenue and Easton avenue, 
taking Grand to Fair Grounds (eastern entrance). 

Forest Park and Laclede Avenue and Fourth Street Ry. — 
Red Cars. — From Fourth and Market Streets, thence over the 
Mo. Railway tracks to Jefferson ave., thence on Laclede ave. to 
Forest Park. 



42 



COMMERCIAL AND 



Jefferson Avenue Ry. Co., along Jefferson are., which is 26th 
St., from the south end to Fair Grounds, in the north end. 

LiNDELL Rt. Co. (Yellow Cars) leave 3d and "Washington 
ave. along the latter to Garrison ave., to Lucas ave., to Grand, • 
north to Delmar ave., west to Vandeventer ave., north to Finney 
ave. (Blue Cars) leave same point, along Washington ave. to 
14th, south to Chouteau ave. to Compton ave. 

Missouri Ry. Co. leave 4th and Market, along Market to 6th, 
to Chestnut, to 20th, back to Market, out Market to Manchester 
road : extension to Tower Grove Park. 




Chestnut Street, East from Fourth. 

Missouri Ry. Co. (Cable Line) leaves 4th and Olive, to 42d st. 

Mound City Ry. Co. leaves 4th and Pine, to 9th, to St. Louis 
ave., to Lindell ave., to Fair Grounds (eastern entrance). 

Northern Central Ry. Co. leaves 4th and Locust, along the 
latter to 6th, to Franklin ave., to 16th, to Gamble ave., thence 
via Base Ball Park to southern sfate Fair Grounds. It is one 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 43 

of tlie finest equipped and best managed lines in the wliole 
country. 

People's Line leaves 4th and Morgan, along 4th to Chouteau 
ave., via Schnaider's Garden, Lafayette Park, on to Compton 
Hill Reservoir Park. 

Southern Railway Co., " Sixth street line " leaves Market an d 
Sixth street, along Sixth to Pestalozzi, along Ninth, on Lafayette 
avenue, along Main to Arsenal. / 

St. Louis Cable and Western Railway Co. leaves Sixth and 
Locust, along the latter to Thirteenth (Exposition Building) to 
Wash, west on Wash to Easton avenue, to Grand av^enue, over 
Franklin avenue to Morgan, connecting with Narrow Gauge rail- 
way to Florissant. 

St. Louis Railway Co. from Grand avenue along Broadway to 
Elm into Seventh to Keokuk street, relMrning along Broadway to 
Baden in the north end, a continuous line of 15 miles. 

Tower Grove and Lafa3'ette Railway Co. leaves Fourth and 
Morgan along Fourth to Chouteau avenue, east to Third, south, to 
Anna street. 

Union Depot Railway Co. (Yellow cars) leave Fourth 
and Pine, along Pine to 12th, over 12th street viaduct passing 
Union Depot to Chouteau avenue, to Park avenue, to Gravois 
avenue, extension to Tower Grove Park. Lafayette Branch 
>(Blue oars) same to Park avenue, then north to 12th via Carroll' 
Linn and Lafayette avenue, to Lafayette Park. 

Union Railway Co. leaves Fourth and Locust, along the latter 
to Sixth street to Biddle, thence northwesterly via Hyde Park to 
north gate Fair Grounds. 




44 



COMMERCIAL A> D 



Railway Lines. 



One of the most important features of a city and one that tends 
greatly to the building up of that city is her system of outreach- 
ing transportation lines. In the old days the canal with heav}^ 




Equitable Building, Sixth and Locust — General Offices Missouri Pacific System. 

laden barges slowl}'- moving from point to point was considered 
a great improvement over the road-wagon system of merchandise 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



45 



amoving. Then came the steamboats plying the various rivers, 
'lakes and bayous, and the}' were thought to be in their day beyond 
the reach of faster motive power : but a great inventor, or at least a 
great mind, perfected 
the railwa}' locomotive 
and now the product 
of the mill, the mine, 
the soil are hurried 
over the railway at the 
rate of from 30 to 40 
miles an hour. The 
lines of railway enter- 
ing St. Louis, either 
run direct or connect 
with other lines that 
tap all parts of this 
country. Therefore 
St. Louis has every 
facility for forward- 
ing and receiving her 
mercantile resources. 
Railwa}' building in 
this countr}' has been 
done entirel}^ different 
from that of Europe. 
In Europe, railroads 
have been built only 
where a military ne- 
cessity existed for 
them, or through a 
populous section 
which almost guaran- 
teed immediate returns 
on the investment. 
But the American pol- 
icy has been and is to 




Union Depot, Poplar Street, 



46 



COMMERCIAL AND 



push railroads into entirely unsettled regions, and thus attract 
population to sections of the country that would otherwise have re- 
mained barren for an indefinite length of time. To one acquainted 
with the condition of the western plains before the advent of the 
railroads, their present population and state of cultivation will 

prove the wonder- 
ful influence of 
the locomotive a& 
a civilizer, and 
bear witness to 
the enterprise of 
our railway mag- 
nates as nothing 
else could do. 
The task of start- 
i n g a railway 
from nowhere, to 
end nowhere^ 
trusting to the 
chance of immi- 
gration to sup- 
pi}^ a population, 
would seem to 
the most daring 
European men 
madness; but this course has been persistently pursued in this- 
country, and in nearly every instance with entire success to the 
projectors of the road, while the advantage to the country at 
large can be reckoned by the hundreds of millions of dollars. The 
enterprise of the Americans in railroad building is recognized 
throughout the world, but the essential difference between the 
European railroad magnates and those of this country has never 
been properly appreciated by the people of this countr}^ and 
therefore the due amount of credit has not been given to those- 
who have pushed roads across the continent and into every nook 
and corner of the plains and mountains." 




Pine Street, East from Fourth. 
Globe-Democrat. Mechanics' Bank. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



47 



The railway construction in this country during the year just 
closed is shown in the following table: 



STATES. LINES. 

Maine 2 

New Hampshire 1 

Vermont — 

Massachusetts 5 

Connecticut — 

Rhode Island — 

New York 

New Jersey 2 

Pennsylvania 13 

Delaware — 

Maryland 1 

West Virginia 3 

Virginia i 

North Carolina 10 

South Carolina 6 

Georgia 8 

Florida 10 

Alabama 15 

Mississippi 5 

Louisiana -t 

Tennessee 10 

Kentucky 8 

Ohio U 

Michigan 13 

Indiana 9 



MILES. 

31 
33 



97 

15 

125 

18 

53 

64 

184 

104 

231 

193 

515 

99 

65 

66 

168 

155 

700 

115 



STATESji LINES. MILES. 

Illinois.. 12 328 

Wisconsin 11 363' 

Minnesota 9 196 

Dakota 17 760 

Iowa 10 352 

Nebraska 17 1,101 

Wyoming 3 138 

Montana 7 616 

Kansas 44 2,070 

Missouri 16 554 

Indian Territory 5 499 

Arkansas 8 153 

Texas 19 1,055 

Colorado 9 818 

New Mexico 1 4 

Nevada — — 

California 14 356 

Idaho 2 54 

Utah 1 6 

Arizona 2 70 

Oregon 4 48 

Wash . Territory 3 1 08 



Total 364 12,724 



The following table shows the comparison in the past ten years 



YEAR. 



MILES. 



YEAR. 



MILES. 



1877 2,280 

1878 2,629 

1879 4,746 

1880 6,876 

1881 9,796 



1882 11,568 

1883 6,741 

1884 3,825 

1885 3,608 

1886 9,000 



All the railroads entering St. Louis use the Union Depot as a 
passenger station. This, to a certain extent, is unavoidable in 
consequence of there being but one bridge across the Mississippi 
at this point, the Eastern roads approaching over it and through 
the tunnel, which begins at Second street, under and along 
Washington avenue to Eighth street, thence to Poplar, the mouth, 
into the Union Depot at Twelfth and Poplar. The bridge, 
including approaches, is 6,220 feet long by 54 wide, with three 
spans, the center one of which is 520 feet, and all are ribbed 



48 COMMERCIAL AND 

arches made of chrome steel. The railway — double track — 
passes under the drivewa3\ which is very wide, having on either 
side wide foot-ways. If there were more railway depots the city 
would be benefited to considerable extent in that passengers 
would stop off who now pass through. 

The Southwestern System. — This great system, composed of 
the Missouri Pacific, Iron Mountain. Missouri. Kansas & Texas 
and International & Great Northern Railways, with the Central 
Branch Union Pacific and Little Rock & Fort Smith Division, 
comprises over 7,000 miles of railroad under one management, 
During the past 3'ear 1,326 miles of new road have been con- 
structed on the main lines and branches. 

The Missouri Pacific Railway Compan-y. — With the opening 
of spring this system comes into the field of railway service with 
over seven thousand miles of track in operation throughout the 
west and south-west ; a system of railways more thorough^ 
equipped and in better condition to do the great and varied busi- 
ness in the empire which it covers has never been known in the 
history of railwav enterprise. From St. Louis direct through 
lines run to Kansas City, Atchison, St. Joseph, Lincoln and 
Omaha ; St. Louis to Pueblo and Denver ; St. Louis to Wichita 
and Southern Kansas points ; St. Louis to Fort Worth, Austin 
and San Antonio, through the beautiful Indian Territoiy ; St. 
Louis to Memphis ; St. Louis to Little Rock and Fort Smith, and 
St. Louis to Houston and Galveston. Thus is provided the arte- 
ries for the commerce of all that part of the great Mississippi 
Valley south of Hannibal and Omaha, bounded on the east b}^ the 
Mississippi River on the south b}^ the Gulf of Mexico and on the 
west by the Rocky Mountains. New lines are constantly being 
built and added to the system and among the most important of 
these is the Colorado Extension reachinsr to Pueblo and Denver. 
A complete passenger equipment for this line has just been inaugu- 
rated and solid trains are now run between St. Louis and Denv^er 
equipped with Pullman Buffet Sleeping Cars which are brand new 
and are marvels of elegance, convenience and comfort. The 
Bald Knob branch of the Iron Mountain Route was formally 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 49 

opened on the 13th of May, giving a direct line from Memphis to 
Little Rock. Two daily passenger trains were put in operation 
at the start with Pullman sleeping cars to and from both points 
on the evening trains. One of the most promising of the new 
lines and about which little has been said is that formed by the 
completion of the Pacific Railway of Nebraska from Superior to 
Hastings. Through cars are now run from Kansas City to Hast- 
ings and a large business is done at that point for western con- 
nections. 

The local excursion business to resorts around the City of St. 
Louis, both on the Missouri Pacific Railway and Iron Mountain 
Route is an important feature during the summer months. 
Trains at all hours of the day are run to the Barracks, Cliff Cave, 
Montesano, Pilot Knob, Arcadia, Shaw's Garden, Tower Grove 
Park,. Bartolds, Creve Coeur Lake and St. Paul. The opening of 
the Oak Hill branch, with its eight trains daily, brings you with a 
short quick ride of twenty minutes from the Union depot to 
Shaw's Garden, Tower Grove Park and the City buildings and 
cemeteries. The excursion agent at the general passenger office, 
corner Sixth and Locust streets, will make arrangements for char- 
tering special trains and coaches for picnic and pleasure parties 
or will call on parties living in the city, if notified. 

The St. Louis and San Francisco Railway, popularly known 
as the Frisco line, extends from St. Louis through the states of 
Missouri, Kansas, Arkansas, Texas and Indian Territory with 
lines in operation viz : St. Louis to Sapulpa, I. T. ; Cuba Junction, 
Mo., to Salem, Mo. ; Springfield, Mo., to Bolivar, Mo. ; Springfield, 
Mo., to Chadwick, Mo. ; Monett, Mo., to Paris, Texas ; Fayette- 
ville. Ark., to St. Paul, Ark. ; Jenson, Ark., to Mansfield, Ark. ; 
Pierce Cily, Mo., to Halstead, Kan. ; Oronogo, Mo., to Galena, 
Kan. ; Joplin, Mo., to Girard, Kan. ; Pittsburg, Kan., to Weir, 
Kan. ; Beaumont, Kan., to Bluff, Kan. ; Arkansas City, Kan., to 
Cale, Kan. ; Hunnewell Junction, Kan., to Hunnewell, Kan. ; 
Wichita, Kan., to Ellsworth, Kan. ; as shown on accompanying 
map and which aggregates about 1500 miles for this sj^stem. 
This railway is in every sense a St. Louis road and the manage- 

4 



50 



COMMERCIAL AND 



ment has always been in full accord with the best interests of the 
city. The Frisco is always found in the front ranks supporting 
and assisting the commercial interest of the Future Great. The 
equipment and service afforded by this popular line is second to 
none in this country. It maintains a well organized through car 
service between St. Louis and Galveston, Texas and St. Louis 
and Pacific Coast. The patrona2:e of this road is large and 



New ELLSWORTH^^KC* ,oVV-/'U\l- < ?• ^' j> ^u.^ 



,^ 






■L'"-lr 



t^^O 












iS9 



^"If. 



H I 



^Ft.Reno 



Eufaula 









>"tLE 



^ 






Bine Bluff V 



oBatestillo ^ 



HeSSa^y HoUj Sprg. 






Poon- Bros. .CmelGo" 



Ft, Worth 




— O- 



MISS 

'Arkansas Cj. 



FRIggO LINE, 



steadily on the increase. The country traversed by the lines of 
this company through the Southwest is wonderfully rich in all 
kinds of products, viz. : grain, fruit, cotton, live stock, timber, 
mineral and coal unsurpassed by any section of country between 
the Atlantic and Pacific oceans. The world renowned health and 
pleasure resort, Eureka Springs, Ark., is reached via the Frisco 
line. 

Any particular information regarding this popular road or 
the country through which it passes will be cheerfully given by 
addressing: General passenger agent, Frisco line, St. Louis, Mo. 

The Wabash Western Railway Company at the present writing 
operates 1147.1 miles of road, reaching from St. Louis to Kansas 
City, St. Joseph, Council Bluffs, Omaha, Ottumwa and Des 
Moines on the west, and to Detroit on the east. 

The main line from St. Louis to Kansas City is one of the best 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



51 



pieces of track in the country. It is laid witli 70 pound steel rails, 
is superbly ballasted, and is as smooth as a floor. It is from 
six to forty-six miles the shortest line between St. Louis and 
Kansas City, and makes quicker time between these points than 
any other line. Its passenger trains are equipped with the hand- 
somest Pullman Buffet Sleeping and Parlor Cars ever built, with 
Palace Reclining Chair Cars (in which no charge is made for 
seats), and with elegant new Eastlake Coaches. 

Between St. Louis and St. Joseph the Wabash Western is 43 
miles shorter and two hours quicker than any other route. Pull- 
man Buffet Sleeping cars run through without change. 

From St. Louis to Council Bluffs and Omaha and vice versa, 




Pool e Bros., Ch icago . 



the difference of 90 miles in distance and five hours in time, in^ 
favor of the Wabash Western, makes it the only really first-class 
line. The well known, popular, and fast ''Cannon Ball" train 
running between these cities has parlor coaches and new Pullman 
Buffet sleeping cars. 

For Ottumwa, Des Moines and northern points, the Wabash 
Western is practically without a rival, so direct is its line, so fast 
is its time and so excellent its equipment. Palace sleeping cars 
leave St. Louis daily for these cities, and night trains out of St. 
Louis have Pullman Buffet sleeping cars running direct to St., 
Paul and Minneapolis without change. 



52 COMMERCIAL AND 

The Eastern Division of the Wabash Western is equally- well 
equipped. Two trains leave St. Louis every day for Detroit and 
the East, the morning train carrying a Free Reclining Chair Car 
to Detroit, and the night train a Palace Buffet Sleeping Car to 
Detroit, Niagara Falls and Boston without change. Travelers 
taking the Wabash Western are served meals in magnificent 
Dining Cars. 

The St. Louis ticket oflSce of the Wabash Western is located 
at the southeast corner of Broadway and Olive street, where 
tickets can be purchased, sleeping car berths reserved, and all 
desired information obtained. 

The Vandalia Line (Terre Haute & Indianapolis R. R. Co.) is 
the St. Louis connection of the great Pennsylvania System. It 
occupies with other roads the Union Depot at St. Louis, and 
reaches out eastward for business to Chicago, Indianapolis, Cin- 
cinnati, Columbus, Pittsburgh, Baltimore, Washington, Phila- 
delphia and New York. 

This in brief is the " Vandalia Line," but the Vandalia Line 
is much more to St. Louis. It is the great link between the 
east and west, especially between St. Louis and the East. It was 
the first road crossing the Mississippi to use the air brakes, the 
first to run through cars to New York, and the first to adopt the 
telegraph "Block Signal sj^stem," which are placed along the 
line at sufficient distance from each other to warn the engineers 
of danger — a system practically preventing collisions. The road- 
bed is of stone ballast, the rails of steel, the locomotives the 
perfection of mechanical skill, the coaches the most luxuriant 
that money can provide, consequently, the "Vandalia" whirls 
its passengers through on rapid time, and to the entire satisfac- 
tion of those passengers. The general offices are located in St. 
Louis, and occupy the corner of 4th and Chestnut sts., as will 
be seen from a cut showing Chestnut st. looking east from 4th st. 

The St. Louis, Keokuk & Northavestern R. R., known as the 
"St. Louis, Minneapolis & St. Paul Short Line," offers to the 
people of St. Louis visiting the great health and summer resorts 
of the North-west, Spirit Lake, Lake Minnetonka, Duluth, Ash- 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 53 

land, Detroit Lake, Yellowstone Park, White Bear Lake, St. Paul 
and Minneapolis, the facilities of its short and direct lines and 
elegant equipment, and being part of the " Great Burlington " 
system offers to St. Louis merchants, the immense territory 
tributary to the 5,000 miles of track of that great line. 

The "Burlington" System has also an outlet via the Union 
Bridge & Tunnel Co., in connection with its St. Louis division, 
to all points on the Mississippi and Missouri rivers, St. Paul, 
Minneapolis, and points in Colorado, New Mexico and the Pacific 
slope. 

The Chicago, Alton & St. Louis R. R. — This great line ex- 
tends from Chicago to St. Louis in nearly a direct line and is one of 
the best equipped roads running out of St. Louis. The length of 
this main line is 283 miles. At Bloomington, Ills., which is 
nearly midway between St. Louis & Chicago the road has a 
branch which runs southwesterly to Roodhouse, Ills., from which 
point it runs due west to Louisiana, Missouri, there crossing the 
Mississippi on a magnificent bridge, thence to Kansas City, Mo., 
488 miles from Chicago. They also have a branch from Rood- 
house via Alton, 111., over which the traffic of Northern and Cen- 
tral Missouri is handled direct to St. Louis. Another branch 
leaves Mexico, Mo., to Cedar City on the north bank of the Mis- 
souri river, opposite Jefferson City, the Capital of this State. 
From Joliet, Ills. , a branch runs to Coal City, and one from 
Dwight, Ills., to Lacon and Washington where close connection 
is made with lines running to Peoria, Pekin, Rock Island and the 
North. At Kansas City close connection is made with trains for Den- 
ver, Pueblo, Leadville and Frisco. The management of the C. & 
A. is one of the most successful and energetic in this country. 
The reclining chair cars were first introduced on the lines of the 
C. & A. and so popular did they become that other roads soon 
had them in use. The equipment of the entire line and branches 
both as to day coaches, dining cars, parlor coaches, steel rails, 
stone ballast road bed, iron bridges, etc., is unexcelled by any 
road in the world. 

St. Louis and Central Ills. R. R. — This company now oper- 



54 COMMERCIAL AND 

ates a line of road from Springfield, Ills., to Grafton Ills., some 
25 miles above St. Louis. It is the purpose of the company to 
build to St. Louis or reach that city by one of the existing lines. 

Ohio and Mississippi R. R. — This company operate a line be- 
tween St. Louis and Cincinnati and branches reaching Shaw- 
neetown and Springfield Ills., and Louisville, Ky. The O. & M., 
was the first railroad to reach the Mississippi river, having been 
completed from St. Louis to Cincinnati in 1857. With the Balti- 
more and Ohio, the New York, Pennsylvania & Ohio, and the 
Erie it forms a through line to eastern cities. 

Mobile & Ohio Railroad. — This company'- now owns and op- 
erates a direct line between St. Louis and Mobile, Ala. , 644 miles 
with 44 miles of branches. The main line extends from Mobile, 
Ala., to Cairo 111., 493 miles, and the St. Louis and Cairo rail- 
road, now leased and operated by the Mobile and Ohio, extends 
from Cairo to St. Louis, 151 miles. On the main line are the 
following branches. To Aberdeen, 9 miles ; to Columbus, 14 
miles; to Starkville, 11 miles, and to Millstadt, 9 miles. The St. 
Louis and Cairo, formerly a narrow gauge, was acquired during 
the year 1886 b}^ the Mobile & Ohio, and changed to a standard 
gauge. This road opens up to St. Louis the wealth of the new 
South. 

Illinois & St. Louis Railroad. — This is a local road, extend- 
ing from the east side of the river to Belleville, and is used prin- 
cipally in the transportation of coal. The main line is 15 miles, 
with branches 28 miles. It has the same ^bridge and transfer fa- 
cilities as other east-side roads. 

The Indianapolis & St. Louis Railroad. — This line, under 
the control of the Cleveland, Columbus, Cincinnati & Indianapo- 
lis railroad, or what is known as the "Bee Line," forms a con- 
tinuous line, under one management, from St. Louis to Cleveland, 
O., a distance of 548 miles. It also forms, in connection with the 
Lake Shore and New York Central Railroads, a through line from 
St. Louis to New York, with the Boston and Albany Railroads to 
Boston and New England points. Another connection is with 
the St. Louis & Chicago Railway, now operating from Litchfield 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 55 

to Springfield, Ills. This line in connection with the C, I., St. 
L.., L. & C. Railroads (known as the big 4) gives a direct line 
from St. Louis to Cincinnati. 

The St. Louis, Alton & Terre Haute R. R. Co. — The main 
line of this company, from East St. Louis to Terre Haute, Ind. , 
is leased to the Indianapolis & St. Louis Railroad Co. The road 
operated by the proprietary company is better known as the " Cairo 
Short Line," and extends from East St. Louis southward to 
DuQuoin, 111., with a branch thence east to El Dorado, 121 miles. 
It has also recently acquired the St. Louis Southern Railroad, 
which is a reorganization of the St. Louis Coal Road, and extends 
from Pinckneyville, on the Short Line, via Murphysboro, to Ma- 
rion, 111., crossing the Illinois Central at Carbondale. The latter 
branch is an important acquisition, as it runs through the cel- 
ebrated Big Muddy coal fields in Jackson County, and also the 
coal fields of Williamson County, known as the Cartersville coal 
fields. The line from Marion known as the 

Chicago, St. Louis & Paducah Railway was completed to the 
junction with the Cairo, Vincennes & Chicago Railway, near 
Brunswick, a distance of fifteen miles, in December, 1887, and 
will be completed to Paducah before the close of 1888. This will 
open up a very valuable territory to St. Louis, which is now di- 
rected to Evansville, Louisville and Cincinnati for want of a direct 
St. Louis connection. It is probable that the El Dorado Division 
will soon be extended eastward through Saline and Hardin Count- 
ies, to the Ohio River. This extension would pass through the 
iron deposits of Hardin County, and give to St. Louis an addi- 
tional supply of iron ore. 

The Cairo Short Line forms the Illinois Central connection for 
St. Louis, and is known as the Great Jackson Route for the South. 
This line is the direct connection with the St. Louis, Arkansas & 
Texas Railway from Cairo to East St. Louis. 

St. Louis, Arkansas & Texas Railway. — This line was orig- 
inally narrow gauge, but has been widened to the standard gauge 
and is now in excellent physical condition. Passes through 
Southeastern Missouri, Arkansas and Central Texas to Gatesville, 



56 



COMMERCIAL AND 



Texas, with branches from Altheimer, on the main line, to Little 
Rock ; from Lewisville, Arkansas, to Shreveport ; from ISIt. Pleas" 
ant, Texas, to Sherman ; from Commerce, Tex.^ 

to Ft. Worth; from Tyler, _ hsL.___^ Texas, to Lufkin, and 

from Corsicana, Texas, to is^^^ ^ r==^^ Rillshoro. Their busi- 
ness in and out of St. Louis ^^^^m f^ is done under traffic 
arrangement with the Illi ^^^^f ^^^E- nois Central and Cairo 
Short Line, via Du Quoin to I^^^^ ^^^H^ Cairo. The facilities 
are inadequate, however, to ^^jfip^Q^^^ the proper handling of 
the larsfe amount of busi ^B^^^SSl= ness which this line 



commands, and the com 
to extend this line noith 
main line, through Mis 
The line has now a total 
The St. Lolis, Kans\s 
Railroad. — This road was 
Fianklin count}', Missouri, 
the first da3^of June, 1887, 




pan} IS now pieparing 
from Maiden, on the 
soLiri, to St. Louis, 
mileage of 1,187 miles. 
City \nd Colorado 
completed to Union, 
a di'^tance of 59^ miles, 
and regular trains were 



Fourth Street, North from Market. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 57 

put in service the 1st day of July following. It gives oppor- 
tunity fot the establishment of suburban towns thus far through 
the finest country in the state. The location of this road is now 
completed to Fort Scott and Kansas City. Its construction will 
open up an interior heretofore held in check for the want of trans- 
portation facilities, and the road will become one of the most im- 
portant lines entering the city of St. Louis. 

The Toledo, St. Louis and Kansas City Railroad operates 
a direct line between St. Louis and Toledo. 450 miles through 
Illinois, Indiana and Ohio. 

This line was changed from narrow to standard gauge between 
Toledo, Ohio, and Frankfort, Ind., on June 26, 1887, at which 
time it was equipped with new rolling stock, both freight and 
passenger, of the best class. New iron bridges with stone abut- 
ments have been built ; grades have been reduced, stations rebuilt 
and the property generally improved throughout. On the line 
between Frankfort and East St. Louis, much work has been done 
during the same period (1887) preparatory to changing balance 
of road to standard gauge, which will be done early in summer 
of 1888. 

Venice, Marine and Eastern Railway. — This road was char- 
tered in December, 1886, and will extend from Venice, Illinois, 
opposite the northern portion of the city of St. Louis, through 
the counties of Madison, Bond, Fayette, Effingham, Coles and 
Clark, to a point on the Indiana line in Edgar county. 

Central Missouri Railway. — This road, projected in 1886, 
is now under construction, a number of miles of track having 
been laid during the past year westward from the Missouri river 
at St. Charles, Mo. It extends along the north side of the Mis- 
souri river, through some of the richest counties of the state, its 
western terminus to be Arkansas City. It was originally intended 
that this road should cross the Mississippi river opposite Alton, 
111., but present plans look to a direct line to St. Louis, its east- 
ern connections to be via the new bridge to be built in the north- 
ern part of the city. 

The Louisville & Nashville Railroad. — This system, which 



58 COMMERCIAL AND 

is the largest in the south (east of the Mississippi river), runs 
from St. Louis, its northwestern terminal through Evansville, 
Nashville, Decatur, Birmingham, Montgomer}^ and Mobile, to 
New Orleans. Its bridge, erected within the last two years, over 
the Ohio river at Henderson, largely increased its facilities for 
handling both passenger and freight traffic, the time being ma- 
terially shortened from St. Louis to all points in the southeast. 
Its interest in the Nashville, Chattanooga & St. Louis Railway 
and other roads in the southeast, affords a direct through route 
to all cities in that section, thus, virtually giving St. Louis as 
good a line to southeastern points as is possessed by cities in the 
east. 

At Lexington, Ky., it forms a connection with the Chesapeake 
& Ohio railroad, giving St. Louis another route to the Atlantic 
seaboard at Newport News. 

St. Louis Merchants' Bridge. — The chances for the erection 
of another bridge across the Mississippi River at St. Louis are 
good. 

A franchise has been obtained from the municipal government 
for terminal facilities, and several of the railroads whose termini 
are on the other side of the river are believed to be ready, not only 
^o use the 'new bridge when completed, but assist in its construc- 
tion. 

The need of additional yard room and transfer facilities is ac- 
knowledged by all, and the erection of this bridge, giving oppor- 
tunity for the location of new depots and yards at the northern 
end of the city is the probable solution of the problem. Present 
facilities in this direction are inadequate for existing roads, and 
give no opportunity for new roads seeking entrance to the city. 

The coming 3'ear will, no doubt, see considerable progress made 
toward the erection of the new bridge. * 

The St. Louis Transfer Company. — A review of the trade and 
business facilities of this city would not be complete without a 
reference to the old and well-established carrier, the St. Louis 
Transfer Company. Chartered before the war, and when all the 
traffic between the east and west shores of the Mississippi at this 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 59 

city was done only on ferry boats, the Transfer Company was 
then, as now, always prompt and efficient in the carriage of pas- 
sengers, baggage and freight across the river. 

A step in advance of most other cities was made when the bag- 
gage of the passenger was checked directly from his hotel or res- 
idence to its point of destination, thus avoiding all trouble and 
delay at the Union Depot. The agents of the Transfer Company 
are also to be found on all incoming trains to receive the checks 
and directions of passengers as to delivery of bao^gage, while well 
equipped carriages stand ready to convey the passenger to his des- 
tination in the city. 

Another peculiarity of method in the business of the Transfer 
Company is the receiving and delivery of freight at the ware- 
houses of the merchants, while the company has large and com- 
modious depots at Second and Carr streets and Second and Poplar 
streets for the temporary storage of freight destined out of the 
city. 

All the railroads on the east side of the river have contract ar- 
rangements with the Transfer Company by which freight charges 
are collected by this company, and everything done to practically 
make St. Louis proper the actual terminus of the east-side rail- 
roads. The general office of the Transfer Company is in the 
Republican building, No. 20 North Third street, while the pas- 
senger and baggage offices are 105 North Fourth street, under the 
Planters' House, and at the Union Depot. 

The present officers of the company are : R. P. Tansey, Presi- 
dent and Manager; S. H. KHnger, Assistant Manager; G. B. 
Walls, Treasurer ; B. M. Tansey, Secretary and Auditor ; W. F. 
Tufts, Superintendent ; Howard Stanton, General Agent. 



60 



COMMERCIAL AND 



The River. 



There are many people yet in St. Louis who can remember the 
da^'-s when the levee along the front of the city was filled with 
packages of merchandise of every kind, sugar hogsheads, barrels 
of molasses and cotton bales by the thousands, lumber, grain 
in sacks, bales of hay, lead, iron, vehicles and live stock, in fact 




St. Louis from Illinois Shore. 

every kind of merchantable commodity, over which in separate piles 
or lots waved the various colored little flags dividing this or that 
particular consignment. In and about through the passages left 
was the cartage to and fro, besides which were hundreds and 
hundreds of passengers from or to the numberless steamers which 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



61 



lined the wharfs, sometimes with onl}^ a nose in, and other times 
beirig forced to discharge from across tlie deck of other steamers. 
It was a busy scene which will never be witnessed again in St. 
Louis, for, with the great railway lines and the enormous barge 
lines, the demand for steamers combining freight with passenger 
carrying has been reduced to a small fraction of what it was in 
former times, and besides, the steamer lines remaining in the trade 
are limited (freight and passengers) to the traffic immediately 
along the different water ways. The Upper Missouri and Mis- 
sissippi floats a few fine boats yet ; so also does the Illinois river, 
while the lower Mississippi has a fine line of steamers to Memphis, 
Vicksburg, Natchez and New Orleans. 

Shipment of Bulk Grain by Barges to New Orleans During 

1888. 



Date. 



February 

March 

April 

May 

June 

July 

August 

September 

October 

November 

December 

Via Belmont & Cairo dur- 
ing Jan. and Dec 

Total movement 



Wheat 
bu. 



117,976 

313, 2U 

858,200' 

900,147 

330,400 

719,653 

297,128 

52,901 

39,952 

58,600 

117,653 

157,913 



Cornbu. 



1,435,141 
1,366,591 
845,162 
340,991 
503,683 
566,224 
234,662 
223,795 
720,595 
176,557 
360,232 

581,756 



3,973,737 7,365,340 



Tons 


Tons 


bulk 


other 


grain. 


freight. 


43,711 


2,554 


48,154 


11,026 


51,780 


9,520 


38,094 


9,291 


24,013 


7,337 


37,427 


8,998 


15,470 


5,930 


7,795 


3,595 


20,819 


9,551 


5,387 


663 


13,607 


1,098 


21,025 


68,768 


327,092 



Total 
tons. 



46,265 
59,160 
61,300 
46,455 
31,350 
46,415 
21,400 
11,390 
31,370 
6,050 
14,705 

21,025 



396,060 



The Mississippi Valley Transportation Co. own and operate 
the principal large lines. 

Wiggins Ferry Company. — John Scullin, President; F. L. 
Ridgely, Vice-President ; H. L. Clark, Secretary and Treasurer ; 
H. W. Gays, Manager ; Offices, corner Third and Chestnut 



62 



COMMERCIAL AND 



streets. — In 1795, Capt. James S. Piggott, a revolutionary sol- 
dier who had located on the present site of East St. Louis, made 
a road and bridge over Cahokia Creek and established a ferry 
from the Illinois to the Missouri shore. On the 15th of August, 
1797, he petitioned Commander Zenon Trudeau, then represent- 
ing the Spanish Crown in the government of St. Louis, for the 
exclusive right to collect ferriage at this point, which was granted, 
and a ferry house was built on the Missouri side. After the death 
of Capt. Piggott in 1799, there was much litigation over the ferry 
right, but it was finally settled in favor of the heirs of Capt. 
Piggott, whose interests finally passed bj^ transfer into the hands 
of Samuel Wiggins, who received a charter in 1819, and afterward 
sold his interests to a company, of ^^: 
which his brother, William C. 
Wio-gins, who had managjed the 
ferry for man}'' j^ears, was a mem- 
ber. In 1853, the original 
Wiggins charter expired, and a 
perpetual charter for ferry pur- 
poses was granted to Andrew 
Christy, William C. Wiggins, Adam 
L. Mills, Lewis V. Bogy and ^^^M 
Nanoleon B. Mulliken. The capi- 
tal stock of the compan}- is of a 
par value of $1,000,000, although it has rated much above par for 
many years. The company has extensive freight yards in St. 
Louis, located on the river front and Mound street, Chouteau 
avenue and Carroll street. It also operates the East St. Louis 
Connecting Railway, the Venice and Carondelet Belt Railwa^^, the 
Illinois and St. Louis Railway Terminal, the Wiggins Car Trans- 
fer, the Madison County Car Transfer, and the Ilhnois and St. 
Louis Car Transfer. The steamboat interests of the company 
consist of six ferr}^ boats, foui' car transfer boats, two tugs, five 
car transfer barges and five ferry landing barges. The company 
operates a ferry from Carr street, St. Louis, to the opposite shore 
in East St. Louis, and one from Spruce street, St. Louis, to the 




Shakespeare Monument. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



63 



opposite shore in East St. Louis. Ttie car transfer is operated 
between Mound street, St. Louis, and opposite shore in East St. 
Louis, and from Chouteau avenue and Carroll street, St. Louis, 
and opposite shore in East St. Louis ; direct connections being 
made between all roads terminating in East St. Louis and those 
terminating in St. Louis. The growth of this great enterprise 
from the canoes used by Capt. Piggott in 1795, to the present 
magnificent equipment, is one of the most interesting and sig- 
nificant chapters of local history. The company throughout its 
history has pursued a liberal policy, and its management has been 
in wise and considerate hands. 




Benton Monument. 



64 



COMMERCIAL AND 



Hotels. 



It has often been said of the St. Louis hotels by men of the world, 
men who have seen the world, men who have visited the cities, 
watering places, etc., throughout the globe, that the leading hotels 
of St. Louis give them entertainment that is not equaled anywhere 
else — that there is a feeling of comfort and of being at home about 
the St. Louis hotels not usually experienced. There is one other 
feature o f 
the St. 
Louis ho- 
tels par- 
ticularly 
worth being 
cited and 
that is, in 
not one 
single i n- 
stance have 
tbe leading 
hotels of 
this cit}' 
taken ad- 
vantage I of 

the opportunity to extort higher rates than those usually charged 
when extraordinary throngs have gathered into the city in attend- 
ance upon the many conventions, assemblies, etc., that have 
favored St. Louis with their presence. This fact widely known 
has had a great deal to do with the selection of this city as a 
rendezvous for these conventions. In the following lines it will 
not be the intention to purposely omit mention of any hotel, but 




Hotel in Early Days 



ARCHITECTUKAL ST. LOUIS. 



65 



simply to convey to the reader the entertaining capacity of the 
whole by briefly alluding to a few. 

The Southern. — This splendid establishment was erected on 
the site of the old Southern Hotel which was destroyed by fire 
April 11th, 1877. It was erected by the Hon. Thos. Allen, a mart 
who did very much to build up the general interests of St. Louis. 
It fronts on Walnut street extending from Broadway to 4th street 
along which it stretches to Elm street, thence three-fourths of 
the block towards Broadway again, leaving a small space on the 
corner of Broadway and Elm which belongs to the hotel 

company. 
This space 
now occu- 
pied will 
be in the 
near fu- 
ture add- 
ed to the 
hotel by 
the erec- 
tion of a 
continua- 
ti o n of 
the hotel 
building 
which will 

then cover the entire block. From this space on Broadway 
the hotel continues to Walnut street the starting point in the 
description of the site. Its size, however, although cover- 
ing nearly a large block and being six stories high is one of its 
least attractive features. That such a hotel is most elaborately 
furnished throughout every department of its interior goes with- 
out saying. It has not a superior in this respect anj'-where. 
But the grandest feature in connection with this magnificent car- 
avansarj' is its mammoth and palatial rotunda. From Walnut 
street through the entire building north to south is a promenade 




Fourth. 



Southern Hotel. 
Walnut. 



Broadwav. 



66 COMMERCIAL AND 

60 feet wide. From Broadway to 4th street through the full 
length of the building a similar open wa\' of 30 feet wide, the 
whole laid with white marble tiles making a floor as smooth as a bil- 
liard table and affording a reception hall or rotunda, as you please, 
accommodating several thousand persons without overcrowd- 
ing. The decoration of the ceiling and columns of this rotunda is 
done in the finest oil, gold and silver fresco, not the frescoing 
usually seen in public places, but that character of fresco work, b}' 
fliand, that made the palaces of Italy and Rome famous. The grand 
stairway leading from the rotunda to the second floor with its graee- 
tu\ ascent, its bronze statuary and artisticalh' hand-painted win- 
dows which begin at the half landing and extend up to the ceiling of 
the second floor, is a bit of the general grandeur that is much 
admired. The parlors, ladies' ordinary, dining rooms, in fact the 
whole interior is on the same scale of magnificence. The refresh- 
ment department and the billiard department are both conducted 
by the hotel management, consequently guests are assured that 
the former is supplied with the choicest liquids and that the lat- 
ter is equipped with the most modern appliances known to the 
gentlemen's game. One other feature of the Southern is worth a 
passing notice, and that is, the hotel from foundation to roof is 
absolutely beyond the destroying element of fire. The whole inte- 
rior construction is wrought iron with fire-proof blocks between, 
and if oil was poured over all the furniture of any room and set on 
fire only the material in that room could burn, nor would the heat 
be noticeable in the next room. 

LiNDELL Hotel. — This popular house was opened in the fall 
of 1874, after having been destroyed by fire. It has a frontage on 
Washington avenue. Sixth street and Lucas avenue, and contains 
275 elegantly furnished apartments — many en-suite — artisticall}^ 
decorated, luxurioush' carpeted, with bath and other accessories, 
making it as complete a hotel as the traveler will care to find. 
The grand dining hall is a magnificent apartment 130x55 feet 
without columns, and the ordinary also a very beautiful room is 
80x40 feet. The building is practically fire-proof, being divided 
into fourteen separate fire-proof compartments with massive solid 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS, 



67 



walls forming the divisions from basement to three feet above 
the roof. It is under the management of Messrs. Hulbert, Howe, 
and Chassaing. 

Planters' 
House. 

This old 
and well 
known ho- 
tel has been 
so long in 
existence 
that every 
tourist, 
traveler or 
visitor to 
this city is s 
familia r g: 
with the 5 
h o s p itable f- 
quarters of 
the Plant- 
e r s ' . L o- 
cated in the 
very midst 
of the 
throngs 
passing and 
repass ing 
through the 
oldest thor- 
oughfare of 

the city, every one must see the building, wliiie many 
look in at its handsome rotunda if for nothing more than to 
r;repeat to friends at home that they went into the Planters' 
st 




while 



68 



co:mmercial and 



House. The building is not a handsome one, but its loca- 
tion, its superb cuisine, its good management has made it very- 
popular with 
the substantial 
visitors to the 
cit\\ Itfronts- 
on 4th street 
from Chestnut 
to Pine, occu- 
pying half the 
block w e s t- 
ward to Broad- 
_: v?3i\. It is un- 
t der the man- 
T. a g e m e n t of 
= Mr. J. Gerardi. 



St. James 

Hotel, 
Broadwa}' and 
Walnut street. 
The St. James 
is centrall}' lo- 
cated, conve- 
nient to the 
great whole- 
sale and retail 
houses. One 

square from the Court House, and within two squares of five 
theaters. Owing to the construction of the house and the loca- 
tion of the boilers, kitchen, bakery and laundr\^ the hotel is prac- 
ticalh^ fire-proof. It is heated by steam, has elevators, electric 
light, baths, etc. There are 200 rooms, -1:5 of which are on the 
parlor floor and the rates are §2.00 and 82.50 per day. Mr. 
Thos. P. Miller is the proprietor. 

The Laclede Hotel is headquarters for local and state politi- 




ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



69 



cians, and in its rotunda almost any day the aspirant to office and 
his friends — quite numerous at this time — can be found in 
large numbers. The Iiotel fronts on Chestnut street, running 
half the block east toward Broadway, extending along Sixth street 
more than half the block. Adjoining the rotunda is a fine billiard 
room, reading room, etc. It is conducted on the American plan. 

Hurst's Hotel fronts on Chestnut st. and on Broadway, the 
main entrance to rotunda and office being on Chestnut st. This 
well regulated house is con- _ - - - 

ducted on the European 
plan, and in connection 
with it the proprietor, Mr. 
Hurst, one of the oldest and 
best hotel men in the state, 
conducts a splendid restau- 
rant, a restaurant that has 
the patronage of a large city 
custom, and in which every- 
thing in season is served 
and at popular prices. It 
is elegantly and lately newly 
furnished throughout from main floor to top story, and offers every 
accommodation to the public, such as every good hotel should. 

Hotel Barnum, located on Washington avenue and Sixth street, 
with entrance on Sixth street, conducted on the European plan 
and being in the center of the wholesale trade, is largely patronized 
by commercial men and by merchants visiting the city on pur- 
chasing business. 

Koetter's Hotel, located on the south-east corner of Elm and 
Fourth streets, is one of the best conducted houses in the city. 
The house is not a large one and caters onl}^ to the best class of 
Germans. 

The Merchant Hotel, on Twelfth and Olive, is another good 
house at moderate prices and is well patronized. 

Besides these there are any number of fairly good houses at 
prices consistent with the fare and accommodations. 




Hurst's Hotel. 



70 



COMMERCIAL AND 



Amusements. 



During the fall, winter and spring St. Louis is visited by all 
the leading companies in operas, the drama, comedy, variety, 
etc., and she has places of amusement erected suitable to them 

all. In addition to 
the open season there 
are plenty of summer 
garden attractions 
that are liberally pa- 
tronized. 

Grand Opera 
House. — This now 
palatial theater was 
opened first to the 
public on Ma}^ 10, 
1852, as the Varieties 
Theater, and during 
several seasons there- 
after was one of the 
largest variety houses 
in the west, produc- 
ing some grand spec- 
tacular pieces, the 
Black Crook for in- 
stance, which had a 
run of several months, 
bringing to the city 
thousands from the neighboring towns to witness its presenta- 
tion, which was acknowledged to have been the most elaborate 
and gorgeous presentation of that extravaganza ever put upon 
the stage. After changing hands and being entirely rear- 




Grand Opera House. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



71 



ranged, it was opened as a first class theater, August 29, 1881. 
It was destroyed by fire on May 28th, 1884, and was rebuilt and 
opened September 14, 1885. The interior and exterior is in the 
Moresque style of decoration and architecture. The seating 
capacity is 2,300 which includes a double tier of proscenium 
boxes which are perfect gems. All the leading stars have been 
seen upon its stage and on the visits of Edwin Booth, Miss Mary 




(Jlyinpic Theater. 

Anderson, Joe Emmet and Grand Opera even standing room is 
not available. Mr. John W. Norton, once an actor of renown but 
now retired from the stage except for an occasional charitable 
benefit, is the proprietor and manager. Mr. Geo. McManus is the 
treasurer. 

Olympic Theater. — The old Olympic, as it is now remembered, 
was as familiar to theater-goers as any place of amusement 
could be. Its location, on the site of the present one, was so 



72 COMMERCIAL AND 

•central, its lobbj^ so wide and inviting, its pit so eas}^ of access, 
the dress circle so charming that if the play was only fair, the 
house was full. In its day the pit was only patronized b}^ the 
mob — that is all men — and the second tier was the fashionable 
or more expensive seating. This is all reversed nowadays. The 
first Olympic was opened on Nov. 25th, 1867, and continued up to 
'81, when the owner concluded to erect a more modern structure? 
which was done, and the new Olympic was thrown open on Sept. 
11, '82, with Mr. J. K. Emmet on the boards, and as Joe Em- 
met was a St. Louisan, it is hardly necessary to say that the 
house was filled to its utmost. When it was rebuilt, nothing was 
left out of its construction, furnishing or decoration to prevent 
making it a model place of amusement, but everj^thing modern 
was' included, even to expensive hand-carved wood-work that 
ornaments the whole interior. The capacity of the house is 
2,409, but on several occasions there have been 3,000 people 
present. The attractions offered during the season include the 
best companies in drama and operas. The largest receipts during 
an}" one engiigement were those of Booth & Barrett, '' Bunch of 
Keys" and J. K. Emmet. Mr. Chas. A. Spalding is proprietor 
and manager, and Mr. Pat Short business manaaer. 

People's Theater. — This popular amusement house is situated 
ut the south-west corner of Sixth and Walnut streets, a very 
convenient location for the theater-going public. It was erected 
in I860 for Messrs. Robertson & Mitchell and was managed by 
them until 1885, when Mr. Mitchell became sole proprietor. The 
main entrance is on Sixth street with an additional entrance on 
same street for the Galler3\ Exits are provided on the south 
through a private alley way and on the north via Walnut street. 
The decorations are in fresco and plush, the double tier of 
private boxes are handsomely upholstered, and the drop curtain 
represents a scene in Venice. The capacity of the house is 
divided as follows: Parquette and Dress Circle 765 seats, Family 
€ircle, second tier, 487 seats, Gallery 1000. The attractions 
booked for this house ilnclude comedy, melodrama and occasionally 
opera bouffe. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 73 

Standard Theater. — In 1883 Mr. Edward Butler and J. Mc- 
Entire erected the Standard, since which it has become one of the 
best patronized theaters in the city. It is located on the north- 
west corner of Walnut and Seventh streets, with entrance for Par- 
quette and Balcony through lobby on Walnut street. Every pre- 
caution is taken to prevent accidents and against fire, there being 
exits on the east through private way, on the west by Seventh 
street, and north by public alley way. The interior is handsomely 
decorated, including an upper and lower tier of boxes, and the 
house accommodates very comfortably inParquette and Parquette 
Circle 900, Balcony 525, and Gallery 1000. It was opened by 
the presentation of the drama, " Power of Money " and continues 
to offer the best attractions in comedy, burlesque, the drama, 
etc. W. H. Smith is present manager. 

Pickwick Theater. — This snug place of amusement is located 
in the residence district (central western) Jefferson ave. and 
Washington ave., and was intended first for a summer garden 
with stage attachment, then as a regular theater for all visiting 
troupes. The garden part has been abandoned, however, and the 
building, which is of brick and quite commodious, contains a very 
complete stage setting with parquette seating some 500 people. 
The local dramatic and operatic talent give most of their enter- 
tainments here, besides which it is used as a lecture hall. 

Uhrig's Cave. — This is strictly a summer garden theater and 
during the warm term light opera holds forth in all its splendor 
and generally by some very excellent operatic company. The 
audience have seats — about 3000 — commanding a view of the 
stage while the acts are on, between which thej^ can stroll or sit 
and sip ices or light beverages at their pleasure. The loca- 
tion is Locust street and Jefferson avenue. Mr. Pat Short is 
lessee and manager. 

Appollo Hall. — A small theater on South Fourth street is 
quite a neat place for amusement performances and is usually 
open during the summer with some light attraction. 

Liederkranz Hall, situated on Chouteau avenue and 13th 
street, is splendidly arranged for social gatherings and many of 



74 



COMMERCIAL AND 



the dancing parties, hops and club entertainments take place- 
there. 

Schnaider's Garden has had a national fame as an open air re- 
sort. It used to be no uncommon thing to see from five to ten 
thousand people there of an evening. The whole enclosed space 
is brilliantly lighted, seats with tables are scattered through- 
out, flowers, shade trees and grottoes abound and there are- 
three separate music pavilions from which music of rare quality 
is heard. It is quite a handsome place, but many of its at- 
tractive features have been shorn to make place for building im- 




Liederkranz Hall. 

provements. There are some smaller but very handsome gardens 
throughout the city where one can spend a summer evening en- 
joying the fresh air with a glass of beer or wine and at the same 
time listen to the sound of splendid music. 

Pope's Theater, 9th and Olive, was built on the site of an old 
church and under the management of Mr. Chas. R. Pope, an 
actor himself, was a first class place of amusement. 

The London. — The variety theater of the city is located at, 
Walnut and 4th streets and during the season generally afford?, 
the best bill possible. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



75 



The Exposition Building. — The Exposition and Music Hall 
Building is the largest and grandest ever used for exposition 
purposes in the United States, excepting those of the Centennial. 
It occupies the very central location, bounded by Olive, St. 
Charles, Thirteenth and Fourteenth streets. It is on the old site 
of Missouri Park, which occupied six and one-fourth acres. 
The dimensions are 506 ft. in length by 332 ft. in width, and 
contains 280,000 feet of space. The building was erected at a 
cost of $750,000, and in the incredibly short time of one year. 




Exposition, Olive, Thirteenth, Fourteenth and St. Charles. 

The first Exposition was opened September 3rd, 1884, by a grand 
street pageant of the Trades Association, grandly illuminated 
streets, and other appropriate ceremonies. The most successful 
expositions in attendance and financially have been those given at 
St. Louis. The building is an elegant and imposing structure, of 
which no cut seems to do it justice. It is built of brick, cut 
stone and terra cotta, with three grand entrances on Olive Street, 
and one on Fourteenth and Thirteenth streets each. The first 
floor is devoted to live machinery, exhibits of which have been the 
largest ever made. The other floors are devoted to fine displays 
that have never been excelled, as is conceded by those who are in 
a position to know. 

Grand Music Hall. — So extensive is the Exposition Building 
that one is surprised to find in its very center, the largest Music 



76 COMMERCIAL AND 

Hall in the country, with a seating capacity of 4,000, and 
standing room for 2,000 more. The stage is larger than any in 
New York, and has a full complement of the finest scenery. A 
grand organ, the finest and largest in the city, is located at the 
back of the stage. The opening of the Exposition is usually early 
in September, and continues forty days. Gilmore's Band, of 
N. Y., sixty-five pieces, plays afternoon and evening, and there 
is some special feature for each of the forty da3's. 

Entertainment Hall. — Is also under the same roof ; seating 
1,500 persons, beautifully fitted up with all stage and other ac- 
cessories. On the Olive street front are the Ladies' Parlors, 
Exposition Post-Office, Cloak Rooms, Offices, etc. The entire 
building is lighted with electricity. The Music Hall is kept 
perfectl}^ ventilated by an immense fan (which is located on the 
first floor). The Fire Department, boilers and engine are located 
in separate buildings opposite, on Thirteenth Street. 

The Grand Carnival Season, or Autumnal Festivities, com- 
mence with the opening of the Exposition, and usually continue 
about seven weeks. The illumination of miles of the streets b}^ a 
hundred thousand gas lights, with colored globes, is the grandest 
sight to be witnessed on the continent, and has attracted not only 
persons from our own distant cities, but from abroad visitors 
come to witness this brilliant sight, which outrivals anything of 
the kind ever attempted. At many of the cross streets are 
arches of exquisite designs in colored lights that almost defy de- 
scription. 

Kensington Garden is a new addition to the summer amuse- 
ment places. It is very comfortably arranged, handsomelj^ laid 
out, and is reached by the Cable line from 6th and Locust streets. 
The inclosure contains fountains, gravel walks, shady nooks, 
refreshment pavilions, etc., etc. The whole grounds are lighted 
by electricity. The stage on which the actors appear is a regu- 
larly built and full-rigged ship, floating in a lake of clear water. 
The scenery backing the whole represents a living picture of 
actual seaport life. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



77 



The Press. 



The daily newspapers of St. Louis, though few in number, 
reach the masses through a wide circulation. 




Republic Building, Third and Chestnut. 



The editorial department of the leading papers are mostly filled 
with men of great journalistic abihty while the business portion 
of them must be in good hands if one may judge by the large cir- 



78 COMMERCIAL AND 

culation of many of them. There is not an item of news or an 
important event occurring throughout the civilized woi'ld but that 
finds its way b}" wire to the oflfices of these papers and appears in 
their next issue, or perhaps, in numerous extras, if of sufficient 
importance. 

The press of this city has exercised a great influence in pro- 
moting its interests and in aiding its progress toward the advanced 
position it holds among the great cities of the country. 

The leading dailies are the St. Louis Republic, the Globe-Dem- 
ocrat, the Post-Dispatch, and the Evening Chronicle and the Star- 
Sayings, published in the English language, and the Anzeiger cles 
Westejis, the Westliche Post, the Anierika and the Evening Tri- 
bune^ German papers. 

The St. Louis Republic is the oldest paper in the citj', having 
been established as the Missouri Gazette, in July, 1808. It took 
a prominent part in the early history of the city, and its files pre- 
served to posterit}" many of the interesting incidents of those 
days. In 1822 the name of the paper was changed to the Mis- 
souri Republican, on May 31, 1888, to the St. Louis Republic. 

The Gazette in its infancy was an enthusiastic supporter of 
Thomas Jefferson, and later, when the Whig party was formed, 
the Republican advocated the doctrine of that part}', becoming 
Democratic after the Whig part}- went out of existence. It has 
since grown in influence as a representative of Democratic princi- 
ples and a leader in the counsels of that party. The building 
on 3d and Chestnut streets, occupied by the Republic is the most 
massive and beautiful of all the newspaper buildings in the city, 
and was erected at great cost in 1873. 

The Globe-Democrat. — In 1853 the St. Louis Democrat 
was established, becoming at once a popular newspaper. In 
1872 parties interested in the Democrat sold their stock and 
started the St. Louis Globe, Republican in politics, which 
soon took high rank as a leading journal. The success of 
the one drew intprest from the other and the Democrat 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



79 



•sold its plant to the Globe, the name being changed to 
'Globe-Democrat. The building occupied by the paper is 

hardly commensurate with 
the paper's growth, but the 
position is central — Fourth 
^Hj^p- and Pine streets — and that 
^^ fact has much to do with 
the management remaining 
in so small a building. 

The Evening Chronicle. 
— This paper was establish- 
ed July 3, 1880, by a com- 
pany which also owns the 
Cincinnati Evening Post, 
the Detroit Neics and the 
Cleveland (O.) Evening 
Press. It was intended to 
fill the demand of all great 
cities for a paper which will 




Globe- Democrat. 



give all the news in a condensed form at a 
low price. In July, 188G, parties who had 
made a great success of the Cincinnati Post 
were placed in charge of the Chronicle. The 
circulation was largely increased. In March 
last the price of the paper was reduced from 
two cents to one cent. The paper is bright, 
newsy and interesting, and is rapidly extending 
its influence. 

The Star-Sayings is the latest addition to the 
daily press, and is the outgrowth of the Sunday 
Sayings, a paper issued until lately only on that 
day. The increasing patronage of the Sunday 
Sayings promj)ted the management to enter the 
daily field with an afternoon paper, which they 
did at the low price of two cents. It is bright, 
full of good matter, and independent in politics. Their build- 
ins: is at 105 N. 6th st. 




C'liruuicle. 



80 



COMMERCIAL AND 








Post-Dispatch, an afternoon dail}^ is Democratic in politics. 

This paper has lately moved into a building on Olive street, 

between Broadway and Sixth street. 

The large number of citizens of 
German birth or descent who reside 
in St. Louis and the region of which 
it is the center, has led to the estab- 
lishment here of several newspapers 
printed in the German language, and 
which are of recognized prominence 
and influence among the German- 
speaking people of America. 

AxzEiGEK DES Westens. — This is the 
oldest German paper in the city, its 
first number having appeared on 
October 31, 1835, from which time it 
was regularly published until in 1863, 
the publication was suspended for 
about five months, when its publication 
was resumed by the Independent 
Anzeiger des westens. Press Association, uudcr the title of 

Der Neue Anzeiger des Westens. 

Afterwards the word "Neue" 

was dropped from the title, and 

the publication has been con- 
tinued with increasing success 

and influence until the present M 

time. Its editorial matter is 'lli.=^=i==^-=^=-===r^^'« =' 

thoughtful and scholarly, and it ^jl ITTLi_L|-J =|i 

is a recognized exponent of 

Democratic principles. Its news 

columns are well conducted and 

complete, and it enjoys a large 

circulation. The location North 

Third street. 

Westliche Post. — This in- westiiche Pu.^t. 

fluential newspaper was originally established in 1857. The paper 




ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



81 



removed to its present commodious premises in 1874. The 
paper is Republican in politics, and in all the attributes of ad- 
vanced journalism is one of the best newspapers in the land. It 
owns the building occupied by it, which is at /he corner of 
Broadway and Market street. 

Amerika. — This paper was established in 1872 by the German 
Literary Society, and has since enjoyed the favor of a large and 
increasing circle of readers. Its editor, has been connected with 
the paper from its inception, first as assistant editor, and since 
1878 in his present position, aad has contributed largely to it& 
success by the force and elegance of his editorial work. The 
paper is Democratic in politics, and publishes morning, Sunday 
and weekly editions at its building North Third street. 

The St. Louis Tribune is 
an evening paper of great 
force in the presentation of 
news. It especially repre- 
sents the extreme or stal- 
wart wing of the German 
Republicans. 

Of other publications in 
St. Louis there are hun- 
dreds, denominational, so- 
ciety, athletic, agricultural, 
medical, railway, trades, 
mining, etc. 

The St. Louis News Com- 
pany is now located in their 
^^ new building, 1008 and 1010 
^r Locust street, where they 
carry, as formerly, an im- 
mense stock of perodicals, 
St. Louis News Company. books and Stationery. It is 

through this company that the leading magazines, periodicals, 
newspapers, etc., are distributed throughout the western country. 




82 COMMERCIAL AND 

Thej'^ are the sole agents for the St. Louis dailies and the princi- 
pal periodicals and magazines published generally, they supply- 
ing each day throughout the city, west and south-west, 124G news 
dealers. Their stationery stock is the largest and most complete 
in the west, their stock of miscellane ^us books is full and complete 
and they guarantee prices. The compan}^ have 68 employees and 
is a strong one financialh% having a capital of $125,000 ; its officers 
are G. F. Murphy, manager, and Aben Bancker, treasurer. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



83 



Military. 



The National Guard of Missouri is composed of separate 
regiments, battalions or companies formed throughout the state 
and located in the principal towns and cities. The battalion of 
infantry N. G. M. located in St. Louis is the First, and compris- 
•es companies A, E, F and G, besides which there is a troop of 
cavalry. These companies have quarters -in the National Guard 




Xatioual (iiiaril Armory. 

Armory, built for the accommodation of the military under that 
organization in this cit}^ It is a splendid structure, affording 
accommodations for several thousand troops, with a drill floor 195 
X 109 feet clear space, or about 20 feet wider than the grand Mer- 
chants' Exchange hall. There is a cavalry drill on the ground 
floor 150 X 84 feet, with very complete stables for the horses. 
Around the cavalry room, which is 33 feet high, there is a gallery 
which affords a fine view of all movements during drill. The 



84 COMMERCIAL AND 

company rooms comprise mess rooms, handsome parlors, and 
separate locker for each soldier's gun and accoutrements. It 
is considered one of the best built and arranged armories in the 
country. 

The BcscH Zouaves, the most perfectly drilled compan^^ in the 
United States, are located in St. Louis, but have no armory at 
present. In all the competitive drills throughout the country 
this body of men have always carried off the highest prize. 

There are several other independent companies in the city but 
of only local fame. 

The St. Louis Flambeau Club, an organization of some two 
hundred men, have an expensive outfit including bomb wagons, 
rocket wagons, etc. They turn out on special occasions and make 
night exhibits of fire works that are grandly beautiful. 

The Rifle Brigade of this corps accompany the Flambeau men 
and keep up a continuous fusilade of musketry. The flambeau 
organization includes a company of pikes, a company for rockets, 
a company for set pieces, a company for bombs, the flambeaus 
themselves and the rifle company, making a battalion of six com- 
panies. 

The pikes and guns have a military uniform, the other com- 
panies have full white duck suits with rubber helmets and 
shoulder pieces for protection from the falling sparks. 

The United States Arsenal is a group of stone buildings used 
for quarters for men being recruited for the army and for storing 
supplies, this being the western clothing depot for all troops on 
the frontier. There are a number of residences for officers' quar- 
ters and the whole plant of buildings is surrounded b}' large 
grounds, a considerable portion of which were deeded to the city 
by the U. S. government, and the city has improved this tract into 
what is now L3'on Park. 

Jefferson Barracks is the cavalry depot for all the west. The 
buildings are well and suitably constructed and are situated upon 
a high bluff. There are a number of cavalry companies stationed 
here and the government has quartered at this depot a band of 
musicians, known as the "Cavalry Band," whose proficiency is 
only equalled by the famous " Gilmore Band." 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



85 



Clubs. 



St. Louis like every other large city has her social organizations 
among the many different localities and uniting certain elements, 
either business, literary, etc. ,etc. These different clubs as they are 
called have not as yet erected themselves or had erected for them 
as many club houses, as there are in cities farther east — houses 
built expressly for club purposes, yet the quarters occupied by 
the principal clubs who are renting buildings are furnished in 
magnificent style and they live in a superb manner. 

St. Louis Club. — This is one of the largest clubs in the city and 
is one of the few at present 
owning entire their own 
buildings and grounds. 
The cut here presented 
does not do justice to the 
building or the surround- 
ings. It is a handsome 
structure built of red 
press-brick with sand- 
stone trimmings, having 
one grand entrance in the 
middle front, which leads 
into a palatial hall, show- 
ing the handsome double staircase backed and lighted by a richly 
ornamented glass window on either side as you enter the hall in 
the magnificently furnished apartments of this floor, consisting of 
reading rooms, billiard rooms, oflace, etc., while the second floor 
built on the same plan affords ample room for the members when 
entertaining their friends. The situation of the club house is at 
Locust and Ewing avenue. The membership is limited to 400. 




St. Louis Club. 



86 



COMMERCIAL AND 



Once each month special receptions are given, with music, danc- 
ing and a grand spread. 

The University Club was for a long time located down 
town at the corner of Broadway and Olive streets, but the building 




they occupied, which they had arranged in a most elegant man- 
ner, changed hands and the club was forced to secure other quar- 
ters, which thej' did, and they are now at Pine and Beaumont 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. * 87 

streets in a fine building surrounded by splendid grounds. The 
club was formed of college men and they are noted for their hos- 
pitable entertainments, especially of gentlemen of prominence who 
visit St. Louis. Tennis courts are held usually on Saturday after- 
noons to which lady and gentlemen friends are invited. 

Mercantile Club occupy the building 708 Locust street, 
which is fitted up in magnificent style. Its members include 
many of the prominent merchants, manufacturers, bankers, etc., 
of the city who partake of the splendid cuisine prepared for 
them by the club management especially at noon. It has about 
400 members who have made its apartments popular for banquets, 
dinner and theater parties. Their wives and daughters partake 
of luncheon when down town in the ladies' drawing room. 

St. Louis Jockey Club. — This organization has for its principal 
purpose the improvement of the thoroughbred race horse, by pro- 
viding a racing course over which trials of speed are made. The 
club offers purses aggregating large sums of money and for 
which the horses are entered to run, the winner of any race gain- 
ing quite a handsome sum. By this means owners of race horses 
are enabled and encouraged to raise and improve fine horses. 
The members of the club, hke the majority of mankind, are 
fond of witnessing interesting sports, and have provided them- 
selves the magnificent club house which is located at the racing 
course of the Fair Grounds, and from whose broad verandas and 
terraces they have a fine view of the track ; besides this it is 
luxuriously furnished and their social gatherings are held in its 
spacious apartments. 

The Marquette Club was called into existence by St. Mark's 
Academy, a well known literary association composed of alumni 
of St. Louis University. The ultimate purpose of St. Mark's had 
all along been to develop into an organization like the Xavier 
Union of New York City, but it was not until September, 1886, 
that the Academy took the project vigorously in hand. With the 
able co-operation of representative Catholics of the city the pre- 
liminary work was rapidly finished, and the club was organized 
and incorporated under the title " Marquette Club." 



88 



COMMERCIAL AND 



The objects of the club are summed up at the head of its con- 
stitution as follows : — 

The primary objects of this Club shall be to unite the repre- 
sentative Catholic gentlemen of the Cit}^ and vicinity in bonds of 
social union ; to organize them into a bod}^ that shall represent, 
watch over, vindicate and further Catholic interests ; to maintain 
such a union and such a body by establishing it in an unobjec- 
tionable Club-house, and by placing the club on a lasting basis, to 
perpetuate such a union and such a body of representative Cath- 
olics in the City of St. Louis. 




Marquette Club. 

In furtherance of these objects the Club shall provide : 
1st. A Club-house, with all necessarv appointments. 
2nd. A Reading-room, having all desirable journals 
periodical literature. 

3rd. A properly equipped gj^mnasium and bowjing alley. 

4th. A library. 

5th. Literary and musical entertainments. 



and 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 89 

In the realization of these objects, the Marquette Club has 
thus far met with flattering success. It has united the repre- 
sentative Catholics of St. Louis. "The Rome of America," as 
this city has been called, can point with honest pride to the Mar- 
quette Club as the representation of its best Catholic blood and 
talent and industry and wealth. The club is the great center of the 
Catholic laity of St. Louis, and it promises to continue to be so per- 
manently. The home which it has created for itself would alone 
justify the augury. The club house, a picture of beautiful archi- 
tecture, and the model of a rich home, will ever be attractive to 
every variety of taste ; while the highly respectable and almost 
severe tone of the organization is calculated to preserve the club 
from the objectionable features that usually prove fatal to clubs. 
Thus far the club has been well patronized ; its entertainments, 
lectures and receptions have been of the highest order ; its finan- 
cial prosperity has increased without assessments, and as soon as 
it has added to its attractions the projected gymnasium with 
bowling alleys and handball courts, the Marquette will be the 
most complete Catholic club in the States. 

Germania Club. — This is both a social and musical organization 
for the pleasure and social entertainment of the members of the 
club. They have a large club house at 802 S. 8th st. 

Harmonie Club is one of the leading club organizations of 
the city, and is composed of representative Jewish gentlemen. 
The club house, Eighteenth and Olive, is a handsome building, 
built and owned by the club, and is furnished sumptuously. 

Concordia Club is the leading Hebrew club of the south-side. 
They have a spacious building splendidly furnished at 1511 Chou- 
teau avenue. 

The Elks Club have their quarters at present in the People's 
Theater building, corner 6th and Walnut, 'the growth of the 
club finds the place too small and they have negotiated for com- 
modious appartments in the new Laclede building, corner 4th and 
Olive. Here they will have all the space the}^ require and the 
rooms are being put in such shape as to make a most complete 
club house. The Elks' benefits which take place once yearly at 



90 COMMERCIAL AND 

soiAe one of the principal theaters and at which the different 
theatrical companies playing in the town at the time appear is 
a noted event with play-goers. 

St. Louis Chess, Checker and Whist Club have rooms at 904 
Olive street. The membership is large and is made up of gentle- 
men of standing in the city. Many noted tilts take place in their 
rooms between members and between Mr. Max Judd — also a 
member, who is one of the most skillful players in the country — and 
other players laying claims to championship honors. Mr. E. S. 
Rowse is the president of the club. 



ATHLETIC, ETC. 

St. Louis Base Ball Association. — North Grand avenue, Geo. 
Munson, secretary. This association is the St. Louis representa- 
tive in the American Association of baseball clubs, and the mem- 
bers of the club or the different members constituting the club's 
players have for the past three years won the championship of the 
Association in which there are eight other clubs of nine players 
each at one time in the field. 

St. Louis Gun Club. — This is a body composed of representa- 
tive business men who have their own park for shooting grounds 
besides large premises for field shooting, and many of its members 
are noted wing shots. The objects of the club are to attain pro- 
ficiency in shot-gun shooting, to protect the wild game of the state 
so that there may be always an abundance during season, and to 
have an outing for recreation and pleasure. The members of the 
club selected to represent the body at the state tournament to be 
held June 19th are Messrs. Gates, Dozier, Wilson and Peck. 
The officers of the club are J. H. McDonough, Pres. and Edwin 
Hayden, Vice-Pres. 

Gentlemen's Driving Club meet for the transaction of bus- 
iness pertaining to the club and for social purposes at their room, 
704 Pine street. The members meet at the driving park or speed- 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 91 

ing track of Forest Park, there to enjoy a friendly contest to test 
the merits of their own horses. 

Anchor Athletic Club make their headquarters at 517 Poplar 
street. 

Excelsior Rowing Club have their boat-house at the foot of 
Anna street. 

St. Louis Rowing Club have their quarters foot of Chouteau 
avenue. 

St. Louis Riding Club, 2d Carondelet and Park avenues, is a 
school of instruction in handling the horse and in the art of rid- 
ing gracefully, at the same time comfortably to both. 

St. Louis Sharpshooters Association, meet at Tenth and Mar- 
ket, with occasional outside practice with the rifle. 

Missouri Sharpshooters Association meet at their park, which 
is a handsome enclosure on Easton avenue, about six miles from 
the court-house. The members meet frequently for target prac- 
tice and recreation. 

Modoc Rowing Club have a neat club and boat house at the 
foot of Anna street, and the crews of this club are always heard 
from favorably in the contests for sculling honors that are held 
throughout the country. One of its members, and one who has 
attained high rank throughout the country, is Jake Gaudaur. 

North End Rowing Club, a late aquatic organization, is located 
at the Levee and Angelica sts. 

The Bohemian Sharpshooters Association meet every fourth 
Monday at 1504 South Tenth street. 

Western Athletic Club have quarters at 4205 Easton avenue. 
The members take an active part in keeping up a lively interest 
in all athletics and give from time to time fine exhibitions of the 
different sports such as sprinting, leaping, long jumping, pole 
vaulting, putting the weight, etc. 

Western Rowing Club have their boat house foot of Lynch 
street which is fitted up with the necessary paraphernalia of the 
aquatics. 

Franklin Dramatic Club hold regular meetings on the first 
and third Sundays at Allen avenue and Eighth street. 



92 



COMMERCIAL AND 



McCuLLOUGH Dramatic Club, a local organization having 
among its members some good stage talent, give occasional per- 
formances for the benefit of their own improvement and for the 
entertainment of their friends, have headquarters at 2621 Wash- 
ington avenue. 

Missouri Bicycle Club, occupies the unique building on 
Channing avenue between Olive and Pine streets. Enthusiasts of 
the bicycle and tricycle constitute largely the membership. In 
connection therewith is an excellent gymnasium and o^ood lawn 
tennis courts. This is the largest of the city clubs of which 
there are a number. 

Knickerbocker Lawn Tennis Club. — A member of the 
National Association of Tennis Clubs. Is the largest and most 
successful club in the west. Has one hundred members, its 
limit. Five fine courts are within the enclosure, also the club 
house with baths, etc. Grounds, Locust and Nineteenth streets. 

These do not by any means include all of the clubs. There are 
hundreds of others, some of which are noted athletes in their 
line, the Hibernia Foot-ball Club and the Thistle Foot-ball Club 
both being fine clubs. Cricket, tennis and all other out-door sports 
and amusements have plenty of advocates and participants. 







ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 93 



Societies. 



There are in St. Louis of the various societies named below 
bodies, lodges, councils, etc., as given by the figures. 

Ancient Free and Accepted Masons. — State Grand Bodies, 5 ; 
Subordinate Lodges, 23 ; Chapters of the Royal Arch Masons, 7 ; 
Councils of Royal Arch S. M., 1 ; Commanderies K. T., 6 ; A. 
and A. Scottish Rite Masons, 6. 

The Masonic Board Relief meets at the corner of 7th and Mar- 
ket in Masonic Hall, every Saturday at 7 P. M. H. B. Hutchi- 
son, sec, address 612 N. 2d street. 

The United Benefit Association of Missouri is at 722 Pine street 

' 

W. H. Stone, President. 

Independent Order of Odd Fellows. — The Sovereign Grand 
Lodge of Odd Fellows meets annually on the 3d Monday of Sept. , 
at such place as the Grand Lodge shall from time to time deter- 
mine. The Grand Lodge of Missouri meets in Kansas City, May 
15th. 

Subordinate Lodges, 30; Encampments, etc., 11. 

This order will have when it is completec), one of the finest 
buildings and lodge quarters in the United S'lates. 

Knights of Pythias. — The Supreme Keeper of Records and 
Seal is at 1137 Washington avenue; Grand Lodge of the state 
meets on the 3d Tuesday in October. 

Subordinate Lodges, 17 ; Endowment Rank, 5 ; Missouri Bri- 
gade Uniform Rank, 7. 

Knights of Honor. — Grand Lodge of Missouri meets on the 
first Tuesday in April annually. Subordinate Lodges, 30. 

Knights and Ladies of Honor. — Grand Lodge of Missouri, 
Thomas W. Seymour, Grand Secretary, address 520 N. 2nd st. 
Subordinate Lodges, 41. 



94 COMMERCIAL AND 

Legion or Honor. — Supreme Council meets quarterly on the 
2nd Wednesday of Jany. Robert L. Little, S. S. Supreme Re- 
corder, office 315 Chamber of Commerce bl'dg. Subordinate 
Councils, 2L 

Chosen Friends, lodges, 24. 

Order of Scottish Clans, lodges, 2. 

A. O. OF Foresters. — District Sec, 918 N. 16th street. Sub- 
ordinate Courts, 12. 

A. O. U. W. — Grand Lodge meets 2nd Tuesday in February 
biennially, Wm. C. Richardson, Grand Recorder, office Turner 
Building. Subordinate Lodges, 69. 

Supreme Legion, S. K. of A. O. U."W. — Subordinate Lodges, 8. 

Order of Mutual Protection, lodges, 9. 

U. S. Benevolent Fraternity, lodges, 5. 

American Protestant Association. — Grand Lodge of Missouri 
meets May and November at Franklin av. and 13th st. Subordi. 
nate Lodges, 13. 

U. A. O. OF Druids. — Grand Lodge of Missouri, 9th and Mar- 
ket sts. Subordinate Groves, 22. 

United Order of Honor. — Thos. C. Sandberg, Secretary, 
1518 Salisburv street. Subordinate Lodofes, 27. 

Harugari, Grand Lodge, Carr and 10th, Ernst Knickmeier, 
sec, 1917 Franklin av. Subordinate Lodges, 32. 

Sons of Hermann. — Grand Lodge, Franklin ave. and Eighth 
street. H. Alewell, Sec, 1911 Franklin ave. Subordinate Lod- 
ges, 24. 

I. O. T. B. (True League) — Grand Lodge at Druid's Hall. 
A. Fischer, Sec, 1211 South Seventh street. Subordinate Lod- 
ges, 20. 

Seven Wise Men. — Grand Conclave of Missouri meets third 
Monday in January and July, Eleventh street, north-east corner 
Franklin ave. H. Koch, G. Sec, 1124 North Eleventh street. Sub- 
ordinate Conclaves, 3. 

Order Iron Hall. — Subordinate Lodges, 18. 

A:\iERiCAN Legion of Honor. — A. Sloan, Grand Sec, 716 North 
Third street. Subordinate Lodges, 27. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 95 

Good Templars. — Wm. C. Streetor, Secretary, 2623 Wash 
rstreet. Subordinate Castles, 10. 

Hebrew. — I. O. B. B., 4; Independent Order of F. S. of I., 
-3 ; Improved Order of F. S. of I., 3 ; O. K. S. B., 10. 

Royal Arcanum. — W. S. Robinson, Grand Secretary, 104 
North Third street. Subordinate Councils, 17. 

Catholic Knights of America. — Subordinate Lodges, 29. 

Knights of Father Mathew. — Executive Board meets first 
and third Sunday at 10 o'clock a. m., 1306 Olive street. Sub- 
ordinate Councils, 16. 

Ancient Order of Hibernians. — The County board meets 3d 
Sunday at St. Patrick's Hall. D. O'C. Tracy, Sec. Divisions 7. 

K. OF L. — Executive board meets every Monday, 522 Pine 
street. Assemblies, 56. 

Singing Societies. — There are 27 different musical societies 
throughout the city, some of which have among their members 
men and women of national fame. 

Turn Vereine (Gymnastic Societies). — There are eleven of 
these in the city. 

Bohemian. — The Supreme Lodge of the Bohemian Slovanian 
Benevolent Association meets 2d Sunday in each month at 1411 
S. 8th street. Subordinates, 24. 

MISCELLANEOUS. 

There are besides the above, throughout the city, societies, be- 
nevolent, social, etc., in their nature to the number of 280. 

American Baptist Home Mission Society meets 1109 Olive. 

American Bible Society, at 212 N. Broadway. 

Bank Clerks Association meets 2d Thursda}' every 2 months 
Skt St. Louis National Bank. 

Bar Association of St. Louis meets in the Court House, 1st 
floor. H. Hitchcock, jr., Sec. 

B. & P. Order of Elks meet at the Elks club, Walnut, south- 
west corner of Sixth street. 

Board Missions Cumberland Presbyterian church meets 904 
Olive street. 



96 COMMERCIAL AND 

Brewers Association, Philip Stock, Secretary, meets 702 Olive, 
room 421. 

Brotherhood LocoMOTrvE Engineers meets Second and Fourth 
Tuesdays, 1601 South Broadway. 

Alumni Association St. Louis College Pharmacy meets 412 
South Sixth, Third Tuesday in each month. 

Brotherhood of Firemen meets Second and Fourth Sundays 
Chouteau Avenue Hall. 

Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners have four lodges. 

Caledonia Society meets Mercantile Library. 

Catholic Orphans Board, 820 Chestnut street. 

Concordia Club, 1511 Chouteau avenue. 

Ex-Confederate Association, 1600 Lucas place, Chas. A. De 
France, Secretary ; it is non-political. 

Grocery Clerks Association meets at Broadwa}^ and Mor- 
gan streets. 

Knights of St. Patrick meet quarterly at Southern Hotel and 
annually at the same place just after St. Patrick's Day parade at 
which time eloquent addresses are made and toasts responded to. 
The banquets of the Knights, who are representative men of the 
city, are always elaborate and well attended. 

Law and Order League meet at Wright and 13th street. 

Lotus Club hold forth 3221 Rutger street 

McCuLLOUGH Dramatic Club meet at 2621 Washington avenue, 
among thejmembers of this club are some talented Thespians. 

Missouri Historical Society has its rooms in the east wing of 
the Court-house. Here are stored man}^ valuable relics and inter- 
esting trophies. 

Merchants' Exchange Transportation Committee hold their 
sessions in the Chamber of Commerce building, room No. 1. 

Merchants' Exchange Mutual Benevolent Society have their 
offices in room 220, Chamber of Commerce building. 

Mexican and Spanish-American Exchange is at 21G N. 8th st. 
Mr. J. F. Cahill, its founder, is always ready to give any inform- 
ation in his power. Through his efforts a great deal of the busi- 
ness with Mexico has been brought to St. Louis. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 97 

Museum OF Fine Arts, 19th and Lucas Place. This institution 
is one of the grandest in any country, containing selections of the 
rarest merit. See notes elsewhere in this book. 

Office Men's Club meets on second and fourth Thursdays at 
Leffingwell and Washington aves. 

Pilots' B. and I. Society have offices at 104 1-2 N. Broadway. 
> St. Louis Agricultural and Mechanical Association. — Office 
718 Chestnutst. Chas. Green, President; Arthur Uhl, Secretary. 

St. Louis Choral Society meets every Monda}^ at Piclvwick 
Theater, Washington and Jefferson avenues. 

St. Louis Chautauqua Union will be found at 2711 Sheridan 
avenue. 

St. Louis Exposition. — J. IL Johnston, Secretary, Fourteenth 
and Olive streets. 

St. Louis Medical Society of Missouri meet at the Polytech- 
nic building. 

St. Louis Merchants' Bridge Company. — E. F. Kelley, sec, 
Room 317, Chamber of Commerce building. 

St. Louis Provident Association, Geo. H. Morgan, Sec. Sec- 
tary's olHce of the Chamber of Commerce. 

St. Louis Sharpshooters' Association, Tenth and Market 
streets. 

Society for Ethical Culture will be found at 2646 Pine 
street. 

Southern Historical and Benevolent Aid Association, IGOO 
Lucas place, W. P. Barlow, secretary. 

The Associated Wholesale Grocers are at 507 North Second 
street. 

Wo:\ian's Exchange, 617 Locust street, Mrs. H. INIeier, sec, 
is for the purpose of encouraging the industrial pursuits adapted 
to women and for the sale of the ))roducts of their hands. 

Women's Presbyterian Board of Missions for the South-west, 
meets on the first and third Tuesdays at 1107 Olive street, Mrs. 
J. H. Brookes, President. 

Western Commercial Travelers' Association, Thos Ryan, 
Sec, 404 N. Broadway. This is the representative club of the 



98 COMMERCIAL AND 

kind in the west and numbers amono; its members the leading 
commercial tourists of the west. 

Young Men's Christian Association. — On Pine and Twent3- 
Ninth streets stands the elegant new home of the Y. M. C. A. 
It is a large brown-stone structure, surrounded with well kept 
lawns ; and on the rear of the grounds are their extensive gj^mna- 
sium buildinoj. The needs of voung men are met on all sides of 
their natures — social, intellectual, physical and religious. The 
Association owns "Association Hall," with its tall, peculiar 
towers, at Locust and Eleventh streets, where is carried on their 
down t*wn branch. Branch rooms are also in the Union Depot 
building. A very large German branch is also maintained at 
Locust and Eleventh streets, and a flourishing branch in East 
St. Louis. Visitors alwa^'s welcome at all the places, 28,000 be- 
ing the number registered at East St. Louis branch alone last year. 

Young Men's Hebrew Association have quarters at 21st and 
Olive streets. 

French Benevolent Society will be found at 18 N. 4th and the 

French Mutual Aid Society at 626 Olive street where they 
have regular meetings every 3d Sunda}'. 

Memorial Home is located at Grand and Magnolia avenues. 

Post Graduate Society of St. Louis Universit}^ in University 
building, Grand and Lindell avenues. 

Democratic Central Committee headquarters, Pine N. E. 6th. 

Hendricks Club is a political organization and meet in rooms 
furnished for them at 1306 Olive street. 

Hendricks Democratic Association is also a ])olitical club of 
prominent politicians ; they meet at 820 Pine street. 

St. Louis Republican Club and headquarters Repulilican Cen- 
tral Committees, 1223 Washino^ton avenue. 



THE KEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX AND 
TILDEN FOUNDATIONS 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 99 



Educational. 



The number and character of the colleges and schools in St. 
Louis and the immediate vicinity show conclusiv^ely that this is a 
seat for learning, offering many advantages in mind culture. In 
every department of learning from the Kindergarten to the col- 
legiate course, taking in the manual training on the way, St. Louis 
is far ahead of many older cities and her public schools not be- 
hind any, either in management or attendance. St. Louis Hke all 
rapidly growing cities requires more public school buildings 
which should be erected with special regard to their strength and 
sanitary conditions and with all the varying architectural improve- 
ments possible. The following facts gleaned from the report of 
the Board of Public Schools together with some features of the 
other educational institutions of the cit}^ indicate a healthful and 
progressive learning department. 

PUBLIC SCHOOL BUILDINGS. 

Total number of School buildinojs 106 

Number of School buildings owned by the Board 97 

Number of School buildings rented by the Board 9 

Number of School rooms 857 

Seating capacity for pupils 49,050 

TEA(?HERS. 

NUMBER OF PRINCIPALS. MALE. FEMALE. TOTAL. 

In the Normal School 1 1 

In the High School 2 2 

In the District Schools (white) 35 18 53 

In the District Schools (colored) . . 13 13 

In the Evening Schools 5 5 



Total number of Principal^.. 50 18 74 



10 






100 



COMMERCIAL AND 



That portion of the public school system known as the District 
schools includes the Kindergartens and all the grades of the 
schools below the first grade of the High School. The course be- 
tween the Kindergarten and the High School is divided into eight 
grades, the lowest four of which are known as the Primary Grades. 




High School, Olive and Fifteenth Streets. 

and the highest four, as the Grammar Grades. Of the one hun-- 
dred and six school buildings, one hundred and three are used 
for District school purposes. The schools in these buildings are 
organized into sixty schools for white children and thirteen for 
colored children. Many of these schools occupy more than one 
building, but in all cases of a schofjl occupying more than, 
one building, the buildings are upon the same lot or are in the- 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



101 



same block, so that the schools in these buildings can be graded 
^.nd conducted as one school. 

Nearly ninety-eight per cent of all the children attending the 
public schools are in these District schools, hence their import- 
ance, not only as a part of the school system, but also as a force 
in influencing social conditions. 

SCHOOL STATISTICS. 

Population of the City of St, Louis, June 1, 1880, 350,522 — U. S. census. 
School population, Juue 1, 1885 (between the ages of six and twenty) 
€ity census : — 

WHITE. COLORED. TOTAL, 

Male 52,611 2,445 55,056 

Female 50,901 2,497 53,398 



Total 103,512 



4,942 108,454 



COMPARATIVE TABLE FOR TWENTY TEAR^. 



NO. 



1868. 

1869. 

1870. 

1871, 

1872. 

1873 

1874 

1875. 

1876, 

1877. 



OF HOUSES. 

38 
40 
48 
52 
58 
67 
54 
56 
56 



NO OF SEATS. 
. 15,281 

18,000 
20,105 
23,222 
25,750 
27,785 
28,530 
30,070 
31,510 
35,790 



NO. 



1878. 

1879 

1880. 

1881 

1882. 

1883. 

1884. 

1885. 

188G 

1887. 



OF HOUSES. 

95 
104 
103 
103 
103 
103 
104 
105 
106 
106 



NO OF SEATS. 

37,580 
42,270 
42,560 
42,610 
42,730 
44,880 
46,860 
47,810 
48,730 
49,050 



The items in the followino; statistics relating to the Kinders^ar- 

o o o 

tens are included in the above statistics, but are given here sep- 
arately as a matter of record and for convenience of reference: — 

KINDERGARTENS. 

BOYS. 

Number of pupils enrolled 2,898 

Average number of pupils belonging in the 

Kindergarten 

Average daily attendance of pupils in the Kin- 
dergarten 

Number of pupils remaining in the Kindergar- 
ten at the close of the year 



GIRLS. 


TOTAL. 


3,289 


6,187 




3,614 





3,179 





3,768 



102 



COMMERCIAL AXD 



SUPPLY OF TEACHERS. 

The public schools get their supply of teachers from two 
sources: first, from the Normal School which is supported and 
controlled by the Board for the exclusive purpose of providing 
qualified assistant teachers for the District schools ; second, 
through examinations of applicants for positions as teachers, who 




Peabody School. 

have qualified otherwise than by graduating from the Normal 
School. 

Grand Avenue High School will be constructed of red brick, 
with stone trimmings, Romanesque in style of architecture, and 
the dimensions are 135 feet front by 282 deep, with a stone 
tower at the corner 140 feet high. The main entrance 40 feet in 



THE NEW YORJt 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



A8TOH. LENOX AND 
TILOEN founoations 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 103 

width is reached by stone steps of same width, and opens into a 
vestibule 40x80 feet, in which are two grand stairways of 10 
feet wide each. The entrances for scholars are through the base- 
ment at the sides. The floor of basement is, however, 6 in. above 
grade. On the first floor is found the auditorium 81 ft. 10 in. by 
83 ft. 8 in. There are five entrances from the grand vestibule 
and three from the side corridor, which is fifteen feet wide 
The stage is reached by two doors opening into a cross 
corridor, ten feet wide. To the left of the vestibule is a 
reception room ; on the right a conference room, with record 
room and lobby adjoining. To the right of auditorium, 
but separated from it by a fifteen foot corridor, are three 
recitation rooms, twenty feet by twenty-two feet Back of audi- 
torium, but separated from it by a cross corridor 10 ft. wide is 
an open court, 45 ft. by 60 ft. To the rear of the auditorium, on 
the left side, is a grand central stairway, " Escalier d' hojineur ,' * 
which is to be made an architectural feature. To the left of the 
auditorium, connecting with the grand vestibule is a stairway, 4|- 
ft. wide, leading to the gallery. Opening into cross corridor is 
an elevator. The arrangement of the second and third floors is 
the same as that of first floor. However, on the second floor, 
over the vestibule, are lecture rooms for chemical and physical 
science, 30x35 ft., separated from each other by a room for 
apparatus, 9x30 ft., opening into both, and from the gallery of 
auditorium by a corridor 10 ft. wide ; and on third floor, extend- 
ing over right side of auditorium there is the art department, con- 
sisting of two drawing rooms, 24x35 ft. 

St. Louis University was founded in 1829, and received its 
charter in 1834. The site of the institution till June, 1888, was on 
9th St. and Washington ave. The new buildings here represent- 
ed have been erected on a block of ground bounded by Grand, 
Lindell and Baker aves. The Grand ave. front is 446 ft. by a 
depth of 360 ft. The corner of Grand and Lindell aves. was 
reserved for a church. This edifice, begun in 1883, is not yet 
completed, although services have been held in the basement 
since Nov. 1, 1884. 



104 



COMMERCIAL AND 



The University building proper has its principal facade on 
Grand ave. There are two entrances, one for the faculty and visi- 
tors, another for the students. The latter is the extreme left, 



the former marked by portico 
mission to the parlors and 
of which are chapel, 
the private apartments 
department extends 
depth of the lot. 
trance is conne 
studyhall, class 
tion hall 
TheLibr 
sente d 
is over 
stor 



The main entrance gives ad- 

ption room, in the rear 

iry, dining hall and 

if the faculty. This 

westward to the full 

The students' en- 

cted with their 

rooms, recrea- 

etc. 

ary,repre- 

cut, 

w 

ies 




Library, St. Louis Uuiversitj'. 

in height and has an open quadrangle covered by a glass roof. 
The apartment is accessible from the second and third floors 
of the residence. It has three wide galleries connected by 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



105 



cture 



-spiral iron staircase and its dimensions are 
in height. 

The Museum is one immense hall withou 
an open polished timber roof. Its size 
52 1-2 feet in height. 

Beneath the chapel is a le 
pacity for 300 persons and 
Grand avenue. For light 
building cannot be 
of architecture is 
English Gothic. 
Walsh of St. 
arc 
e r i n 

Th 
tuti 
«n 



79x50 feet bj^ 67 feet 

t columns, covered by 
being 98x58 feet and 

room with a seating ca- 

easily accessible from 

d ventilation the 

ur passed. The style 

the earl}^ decorated 

Mr. Thomas 

Louis was the 




IS 

der 



Museum, St. Louis Uuiversity. 

9 

the management of the Jesuit Fathers and the course of studies 
is complete and thorough. The classical course extends over 
seven years. Besides mental philosophy and the ancient and 
modern classics ; physics, chemistrj-, astronomy, surve3ang, 
and all the branches of mathematics are included in this 
course. An ample laboratory is provided in the basement 
for the students of chemistr3^ The principles of the natural 
sciences are illustrated with experiments, for which a large col- 



106 



COM3IERCIAL AND 



^^,^"TT^ 



lection of instruments are at the disposal of the professors of 
science. The museum contains numerous specimens of ores to 
assist the student of geology. A telescope, which was in use at 

iiiiiii ni i n iiiiiiiiii M rTTnrTrn'rTn.<>nninii [ i' ^^^^MIi!ill H tue rormer site, win oe 

mounted as soon as 
practicable. 

Since 1881 the insti- 
tution receives only day 
:' scholars. Students 
c coming from a distance 
" must provide their own 
f quarters in the city. 
; College of the 

: Christian Brothers, 
: St. Louis. — This insti- 
; tution, conducted by 
: the Brothers of the 
\ Christian Schools, 
1 founded in 1851, was- 
\ originally located on 
\ Eighth and Cerre sts., 
: but was transferred to 
\ Cote Brilliante in Oc- 
\ tober, 1882. The lo- 
^ cation, buildin^fs and 
: grounds are not 
equalled, for educa- 
tional purposes, by any 
in the Mississippi 
Valley. I 

The various arts and 
sciences, usually tanght in the best American colleges, naturally 
find here an appropriate place, as their system of educa-^ 
tion has the experience of over two hundred years, and is 
adapted to the wants of the age and the requirements of the 
country. 




ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 107 

The curriculum comprises preparatory, commercial, collegiate, 
literary and scientific courses. 

The social culture of the students receives especial attention ; 
the Brothers and the pupils form, to a certain extent, a family cir- 
cle, and dine at the same table. 

The discipline of the institution, which is constantly maintained, 
is of a suasive and parental character. 

Although the Catholic religion is professed and taught in the- 
college, students of other denominations are admitted, provided 
they are willing, for the sake of order and uniformity, to be pres- 
ent at the public exercises of religious worship. 

The session commences on the first Monday in September, and 
ends on the Wednesday before the last Thursday in June. 

Missouri Medical College was founded in 1840 as the medical 
department of Kemper College. Subsequently it became the 
medical department of the University of the State of Missouri. 
After a few years that connection was dissolved until 1886, when 
the connection was restored. It now constitutes Section No. 2 
of the medical department of the State University, so that all the 
students of the University receive their diplomas from the Mis- 
souri Medical College. It was founded by Drs. Jno. S. Moore 
and Jos. Nash McDowell. The officers of the college now are, P. 
Gervais Robinson, M. D., LL. D., Dean, and Justin Steer, Ph. 
D., M. D., Secretary. At the college dispensary the daily clinics 
held by the different members of the faculty are supplied with a 
large number and rich variety of esses. St. John's Hospital ad- 
joins the college building, and is in charge of the order of " Sis- 
ters of Mercy," its medical management being exclusively con- 
trolled by the faculty of the Missouri Medical College. The St- 
Louis City Hospital, the largest in the city, containing 450 beds, 
and furnished with a commodious lecture and operating amphi- 
theater, has representation from the Missouri Medical College by 
clinical teachers, and as the hospital is the largest receptacle for 
the pauper sick and injured of the city, these clinics are of the 
highest importance. The corps of assistant physicians to the 
City Hospital are appointed each year after a competitive examin-^ 



108 



COMMERCIAL AND 



(ition^ ant] all the inembei'H of tin.' '^railiiatini^ clas.s of the Miysomi 
Me<lical College, are eligible. 

Faculty: P. Gervais RoVnnBon, M. I)., \Aj. I)., Dean, 

I'rofesi^or 
'.f I'rae- 
t i c e () f 
Mcflifine, 
<^ ' I i III eal 
.M<'i iciue 
• If 'I I I lygi- 
ene, .Mil 
Wayhing- 
t o II a V ('- 
niic ; ,1. K . 
'^ B a 1 1 < I 1 1 \' , 
I M. I)., 
- \.\.. I)., 
~ i'rofesHor 
I of Pny- 
h ciiological 
; Medicine 
-^ a n d Dis- 
eases of 
the Nerv- 
ous S y H- 

Olive Ht. ; 
<^'harIesK. 
Michel, 
]\I . 1)., 
Tiofessor 
of Oph- 

thalinolotry, 2!>2;"> \\'a>hiii;^ton avenue; 11. luholsk**, JM. D., 
I'rofessor of Clinical Surgery and Surgical Pathology, N. E. cor- 
ner Jefferson avenue and Locust street; Otto A. Wall, M. D., 
I'h. (t., Professor of Pharmacy, 2111 South Second street; C. A. 




ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 109 

Todd. A. M.. M. D., Professor of Anatomy and Diseases of 
Ear and Throat, 2045 Washington avenue: T. F. Prewitt, M. D., 
Professor of Principles and Practice of Surgery and Clinical Sur- 
gery, corner 22d and Olive streets; C. O. Curtman, M. D., Pro- 
fessor of Chemistry and Director of Chemical Laboratory, 3718 
North Ninth street ; G. A. Moses. M. D.. Professor of Obstetrics 
and Diseases of Women, 2901 Washington avenue ; Ludwig Bre- 
mer, M. D., Professor of Physiology. Histology, and Patholog- 
ical Anatomy ; Director of the Biological Laboratory, 2('23 Park 
uvenue ; Justin Steer, Ph. B., M. D.. Secretary. Professor of Ma- 
teria Medica. Therapeutics and Clinical Medicine. 7('3 Washington 
avenue : W. A. Hardaway, A. M. . M. D. . Professor of Diseases f/f 
the Skin, 2301 Olive street; A. V. L. Brokaw. M. D.. Demon- 
strator of Anatomy. 

St. Louis College of Physicians and Surgeons was chartered 
and organized in 1879. mainly through the personal efforts of its 
present Dean. Dr. Louis Bauer. It was put in working order in 
the same year and located at the corner -of 11th and North Mar- 
ket streets ; the building was formerly occupied by the Episcopal 
Orphans' Home. In the spring of 1880 the property was pur- 
chased by the college and such alterations in the building were 
made as to adapt it for the purpose. From the very beginning 
this institution has steadily advanced in its usefulness and pop- 
ularity until in the 9th year of its successful work it has become 
in point of the number of its students the second medical school 
in the State. 

This gratifying result is due to the liberal policy adopted and 
steadily followed by both the Board of Trustees and Faculty to 
revert the revenues of the college to improvements of the building 
and the means for objective teaching. And next to the progres- 
sive^character of the faculty and its methods. 

Most of the students who have received their medical education 
and diploma from the St. Louis College of Physicians and Sur- 
geons have had marked success in practice, and some of them 
have acquired positions of honor, trust and revenue. 

In awarding every year two honorary diplomas it has secured 



110 



COMMERCIAL AXD 



the connection and interest cf some of the most distinguished 
physicians and authors, both at home and in foreign countries. 

The latter are of great service to students who go abroad to 
advance and favor their scientific purposes. 




The present ofiQcers of the institution are : Hon. Jas. O. Broad- 
head, President; Wm. Hyde, Esq., Vice-president; A. S. Barnes, 
M. D., Registrar, and Louis Bauer, M. D., Dean. The members 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. Ill 

of the Board of Trustees and faculty comprise some of the most 
public spirited and energetic men of the city. 

In 1887 a dental department was annexed to the institution and 
placed under the management of most competent professors who 
combine practical skill with advanced scietific proficienc3^ 

The combined classes of the Medical-Surgical and Dental de- 
partments have been argumented of late to such an extent as to 
necessitate a substantial enlargement of the building for their 
accommodation. 

The location of the College in the northern part of the city 
presents some commendable features. Occupying the Soutli- 
West corner of Jackson Park, it is surrounded by an orderly 
and quiet neighborhood free from all the seductive influences 
«o prone in large cities. 

Last and not least the accommodation for students in the 
neighborhood are ample spacious and rather moderate in price. 

St. Louis Post-Graduate School of Medicine, Polyclinic and 
Hospital, S. W. Cor. Jefferson and Lucas avenues. 

Faculty: P. Gervais Robinson, M. D., LL. D., Emeritus 
Professor of Practical Medicine ; H. Tuholske, M. D., Professor 
of Surgery and Diseases of the Genito-Urinarv Organs ; Professor 
of Clinical Surgery and Sursjical Pathology, Mo. Medical College ; 
W. A. Hardaway, A. M., M. D., Dean, Professor of Diseases of 
the Skin, Professor of Dermatology, Mo. Medical College; W. C. 
Glasgow, A. B., M. D., Professor of Diseases of the Chest and 
Throat, Adjunct Professor of theTheory and Practice of Medicine, 
St. Louis Medical College, Physician to the Department of Chest 
and Throat, St. Louis MuUanphy Hospital; H. N. Spencer, A. 
M., M. D., Treasurer, Professor of Diseases of the Ear, Consult- 
ant to the City Hospital; Chas. E. Michel, M. D., Professor of 
Diseases of the Eye, Professor of Ophthalmology, Missouri 
Medical College ; A. J. Steele, M. D., Professor of Orthopedic 
Surgery and Diseases of the Joints, Attending Surgeon Depart- 
ment of Deformities and Joint Diseases, Augusta Free Hospital, 
Professor of Orthopedic Surgery, Beaumont Medical College; 
G. J. Engelmann, A. M., M. D., Professor of Diseases of Wo- 



112 



COMMERCIAL AND 



men and Operative Midwifery, Consultant St. Louis Female- 
Hospital; H. W. Hermann, M. D., Secretary, Professor of Dis- 
eases of the Nervous System and Electro-Therapeutics, Consult- 
mcr Physician St. Louis Insane Asylum, Assistant Physician St. 
Vincent's Asylum; Charles E. Briggs, A. M., M. D.. Professor 
of Diseases of. Children, Physician to the House of the Good 
Shepherd. 

The object of this school is to give practitioners of medicine and 
recent graduates special facilities and advantages in the study,. 




rost-Graduate school of Medicine. 

observation and treatment of clinical cases as they are presented 
at the dispensary and in the various hospitals to which the pro- 
fessors have access. 

This institution being intended for graduates onl}^ does not 
clash in its objects or interests with those colleges whose in- 
struction terminates with the graduation of the student. It 
rather supplements them, commencing where they leave off, afford- 
ing the student an opportunity to practically test under efficient 
instructors, the teachings and theories already received. But it is 



ARCHITECTURAL ST LOUIS. 



113 



to the practitioner desiring to learn the latest facts in pathology, 
and to witness the most recent modes of treatment and methods of 
operating that this school is especially helpful ; and to those pre- 
paring themselves for the practice of specialties, here oppor- 
tunity ^is'afforded of becoming peculiarly well qualified. 

HoMCEOPATHic Medical College OF Mo. — This college was 
organized in 1857, and is one of the leading educational institu- 
tions in St. Louis, 
giving a thorough 
* and practical 
course of train- 
ing to its stu- 
dents. The 
handsome college 
building is locat- 
ed on the corner 
^f Howard street 
and Jefferson 
avenue, within 
five minute s' 
walk of the Good 
Samaritan H o s- 
pital and St. Lou- 
is Children'sHos- 
pi t al, both of 
which are open 
to the students 
of this college 
for clinical pur- 
poses.^ Its teaching corps includes representative practi- 
tioners who stand high in their profession at home and are 
favorably known throughout the medical world. It is one of 
the progressive schools of this '^ountr}' recognizing the rights 
of women to enter the various professions of life, and there- 
fore have thrown its doors wide open for their admittance, and 
graduate them when fully qualified. Its officers are: S. B. 




Homoeopathic Medical College of Mo. 



114 



COMMERCIAL AND 



Parsons, M. D., Dean; W. J. Burleigh, M. D., Registrar; J. A, 
Campbell, M. D., Treasurer of Syn<licnte. 




St. Louis Skminary. — Tiiis is a first class private select school 
for young ladies, and is situated at Woodland Station on the route 
of the Wabash, St. Louis & Pacific railway, forty minutes only 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 115 

from Vine street depot, on a commanding summit, overlook- 
ing the city of St. Louis, remarkable for its beauty, its healthf ul- 
ness, and its removal from all disturbing influences. Tiie 
proximity of the Seminary to St. Louis secures to the young 
ladies all the advantages for improvement offered by this great 
city, and yet it is surrounded by all the quiet and seclusion of a 
rural neighborhood. The elegant and well arranged edifice stands 
in the midst of a beautiful, shady lawn of six acres, adjoining 
which is a spacious park of twenty acres, also belonging to the 
principal. The grade of scholarship is elevated, and the instruc- 
tion thorough. The number is limited to twenty-four young 
ladies, the instruction of whom is distributed among seven teach- 
ears of large experience and ripe scholarship. The principal, 
with an experience of forty years, devotes his entire attention to 
class instruction. The classes being small, each pupil is brought 
frequently in personal contact with the teacher, giving her great 
advantages over that in crowded schools. 

Besides the thorough literary course, every desirable advantage 
is offered in the departments of music, vocal and instrumental, 
drawing and sketching from nature, crayoning, painting in oil and 
water colors, languages, ancient and modern, and in whatever else 
appertains to the finished education of a young lady. The 
Seminary was organized in 1871, is regularly chartered and con- 
fers the usual literary degrees. 

The institution is not sectarian, but the the most careful atten- 
tion is bestowed on the religious training of young ladies, their 
morals, manners and social training being guarded carefully. 
During the seventeen years of the history of the institution, public 
favor has constantly increased until the applications for rooms are 
beyond the accommodation. With a location, beautiful, health- 
ful and accessible, the spacious grounds with the improvements 
thereon, afford the fullest accomodations for an agreeable home. 
With a' full board of competent and experienced instructors the 
Seminary offers its advantages to those seeking a home and a 
school. For catalogues address the principal, B. T. Blewetty 
LL. D., Jennings, Mo. 



116 



COMMERCIAL AND 



Jones Commercial College. — In a work of this nature it would 
iiardly be complete without reference to that class of educational 
institutions and facilities belono-ins; to St. Louis which have been 
the means of starting a great man}^ of her prominent merchants, 
manufacturers and others on the proper road to business pros- 
perity. Mr. Jonathan Jones founded his commercial college 
awa}'- back in the 40s, and for all these 3'ears it has held the 
- =-^^^^^'^^^^^^ r highest pla ce 

iB^ -_ among the edu- 

cational institu- 
t i o n s of this 
city. The 
c o u r s e of in- 
struction in this 
college is con- 
fined entirelj^to 
the p r a c t i cal 
te branches of ed- 
ucation that go 
to m a k e up a 
complete busi- 
ness man or 
woman. Every 
detail of ac- 
co unts, corre- 
spondence and 
general business 
m a n a g e m ent 

that can possibly occur in the extensive commercial, manu- 
facturing or banking operations is here taught, principles 
being first thorough^ instilled and then the practical appli- 
cation of the principles is made through the medium of 
complete sets of account books. All the principles and 
practice of telegraph}'- and short-hand are special features of the 
now practical education and at the Jones Commercial College re- 
ceive most careful attention. This old educational establishment 




one.'- I uiinuercial Cuile.ue. Viue and Third streets. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



117 



has for fifteen years been under the professorship, and for four 
years under the proprietorship of J. G. Bohmer and its manage- 
ment conducted by him. Far the past twelve years the college 
occupied the buildings Nos. 307, 309 and 311 North Broadway, 
but these becoming unsafe and besides not offering the required 
space the professor secured the extensive building Third and 
Vine streets to which the college removed in February last. The 




Loretto Accademy, Florissant. 



various departments of the college have been fitted up with every 
comfort for the students and every educational appliance is pro- 
vided. The structure fronting on two streets has the advantage 
of a flood of light in every department as will be seen by the ac- 
company ino; cut. 

YouNft Ladies' Academy conducted by the Sisters of Loretto, 
an institution founded in 1847, is located in the midst of a de- 
lightful and healthy country, the beautiful Florissant valley near 



118 COMMERCIAL AXD 

the terminus of the Western, Cable and Xarrow Gauge Railway. 
Consequently this school possesses nearly all the advantages of a 
city and suburban residence. The grounds embrace several 
acres which are laid out in groves and shaded walks, affording 
every facility and inducement for out-door exercise. 

The building is capacious and comfortable, containing an 
elegant chapel, parlors, various recitation and music rooms, a 
commodious study hall and refectory, two recreation halls for 
seniors and juniors, three separate dormitories range on the 
second floor, with adjoining toilet and bath-rooms, each separated 
by spacious corridors, which for the greater advantage of health 
and convenience traverse the lens^th and breadth of the buildino: 
on the first three floors, an exhibition hall having ample capa- 
city to accommodate over a thousand ; also art, needle-work, 
infirmaries and wardrobe departments. 

The scholastic year is divided into two sessions. The first one 
opens on the first Monday in September, the second begins on 
the first day of Februar}', and closes at the end of the follow- 
ing June. 

St. Louis Institute of Architects hold their meetings in the 
Pol^^technic building, 7th and Chestnut, on the 2d Monday in 
each month. 

St. Louis Sketch Club. — At the meetings of this club some 
rare specimens of pencil work are exhibited, many of them being 
treasured by the recipients as valued souvenirs. The club have 
quarters in Washington Universit}\ 

Academy of the Visitation. — The Order of the Visitation was 
founded in Annecy, Haute Savoie, by St. Francis de Sales and 
Ste Jane Frances de Chautal, in 1610, and was introduced into 
this countiy in 1799 at Georgetown, D. C, from which institution 
this Academy was established in 1833. It has ranked for over a 
tialf a century among the best patronized educational institutions 
in the west. The Academ}' is pleasantly situated in an elevated 
and healthy part of the city, and being surrounded by commodi- 
ous and well cultivated grounds, affords ever}' facilit}^ for open- 
air exercise. The buildings are large, well ventilated, heated 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS, 



119 



throughout by hot air furnaces and low-pressure steam, from 
which there is no danger of explosion. The course of instruction 

i n c 1 u d es all 
the branches 
of a practical 
education to- 
gether with 
music, vocal 
and i n s t r u- 
me n tal, lan- 
guages, art, in 
fact a thorough 
course of a 
high grade in- 
s t i t ute from 
which the 
young lady 
graduate is 
fitted to enter 
any sphere of 
life. 

The Institu- 
tion possesses 
a Museum 
c o n t aining a 
great variety 
of specimens, 
collected from 
various quar- 
ters of the 
globe, espec- 
ially from our 
own country, 

and presented by friends. It also possesses a very beautiful and 
complete philosophical and chemical apparatus, globes, etc. 
The library, belonging to the institution, affords its members op- 
portunities of enlarging their fund of general knowledge. 




120 



COMMERCIAL AND 



Concordia College. — The location of this educational insti- 
tution is one of the finest about the city. Jefferson avenue at the 
point where the building stands having risen gradually to a height 
overlooking the whole southern portion of the city with a front 
view extending to the hills of Illinois, taking in the Mississippi 
river makes a beautiful site for a large building. 

The college is devoted to the preparation of 3'oung men for the 
ministry who have first gone through the regular courses of in- 
struction at other colleges or schools, especially of those belong- 
ing to the German Evangelical Lutheran denomination. The 

college 




Concordia College. 



Charles F. Mav, architect. 



matters are pursued in the course of study. The building is 
three stories above basement with a handsome tower in the cen- 
ter 140 feet high, has a frontage of 235x100 feet deep, and is of 
modern Gothic style of architecture. 

Eden College. — The accompaning cut is the college of the Ger- 
man Evangelical Synod of North America for education of min- 
isters, and was formerly located atFemme Osage, Warren County, 
Mo. , where some 200 ministers received their schooling. Since 1858 
the same has been opened on the St. Charles rock road and Hunt 
avenue, just opposite to the station Eden, on the Wabash R. R., 7 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



121 




J 22 



COMMERCIAL AND 



! _ 



miles from the St. Louis Court-house. The institution is capable 
of teaching 100 students at a time, and is at present conducted by 
Rev. L. Haeberle, who is instructor, while Rev. Prof. Dr. R. 
John, Rev. Prof. W. Becker are professors, and Rev. L. Weber 

and wife have 
charge of the house- 
fa o 1 d department- 
The above synod 
has another institu- 
t i n at Elmhurst, 
Du Page C u n t y 1 
111., 16 miles north- 
west from Cliicago, 
for the education 
of teachers and 
young men, who 
have not decided 
what course to fol- 
low. 

Washington Uni- 
t^ERSiTY, founded in 
the City of St. 
Louis, under an Act 
of Incorporation l)y 
the State of Mis- 
souri, approved 
February 22, 1853, 
is intended to em- 
brace the whole 
range of University 
studies, except The- 
ology, and to afford opportunity of complete preparation for 
ever}' sphere of practical and scientific life. 
4^ SENIOR YEAR. — First Term. — Required. — Astronomy, Metaphysics, 

History, English Literature, Themes, 
I 'Elect one or more of the following: — Applied Mechanics, Physics, 
(^Mechanical Theory of Heat, Clausius) , Practical Chemistry, Botany 




ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS 



123 




124 COMMERCIAL AND 

German, French, Natural Histor3\ Second term. — Eequired. — 
Political Economy, English Literature, History, Physiology, Themes. 
Elect one or more of the folloidng: — Applied Mechanics, German^ 
French, Practical Chemistry, Botany, Physics — as first term — 
Practical Astronomy. 

From the preceding statement it will be seen that the courses 
of stud}^ in the College are two in number, each requiring for its 
completion four years. These courses lead respectively to the 
degrees of (I.) Bachelor of Arts and {11. ) Bachelor of Philosophy , 
For admission to the first Greek is required and the study of 
Greek is also required during one 3'ear and a half, or three terms, 
of the College course. For admission to the second a certain 
amount of Physics is required instead of Greek, which require- 
ment is continued one 3'ear and a half, and the general tendency 
of this course is towards scientific studies. 

Latin. — The study of Latin is required in both courses during 
the Freshman and Sophomore years. 

Greek is required in course I. during three terms, or until the 
middle of the Sophomore year. It is then an' elective study, but a 
large majority in every class continue the study of Greek until 
the end of the year. 

Modern Languages. — Sufficient knowledge of either German or 
French to read ordinary prose with the aid of a dictionary is re- 
quired. 

History. — Some historical work is done by every class as a part 
of the required work of the year. 

Political Economy^ as a required study, is also taught with four 
exercises a week the second term Senior year. 

Physiology and Anatomy. — A course of eighteen lectures is 
given to the Senior class during the second term Charts, the 
human skeleton, and subjects from the dissecting room are studied 
carefully, and a practical bearing given to the whole work. 

Mathematics. — Higher Algebra, Trigonometry, Analytical 
Geometry, Differential Calculus and Mechanics are required 
studies in both courses, covering two years' work. Integral Cal- 
culus and Applied Mechanics may be studied during the Junior 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



125 




126 ' COMMERCIAL AND 

and Senior years. In^all the work in pure mathematics College 
and Polytechnic classes receive their instructions from the same 
teachers, and usually in the same classes. 

Chemisti'ii is required the first term Junior year in Course I., 
and the whole of the Sophomore year in Course II. JT It may also 
be pursued as an elective after the required work is finished. 

All faciUties are offered student's in Chemistry for gaining a 
thorough knowledge in both the organic and inorganic branches. 

The large and spacious laboratories afford ample working-room 
for a large number of students. 

Mineralogy and Geology. — Lectures and recitations on this 
subject belong to the work of the second term Junior year in both 
courses. 

The Polytechnic School gives the student a thorough ground- 
ing in the Sciences involved hi engineering, and so much of the 
Art or Practice as can be shown to rest upon a scientific basis. 

The Testing Laboratory . — The University has two testing 
machines, one working ^up to 10,000 pounds and the other to 
100,000 pounds, both adapted to testing materials in tenison, 
compression and cross-breaking. 

Manual Training. — Iw the Courses of Study the word " shop- 
work" has been used to cover the systematic course of instruc- 
tion and practice in the use of machine tools. This work is re- 
quired of all Freshmen and Sophomores and of all Juniors and 
Seniors except those in"]the course in chemistry. 

During the last four years the facilities for tool-instruction and 
practice have been greatl}"" increased. All thie shops of the Man- 
ual Training School are open to students of the Polvtechnic 
classes, as provided in the ordinance establishing the school. 

Botany. — Undergraduate instruction is so planned as to give 
the student a working knowledge of the elements of descriptive 
and systematic botany. 

Library and Reading Room. — Room No. 10 of the East 
Wing, Universit3'' Hall, is used as a reference library and reading 
room. Here all necessary books of reference are provided, and 
also a good selection of periodical literature. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



127 







128 COMMERCIAL AND 

Gymnasium. — Nearlj' ten years ago a Gymnasium was erected 
and furnished at a total cost of about $10,000. on tlie University 
grounds. The large hall, 50x70 ft., anil nearly 30ft. high, is 
heated by steam, and supplied with all necessary apparatus. 

The Law Department of Washington University, also known as 
the St. Louis Law School, was first opened on Wednesday, Sep- 
tember 16, 1867, and is now in its twenty-second year of success- 
ful operation. 

Smith Academy, a department of Washington L^niversit3\ 
The Academy was founded in 1853, and in the following year 
school was opened with thirty-fouy scholars. 

The Academ}^ building now occupied was erected in 1878-79. 

Mary Institute. — Founded May 11, 1859. In 1859 several 
gentlemen, availing themselves of the liberal provisions of the 
Universit}'' Charter, established under it a school for girls. A 
•commodious building was erected, at an expense of 825,000, 
upon a lot given for the purpose in Lucas Place. Subsequentlv 
an addition was made which more than doubled the original ca- 
pacity and accommodations. 

The need of more room and greater convenience was felt, how- 
ever, for several years. To meet this want a large, convenient 
and well-furnished building was erected in 1878, at a cost of 
$70,000, on a spacious lot at the corner of Beaumont and Locust 
streets. This building, now in use. is admirably adapted to the 
accommodation of a large school. Besides the three study-rooms 
of the separate departments, the public hall, art rooms, labora- 
tory, and gymnasium, there are sixteen rooms used solely f< r 
recitations. The halls are broad, the stairwavs rise at an easy 
grade,- the ceilings are high, and the rooms are well-lighted and 
readih^ ventilated. 

The Institute is provided with the most thorough and varied in- 
struction, so that no citizen of St. Louis need send his daughter 
away from home, for four or five of the most critical years of her 
life to be trained among strangers. The connection of the Insti- 
tute with the University is such as to secure to young women all 
the means of high intellectual culture accessil)le to 3'ouno^men. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



129 







•0 _ -/ ;^ B ^ ^^. f-^i^j^g Tj /' >7 













130 COM31EECIAL AXD 

St. Louis School of Fine Arts. — The establishment of an Art 
School upon a broad and permanent foundation has always been 
part of the plan of Washington University. For nearly twenty- 
five years art instruction has been embodied in the course of 
study. In 1875, special students were admitted to the Drawing 
Department, and class, and public lectures were given on Art 
History. The same year an evening school was opened. 

On May 22d, 1879, the Directors of the Universit}^ adopted an or- 
dinance establishing a Department of Art in Washington Uni- 
versity, from which the following extracts are taken : — 

" A Department of Art is hereby established as a special De- 
partment of Washington University, to be known as The St. 
Louis School of Fine Arts. 

"The objects of said Department shall be: instruction in the 
Fine Arts ; the collection and exhibition of pictures, statuary, 
and other works of art, and of whatever else may be of artistic 
interest and appropriate for a Public Gallery or Art Museum ; 
and, in general, the promotion by all proper means of testhetic or 
artistic education." 

Academy of Science meets in the halls of Washington Univer- 
sity, 17th and Washington avenue, on the first and third Mondays. 

St. Louis Art Society. — This organization has in view the 
improvement of its members in art work, and the careful study 
of subjects pertaining to art. They hold their sessions in the 
Polytechnic building, 7th and Chestnut sts., on the 2d Wednes- 
day of January, April, September and November. 

St. Louis Artists' Society. — This is a social organization of 
the principal artists of the city, which meets every First Saturday 
at 108 South 4th, holding discussions on art, and reviewing the 
work of the members. 

St. Louis Association of Amateur Photographers. — Thi& 
organization has for its purpose the improvement of themselves 
in Photography as a pastime, furnishing them amusement and 
instruction. 

St. Louis Chapter of the American Institute of Architects. 
The representative architects of St. Louis belong to this chapter,. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



131 




132 COMMERCIAL AND 

holding mefctings at intervals in Washington University, for the 
purpose of discussing and reviewing architectural points. 

Ursulin'e Academy. — None of the many schools in 8c. Louis 
and vicinity, whether da}^ or boarding schools, have a better 
record than this Academy. It has pupils within its walls from 
all parts of the country, and of many different creeds, though 
the school is Catholic in the broadest and best sense of the term. 
The Ursuline Sisters, in whose charge it is, follow a system of in- 
struction which has the sanction, dignity and continuous success 
of centuries to recommend it, and the teachers themselves make 
it their life-work to instruct young ladies, not only in the knowl- 
edge to be derived from books, but also in those rules and prin- 
ciples of morality, deportment, etiquette, etc., which fit them to 
adorn an}- station in life. The curriculum comprises all depart- 
ments of study usually pursued by pupils of the same age in our 
leading private schools, including modern languages. The build- 
ings of the Academy are situated on State street, between Rus- 
sell and Ann avenues, and are now being improved and enlarged 
for the better accommodation of their increasing patronage. The 
rooms, including the churches, class and recitation rooms are 
commodious, well lighted, well ventilated and precisely adapted 
to the purposes for which thev were built. Rev. Mary Johanna 
is in charge, assisted by able and efficient teachers, selected with 
especial reference to their ability as educators. The discipline is 
mild and gentle and in its nature such as ought to prevail in every 
well governed Christian household. 



ARCHITECTUKAL ST. LOUIS. 133 



Libraries. 



St. Louis Mercantile Library, Southwest Corner Broadway 
and Locust street. Robert S. Brookings, President ; John R. 
Lionberger, Treasurer; Julius S. Walsh, Vice-President; John N. 
Dyer, Librarian. 

In the year 1846 the plan of a Mercantile Library -for St. 
Louis was broached by three eminent and public spirited 
citizens — James E. Yeatman, John C. Tevis and Robert K. 
Woods. They were men with whom to resolve was to do, and 
having decided to " make an effort," the sympathies of Colonel 
A. B. Chambers, the then Editor of the Missouri Republican^ 
Peter Powell, John F. Franklin, R. P. Perry, WiUiam P. Scott 
and John Haskell, all of whom were merchants except Colonel 
Chambers, were enlisted in the cause. 

On the thirteenth of January, 1847, the association was or- 
ganized by the adoption of a constitution, the first President be- 
ing Mr. James E. Yeatman, the father of the scheme. A board 
of directors, chosen from among the leading merchants of the 
town, promptly entered upon their duties, and in April of the 
same year, the infant Library was opened to its members in a 
suite of rented rooms on the corner of Pine and Main streets. At 
the close of the first year the membership numbered 283 with 
1,680 volumes in the Library, and cash receipts for the year, 
amounting to $2,689. 

The success of the enterprise was so marked, that a change of 
quarters became imperative. Two houses were rented in Glascow 
Row, of which the second stories were appropriated to the use of 
the Library and Reading-rooms. In three years, the member- 
ship had nearly trebled, and the necessity of suitable and per- 



COMMERCIAL AND 



manent accommodations, assumed an urgent aspect. On June 
lOtb 1851, the valuable lot on the corner of Locust .and Fifth 
street, was purchased by the board for $25,500, and in due time 
the well-known building which served its purpose up to the close of 
1886, was completed. From that time forward the institution 
entered on a new career of prosperitj' and usefulness, and the 




Mercantile Library. 

fondest hopes of its most devoted friends have been more than 
realized. Presidents, Directors, Librarians and Assistants have 
all worked together with devoted energy and singleness of aim 
for the good of the enterprise. The greatest possible care, and 
the most judicious selection have been exercised in the choice of 
books and periodicals with the natural result which always fol- 



ARCHITECTUKAL ST. LOUIS. 135 

lows single-hearted and conscientious work as night follows day — 
viz. : a most thorough and brilliant success. 

By the end of 1886, the necessity of a really commodious, fire- 
proof and permanent home for the valuable collection of books 
and art treasures, and the constantly increasing army of members, 
had become apparent ; and after some consideration of ways and 
means, the erection of the handsome, fire-proof, six-story building, 
now in progress at the old site, was determined upon. The state- 
ment below will not only show the present condition and progress 
of the library, as compared with that of the early 3^ears of its ex- 
istence, but will also afford the following interesting comparisons. 
First, the active work of the library, in the ratio of its issue, to 
the total number of its volumes ; second, the extraordinary ave- 
rage number of volumes read annuall}^ per member ; and thirdly, 
the small percentage of fiction issued as compared with libraries 
of other cities. The statement (carefully prepared from the 1885 
Annual Reports of the Library) show it to be doing the best work 
of any other similar library in the country : 



LIBRARY STATEMENT. 



St. Louis Mercantile Library. 
New York Mercantile Library, 
Cincinnati Mercantile Library. 
Buffalo Mercantile Library . . . 
Philadelphia Mercantile Library. 4,911 



Ratio of issue to number of books : 

Times. 

St. Louis Mercantile Library 3 

Buffalo Mercantile Library 2 

Cincinnati Mercantile Library 1 

Philadelphia Mercantile Library 1 

New York Mercantile Library 70 



Mem- 
bers. 

2,789 

5,216 


Vol- 
umes. 

62,264 
207,123 


Circula- 
tion. 

168,774 
133 509 


Per cent 
of fiction. 

41.95 

52 


2,411 


47,939 


51,234 


60 


4,911 


• 50,333 
150,155 


96,113 
136,607 


70 



136 COMMERCIAL AND 

Showing use of books by members annually, per member: 

Volumes. 

St. Louis Mercantile Library G& 

Philadelphia Mercantile Library 25 

New York Mercantile Library 25 

Cincinnati Mercantile Library 20 

Buffalo Mercantile Library 

Showing percentage of fiction issued : 

Per cent. 

St. Louis Mercantile Library Association 41.95 

New York Mercantile Library Association 52 

Cincinnati Mercantile Library Association 60 

Buffalo Mercantile Library Association 70 

Philadelphia Mercantile Library Association 

Surely this showing should be a source of pride to every citizen 
of St. Louis, and in view of its meager facilities in the past, serve 
as a prediction of the great work this library will accomplish in 
the broad field opened to it by the financial and other resources of 
its new building. The latter is constructed of granite, brick, ter- 
ra cotta and iron, and is thoroughly fire-proof throughout. The 
entrance to the librar}^ is located on Locust street, at the north- 
west corner of the building. Visitors will enter a handsomely fur- 
nished reception room, take a hydraulic elevator of the most ap- 
proved construction, and in a few seconds find themselves in one 
of the most elegant and complete libraries in America. 

St. Louis Public Library. — From its organization in 1<S65 until 
December, 1884, this Institution was known as the Public School 
Library. As early as 1860, Ira Divoll, then Superintendent of 
the Public Schools, proposed to the School Board the establish- 
ment of a library as a necessary supplement of the public school 
course. 

The ''Public School Library Society" was incorporated in 
Feb., 1865. The provisions of the charter established the closest 
relations between the Library and the Public Schools. The Presi- 
dent of the School Board, the Superintendent of Public Schools 
and the Principals of the High and Normal Schools were made 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



137 



ex-officio members of the Board of Trustees ; and active mem- 
bership was confined to those connected in some way with the 
public schools. The fund raised by subscriptions and donations 
received a considerable increase from the proceeds of a school 
entertainment given in June, 1865 ; and in November it amounted, 
to $5,726.65. 

The Library was opened in December with 1,500 volumes, the 
greater portion being juvenile literature. Certificates of life 
membership, 
giving holders 
the right to 
vote for Di- 
rectors and 
making them 
eligible to that 
office, were 
sold for $12, 
p ay abl e in 
q u arterly in- 
s t a 1 ments of 
one dollar, 
which mean- 
time entitled 
the payer to 
draw books as 
a t e m p rary 

member Public school Library, Seventh and Chestnut streets. 

In April, 1869, the original intention of its founders was car- 
ried out by the transfer of the Library to the Board of Public 
Schools. By the provisions of the transfer, the School Board was 
bound to maintain the Library ; and if it should fail in the con- 
tract the Library would again revert to the life members. 

In 1874 the School Board increased its annual appropriation to 
$12,000, and made the Reading-room and Reference Department 
of the Library free to all. In 1885, the appropriation was raised 
to $14,000. 







138 



COMMERCIAL AND 






In December, 1884, the Board, realizing that the Library had 
long since outgrown its original function, and had become, as 
its founders intended, a general library, changed the name from 
the " Pubhc School " to the " St. Louis Public Library,!' in or- 
der that the name might indicate its character and purpose, aud 
show that it was a library for all the people of St. Louis.. 

It is growing at the rate of three or four thousand volumes a 
year; and its annual issue amounts to more than 250,000 vol- 
umes. The influence of such an institution upon the intellectual 
and moral advancement of the city, and indirectly upon its ma- 
terial prosperity, cannot be overestimated. 

The Library now contains nearly 70,000 volumes. It occupies 

the whole of the 
second floor of 
t li e Polytechnic 
Building. The 
greater part of 
the collection is 
stored in Ames 
Hall, a handsome 
room 80x60 feet, 
in the old alcove 
style o f library 
architecture. 
The Reading 

Room is 100x50 feet, and is probabl}^ the largest and best 
lighted and ventilated public reading-room in the country. 
There are six smaller rooms. One of these contains a fea- 
ture of the Library which should be of special interest to the 
readers of this work, in it are placed all the text-books and 
works on pedagogy and allied subjects. 

Law Library. — This library contains a large number of legal 
Tolumes, — 11,500, — and is for the use of the members of the 
St. Louis Bar Association only. It has a reputation for its ex- 
tensiveness and completeness, the claim being that no other col- 
lection in the West equals it. It is located in the south wing of 
the Court-house on second floor. 




(HENRY AMES HALL.) 

Puljlic Librarv. 



AKCHITECTURAL ST. UOUIS. 



139 



St. Louis University Library is said to be a collection of more 
than usual value. The collection is quite large and is used by 
the University students. Location, Washington avenue and 
Ninth street. 

In addition to these are the following : Library of St. Louis 
Law School, Odd Fellows Libi-ary, Slovansa Lipa (Bohemian), 
St. Louis Turnverein Library, St. Louis Diocesan Library, Li- 
brary of St. John's Circle and the libraries of the Young Men's 
Sodality, Young Ladies' Sodality and the Young Men's Christian 
Association. 







Entrance to Sliaw's Botanical Garden. 



140 



COMMERCIAL AND 



Charitable Institutions. 



The concentration of peoples in comparative^ small areas, such 
as cities, brings with its thrifty and provident, or self supporting 
and industrious, some who meet with misfortune, many im- 
provident and others worthless. 




That there are those in ever}^ cin^ as well as St. Louis, who 
desire to assist and feel an interest in the worthy poor, or those 
who through no act of their own become objects for relief, 
is shown by the number of institutions erected and maintained 
at large expense for the accommodation of any who b}" chance 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



141 



maj^ become unable to provide or relieve themselves, and also by 
the number of organizations whose sole object is to care for the 
poor and relieve distress. St. Louis has many such charities and 
people who spend money and give their time liberally in this wa}^ 

The government of the city through its health department and 
hospitals furnishes much aid while the various religious denom- 
inations, social and other organizations assist the poor among 
them. 

The Alextan Brothers' Hospital, is situated on the corner of 




Alexiau Brothers' Hospital. 

S. Broadway and Osage street, in the center of a plat of ground 
so large (5 acres) as to render its isolation from the noise of the 
streets most perfect, thus giving to the patients that quiet so much 
sought after, but so seldom found amidst the turmoil of our large 
cities. 

•Nor is this the only advantage which the extensive site affords. 
In favorable seasons, the convalescents find a very acceptable 
place for healthful exercise among the winding walks and flower 
beds, and secure an enjoyable rest beneath the shade trees with 
which the grounds are filled. 

Patients are admitted regardless of nationality or creed, and 
are attended by a skillful staff of physicians and surgeons. The 



142 



COM3JERCIAL AND 



nursing and general housework is done by the Brothers, who de- 
vote their whole time and ability to the care of the sick. 

The Institution is a charity in the true sense of the term, as the 

income derived from 

paying patients is 

applied to the wants 

of the poor, and 

there is absolutely 

no salar}^ paid tO' 

^ anj^body connected 

J with the Institution. 

^ The Brothers de- 

5 pend entirely- on the 



'i generosit}' of the 
it public for the sup- 
1 port of the Hospi- 
^ tal, and the records 
7 show that the citi- 
I zens of St. Louis 
■^ and vicinity have 
r; answered generous- 
f ly to the call of the 
^ Brothers for such a 
i" noble cause. 
r Augusta Free 
t; Hospital forChil- 
I DREX. — This noble 
= charity was incor- 
porated June, 1884, 
and the handsojne 
new modern struc- 
ture now occupied 
and owned by the 
Hospital manage- 
ment was opened for the reception of children patients on Christmas 
day, 188G, which gives it a practical existence of one year and six 








ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



14a 



months. The objects of the Hospital is to care for indigent sick 
children. It is supported by voluntary contributions, bv annual 
and life subscriptions and by legacies. The institution is very com- 
plete in all its apartments and the best of care, nursing, food and 
suitable clothing, with the very best possible medical attention is 
given gratis to the patients. For the first few months of its existence 
patients were few, now they find their capacity insufficient but 
which will probably be soon increased. Its officers are Mrs. G. 




tSl. Luuib (Jliildreii'b Hu^pilal. 

A. Moses, president ; Mrs. A. Frank, Miss Boisliniere and Mrs. 
Miles Sells, vice-presidents ; Miss Fulton, secretar}^ ; Mr. M. Bern- 
heimer, treasurer ; Mr. Dexter Tiffany, attorney. The medical staff 
consists of the representative physicians and surgeons in the city. 
St. Louis Children's Hospital. — This institution was founded 



144 COMMERCIAL AND 

in 1879 in a small way and was located in an unpretentious build- 
ins; on Franklin avenue. A few ladies seeing- the need for such 
an institution in St. Louis banded themselves together for the 
l)urpose of affording assistance, relief and care to the children of 
the poor throughout the cit}- and relying upon their own exer- 
tions and what assistance might be gratuitously furnished they 
embarked in an undertaking which has resulted in accomplishing 
much good to hundreds of children and in building up an institu- 
tion alike creditable to themselves and to the city in which they 
reside. From the old quarters the}^ removed in 1884 to the pres- 
ent handsome architectural edifice, owned by the Hospital Asso- 
ciation, shown in the cut, which is at Jefferson avenue and Adams 
street, one of the most healthful localities in the city. The hos- 
pital is conducted entirelv by ladies all prominent in society 
circles of St. Louis, has accommodations for about thirty -five 
children who receive the very best attention and are visited by 
physicians of high standing in the medical profession. 

Officers: President, Mrs. Hugh McKittrick, 2913 Locust street; 
vice-president, Mrs. A. A. Blair, 2627 Chestnut street ; secretary, 
Miss Bulkle}' ; assistant-secretar}^, Mrs. A. M. Thayer ; treas- 
urer, Mrs. Robert McK. Jones, 2905 Morgan street ; assistant- 
treasurer, Mrs. Samuel. 

Blind Giels' Home. — The '* Blind Girls' Home " is not, as is 
popularly supposed, in an}' way connected with the Missouri 
State Institute for the Blind, but is a separate institution, de- 
signed as a shelter for indigent blind girls. It is a branch of the 
Woman's Christian Association, controlled by a board of manag- 
ers, non-sectarian in character. 

The present "Home," 1828 Wash street, was purchased by 
the managers in the fall of 1887. The board has a small endow- 
ment fund, but is maintained principally by subscriptions so- 
licited b}' the ladies and by proceeds of entertainments. 

The girls occupy themselves in household duties, sewing, knit- 
ting and various kinds of fancy work, and two j'oung ladies of 
the Board entertain them two afternoons of each week bj'' reading 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



145 



aloud to them. A matron is employed, who takes charge of the 
house and attends to the wants of each inmate. 

All interested in this work feel that it is indeed a noble cause, 
to be eyes to 
those who 
see not. 

St. Louis 
mullanphy 
Hospital. — 
This hospital 
was founded 
by the Sisters 
of Charity in 
182 8, when 
St. Louis was 2; 
a village, and ^ 
was located i 



at the corner g ' 
of Fourth § 
and Spruce ,1" 
s t s., where S i| 
for m a n y I. 
years the r 
city poor 
were a t- 
tended, there 
being no pub- 
lic city hos- 
pital. The 
first sister 
superior was 
Sister Fran- 
cis Xavier. 
The physi- 
cians who from time to time gave their care to the sick have left 
no record of their names until after 1840, since when the medical 

10 




7MVPWl)l1|(lllllTO!l)ti 



146 



COMMERCIAL AND 



staff has numbered among its ranks manj^ of the most prominent 
of the profession and ver\' man}^ of the practitioners, who have 
attained success in this and adjoining States, will recall the les- 
sons learned from honored lips in the old building on Fourth 
Street. As the city increased in growth, the location of the 
Hospital became too densely crowded, and for the sake of pure air 
and room for extending demands for accommodation of pa- 
tients, a new site was found at the present location, and an entire 
block of ground, one square east of Grand Avenue, near the Fair 
Grounds, was purchased, upon which was erected a most com- 
modious and well constructed hospital, having a capacit}^ with- 
out crowding, to accommodate 350 patients. The house is 
divided into twelve wards and seventy private rooms, all thor- 




German Protestant Orphans' Home. 

oughly heated, lighted and ventilated, besides being supplied 
with a splendid passenger elevator. In addition to these, there 
are suitable operating rooms, and an apartment reserved exclu- 
sively for ovariotomies. 

German Protestant Orphans' Home. — This m.odel institution 
was inaugurated by an act of the General Assembly of the state 
of Missouri dated March 25th, 1861. Its purpose is the care 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 147 

and maintenance of orphan children of both sexes, and while it is 
called a German Protestant Institution, children of all nationalities 
and from parents of every creed are received in its fold. The 
buildings are substantial, commodious and perfectly equipped. 
There is steam heat, gas and water throughout the plant furnished 
by machinery in the grounds belonging to the institution. The 
orphans are provided each with separate beds and each one is 
provided with brush, comb, towel and soap for his or her special 
use in fact with every convenience and comfort. The institution 
owns a fine farm surrounding the buildings from which all the 
food of the place is raised except groceries. 

The German General Protestant Orphans' Association was 
founded February 13th, 1877, and on February 21st one hundred 
and seventy six members were enrolled and proceeded to business 
by electing as the first directors Chas. G. Stifel, Henry Hertz, 
John H. Conrades, Phil. Krieger, sr., G. H. Boeckenkamp, F. H. 
Krenning, Wm. Lefman, Christ. Winkelmeyer, Ad. Fischer, Wm. 
Reipschlaeger, Otto Oeters, Casp. Prange, Aug. W. Schulenburg, 
Fred Zelle, P. Dickroeger, Glaus Vieths, Caspar StoUe, Ernst 
Knickmeyer, Nicholas Berg. 

The first board of directors bought the present site of the Home 
and donated it to the Association. 

The foundation was laid in the summer of 1877 and the corner 
stone was laid on October 28th, 1877, in the presence of an im- 
mense concourse of people. 

The building was erected in the summer of 1878, and on 
October the 20th, 1878, the building was accepted as complete 
from the contractors. 

The first orphan was entered at the home on Nov. 11th, 1878. 

Donations, membership dues, the aid of the Ladies' Society in 
connection with the home, and profits from festivals helped them 
in their financial affairs and the Association is not now indebted 
for one dollar. 

They have now the care of seventy orphan children and they 
get the means through the liberality of the citizens of St. Louis, 
as the membership dues of $3.00 each per year would not be 



148 



COMMERCIAL AND 



enough for the support of the home. The orphan fathers of the 
home were first Henry Hertz, and when he resigned, H. Sprengel 
succeeded him. The children visit the public schools. The pres- 
ent officers are: J. H. Conrades. President; Chas. G. Stifel, 
Vice-President ; Francis H. Krenniug, Treasurer ; F. E. Zelle, 
Fin. Secretary, and Henr}^ Hertz, Corr. Secretary. 

The Good Samaritan Hospital, on Jefferson avenue, west of 
O'Fallon street, was founded in 1858 by the late Rev. E. L. 
Nollan for the nursins: of the sick and carino; for invalids with- 




od Sauiarital Hospital. 

out regard to nationality or religion. The hospital is attended by 
eminent physicians at present ; Dr. T. Comstock, Dr. S. B. Par- 
sons, Dr. J. C. Gundelach, Dr. W. J. Harris, Dr. James A. 
Campbell, Dr. Burleigh and Dr. G. S. Schuricht. The manage- 
ment is in the hands of a board of Trustees consisting of the fol- 
lowing well known gentlemen: Adolphus Meier, President; F. 
Hackemeier, J. H. Meiersiek, J. H. Conrades, F. H. W. Krenning, 
I. G. Koppelmann, Rev. J. H. Nollan, Chr. Knickmeier and H. 
Wiebusch, Secretar3^ Mr. F. Kemper is superintendent and 
Mrs. Kemper matron. The terms are ver}^ moderate, ranging 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



149 



from $5.00 upwards, and patients can either have private rooms 
or go in wards, according to their ailments and means. The 
institution has tal^en care of ^ thousands of patients and is known 
for good nurs- 
ing, suitable 
nou ris hment 
and other con- 
veniences. It is 
capable of ad- 
mitting 75 pa- 
tients and all 
rooms are high, 
well ventilated, 
has wide halls 
and porches, is 
heated by steam, 
has water and 
baths in all sto- 
ries. Divine 
service is held *! % U 
in a nice chapel, P I'j %^B- 
and the hospital 
is open for vis- 
itors daily from 
2 to 5 o'clock 
p. M. Charity 
patients are ad- 
mitted, subject 
to the decisions 
of the executive 
committee. The 
institution is, 
outside the pay 
of patients, sup- 
ported by donations of its friends, and is kept in an economical 
and comfortable manner. All information cheerfully given by 
addressing the hospital. 




150 COMMERCIAL AND 

The City Insane Asylum is located on a commanding eminence — 
St. Louis Heights — five miles southwest from the Court House, 
but near the western entrance to Tower Grove Park. The build- 
ing is of brick with cut stone dressing, five stories high. Very 
large, spacious and handsome, surmounted with a dome. The 
twenty-five acres surrounding are laid off in gardens, lawns and 
exercise grounds. The cost of the building site and furniture 
was $1,000,000. The as3'lum can accommodate 800 patients, 
which cost the city about S200 per 3^ear each. Almost every 
form of insanity ma}^ be witnessed where the number is so great. 
The patients are afforded a variety of amusements, such as the- 
atricals, balls, etc. The balls occur every Friday night, to which 
visitors are invited. Visitors are shown through during the d^-y. 
An artesian well, said to be the deepest ever bored — 3,845 feet — 
is located on the grounds. The location of this building is on 
the highest point within twent3'-five miles, and the view from the 
dome is most masfnificent. The suburbs of St. Louis are of unusual 
beauty, and from this eminence one looks over a vast extent of 
territory as though from a mountain top. 

The Blind Asylum is between Franklin avenue and Morgan 
street, and between Nineteenth and Twentieth streets. This is a 
State institution, known as ' ' The Missouri Institution for the 
Education of the Blind." The main building fronting on Morgan 
street, is large and commodious and well arranged for its pur- 
poses. Experienced teachers are employed, and the greatest 
success is attained in the educational department. The men and 
boys are taught broom making and other useful trades ; the women 
sewing, knitting, etc. The perfection which man3'of the inmates 
attain in various branches of music is truly astonishing. Visitors 
are admitted at any time. 

City Hospital. — An immense building surrounded by beauti- 
tullj cultivated grounds, at Lafayette avenue and Linn street. 
This hospital is used only for males and accommodates nearly 500. 

The Female Hospital is located a short distance beyond Tower 
Grove Park on St. Louis Heights, and is one of the group of city 
institutions there. It is a large building, fronting on Arsenal 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



151 



street. It accommodates over two hundred patients at a time ; 
the number treated each year averaging over two thousand. It 
is free to women and children by permit from City Dispensary 
physician. 

United States Marine Hospital. — This extensive institution 
which was at one time maintained by the steamboat men of the 

western rivers. 



but is now un- 
der the direct 
control and 
management 
of the U. S. 
Government is 
located on Ma- 
rine avenue, 
Miami Street 
and the Miss- 
issippi river, a 
beautiful situ- 
ation over- 




^ looking the 
►J river in t h e 
-^ southern part 
I- of the city. 
I The grounds 
.^ are large and 
beautifully 
laid out, the 
buildings ex- 
tensive, hand- 
somely d e- 
signed and the 
management most thoroughly efficient. 

The Work House is a city necessity. Lawless men and women 
are here imprisoned for the time prescribed by the city courts 
and obliged to labor at breaking rock, which is used in macad- 



152 



COMMERCIAL AND 



amizing the streets of the citj^ . This institution is located on the 
river, three and one-half miles south. Meramec Street and 
Carondelet Road. 

The House of Refuge is a fine large building located on Louisi- 
ana avenue between Gasconade and Osage streets, Four miles 
south. 

Home for 
Aged axd Infirm 
Israelites. — The 
purposes of this 
worthy institutions 
are set forth in its 
name. It was 
founded in 1882, 
and has a most de- 
lightful location on 
Jefferson avenue, 
corner Winnebao;o 
street. 

The building of 
modern architecture 
is on an elevated piece of ground which is beautified with 
shrubbery, trees and plants making a pleasant home for the old 
people. 

St. Luke's Hospital. — In November, 1865, a conversation 
came up among some friends who happened to be together at 
priyate house on a Sunday afternoon, as to the great importance 
of a Church Hospital in St. Louis. On the next day, under this 
impulse a gentleman, having engaged the Directors' room of the 
old Mercantile Library, called upon a number of young lawmen 
to meet on an evening that week to consider the advisability of 
establishing a hospital for the sick. This meeting resulted in an 
adjourned meeting to which clergymen and others were invited at 
the second meeting. 

Articles of association were approved, and the name of St. 
Luke's Association adopted. 




Home for Ased and lulirm Israelites. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 153 

A building, with large grounds about it, was leased on Ohio 
street, in the lower part of the city. The first patient was not 
received until April,. 1866. 

An experience of three years showed that the hospital was sit- 
uated at too great a distance from the center of the city for the 
convenience of patients, physicians, and church people who de- 
sired to visit it. A removal was therefore determined upon, and 
effected in the month of March, 1870, to the corner of Elm and 
Sixth streets. An increased interest was shown in the Hospital 
by reason of its nearness, and a number of rooms were hand- 
somely furnished by several of the churches and other friends. 

In 1872, the Sisterhood of the Good Shepherd, from Baltimore, 




U. S. MARINE HOSPITAL. 

on the request of the trustees, assumed charge of the Hospital, 
from which resulted a crreat increase in its usefulness. 

In June, 1873, the Hospital removed to a building on the north 
side of Pine street, between Ninth and Tenth streets. This build- 
ing, however, like most buildings not erected for such a purpose, 
was found to be inconvenient, and on the 1st of November, 1875, 
St. Luke's removed into the building on the southeast corner of 
Tenth and St. Charles streets, which it occupied until it went 
into its own building. 

On the 26th of June, 1881, the corner stone of the present Hos- 
pital on the northeast corner of Washington avenue and Twen- 
tieth street, was laid and the occupancy of the building was en- 
tered upon on Whit Sunday, May 28, 1882. The structure cost 
about $43,000. 



154 



COM3IERCIAL AND 



Since then a chapel has been erected adjoining the hospital 
on Twentieth street. This beautiful little temple was foemally 
opened for divine worship on Sunday afternoon, November 2, 
1884, and regular daily service has been maintained there eve- 
since. 

Board of Directors : Wm. R. Donaldson, Chas. S. Freeborn, 
Jerome Hill, S. S. Hutchins, F. N. Judson, Chas. D. McLure, 
Dr. H. H. Mudd, Wm. B. Potter, Henry Shaw, E. C. Simmons, 
Wm. H. Thomson. 

Officers: Henry Shaw, president ; Wm. H. Thomson, vice- 
president ; Charles S. Freeborn, treasurer ; S. S. Hutchins, sec- 
retary. 

MuLLANPHY Emigrant Relief Fund. — 307 Locust street, John 
D. Finney, sec, is another great charity. 

To give the list of institutions and societies affording relief to 
the indigent would occupy more space than is at the disposal of the 
publishers. Enough have been cited to show the provisions made 
for the unfortunate. 

City Poor House and Farm is near the Insane Asylum. An 
extensive and expensive building of four stories, built of brick 
and stone, and accommodates half a thousand of people. 






CITY POOR HOUSE AND FARM. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



155 



Churches. 



The church edifices of St. Louis present varied types of arch- 
itecture, those built in the past eight or ten years are principally of 
block stone construction with graceful and lofty spires, showing 
open belfries. The interiors generally comform to the open truss 
style, leaving an unbroken space for auditorium, galleries, organs, 
pulpits and choir galleries. In the original laying out of the vil- 
lage which is now the great city of St. Louis, the square on Sec- 
ond and Walnut streets, where still stands the old Cathedral, was 
designated as the site for a church, and about 1770 the first church 



- ^'"'-'^ ^^-- -- " 




First (Jliurcii buill iu &i. Louis. 

structure was erected. It was a rude affair, consisting of logs set 
vertically with the interstices filled with mud. In 1818 this 
primitive effort at church construction in the Western wilds gave 
place to the Cathedral, which is in a great state of preservation 
to-day. At this time (1770 and later) the Spanish were here, 
as will be seen from a statement by the priest officiating, record- 



156 



COMMERCIAL AND 



Ido; the burial in the o^rounds surrounding: the oris^inal church 
of the wife of the third Spanish Governor-General. 



"In the Year 1779, September 7th. 
I, Capuchin, priest, missionary and 
apostotic curate of St. Louis, have 
buried in the cemetery of this church, 
opposite the balustrade to the right, the 
body of the Lady Marie de la Concep- 
tione y Zezar, wife of Don Fernando de 
Leyba, Commandant of this post, Cap- 
tain of Infantry, and have administered 
the sacraments of penitence and ex- 
treme unction. In faith of which I 
have signed the day and year as above. 
F. Berxard." 




Some of the churches of say 30 years ago were splendid 
pieces of architecture and of substantial construction, but they 

were situated in a section of the 
city that has been required for com- 
mercial purposes, therefore they 
have passed into history and the 
new have been located in districts 
more convenient to the residence 
section. 

From the accession of Louisiana 
Territory, which embraced the 
[resent state of Missouri by the 
United States Government, other 
church orsfanizations were formed. 
A Baptist Church was built at the 
corner of Third and Market streets. 
The Methodist people held services 
in the old court house, also the 
Presbyterians. The first Episcopal 
church west of the Mississippi was 
organized in 1809 and in 1829 a 
Old Cathedral— As it is to-day. church building was finished at the 
corner of Third and Chestnut streets. In no city can there be 




ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



157 



found more toleration in matters of belief or in the modification 
of ideas and in none is there a higher grade of Christian life. 

In presenting the following sketches and illustrations the 
reader gets a glimpse of the new and of the old styles of architec- 
ture prevailing in St. Louis. 

Church of the Messiah. — Garrison ave. and Locust street. 
The history of Unitarianism begins at a period far antecedent to 



the history of Christian 
rian and the religion 
pure Unitarianism. In 
ty in America was form 
nation became a settled 
opment of America after 
ordination of Jared 
more, Md. The history 
Messiah begins properly 
Rev. John Pierepont vi3 




ft 



ity. Moses was a Unita- 
taught from Mt. Sinai was 
1785 the first regular socie- 
e d. The Unitarian denomi- 
f act in the religious devel- 
C banning' s sermon at the 
Sparks in 1813 at Balti- 
of the Church of the 
with the year 1830, when 
ited this city and preached 






i;i:S 




Church of the Messiah. 

in the Market-house on Main and Market streets. In 1850, so 
well had the church prospered that it was proposed to erect a 
new temple which was dedicated the Church of the Messiah, 
December 7, 1851, at Ninth and Olive streets. On December 
26th, 1880, the present magnificent edifice was opened and it was 
dedicated December 16th, 1881. 



158 



COMMERCIAL AND 



building, 
and 



The church occupies a natural platform, 135 feet square, raised 
several feet above the surrounding streets, and stands well back 
from the street line to which the ground descends in terraces. 
It is built in the early English Gothic st^^le and is considered the 
finest piece of church architecture in the cit}'. Rev. John Snyder 

^ is pastor. The mis- 

sion house of this con- 
gregation is also a 
handsome 
It is at Ninth 
Wash streets. 

Centenary Meth- 
odist Church. — The 
congregation of the 
church originally 
worshiped in a church 
edifice erected by 
them at the corner of 
Broadwa}' and Pine 
St. In 1870 they 
removed to their new 
church, 16th and 
Pine. The buildinsj is 
of stone blocks, 
graceful in design 

Second Baptist Church — Cor. Beaumont and Locust sts. g^jj^j furnished in all 

its apartments most elegantly. 

Second Baptist Church. — This organization was effected by 
Rev. Archer B. Smith, who, in September, 1832, had been sent 
to St. Louis by the American Baptist Home Mission Society. 
Obtaining a room on Market st., east of 2d, he there began work. 
The Second Baptist worshiped for the first four j^ears in a school 
room. The first effort to obtain a church was made in 1835. 
They secured a lot, the foundation was laid, but they sold it and 
purchased an EpiscopaUan church edifice at the corner of Third 
and Chestnut sts. They erected a church in 1846 at Sixth and 




ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



159 



Locust, wherein the congregation worshiped 27 years. On July 
10, 1872, they bought the site ofthe present edifice, on which 
they were building a handsome church, when it was destroyed 
by fire on January 3d, 1879. They worshiped in Temple Shaare 
Emeth until their church was restored, August 10th, 1879. 



The First Congrega 
lea was planted b}^ Pil 
year 1620, at Plym 

The First Congke 
Louis, was organized 
seventy-seven mem 
being its pastor. It 
taneous movement 
self-sustaining from 
place of worship was 
Franklin avenue and 
to a chapel on Eleventh 
ington avenue and Lo 
permanent sanctuary 




tional Church in Amer- 
grim Fathers in the 
outh, Mass. 
GATiONAL Church, St. 
March 14, 1852, with 
bers, Dr. T. M. Post 
took origin in a spon- 
among laj^men. It was 
the beginning. Its first 
on Sixth street between 
Wash street. It moved 
street between Wash- 
cust street in 1855. A 
was erected on the cor- 



First Congregational Church — Delmar Avenue. 

ner of Eleventh and Locust and dedicated in 1860. 



This build- 



ing cost $55,000. In 1882, the church began worship in a 
wooden structure on its present site. In 1885 it entered its pres- 
ent church home, a sanctuary valued at $100,000 and entirely 



160 



COMMERCIAL AND 



free from debt. Representatives of this church are found in 
nearly all of the twelve other congregational churches of the city. 
Its present pastor is Rev. J. G. IMerrill who was installed over 
the church in 1882. 

The church stands in the city as a representative of tolerant 
orthodoxy. It has rep s^m_:,_. resentatives on the boards of 
nearl}^ all of the many ^;'^^'"^;^^-^ Protestant charitable oro^auiza- 



tions of the city. Au 
by this church in 1886. 
Pilgrim Congrega 
of stone with a grace 
inside most comforta 
1200. In the base of 
chime of bells, whose 
second to none in this 
■ The organization of ^ 
been traced to the Wal 
fore the Reformation 
er n m e n t ^=^ 



^^^a bert Place Chapel was erected 








\ 




Alps in Ita ^b!I 
of ruthless 
Francis Mc- 
ganized the 
b y t e r i a n 
America at 
Mar3dand, 
First Pr 
Church. — 
may fitly be 

pioneer church, not only of Presbj^terianism, but of Protest- 
antism in the great Southwest. Sixty-nine years ago, on the 23d 
of November, the records of the St. Louis Presbytery aflarm that 
the First Church, St. Louis, was organized with nine members, two 
elders, with the pastor, forming its first session. The Great Head 
of the Church prospered the organization so effectual!}' that in 



First Presbyterian Ctiurch — Lucas Place and 14th. 



TiONAL Church. — It is built 
ful spire 230 feet high, finished 
bly and will seat something like 
the lofty spire is a splendid 
musical tone and harmony is 
country at least, 
the Presbyterian church has 
denses, who for centuries be- 
held out for pure church gov- 
and gospel 
- ^ C a t 1 i a n 
-^^^1 hdn the face 
'' / vf =?=f persecution 
Kenzie or- 
first Pres- 
church in 
Rehoboth, 
in 1684. 

ESBTTERIAN 

This church 
called the 



AKCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



161 



November, 1822, the trustees resolved to take a deed of the ground 
on the corner of Fourth and St. Charles streets, proposing to 
erect a suitable house of worship thereon. On the 25th of March, 
1823, they resolved to commence building, and duly appointed 
their pastor. Rev. Mr. Giddings, the agent in contracting for such 
a house as he should deem best. In March, 1824, Mr. Giddings 
effected a loan for the finishing of the church, of fifteen hundred 
or two thousand dollars, pledging his own credit and propert}^, and 
taking the mortgage to secure himself. The house was dedicated 




Grand Avenue Presbyterian Church. 

on the 28th day of June, 1825. The expense of lot, house and 
interest on the money was over $8,000. 

As the city and the church grew, the necessity for a larger house 
of worship, and one farther west in the city, became an evident 
necessity. With that practical sort of prophecy which character- 
ized the then pastor of the church. Rev. Dr. BuUard, the new edi- 
fice was located and built on its present site, corner of Fourteenth 
street and Lucas Place. 

People thirty years ago wondered at the seeming foolishness of 

11 



162 COMMERCIAL AND 

those who builded on the open fields, and called the enterprise 
" Bullard's Folly." But now, after the lapse of a little over a 
quarter of a century, this noble structure, erected in the open 
country, stands in the thick of a vast cit3" ; trade hums at its very 
doors, and its congregation find themselves, to-day, like their 
fathers of days gone by, turning their enquiring faces toward the 
western fields again. On Sunday, November 21, 1855, the pres- 
ent church w^as dedicated, and cost 8100,000. The pulpit of the 
old First has had many brilliant pastors ; the Rev. H. D. Gance, 
D. D., was one of them, and the church was known to many peo- 
ple by his name. The present pastor is Rev. George E. Martin. 

The Second Presbyterian Church, St. Louis, was organized 
Oct. 10, 1838, and occupied a building at Market street and 
Broadway. The present edifice was completed in 1870 and its 
first pastor was Rev. W. S. Potts, D. D. 

Lafayette Park Presbyterian Church. — In the fall of 1875 
the residents of Compton Hill and Lafayette Park district of the 
city concluded to provide themselves and families more available 
religious privileges than were afforded by the churches to which 
they belonged, and which were at too great a distance for con- 
venience. A meeting was held at which it decided to erect a 
church edifice in this district. A committee was appointed, and 
on Dec. 13, 1875, there were subscriptions sufficient to warrant 
active operations, a lot was purchased on March 14, 1876, the build- 
ing committee proceeded to carry into execution their trust, and on 
Jan'y 13, 1878 the basement was occupied for the first time. It 
was not till 21 Jan., 1883 that the main auditorium was occupied. 
The edifice is very substantially built, handsomely furnished, 
and architecturally attractive. From the resignation of Dr. 
Marquis, May 15, 1883, who accepted a chair in the Presbyte- 
rian Theological Seminary of the Northwest, at Chicago, the 
pulpit remained vacant until Dec. 16, 1883, when the church 
extended a call to Rev. George P. Wilson, of Lexington, Ky. , 
who is i^resent pastor. 

Washington Avenue Presbyterian Church is a new stone edi- 
fice, on the corner of Washington and Compton avenues. This 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



163 



new organization is an outgrowth of the Walnut Street Presbyte- 
rian Church. Rev. James H. Brookes, D. D., pastor. 

Dr. Brookes is one of the oldest pastors in St. Louis. His pro- 
found scholarship, successful leadership and noble Christian spirit 
have given him a large place in the hearts of the Christian people 
of the city. 

Central Presbyterian Church, corner of Lucas and Garrison 
avenues, Rev. R. G. Brank, D. D., pastor, is a new and most ele- 
gant structure. 



No pains have been 
handsome, but comfort- 
furnished with taste, and 
make it a beautiful piece 
mands universal admira 
as one of the most im 
one of the best of 

Cook Avenue M. E. 



spared to make it not only 
able and convenient. It is 
is wanting in nothing to 
of architecture that com- 
tion. Dr. Braiik is known 
pressive pulpit speakers and 
pastors. 
Church South had its origin 




Cook Avenue M. E. Church. 

in 1870 through the needs of a church and Sunday-school in the ex- 
treme west end. In June, 1872, there was organized or opened an 
afternoon Sunday-school, under the auspices of the M. E. Church 
South, on the north side of Page avenue, near Spring avenue, 
which was dedicated by Bishop Marvin as the Page Avenue Sun- 
day-school. It was determined by the Quarterly Conference of 



164 



COMMERCIAL AND 



St. John's M. E. Church South that a church should be estab- 
lished in connection with the Sunday-school. The congregation 
was organized, but onl}'' enrolled a handful of members ; these in- 
creased as time grew and on Oct. 25, 1885, the elegant building 
in which the congregation now worships was dedicated as the 
Cook Avenue M. E. Church South. 

A history of the Catholic Church means the history of the 

world's polit- 
ical, material 
and religious 
progress for 
nineteen cen- 
turies, begin- 
ning with the 
rock, Peter, 
upon which 
the church 
was founded, 
and coming 
with a widen- 
i n g scope 
down to Leo 
XIII and the 
Catholicity of 
188 8. On 
Dec. 1, 1868, 
the Redemp- 
torist fathers 
took posses- 
sion of their 

new location on Grand avenue, opposite Finne}" avenue, living in 
a poor shanty for a number of years. 

St. Peter and St. Paul's, also Catholic, is another splendid 
church structure. 

The Rock Church, of St. Alphonsus' Parish is to-day one of 
the grand religious edifices of the city and one of the most exten 




Sts. Peter aud Paul's Church. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



165 



sive. It is located on the site of the old shanty and with the large 
grounds, massive stone terrace, substantial and architecturally 
fine construction, presents a commanding exterior. 

The Old Cathedral, a cut of which as it stands to-day and 
has stood for years and years marks the site where the first church 
in St. Louis stood. 

The history of Judaism begins with the return of the remnant 
of the kingdom of 
Judah from the Bab- 
ylonish captivity B. 
C. 536. Cyrus sent 
them home from Ju- 
dea and ordered the 
rebuilding of the 
temple. The de- 
scendants have con- 
tinued to build tem- 
ples throughout the 
world, of which St. 
Louis has several, 
among them is that 
of Temple Israel, 
which is located on 
the northeast corner 
of Pine street and 
Leffingwell avenue, 
occupying a lot 77 
feet by a depth of 
131 feet. It is built 
in the Romanesque 
style of architecture. 




I'v; '\Voi.ier, A relit ^ 



Temple Ir^rael — ( .r 

The construction is of limestone, with red 
sandstone trimmings and polished granite columns at entrances. 
The interior is finished in white oak and colored marbles, and the 
auditorium and galleries have a seating capacity of 1,000 persons. 
The handsome tower is 140 feet high from the base. The temple 



166 



COMMERCIAL AND 



is one of the handsomest modern architectural examples in 
the city. 

The German Evangelical Synod of North America has 

amongst its boundaries, which 
extend from California to 
New York and from Minne- 
sota to Texas, 586 ministers, 
who serve 736 congregations, 
besides having: its own mis- 
sions in India. Its publica- 
tions, consisting of several 
semi-monthly and monthly 
papers, for the ministry, fam- 
il}" and Sunday-school, have 
i^'"^^ thousands of subscribers, and 
I all the books for church and 
i school are gotten up bj^ them 




In St. Louis there are thir- 
teen churches connected with 
this svnod. and here we 2:1 ve 



St. Paul':^ German P>vangt'li<-al >} mxl. 

the names and locations of same : — 

St. Marcus, Third and Soulard : 

St. Paul's, Ninth and Lafayette; 

St. Matthew. 3331 South Seventh street; 

Ebenezer, 2921 McNair avenue: 

8t. Lucas, Scott and Jefferson avenues ; 

First Evangelical, 7429 Michigan avenue, Carondelet ; 

St. Petri, 1421 Carr street; 

St. John's, 1421 Madison street; 

Zion's. 2421 Benton street: 

Bethany, Twenty-third and Wash ; 

Friedens, Newhouse avenue and Nineteenth street ; 

St. Jacoby, De Soto street, Lowell ; 

Salem's, Natural Bridge road. 

The annexed illustration is of St. Paul's church, and the others 
are more or less similar to it, tlie main difference being that some 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS 



167 



of them have a basement 
have separate buildings, 
ages adjoining, and have 
good education in both 
St. George Episcopal 
architecturally belonging 
located at Beaumont and 
commanding a fine view 
among its congregation 
people of the city, both 
members are noted for 




for schools, while others 
All of them have parson- 
their own schools, where a 
languages is given. 
Church is the handsomest 
to the denomination, and is 
Chestnut streets, a point 
of the town. It numbers 
many of the most excellent 
socially and rehgiousl3\ Its 
the interest the}^ take in 
promoting charities. Rev. 
R. A. Holland is the rector. 



St. George's Episcopal Church. 

There are in St. Louis of the different religious denominations 



the following congregations : 

Baptist 27 

Christian -t 

Congreo-ational 15 

Episcopal U 

German Evan«ielical 14: 

English Evan,2;elical Lutheran... 1 
German " " ...12 

Hebrew ;) 

Methodist Episcopal i 5 



Methodist Episcopal South 8 

New Jerusalem 3 

Presbyterian 26 

Presbyterian, Cumberland 3 

" Reformed 1 

" United 2 

Roman Catholic 47 

Unitarian 3 

Miscellaneous 20 



Total 224 



168 



COMMERCIAL AXD 



Cemeteries. 



There are a nuruber of these quiet cities of the dead lying a 
short distance from St. Louis, whose improvements with regard to 
landscape architecture is very fine and they contain many monu- 
mental pieces of architecture of splendid design. 

Bellefoxtaine Cemetery. — This beautiful place of burial 
contains nearly 350 acres of ground, and has many charming 

drives. This is 
one of the most 
beautiful places in 
the city to visit. 
It is in the extreme 
northern part on 
a high bluff, over- 
looking the river, 
and commands un- 
usuall}^ fine views. 
This is the finest 
In the Cemetery. cemetery in the 

West. Man}^ of the monuments are works of art, and cost 
many thousands of dollars. The gates are open from sunrise to 
sunset. Tickets of admission are required, and can always be 
obtained without charge at the Secretary's office, 302 North 
Fourth street. 

Calvary Cemetery is directly north of Belief ontaine, and 
is the chief burying grounds of the Catholic church. The grounds 
have the same general formation as Bellefontaine, contain 225 
acres, overlooking the Mississippi river, and contains many hand- 




ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



169- 



some monuments. Visitors are allowed to enter the grounds at 
all times. 

The National Cejietert lying on the south of and adjoining 
Jefferson Barracks, contains the graves of the dead of the war of 
*61-5. It is beautifully laid out, well kept, and on Decoration 
day is visited by thousands. Besides these there are about 28 
others belonging to the different religious and benevolent organ- 
izations. 




In the Cemetery. 



170 COMMERCIAL AND 



Real Estate. 



The inflation of prices in lands and houses and the unstable 
flurries commonly called " booms " has not been experienced in 
St. Louis for years past, yet the stead}^ and substantial increase 
of all St. Louis property, both central and suburban goes on from 
daj' to day. The purchaser of real estate in St. Louis or in any 
of the many handsome suburban openings knows and feels secure 
in that he has placed his capital upon a property having a recog- 
nized value, not a fictitious one, and that the increase of values 
will produce a legitimate per cent. The representative real estate 
men of St. Louis realize this state of the market, they conduct 
their business on a basis of sound integrit}^, and while other cities 
are blowing the horn they sell the fish. The building improve- 
ments for the past year were large in the resident portion, new 
-streets have been opened, street paving has been done b}^ the 
property owners and buildings of handsome design have been 
erected. In the direction of Forest Park wonderful improve- 
ments have been made, and the people of St. Louis are just be- 
ginning to realize what a lovely place this is. The property 
owners, realizing the advantages of opening up roadways to the 
park, have projected a series of boulevards from Grand avenue 
west. The first of these to be opened was : 

LiNDELL Boulevard. — It is 100 feet wide from curb to curb, 
paved with Telford paving and the sidewalks are broad continuous 
flagging through to the park. It is well lighted from end to end 
and man}^ handsome and costly residences line the way. 

Forest Park Boulevard will be opened as a double wa}' with 
park in the center, running from Grand avenue to the park, each 
road-way will be fifty feet wide, laid with wood block paving and 
•each side of the ways planted with trees having grass plots around 



ARCHITECrURAL ST. LOUIS. 



171 



them. The park in the center will be handsomely designed and 
under charge of the park department of the city. 

West Pine Street is perhaps the handsomest late improvement, 
there are residences along this way — and not a few of them — 
costing from $100,000 to $250,000. 

Vandeventer Place, a private park some]half mile long, is as 
handsome a residence quarter as can be found in any city. 
Several magnificent residences — some built with granite, some 
-with press brick — have been added to those already there. This 



^^(F^- 







J. B. Legg, architect. 

beautiful place opens from the east at Grand avenue and there is 
a double carriage-way, with fountains, flowering beds, lofty trees, 
shrubbery, lakes and grass plats to make up an ideal landscape 
garden. 

Just south of Vandeventer place lies Delmar avenue, and from 
Grand avenue, its eastern opening, the way is lined with costly 
residences of modern design, with open grounds surrounding. 



172 



COMEERCIAL AND 

















ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 173 

The residence park over on the south side at the junction of Grand 
avenue and Lafayette avenue shows that the handsome improve- 
ments are not confined to one section or locality. The residents 
in the vicinity of the Compton Hill reservoir have removed the 
fences dividing their several places — all of which contain large 
and handsome grounds — had a system of drives laid out, which, 
in connection with the reservoir park proper, forms one of the 
most attractive spots in the city and is visited by thousands during 
the summer evenings. Many handsome villas have gone up in 
this section during the summer. The great area of St. Louis 
makes the possibilities of her improvement for residence purposes 
almost limitless. 

MILES. 

Length of river front 19.15 

" " western city limits 21.26 

" " city north to south (air line) 17.00 

" " city east to west (air linej 6.02 

During the following year a number of fine boulevards will have 
been completed and visitors fond of a drive through beautiful 
•city scenes can indulge to satisfaction. St. Louis will then still 
need one boulevard, which should be selected from one of the 
streets running ease and west, with Fourth street its eastern ter- 
minus. Make it a drive only for light vehicles through to the 
western limits and allow no business house on its line. 

ABSTRACTS OF TITLE. 

In all dealings in real estate, the first and most important con- 
sideration is to obtain a perfectly clear and unimpeachable title, 
and in this respect investors in St. Louis property are peculiarly 
favored. Thos. R. Reynolds & Co., successors to the Sterling 
& Webster Abstract Co., have in their office the exact record of 
every plat or lot in this city and county, which date back to the 
first land grant made in this state, and includes every detail con- 
nected with the ownership and encumbrance of propert}^ in St. 
Louis from the time of its incorporation as a city to the present 
day. In one set of books they keep a complete and accurate 



174 



COMMERCIAL AND 




2" 

"3 






M\t^^rf^^ 












>> 
B 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 175' 

synopsis of every deed that is filed in the recorder's oflSce in any 
way referring to real estate. This affords immediate information 
of all transfers, mortgages, deeds of trust and the consideration 
of every transaction that is made or has been made in the 
city. They keep a special property index of every plat or 
lot by number, by which can at once be traced the entire history 
of each individual lot, the various hands it has passed through, 
the incumbrance it has borne, and every transaction of which it 
has formed a part. Another special alphabetical index of owner& 
contains the name of every person who has ever owned property 
here, and through which can be obtained a perfectly complete 
and accurate account of ever}' transaction that has been made. 
It will be seen that these two distinct indexes cover the same 
property and transactions, and each one is a corroboration of the 
other, which insures in all cases the most absolute accuracy that 
can be obtained. This company are successors to Sterling & 
Webster, J. G. McClellan and Williams & Reynolds, and have 
in their possession all the books, papers and records of these 
several firms. They have a handsome fire-proof building at 615 
Chestnut st. 

M. A. Wolff & Co. — This house was established in 1859, though 
Mr. Wolff has resided in St. Louis since 1844. His business 
career, therefore, covers the entire period during which those 
great changes and improvements have been made which have 
transformed St. Louis from a small river town to a magnificently 
built city. The firm gives its special attention to the care of 
estates and the collection of rents and they have on their books 
the estates of many large holders, among which might be mention- 
ed the estates of Mr. Albert Todd, Dr. Henry Van Studdiford, 
Mr. Robert A. Gordon one of the Lindell heirs, Mr. Luther M. 
Kennett, once mayor of St. Louis and others. Besides having 
contributed in no small degree to the up-building of the city 
through his real estate transactions, Mr. Wolff is ever ready with 
his time, money and influence to further any proper movement 
calculated to be of good to St. Louis. In addition to his large 
real estate business he is actively identified with other business con- 



176 COMMERCIAL AND 

-cerns, being one of the original stockholders of the Boatmen's 
Bank, and is interested in the East St. Louis Elevator Co., Hope 
Mutual Insurance Co., St. Louis Distilling Co., St. Louis Transfer 
Railway Co., the South St. Louis Street Railway Co., the 
Second National Bank and Covenant Life Insurance Co. He has 
associated with him as partners his two sons, Geo. P. and Ed- 
ward B. Wolff. 

John Byrne. Jr., & Co. — This old real estate firm was establish- 
ed in 1840 and was the first regular real estate house in St. Louis. 
In 1864 Dr. F. L. Haydel went into the firm as partner and is 
now the active member of the firm. The}^ confine themselves to 
the legitimate transactions connected with a reliable real estate 
business and have on their list one of the largest rent rolls in the 
city, besides having the management of some verj^ important estates 
both of home and non-resident owners. The long experience of 
the firm in connection with real estate matters and their perfect 
knowledge of propert}' worth has been the cause of placing much 
of the marketable realty in their hands for conversion. The 
offices of the firm are located at 618 Chestnut Street. 

E. S. RowsE. — For years the old firm of Cavender & Rowse 
occupied a leading position in real estate and financial circles, 
and throughout the most active growth of St. Louis they were 
identified with every movement tending to the substantial im- 
provement of her property and commercial interests. Since the 
demise of Gen. Cavender, Mr. Rowse has continued the same ac- 
tive operations that characterized [the partnership. He is the 
St. Louis representative of the Connecticut Mutual Life Insur- 
ance Company, handling all their valuable interests, besides which 
he has charge of the propert}^ of non-resident capitalists and 
resident holders of valuable estates and sites runnino; into the 
many millions of dollars. Having ever firmly believed in the 
permanent worth of realty in St. Louis and that values of to-day 
would be increased values in the future, his council and advice 
has been of o-reat value to his clientas^e. 

His offices are located 2d floor, 612 Olive street. 




Tl'knku i;uiLDixtT,"o04 N. Stli strt'L't. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 177 

Chas. H. Turner & Co. Real Estate and Financial Agents. — 
This firm was established in St. Louis twenty years ago, and the 
two members of the firm, Mr. Chas. H. Turner and Mr. Thos. T. 
Turner are both perfectly familiar with the real estate interests of 
the city, not only as to the value of property with regard to their 
interest paying qualities, but as to the most desirable location for 
business, residence or manufacturing sites. They conduct a 
general real estate business, but their principal business, and to 
which they pay the most particular attention, is to the manage- 
ment of large estates, they having in charge many most valuable 
ones. Being large property owners themselves and having the 
management of so much valuable realty for others, they are 
thoroughly identified with the interest in all its features. The 
ofiices of the firm are in the Turner building, 304 N. 8th street 
Room 2. 

Fisher & Co., whose offices are located at 714 Chestnut street, 
have been one of the most active real estate operators in this city. 
Mr. Fisher, the head of the firm, has caused to be opened up /or 
sale a great deal of sightly and valuable property, that had 
long lain untenantable, and through his efforts much of this proper- 
ty has not only been marketed, but handsome residences have 
been erected upon it or other improvements made. The}^ carry 
on all departments of the real estate business, buy and sell proper- 
ty, negotiate loans, etc., and have listed and for sale properties, 
both improved and unimproved. 

R. H. Betts & Co. — This firm has been a lonsr time identified 
with the real estate and financial interests here. Mr. R. A. Betis, 
the finance man of the firm, was for years cashier of the St. Louis 
National Bank, a position that gave him a thorough knowledge of 
the cit}^ and also of the values of real estate. 



12 



178 COMMERCIAL AND 



Architecture. 



Architecture in St. Louis has undergone a great change in 
the last few 3- ( ars, and is rapidly developing into modern and 
beautiful designs, giving elegance and esthetic effect to the city. 

On the business thoroughfares a large number of the ding3% 
dark and gloomy buildings that, but a few years since compared 
favorably with the commercial architecture of sister cities at that 
time, has been removed and replaced with grand commercial pal- 
aces, towering to an altitude of eight, nine and ten stories above 
the sidewalk. 

They are of the latest styles of architecture, diversified in de- 
sign material and construction, from the hands of skillful archi- 
tects, giving the streets a pleasing and picturesque facade, with 
enough harmou}^ to render the effect grand, and yet enough indi- 
viduality in the different properties to avoid the monotony so pre- 
valent in nearly all other cities. 

The straight flat fronts of brick work with square openings and 
stone lintels, and the vast facades of cut stone pierced with tiers. 
of narrow openings, crowned with heavy projecting cornices, that 
were considered fine a few ^^ears ago, are rapidly giving wa}^ to 
massive commercial structures of imposing architecture, built of 
enduring granite, in bold, heavy outlines with carved ornamenta. 
tions, trimmed with cold rolled copper to ever grow richer by the 
coloration of time, and lighted through shapely, well proportioned, 
polished, plate glass windows, set deei^ back into the walls, giv- 
ing a rich and solid effect. 

The mercantile buildings, that were but recently constructed 
with thin board floors on light pine joists, are now superseded 
by substantial heavy timbered floors on massive beams, stirruped 
on strong girders, rendering the buildings notonlv solid and sub- 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



179 



stantial, but slow of combustion, thereby confining fires to the 
story in which they originate, until they can be controlled by the 
fire department. 

The stereotyped five story front office building of the cit}^, heated 
with snapping steam coils, and served with direct pressure power 




^^:M-^J^^} rs^^m- /7^^ 7\e^ryZi)r-o^?di.T^^iy-i %'Hif/^ , 



hoist, called elevators, have now passed into our city's youthful 
history as relics of rickety fire traps, and their places are supplied 
by palatial oflfice buildings of strictly fire proof construction, fin- 
ished in polished hard-wood with marble wainscoting and tile 
floors, heated and ventilated with low pressure steam, and served 



180 COMMERCIAL AND 

with magnificent, smoothly working, rapid elevators, rendering 
the top floor as desirable as the first story. 

Perhaps no city in the Union has made such rapid strides in 
the improvement of her domestic architecture, as St. Louis has 
in the past five years, and no city in the Union except the esthetic 
*'Hub," and the metropolis of the sea-board, can furnish as 
many elegant specimens of modern domestic architecture as St. 
Louis, and more especiall}- so manj* cozy homes in unique and 
picturesque designs, giving individuality to each. 

The solid block of flat front, three story, dwellings, with rooms 
strung out in tandem, coupled on to long narrow balls, approached 
by narrow portals up narrow steps extending to the side-walk, 
was once the only domestic architecture, but they are now de- 
serted by thousands and the best families have built elegant, pal- 
atial homes, on wide, deep lots, terraced up above the street 
beautified with charming lawns, giving light and air all around 
the building. 

Following in the wake of these earlier abodes are a class of 
homes built for elegance and comfort, with high stories, spacious 
halls, deep vestibules and long windows, shielded with pocket 
shutters and heavy blinds. 

These homes dot this city from Carondelet on the south to 
Lowell on the north and from the borders of the business marts 
down town to the sun-set border on the west, blending in with 
Cote Brilliante, EUeardsville, Rose Hill, Cabanne Place, Forest 
Park, Benton and Tower Grove, covering many miles of splendid 
city resident locations with comfortable dwellings, though not 
modern in architecture, yet grand in appearance, substantial in 
Construction and commodious in arrangement. 

These houses have a comfortable, luxuriant ajjpearance and a 
grand architectural effect, enduring and beautifully contrasting 
with the more modern dwellings so closely interspersed throughout 
this entire residence section. 

The modern dwellings, bordering miles and miles of the 
fashionable residence streets, are unique and esthetic in design, 
picturesque and attractive in appearance and palatial in arrange- 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



181 



ment, with wide square reception halls containing wide open fire 
places and broad easy platform stairs recessed into bays or 




Residence W. B. Manny. ('has. K. Ramsey, architect 

(The above cut represents a city residence, of the best class, of Modern Roman- 
esque architecture. It was tinished about one year since, and is the property of Mr, 
Walter B. Manny. In this design the architect, Chas. K. Ramsey, of St. Louis, has 
produced one of his many successful efforts, and shown that anything placed in his 
care will be carried out in the most artistic manner.) 

towers and lighted through large windows set over the platforms, 
rising into two stories through ballustered curb string openings 



182 COMMERCIAL AND 

and glassed with rich colored, opalescent glass, studded with cut 
jewels. 

On the first floor the reception hall, library, sitting room, music 
room, and dining room are all coupled together through sliding 
doors and open ornamental porteried arches, rendering the entire 
area of the building susceptible of being thrown together on swell 
occasions. 

These dwellings with their high basements, low stories, wide 
porches, tall, peaked, slate roofs terminating in cold rolled copper 
finials saddling the hip and blending in with the ornamental ridge 
crestings and relieved with sharp, scroll moulded gables, semi- 
circular copper dormers and round towers, terminating in bell 
shaped spires and minuet tops crowning the circular h&.ys, con- 
structed with gra}^ stone base, press-brick walls, granite steps, 
red stone sills, stone faced arches, terra cotta trimmings and 
flat ornamental cornices, all in the most modern architectural de- 
signs, every one dissimilar and 3^et pleasing and picturesque in 
outline, rich and elegant in detail and diversified in material, give 
a pleasing effect unsurpassed in modern architecture. 

The ecclesiastical architecture is also keeping pace with the 
rapid growth and ornate development of this great city as por- 
trayed through the man}^ superb church edifices that have been 
constructed in the past few years. The city for man}?- years has 
contained a large number of costly church buildings, designed in 
that grand old ecclesiastical architecture that grows all the richer 
as the structures grow more weather beaten by the ages of time. 
Interspersed with these time honored edifices, are a great number 
of larger and more modern designed churches, fashioned in the 
latest, most esthetic, commodious and luxuriant style of architec- 
ture, spreading over large areas with rugged, low, stone walls, 
high, steep, open timbered roofs, well proportioned towers, tall 
graceful spires, broad, stone pillared porches and deep vestibule 
entrances, opening into grand fo3'ers, coupled on to magnificient 
auditoriums, brilliantl}'' lighted through large tracery mosaic and 
rich memorial windows, uniting with chapel apartments containing 
spacious Sabbath-school rooms, parlors and reception rooms, 
library and pastor's study, all arranged in a grand suite, easily 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 183 

accessible by wide, massive stairs, leading to large banquet halls 
supplied with reception rooms, toilet rooms, cloak rooms, kitchen 
and pantries, sometimes in the second story over the chapel and 
sometimes in the basement story under the chapel. 

This brief architectural view of this great city would be in- 
complete without mentioning the growing greatness of the large 
manufacturing buildings that house the ponderous busy wheels 
of the industries of the metropolis. 

The river front for fourteen miles along the stone corbled 
levee of the giant Mississippi, and for seven miles along Mill 
Creek Valley, contains the vast network of the great railroad 
system approaching and departing from the city, also many of 
the massive manufacturing buildings, designed in substantial 
style of architecture. These factories are legion in kind, a few 
of which are rolling mills, steel mills, agricultural implement 
factories, zinc works, blast furnaces, copper smelters, foundries, 
machine shops, boiler works, carriage factories, ore reducing works, 
flouring mills, grain elevators, cotton compresses, iron boatbuild- 
ing yards, dry docks, bagging factories, paper and cotton bag 
factories, saw mills, planing mills, basket factories, car wheel 
works, glass works, car factories, furniture factories, chair 
factories, glue factories, varnish works, soap factories, oil mills 
cracker factories, organ and piano factories, woolen mills, shot 
towers, leather belting factories, white lead factories, bell foun- 
dries, packing houses, canning factories, wire mills, wagon fac- 
tories malleable iron works, hardware foundries, match factories, 
breweries, malt houses, nail mills, pottery works, sewer pipe fac- 
tories, dry plate works and various other kinds of manufacturing 
establishments, all housed in buildings designed to suit the 
respective lines of business, forming a variet}^ of architecture 
adaptable in design, yet diversified and picturesque as a whole, 
serving to admirabl}^ fill their place in the evidence of the city's 
growth and prosperity. 

We are indebted to Architect J. B. Legg, author of this inter- 
esting essay on the architecture of the city, and as to how well he 
has handled the subject in the brief space allotted him, the read- 
er will readily appreciate. 



184 COMMERCIAL AND 



OFFICE AND MERCANTILE BUILDINGS. 

In respect to fine office buildings and mercantile structures of 
imposing design and mammoth construction St. Louis is making 
vast improvements. There has been greater activity in building 
circles in the past two years than has been known for years 
before. In the business section of the city a number of splendid 
buildings have been completed, while man}" more are now under 
way and others have been planned. The tendency of owners and 
architects seems to be toward loftier edifices with modern architec- 
tural points and fire-proof construction. Many of these improve- 
ments have consisted of the enlargement and erection of elegant 
buildings in the most desirable locations. 

The Odd Fellows building, 9th and Olive streets had its found- 
ations laid in 1886 with imposing ceremonies and the work 
should have been completed early in 1887, but unavoidable 
delays have interfered which will postpone its final completion 
this 3'ear. The building is of Missouri granite from the quarries 
of the Syenite Granite Co. of St. Louis, and of press brick from 
the works of the St. Louis Hydraulic Press Brick Co., with iron 
and fire-proof interior. It is eight stories high, with graceful 
tower on the east end reaching to the height of 236 feet from the 
sidewalk. It is being erected for and by the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows and will cost when finished some 8500,000. 

The Laclede Building, on the S. W. corner of Olive and Fourth 
streets, has a frontage on 4th street of 116 feet 1 inch and on Olive 
of 127 feet 4 1-2 inches, eight stories high, the first two stories be- 
ing of granite and iron, above which it is of brick from the St. 
Louis Hydraulic Press Brick Co.s works. The interior construc- 
tion is of wrought iron, filled in with patented fire-proof hollow 
blocks and the exterior walls are lined on the inside with hollow 
brick to protect the offices from heat and cold. The halls are 
lined with polished Bardillo marble 4 1-2 feet high, and plate-glass 
from thence to the ceiling. The air in the halls is drawn out 
through ventilating shafts in which the air is rarefied so as to in- 



*' ;^<*: 



r>' 






lllfe'^ 



-MM tMW^m S P P 11 w !i 111 ^ 1 ti li ™ ^1 a -I' 




jiii^ 



COR 9^^ 5^ OLIVE STS 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 185 

sure a regular current and perfect ventilation without dangerous 
drafts, and avoiding soot or dust from the outside. The halls are 
tiled with marble throughout and the ceilings in the halls in the 
lower stories are polished marble. Many of the offices have hand- 
some open fire-places ; convenient lavatories are fitted in marble 
and porcelain on each story, a telegraph station will be on the first 
floor, there will be four elevators three of them the latest improved 
high speed hydraulic, in fact it is the intention that the Laclede 
Building shall be one of the best office buildings in the country. 
So complete is the interior in design, finish and proposed manage- 
ment that selections for quarters and offices have been made long 
in advance of its completion, and by the time it is finally thrown 
open to the public there will not be a space to let. Mr. L. Cass 
Miller, the supervising architect, has been indefatigable in pushing 
the work forward and in locating^ offices and arrang-inor them to suit 
tenants. The Laclede Bank will occupy the corner lower apart- 
ments. Mr. Stephen D. Hatch, of New York, is the architect, 
with Mr. L. Cass Miller supervising architect and in charge of 
the architect's branch office here. (See page 194.) 

The Gay Building, on the corner of 3d and Pine, is still another 
fine office building — fire-proof with all modern construction, — 
whose offices are always occupied. It is seven stories high, built 
of brick — furnished by the St. Louis H3'draulic Press Brick Co., 
and with stone trimmings. 

The Granite Block, on the corner of 4th and Market, is also a 
very substantial structure and is built of granite, six stories high. 

The Turner Building. — It is said of the Roe building that it 
was one of the first modern office buildings erected in St. Louis, 
but it was the sagacity and progressiveness of the Turner Real 
Estate and Building Co. that started the movement towards the 
erection of grand office quarters. It is strictly an office building, 
fronting 64 feet on Eighth street, 7 stories high, constructed with 
brown stone and brick, the latter furnished by the St. Louis H}-- 
draulic Press Brick Co. This building w^as the first example of 
a perfectly fire-proof structure erected in this cit}^ excepting the 
doors and window frames, there is not a particle of wood or other 



186 



COMMERCIAL AND 



combustible material used, the hall floors are tiled, the walls mar- 
ble and the stair cases iron and slate. The light in every oflfice 
is all that can be desired and the elevator service the best. Since 
its completion there has not been a vacant office for rent. There 
is an entrance to the main hall and elevators either by the paved 
•court from Olive street or on Eighth street. Two high speed hy- 
draulic elevators, lavatories, etc., on every floor, gas and electric- 
ity through out 
constitute its prin- 
c i p a 1 modern 
equipment. The 
building cost over 
$500,000. 

The Commekcial 
Building, another 
modern structure, 
i? located on the 
corner of Sixth and 
Olive streets. The 
first two stories are 
of massive granite 
f from the S^'enite 
^^^^ZZ- Gr unite Co.'s 
quarries, and the 
remaining six 
stories are of brick 
from the St. Louis 
Hydra ulic Press 
Brick Co.'s works. 




Commercial Building, Sixth and Olive streets. 



In every part of the construction the utmost care has been 
taken to give the building that solidity required in so large a struc- 
ture and when it is finished it will be second to no office building 
in the country. The location, together with its splendid archi- 
tectural effects, magnificent appointments and construction has al- 
ready much in advance of its completion, secured the owners 
many good tenants. Such improvements along Olive street as 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS, 



187 



these already mentioned will create a demand for new buildings 
and exercise an influence upon owners of Olive street property to 
improve. 

The a. W. Fagin Building — or a building just commenced by 
Mr. Fagin on Olive street just east of the Odd Fellows building, 
will be another magnificent office and store building added to 
Olive street. It will be of Missouri granite throughout and judg- 
ing from the splendid polished columns and blocks already in 
place it will be a grand struc- 
ture. These polished columns 
are the work of the Syenite 
Granite Co., and show to what 
a high polish the Missouri 
granite is susceptible and to 
what perfection this company 
carry on the work. 

The Roe Building, on the 
corner of Broadway and Pine, 
was one of the first modern 
office buildings completed in 
St. Louis and it will compare 
both in construction, equip- 
ment and architectural fea- 
tures with office buildings 
anywhere. It has Missouri 
granite from the quarries of 
the Syenite Granite Co., of St. 
Louis, for the first story, 
thence up being brick from the works of the St. Louis 
Hj^draulic Press Brick Co.. and red stone trimmings. It is seven 
stories high, having a moresque tower extending from the third 
story to some 50 feet above the corner. It is strictly fire-proof 
with marble halls and floors. The general offices of the St. Louis 
'& San Francisco Railwa}^ Co., popularly known as the " Frisco" 
line, are located here. 

The Bank of Commerce Building. — This towering edifice is 




■ UuildiiiK. Broadway and Pine. 
Geii'l Offices " Frisco Line." 



188 COMMERCIAL AXD 

located on the corner of Broadway and Olive street. It is con- 
structed of stone with brick between, with the interior of iron and 
fire-proofing. Throughout, the halls are tiled and wainscoted 
with marble. A perfect elevator service connects the entire eight 
stories, in fact all the modern conveniences of a complete and well 
regulated office building is provided. The improvement of the 
corner on which this building stands has added very much to the 
appearance of Broadway. The brick in the construction were 
furnished by the St. Louis Hydraulic Press Brick Co., and the 
red brick between so much white stone makes a unique front. 

The American Centkal Ins. Co. building, formerly the Singer 
building, on the corner of Locust street and Broadway, has been 
made into one of the most perfect office buildings to be found any 
where, three stories more were added, high speed elevators put in,, 
in fact everything known to modern building equipment. 

The fine block on the northwest corner of Locust and Broad- 
way is undergoing a complete change, and when finished will have 
changed a plain business block into a palatial and ornamental 
architectural structure. From the fourth story at the corner will 
be extended a graceful projecting tower, in which will be set a 
massive clock furnishing time for all. 

Rosenheim Block. — This magnificent block of stores for whole- 
sale business purposes was commenced about one year ago, and 
will be completed and ready for occupancy on or about the 1st of 
July, 1888. 

The dimensions are 120 feet on Washington avenue, and 130' 
feet on Ninth street, with a 20 foot private alley on the north. 

The materials used in the construction are Missouri granite,. 
Lake Superior red sandstone, Chicago terra cotta. and St. Louis 
hj'draulic press brick. 

The contruction of the floors is what is generally termed mill- 
construction, differing from ordinary construction in that no floor 
joists are used. 

Instead of these there are immensely heavy yellow pine girders 
spaced 12 feet apart in the length of the building, and run 
transversely across the building. These girders support cross- 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



189 



beams running longitudinally and are supported on wrought iron 
stirrups, thus forming panels about 7x12 feet in the ceiling. 
Upon these beams and girders is laid a 3 inch thick tongued and 
grooved yellow pine flooring, and on this an inch thick maple 
flooring. 

This forms an extremel}' rigid and stiff floor, and capable of 
sustaining almost any load. 




r Rosenheim, Levis & Co. ^ 
Stores of < A. Frankenthal & Bro. > A. F. Rosenheim, architect. 
( Rothscliild Bros. ) 



This is also termed slow-burning construction. 

The block when completed will cost in the vicinity of $300,000, 
and is considered one of the handsomest store buildings in the cit)'. 

The architect, Mr. A. F. Rosenheim, whose office is at 417 Olive 
^street, is as yet a very young man, being but 28 years of age, and 



190 



COMMERCIAL AND 



a bright future can safely be predicted for him. He has built 
many handsome residences in different parts of the city and has 
plans on the boards for a number of stores and dwellings to be 
erected during the current season. A visit to his office will be 
well rejjaid. 

Liggett and Meyers Building. — This enormous structure now 
in course of erection will cover the entire block bounded by Wash- 
ington avenue, on which it fronts 271 feet, by St. Charles the same 
length, by 10th and 1 1th streets, on which it has line fronts of 150 
feet. It will be seven stories with basement and so arranged that 
one or more stores can be used or the entire structure thrown 
into one magnificent establishment as occasion requires. It will be 
entirelj' fire proof, with the first two stories of granite from the 
Syenite Granite Company's quarries of Missouri and the other of 
brick from the St. Louis Hydraulic Press Brick Company's works^ 
ornamented with red sandstone. The beams will be of steel, on 
which a flooring made of yellow pine timbers 5x7 will be laid re- 
quiring 250,000, 7h inch wire spikes, and over this a top flooring 
of dressed maple will be laid. The whole construction, including 
plate glass from basement to 7th story windows, will be on a scale 
of elegance and substantiability rarely equaled in commercial 
buildings. Mr. Samuel H. Hoffman, the popular builder, secured 
the contract for its erection. 




Tlif IJridL'-t'. 



ARCHlTErxURAL ST. LOUTS. 191 



Insurance. 



St. Louis has a number of insurance companies organized, con- 
trolled and managed by St. Louis people. Of course the principal 
foreign companies, that includes all not strictly State or city com- 
panies, are represented here. It is of the home companies however 
that notice will be taken, as they are not only representative con- 
cerns in the different lines of fire and life insurance, but they are 
home companies and besides, are representative bodies in finan- 
cial and commercial circles. 

The American Central Insurance Company is one of the lead- 
ing fire insurance companies of the country. It was organized in 
1853 by St. Louis men with St. Louis capital. The company 
lately bought the fine marble block on the north-east corner of 
Broadway and Locust street, formerly known as the Singer Build- 
ing and before its re-modeling was considered one of the hand- 
somest buildings externally in the city. Since their purchase the 
American Central have completely remodeled the interior — open- 
ing a light shaft on the north side from first story up. They have 
re-arranged every floor so that every oflSce in the entire building 
is furnished with abundance of daylight, besides which every hall 
and corridor is laid with marble tile and the walls wainscoted with 
white marble. When this building was erected it was known to 
be of the most substantial construction and thought to be large 
enough to accommodate the demand at that time of a large office 
patronage, but the present owners have found an increased demand 
for elegant oflflce quarters, consequently they have added three 
stories, making nine in all, which with its interior finishing makes 
it second to no oflfice building in the country not excepting any. 
The entrance on Locust street, which is a commodious lobby, is 
white marble from and including the floor to and including the 



192 



COMMERCIAL AND 



ceiling. Tiiere are two of the latest improved high speed elevators 
running at all times. The American Central Company have 
selected the 8th story for the accommodation of their own busi- 
ness and it can be truthfully said they have offices equal to any 
insurance company in the country. Its officers are : Geo. T. 
Cram, President; S. M. Dodd, Vice-President; W. H. Pulsifer, 




American Central Insurance Co.'s Building, Broadway and Locust street. 



Treasurer; Chas. Christensen, Secretary; Chas. Branch, Assist- 
ant Secretary. The directors are: Geo. T. Cram, S. M. Dodd, 
Geo. A. Madill, Chas. F. Gauss. G. W. Chadbourne, W. H. 
Thompson, Geo. 0. Carpenter, Wm. M. Senter, Peter Nicholson, 
W. H. Pulsifer, John Wahl, John Whittaker, Chas. Christensen. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 11)3 

The Covenant Mutual Life Insurance Company. — E. Wilker- 
son, President; A. F. Shapleigh, Vice-President; Chas. E. Pill- 
ing, Secretary; H. H. Mudd, M. D., Medical Director: Geo. H. 
Shields, Attorne\^ ; 712 Pine street. The record of thirty-five 
years of honorable and active business enjoyed by this company 
is without reproach. The company, which was organized Febru- 
ary 24,1853, is the oldest in the West, and has been solvent 
throughout its existence, successfully passing through crises that 
have proven too severe for less substantial institutions, promptly 
paying all losses, and throughout its long business career con- 
gesting the payment of one policy only. 

The new Life Rate Endowment policy now issued by this com- 
pany matures at a definite period, and is incontestable after three 
years. On the back of policy is a table showing amount of paid up 
insurance, term of extension or cash surrender value to which the 
holder is entitled in case of lapse. Policies also issued on all the 
well tested and approved plans of life, endowment and term in- 
surance. All policies are free from restrictions as to travel, re- 
sidence or occupation, and, except term policies, are non-forfeit- 
ing after the payment of two years' premiums ; the conditions 
being plainly printed and clearly expressed. 

The State Superintendent of Insurance of Missouri places the 
following official certificate on all policies issued by the company. 
''This policy is registered and secured by pledge of bonds or 
deeds of trust on real estate deposited with this department." 
The Covenant Mutual is the only company that makes deposit 
with this State covering its entire liabilities to its policy-holders. 

The President of the company, Mr. Wilkerson, is a thoroughly 
experienced life assurance underwriter and gives his personal at- 
tention to the compan3'''s business. The board of trustees em- 
braces a number of the most prominent and substantial citizens, 
viz. : Messrs. A. F. Shapleigh, Geo. H. Shields, lion. Nathan Cole, 
Wm. H. Woodward, E. Wilkerson, Chas. A. McNair, Given 
Campbell, Marcus A. Wolff, Wm. Brown, Herman Eisenhardt, 
Joseph N. Evans, N. O. Nelson, N. M. Givan and Frank Carter. 

13 



194 



COMMERCIAL AND 



Financial. 



St. Louis has cause for congratulation on the financial and 
commercial outlook of the past year, the general business of the 

city having 
received an 
impetus that 
places her 
foremost in 
the lace. 
The clearings 
of the banks 
were the lar- 
gest ever 
known, being 
an i n c r ease 
of 10 3-10 
per cent over 
1886, and 
when com- 
pared with 
those of oth- 
e r cities 
thro ughout 
the country, 
show a ratio 
of i n c rease 
greater than 
any. 

The bank- 
i n g capital 
is large, 
amounting to $15,000,000, and while at times money has been 




Laclede Building. Fourth and Ulive streets. 

Laclede Bank. 

Stephen D. Hatch, archt. L. Cass Miller, assistant. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 195 

as high as 8 per cent, yet on the average, St. Louis had quite the 
advantage of the eastern money market. During a great part 
of the year money was loaned here at less rate than in Boston 
and other eastern cities. As a proof of this St. Louis has been 
able to float the city 3 65-100 per cent bonds at a much better 
figure than eastern capitalists would entertain, and the city bonds 
are a favorite investment among home people, a fact which speaks 
well for the city's credit. 

There is a marked improvement in the municipal debts of the 
State, and of most of the states tributary, notably Arkansas, 
Mississippi and Tennessee, in all of which, except perhaps, Texas, 
the debts have been largely reduced or funded at a much lower 
rate of interest. 

With few exceptions the crops tributary to this market were 
remarkably fine, and the effect has been shown in the increased 
business of the mercantile and manufacturing houses, and re- 
flected in the large improvements going on throughout the city in 
the way of fine business blocks and dwelling houses, and in the 
millions of dollars spent in street improvements and cable rail- 
ways, and these enterprises are constantly begetting others. 
New York, Boston, Chicago and other cities are investing money 
here in buildings and street railways. The manufacturing in- 
terests are being greatly stimulated aiad St. Louis' trade rela- 
tions with the whole country, and especially with the south, are 
being enlarged. Thus it will be seen that the tendency of trade 
is towards St. Louis, making the financial future seem bright. 

Number of Banks 21 

Capital and Surplus $ 15,000,000 

Clearings 1887 894,527,731 

Balances 1887 138,859,722 

Increase of Clearings 1887 10.3 per cent. 

The banks not in the clearing house would increase the totsll 
capital about $350,000. 



196 



COMMERCIAL AXD 



pq 
< 

I— I 






■" S -ir X 












r -^ :. 



! > 






3: :s z; - 

3 "C -H — i 

-T M r» -* 



~ Z "= 3 
"S 'x z ^ 



= = -" • - 

^ 5 .5 £ -r .!^ i .£ H _: ;- ? >> 

5^ -7 =^ d 5 -:' 'i 5 d ■- < :- :^ r- 


• :: X 
S^ Z -J 


■ 1 -^ E "5 

s z r 1 


u ~i zi ■ • 

-" i = •" 1 

^- — it '5 


J. 'Z.Ik 

Up- 

«"^ >- .~ >■ 


SB : S ti S -• : : 
^ ^ «,■;_- X = ,- X 

"•- . >v . •^ -^ . :; ^ ^ 
^ . ® . - • . • . 


^ ^' i 5 J i i i' S i 5 i i i g 

g •M = -.c r: — — u'; -T v: — -;< X 

cq 


z 5 I z 

l?l ..* "3 ^-! 

K — e-i -H 


> 
z 


M 


X 


5 ^ 


X 

x" 


, 1 '4 1 


1 

1 


•>■ - - • ■ - 


IE ^ 

X " — 

5 i^ "i 




1 


1 g 1 .^ 
i^ = X _ 

^ -? 7- -p 

Er !— r r 

< c: :S 


III 

- S 5 

c — ;^ 
Q K fc< 


C 


■ — 5 

— , i> 

i! s 1 




Bank op Commerce Building. 



' YORK 
. Li3RAHY 



ASTOR, LENOX AMD t 

T(LDEN FOUNDATIONS \ 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



197 



Clearing-House Statement. 



BUSINESS FOR THE YEAR 1887 COMPARED WITH 1886. 



MONTHS. 



January . . 
February . 
March . . . . 

April 

May 

June 

July 

August . . . 
September 
October. . . 
November. 
December 



Aggregates . 



Clearings. 



Balances. 



1887. 



$71,441,522 
64,016,573 
75,820,934 
73,773,478 
79,768,575 
75,821,594 
74,227,069 
77,007,133 
74,537,207 
74,855,029 
72,757,656 
80,500,961 



894,527,731 



1886. 



1887. 



1886. 



;65,215,966 
56,865,185 
62,407,170 
63,523,300 
70,801,052 
62,760,710 
74,369,918 
70,449,412 
71,543,696 
69,822,165 
68,375,951 
74,660,537 



$10,568,588 
10,139,216 
11,535,944 
12,479,419 
16,465,0'.:>7 
14,448,760: 
11,317,920' 
13,603,322 
11,166,807 
7,893,779 
7,736,383: 
11,504,487 



$13,027,351 
10,911,552 
11,033,949 
13,692,166 
15,908,579 
9,685,632 
15,143,111 
15,609,086 
14,422,578 
10,694,509 
8,664,247 
11,176,143 



810,795,062 



138,859,722 



149,968,903 



Increase of Clearings in 1887, 10.3 per cent., $83,732,669. 

The Clearings of 1887 are the largest of any year since the 
operations of the Clearing House. Mr. E. Chase is Manager. 

SAYINGS BANKS. 

Citizens' Savings, 324 N. 3d; Joseph O' Neil, President; R. 
W. Powell, Vice-President ; Thos. P. Gleeson, Cashier. 

Mullanpht Savings Bank, cor. Broad waj' and Cass avenue ; 
capital, $200,000; J. H. Rottmann, President; G. H. Elbrecht, 
Vice-President ; L. G. Kammerer, Cashier. 

North-Western Savings Bank, 1328 North Market street; 
Chas. G. Stifel, President ; Jno. H. Evers, Vice-President ; H. 
Aberneir, Cashier. 



BANKERS AND BROKERS. 
Donaldson & Co., 3d, N. \Y. cor. Olive st. 
Samuel A. Gaylord & Co., 307 Olive. 



198 COMMERCIAL AND 

Kohn & Co., 319 N. 3d. 

Mathews & Wbilaker, 121 N. 3d, Chamber of Commerce 
Building. 

Nelson & Noel, 201 N. 3d. 

A. J. Weil & Co., 219 N. 3d. 

Wm. F. Wernse & Co., 210 and 212 N. 8d. 

Wernse & Dieckman, 203 N. 3d. 

BOND COMPANIES. 

Wm. C. Little Bond Co., 205 N. 3d. 

Turner Real Estate akd Building Association, office Turner 
Building; paid up capital, $1,000,000, all city real estate; Thos. 
T. Turner, President ; Chas. H. Turner, Secretary. 

BANK DIRECTORS. 

Boatmen's Savings Bank. — Samuel Cupples, Samuel Cupples 
AYood & Willow Ware; Geo. S. Drake, capitalist; Carlos S. 
Greeley. Greele3^-Burnham Grocery Co. ; Wm. A. Hargadine, 
Hargadine, McKittrick & Co., Wholesale Dry Goods ; Jerome Hill, 
Hill-Fontaine & Co., Cotton Factors; Wm. L. Huse, Huse & 
Loomis Ice & Transportation Co. ; Rufus J. Lackland, President ; 
Geo. E. Leighton, capitalist; E. C. Simmons, Simmons Hardware 
Co. ; Wm. H. Thomson, Cashier, and Edwards Whitaker, Banker. 

Mechanics' Bank. — O. Garrison, capitalist ; D. K. Ferguson, 
Pres. ; E. N. Leeds, Pres. Mound City Ins. Co. ; John N. Booth, 
Booth & Sons, Tobacco & Grain ; D. R. Garrison, capitalist ; Ben 
B. Graham, Wholesale Paper ; W. L. Wickham, Wickham & Pen- 
dleton, Wholesale Grocers : J. T. Drummond, Pres. Drummond 
Tobacco Co. ; Ezra H. Linley, Iron, Steel & R. R. Supplies ; 
Charles H. Turner, Turner Building & Real Estate Co. ; Theo. F. 
Mej^er, Meyer Bros. Drug Co. ; Wm. Somerville, Pres. Mo. Glass 
Co. ; R. R. Hutchinson, Cashier. 

Laclede Bank. — John D. Perry, V.-P. ; John ScuUin, capi- 
talist; Chas. A. Cox, pork packer; M. J. Lippman, Graff, Bennet 
& Co. , Iron ; B. F. Hobart, Kansas & Texas Coal Co. ; L. D. 
Dozier, Dozier-Weyl Cracker Co. ; Joel Wood, Wood & Lee 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 199 

Wholesale Whisky ; H. A. Blossom, insurance ; Geo. H. Goddard, 
capitalist ; Charles Clark, capitalist ; D. Caruth, Cariith & Byrnes 
Hardware Co. ; L. C. Nelson, capitalist, and S. E. Hoffman, 
President. 

German Savings Institution. — F. W. Meister, Pres. : John 
Wahl, V.-P. , pig lead and commission ; Louis Fusz, Miller, of 
Fusz & Baker ; A. Boeckeler, Shulenburg & Boeckeler Lumber 
Co. ; J. G. Green, capitalist; A. Nedderhut, pork packer; Wm. 
Koenig, agricultural implements ; C. F. Orthwein, Pres. Mer- 
chants Exchange ; Richard Hospes, cashier. 

Continental Bank Directors. — J. M. Thompson, President 
Terminal R. R. Co. ; C. S. Freeborn, agent Star Union Line ; H. A. 
Crawford, President of Missouri Iron Co. and Sligo Furnace Co. ; 
I. G. Baker, of I. G. Baker & Co. ; Geo. W. Parker, Vice-Presi- 
dent and General Manager Cairo Short Line R. R. Co. ; Joseph 
Hill, General Superintendent Vandalia Line ; R. C. Kerens, Presi- 
dent Western Anthracite Coal Co. ; Chas. F. Gauss, President of 
Gaus, Shelton Hat Co. ; H. L. Morrill, General Manager St. Louis 
& San Francisco R. R. Co. ; L. B. Tebbetts, of Deere, Mansur & 
Co. ; Geo. A. Baker, President. 

Fourth National Bank. — Jno. C. H. D. Block, Pres. ; Fran- 
cis Cornet, wholesale grocer ; Christian Peper, tobacco manufac- 
turer ; F. W. Biebinger, cashier ; Henry Grone, brewer ; C. L. 
Bushman, wholesale grocer ; Jno. H. Kaiser, wholesale grocer ; 
Frederick Schmieding, capitalist; Louis J. Holthaus, V.-P. 

Merchants National Bank. — L. Levering, St. Louis Bagging 
Co. ; A. F. Shapleigh, Shapleigh & Cantwell Hardware Co. ; 
Thos. Rankin, Jr., capitalist; David Rankin, capitalist; E. 
A. Hitchcock, President Chrystal Plate Glass Co. ; H. T. 
Simon, Simon & Gregory Dry Goods Co. ; Jno. J. Mauntel, 
Mauntel, Borgess & Co., flour; Ed. Walsh, Jr., Pres. Mis- 
sissippi Glass Co. ; Jno. J. O'Fallon, capitalist; J. E. Yeatman, 
Pres. ; W. H. Lee, Midland Blast Furnace ; George Taylor, cotton 
factor. 

MuLLANPHY Savings Bank. — Fred S. Bolte ; G. H. Elbrecht, 
V.-P. ; Casper Gestring, wagon manufacturer; C. Kellersmann ; 



200 COMMERCIAL AXD 

Wm. Kerksisck : Paul Kaiser : H. Klages ; H. H. Lippelman ; 
Joseph Marks ; Louis Nolte ; J. H. Rottmann. wliolesale wines & 
liquors ; Chas. Schumacher ; F. Schwartz, grain & flour. 

Bank of Commerce. — James W. Bell, Continental Land & 
Cattle Co.; C. B. Burnham, wholesale grocer; G. W. Chad- 
bourne, Pres. St. Louis Shot Tower Co. : Nathan Cole, V. P. ; 
Samuel M. Uodd, capitalist: Geo. J. Plant, miller; W. H. Pul- 
sifer, white lead manufacturer ; W. H. Thompson, Pres. ; John 
Whittaker, pork packer. 

Commercial Bank. — TVm. Nichols, Pres. ; Jno. M. Gilkerson, 
cotton factor; Erastus AVells, capitalist: Thomas Howard, iron 
foundry ; John H. Maxon, Pres. Brown Oil Co. : John H. Holmes, 
lumber ; Isaac S. Warren, bagging manufacturer ; Miles Sells, 
southern supplies; John E. Liggett, tobacco manufacturer ; Thos. 
A. West, cotton factor. M. M. Buck, railroad supplies, C. 
Tompkins, cashier. 

St. Loris National Bank. — Wm. E. Burr, Pres. ; J. G. 
Chapman, lumber; Nathan Cole, Cole Bros. Com'n & Y.-P. ; F. 
Mitchell, wholesale grocer; J. M. Nelson, capitalist ; H. McKit- 
trick, wholesale dry goods ; G. Paddock, wholesale iron ; G. W. 
Updike, commission ; J. Nickerson. cashier. 

Citizens' Savings Bank. — Joseph O'Neil. Pres. ; Wm. Dooley, 
R. W. Powell, D. W. McAUister, Jeremiah Murphy, F. A. Drew, 
F. A. Drew Glass Co., and Thos. P. Gleason. 

State Savings Bank. — C. Parsons, Pres. ; L. M. Rumsey, L. 
M. Rumse}^ Manufacturing Co. ; A. F. Shapleigh, Shapleigh & 
Cantwell Hardware Co. ; Jno. A. Scudder, capitalist, Daniel Cat- 
lin, Catlin Tobacco Co. ; Chas. C. Maffltt, capitalist, Joseph 
Franklin, dr}^ goods. 

Third National Bank. — John Jackson, grain elevators ; Thos. 
E. Tutt, Pres. ; L. Mathews, broker ; W. T. Wilkins, cotton ; J. S. 
Walsh, capitalist ; J. M. Franciscus, Yice-Pres. : G. W. Parker, 
Genl. Mgr. Cairo Short Line; Samuel W. Fordyce, Pres. St. L., 
A. & T. B.y. Co. ; Isaac W. Morton, Simmons Hardware Co. 

Building & Loan Associations. — The number of these valuable 
concerns is growing each year and judging by the number already 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 201 

in existence there is a demand for a means of savings whereby 
the accumulator of small sums can place them to his credit for 
permanent good. There are seventy-one of these building loan 
and savings associations in St. Louis with an accumulated capital 
of some $38,000,000, which shows their importance among the 
financial institutions of the city. The names are here given : 

Advance Building and Loan Association, Aubert Place Build- 
ing and Loan Association, Aurora Mutual Building and Loan 
Association, Beneficial Building and Loan Association, Benton 
Building and Loan Association. Bohemian-American Building and 
Loan Association, Bohemian Building and Loan Association, 
Bremen Building and Loan Association, Cech Building and Loan 
Association, Citizens' Building and Loan Association, Columbia 
Building and Loan Association, Commercial Building and Loan 
Association, Concordia Building and Loan Association, Covenant 
Mutual Building and Loan Association, Continental Building and 
Loan Association, DeSoto Savings Building and Loan Association, 
Economy Building and Loan Association, Enterprise Building and 
Loan Association, Equality Savings Building and Loan Associa- 
tion, Excelsior Mutual Building and Loan Association, Famous 
Mutual Building and Loan Association, Firemen's Building and 
Loan Association, Franco-American, Franklin Savings, Fraternal, 
Future Great, Garrison Mutual, Garfield Savings, German- Ameri- 
can, German Mutual, Great Western, Hibernia, Home Mutual, 
Homestead Mutual, Improvement, Investment, Irish-American, 
Savings, Laclede, Lafayette Mutual, Marquette Mutual, Mechanics' 
Mutual, Merchants and Mechanics' Mutual, Metropolitan Mutual, 
Missouri Mutual, Mound Cit}-, Mount Olive, Mutual Benefit, Na- 
tional, New Era, Nickel Savings and Mutual, North End, North- 
western, Peabody, Peter Cooper, Progressive, Rock Spring, The 
Benton, Securit}^ Loan, Southwestern, South End, Standard, St. 
L. Central, St. L. Mutual Home B. Co.. St. L. Turners, Tower, 
Turner Real Estate and Building Co., Valley B. Co., Washington 
Savings, Western Mutual, West End, West St. Louis. 

Safe Deposit Companies. — There are only two regularly or- 
ganized and equipped safety deposit companies in St. Louis. One 



202 COMMERCIAL AND 

of the greatest needs of any large city is sufficient capacity with 
security for the deposit of valuables — such as bonds, deeds, 
jewelry, diamonds, silverware, etc. A place not only for safety 
but one in which the depositors can go at their pleasure for the 
purpose of examining their pa[>ers, removing or restoring the differ- 
ent deposits, clipping coupons, signing papers and such like brief 
transactions where they have the comforts and conveniences of a 
private office with the security of a bank vault. The oldest com 
pany here is that of the Safe Deposit axd Trust Co., on Locust 
street, 513. The building is a substantial one and conveniently 
located. The officers of the company are John R. Lionberger, 
President ; Chas. iSpeck, Vice-President ; and G. A. Hayward» 
Secretary. 

The Missouri Safe Deposit Company is located at Sixth and 
Locust, J. Ho3^t, President ; H. Marquand, Vice-President, and 
Geo. D. Capen, Treasurer. 

Among the manj^ large enterprises of St. Louis none are pointed 
to with a greater degree of pride than the magnificent plant of the 
St. Louis Bank Note Company ; this company began business in 
St. Louis in the year 1870 and commenced educating the people 
of the West to a higher standard of artistic work than they had 
ever before known. Like all great enterprises the beginning was 
naturally small, and it took time, energy and enterprise, combined 
with a very high class of artistic talent, before the people of the 
West could be convinced that here in St. Louis they could obtain 
all kinds of high class work executed with a degree of excellence 
equal to any accomplished by the National Government, or in fact 
by any Bank Note Company in Europe or America. The year 
1888 finds tlie company known from the Atlantic to the Pacific, 
and their work has established such a reputation that to-day they 
stand pre-eminent as the leaders of artistic steel work in the United 
States. During the last few years thousands of dollars have been 
spent in procuring the most eminent artists to be had in Europe 
or America, also in having built the finest machinery procurable 
for the execution of high class work. In proof of this assertion 
we would call particular attention to the frontispiece in this work. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



203 



The design and execution of which will inevitably appeal to all 
lovers of high class art. 

This company has also a very fine lithographic plant, and have 
given this branch of the business almost as much attention as their 
steel plate department ; they confine their attention to fine bank 
and oflfice stationery exclusively, and are therefore in a position 
to do this class of work in a highly superior manner. 

The office of the company is now situated at 214 and 216 Chest- 
nut street, in the immense five story, fire proof building, where we 
recommend all desiring fine work to call and examine their samples 
of railroad, State, county and city bonds, certificates of stock, 




Merchants' Exchange — Third Street Front. 

bank drafts, checks, letter and note-heads, cards, etc., and be 
convinced that in the St. Louis Bank Note Company St. Louis has 
an institution of which she is justly proud. 

EXCHANGES. 

The Merchants' Exchange is the oldest and most influential of 
the various commercial organizations of the city. The St. Louis 
Chamber of Commerce, of which the Merchants' Exchange is the 
successor, was organized in 1836, and this is therefore one of the 



204 



COMMERCIAL AND 



oldest of similar bodies in the United States. The Merchants' 
Exchange occupies the eleo:ant and commodious hall erected for 
it in 1875, 221 feet in length b}' 92 feet in width, and is the cen- 
ter of the commercial life of the cit}^ Its membership numbers 
3,296, and is composed of merchants and manufacturers princi- 
palh', but every interest of the cit}^ commercial and professional, 
is represented in its constituency. 

A number of associations and exchanges for the protection and 
development of different lines of business have been formed within 
the last few 3'ears and all of them are actively engaged in pro- 
moting the commercial interests of the city. 

The Cotton Ex- 
change is the old- 
est bod}^ of its 
kind, next to the 
Merchants' Ex- 
change, in the citj^ 
of St. Louis. St. 
Louis continues to 
be a heav3^ receiver 
and shipper of cot- 
ton and the Cotton 
Exchange does a 
valuable work in 
the preservation 

Cotton Exchange— Main and Walnut. ^nd publication of 

statistics and quotations. 

The first meeting of the organization now known as the St. 
Cotton Exchange was held in the directors' room of the old Mer- 
chants' Exchange building, on Main st., between Market and Wal- 
nut streets, Oct. 17th, 1873. Work was commenced on the new 
Exchange building May 3, 1881, and it was finished April 30, 
1882. It is in the renaissance style of architecture, with exchange 
hall .50 feet span and 29 feet to ceiling. 

The Wool ant> Fur Exchange is an influential body, and within 
a few years past, has been brought into the Cotton Exchange, 




architf:ctural st. louis. 205 

thereby increasing its membership and adding to its influence. The 
Cotton Exchange occupies the handsome building constructed for it 
on the southwest corner of Main and Walnut streets. 

The Mp:chaxics' ExeHA:NGE, which has been in existence for 
several years, is an influential institution, including in its member, 
ship representatives of all the trades. It has commodious quarters 
at No. 9 North Seventh street. 

The Real Estate Exchange is established in the midst of the 
real estate offices on Seventh street, directly opposite the 
Mechanics' Exchange. It has a large room in which auctions of 
real estate are held. 

The Coal Exchange has been established by the retail coal 
dealers for the promotion of the coal trade and the regulation of 
prices to consumers. It includes in its membership almost all the 
coal dealers in the city. 

The Furniture Exchange, which had almost dropped out of 
existence, is about to be reorganized. The St. Louis furniture 
manufacturer* maintain an association whose oflSce is at 509 North 
Third street. 

The Wholesale Grocers of the city have banded together under 
the name of the Associated Wholesale Grocers, with headquarters 
at 314 N.Third street. A plan is now under consideration for the 
establishment of a national association of wholesale grocers, of 
which the St. Louis organization will be a branch. The retail 
grocers now maintain an association for their mutual protection 
with an office at 938 N. Third street. 

The Brewers' Association includes in its membership all the 
principal brewers of the city, among them the owners of the largest 
brewery in the United States. They meet at regular intervals to 
discuss prices, production and other features of the business. 
Their office is in the building, 404 Market street. 

The Merchants and Manufacturers' Association is an 
organization formed principally to protect the shi[)ping interests 
of St. Louis. It has done much good work in obtaining redress 
of grievances against the railroads. Its office is at 518 Washing- 
ton avenue. 



206 



COMMERCIAL AND 



The Mercantile Agency. —R. G. Dun & Co., proprietors; 
C. B. Smith, St. Louis manager ; Gay Building, Pine and Tiiird 
streets. — This agency, the operations and reputation of which are 

world-wide, was 
founded in 1841 
by Judge Lewis 
Tappan in the 
c i 1 3' of New 
York. Since 
that time it has 
been carried on 
uninterruptedly 
hy his succes- 
sors, under the 
styles of Lewis 
-g Tappan & Co., 
I Tappan & Dou- 
■^ glass, B. Dou- 
I glass & Co., 
'^ Dun, Boyd & 
Co., Dun, Bar- 
low & Co.. and 
R. G. Dun & 
Co., and in Can- 
ada as Dun, 
Wiman & Co. 
It has neve r 
been incorpo- 
rated, and the 
only changes 
that have oc- 
curred in the 

firm have been caused by the death or retirement of partners. 
The purpose of the agency is to furnish to its subscribers, for 
business purposes, information as to the standing of merchants, 
manufacturers, bankers, etc., and the agency expends millions 




ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 207 

annually in' the effort to gather its vast stores of information, and 
to make its reports accurate. The St. Louis branch of the 
agency is located in the Gay Building, corner of Pine and Third 
streets. It is under the manaa^ement of Mr. C. B. Smith and has 
a force of seventy-five employees ; and in addition to its other 
facilities has a private printing and publishing department. The 
St. Louis branch, like all others maintained by this company, has a 
well appointed collection department attached to it. 

MARKETS. 

St. Louis maintains a system of markets where the production 
of the gardener, the florist, the fruits of all climes, and where 
fish, fowl, dressed meats, game, butter, etc., are to be had in 
great abundance and at all times of the year. These market 
places are a great convenience to the people, and one of the 
sights of this city is the crowds, the lights, the display and the 
traffic at Union Market, especially on a Saturday evening. 

Allen Market is at Twelfth street and Russell avenue ; Biddle 
Market, Thirteenth, Biddle and O'Fallon sts. ; Central Mar- 
ket, 320 South Broadway ; City Market, Broadway and Biddle 
st. ; French Market, Convent st , junction Fourth and Broad- 
way ; Reservoir Market, Twenty-second, near Benton st. ; 
Soulard Market, Seventh and Carroll sts., also Haymarket ; 
South St. Louis Market, 7703 South Broadway ; Sturgeon 
Market, North Market St., Broadway and Ninth street; 
Union Market, Broadway, Sixth st., Morgan st. and Lucas 
avenue. 



208 COMMERCIAL AND 



Commercial. 



With trade relations extending througtiout this entire country 
and into most of the foreign countries the commercial and man- 
ufacturing interests of St. Louis occup}' no insignificant position 
in the world of trade, as will be seen by a careful reading of the 
following various lines of business. 

livp: stock. 

Excepting the year 1881, the receipts of cattle at this market 
durinor 1887 were the laro-est in the history of St. Louis, while the 
receipts of sheep, horses and mules were the largest. The seri- 
ous injur3' to the corn crop in the territor}- tributar}- to St. Louis, 
through the prolonged drouth, caused a falling off in the hog re- 
ceipts, though not to a greater extent than many other markets. 

The feature of the trade in this department has been the 
largely increased sales effected at favoraV)le prices. Prices for 
cattle* have ruled low throughout the year, and have not been satis- 
factory to the raiser, but the prices obtained here have uniformly 
been favorable as compared with other markets. A greater num- 
ber of Eastern buyers have been in attendance, while the 
operations of the dressed beef companies have been materiall}^ ex- 
tended, and the promise of their still further extension will in the 
future secure a market here for an additional suppl}' of both 
cattle and sheep. 

While the hog receipts have fallen off. the packers have taken 
about the same number they did in 1886, and their packing was 
reduced from the want of supply. 

The demand for horses and mules has increased with the in- 
creased supply, and all desirable stock found a ready sale. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



209 




I III 



14 



210 



COMMERCIAL AND 



RECEIPTS AND SHIPMENTS OF CA.TTLE, SHEEP AND HOGS FOR 
THIRTEEN YEARS. 



TEAR. 




RECEIPTS. 






SHIPMENTS. 






Cattle. 


Sheep. 


Hogs. 

1,052,240 

1,264,471 

1,455,535 

1,474,475 

1,151,785 

846,228 

1.672,1.53 

.. 40,684 

i;7u2,724 

1,451,634 

896,319 

877,160 

628.569 


Horses 1 
& Mules.' 

57,048 ' 

42,032 

39,385 

41,870 

44,913 

42,718 

42,365 

46,011 

33,289 

27,878 

22,652 

22,271 

27.516 


Cattle. 

277,406 
212,958 
233,249 
315,433 
249,523 
188,486 
293,092 
228,879 
226,2.55 
261,723 
251,566 
220,430 
216,701 


Sheep. 


Hogs. 


Horses 
& Mules. 


1887 

1886 

1885 

1884 


464,828 
377,550 
386,320 
450,717 
405,090 
443,169 
503,862 
424,720 
420,654 
406,235 
411,969 
349.043 
335,742 


417,425 
328,985 
362,858 
380,822 
398.612 
443,120 
334.426 
205,969 
182,648 
168,095 
200,502 
157,831 
125.679 


287,018 

202,728 

233,391 

248,545 

217,370 

245,071 

170,395 

93,522 

88,083 

74,433 

87,569 

67,886 

37,784 


.324,725 
520,362 
789,487 
678,874 
609,388 
264,584 
889,909 
770,769 
686,099 
528,627 
314,287 
232,876 
126,729 


59,222 
39,798 
35,610 
39,544 


1883 

1882 

1881 

1880 

1879 

1878 


44,543 
46,2,55 
43,794 
44,416 
36,947 
30,867 


1877 

1876 

1875 


25,157 
26,301 
28,675 



PROVISIONS AND PACKING. 

The business of the past year was eminently satisfactory to the 
trade and shows a large increase over preceding years. While 
the packing at this point has not materially increased, the amount 
handled and distributed from this point has assumed veiy large 
proportions, and St. Louis competes successfully with other cities 
for the Southern trade, both east and west of the river. There 
has also been a moderate amount of provisions exported to 
Europe, and a considerable business done with eastern points. 
The total shipment of the year, including barrelled Pork, Hams, 
Meats and Lard aggregated 220,613,987 pounds, against 
174,907,899 pounds in 1886, an increase of 26 per cent. The 
packing for the winter season of 1886-7 was 370,866 Hogs of an 
average gross weight of 245.42 pounds, while the summer pack- 
ing of 1887 was 355,000 head. 

As usual a large amount of product from country packing 
points was marketed here, in addition to which large purchases 
of salted meats were made at the larger packing points and brought 
here to be made into Bacon and Smoked Hams. 

The railroad position of the six larger packing points has not 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 211 

chanoed, althouob the direction of increase is toward the Mis- 
souri river cities. 

Packing at the principal points for the past two seasons was 

as follows : — 

Season. Season. 

1886-7 1885-6. 

Chicago 1,844,189 2,393,052 

Kansas City 708,539 656,109 

St. Louis 370,866 369,130 

Milwaukee 327,255 343,423 

Cincinnati • 331,401 332,696 

Louisville 198,382 122,261 

Indianapolis 352,140 290,500 

At the close packers and dealers found that the business of 
the 3^ear had been profitable, and predict that the out-put of 1888 
will be greater than of the j^ear past. 

By referring to Senator Vest's speech (Congressional Record 
of May 17, 1888), one is led to infer that the live stock trade and 
traffic of St. Louis is on the decline, and that it has for some 
vears been ffrowins; smaller. His reasons for such a conclusion 
and statement no one can gainsay. It is a potent fact for a long 
time well known to those engaged in the live stock and packing 
interests of St. Louis. Missouri's great senator has not arrived 
at a dream}' conclusion, he has delved down to the bottom of 
causes and facts. He tells the people of this country, not merely 
those engaged in the meat traffic, but the whole people, the con- 
sumers of meats, how the}- have had to pay tribute of S15.00 per 
car on every car-load of cattle shipped to eastern markets from 
the West. This $15.00 per car fell into the pockets of a little 
band of philanthroj^ists (less than a dozen), who fixed up an ar- 
rangement with three of the Trunk lines leading to the eastern 
markets, whereby this little party of ''Eveners*' — the name they 
were known by — received $15.00 per car on all cattle shipped, 
not only by themselves, but by all shippers from points west of 
Pittsburgh. This monstrous advantage over other shippers finally 
froze out all competition and left the Eveners with a clear field 
rom 1873 to 1878, since which time this same little band com- 



212 COMMERCIAL AND 

posed of the same men — with few exceptions — having had to 
give up the old monopoly, bave fastened the dressed beef mon- 
strosity upon the people, and now call it the Dressed Beef Trust, 
which one can conceive to be even a far worse thing for the peo- 
ple than was ever the Evener monopoty. In discussing the sub- 
ject of live stock, we took a drive up to the Union Stock Yards, 
and were shown over the whole plant by the superintendent, Mr. 
Don Palmer — the St. Louis Union Stock Yards is the corporate 
name — it was pleasing to find such neat, well regulated yards, 
dry and clean, perfectly ventilated and just the location for 
stock yards. They have a large river front, the yards being 
located on the Mississippi river, east of Broadway in North St. 
Louis. 

These yards handle all the stock coming to this market by 
steamers, plying the upper and lower Mississippi river, the Mis- 
souri, the Illinois, the Tennessee, and Cumberland rivers and some 
from the Ohio river. The Union Yards are equally well located for 
handling all stock coming to this market by rail. The Wabash 
Western, St. Louis and San Francisco, Missouri Pacific, St. Louis- 
Iron Mountain and Southern, St. Louis and Hannibal and the St. 
Louis, Keokuk and North- Western railways on the west side of the 
river are all directly tributary to these yards. The east side 
roads that are directly tributary are the Chicago and Alton R. R. , 
the Wabash, Indianapolis and St. Louis, while the Ohio and Mis- 
sissippi, the Cairo Short Line, the C, B. and Q. , and the Vanda- 
lia railways all deliver stock to the Venice branch of the Union 
Yards. Stock delivered to the Venice branch yards is loaded on 
the ferry boat and at once transferred to the main yards on the 
west side of the river, where the buyers congregate. The Union 
Stock Yards have been in operation nearly 14 years. Mr. W. A. 
Ramsay, the secretary and treasurer of the company', who has been 
connected with the company in this capacity since its organization 
15 years ago, says that the Union Yards have been from the start 
a paying investment to its owners. The present board of direct- 
ors are Messrs. C. C. Maffitt, Jno. A. Scudder, Daniel Catlin, P. 
C. Maffitt, Jno. P. Keiser, Peter Lehmann and Jno. G. Prather. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 213 

The officers are C. C. Maffitt, President; Daniel Catlin, Vice- 
President; Don Mc'N. Palmer, Superintendent, andW. A. Ram- 
say, Secretary and Treasurer. The company own 38 acres of 
ground, mostly covered with shedded pens. 

The butchers' supply for 500,000 people of the City of St.Louis 
is obtained from these yards. 

The horse and mule market of St. Louis — the largest market 
in the world — must necessarily soon be centered at the Union 
Yards, as the present locality is being closely encroached upon, 
and will soon have to be removed north to tjie Union Yards. 

GRAIN. 

The grain receipts of the past year were quite satisfactory, 
showing a gratifying increase over the previous year. 

The comparative receipts for the years named were as follows : 

1887. 1886. 

Wheat, bushels - 14,510,315 12,309,364 

Corn " 16,576,386 16,387,071 

Oats " 9,768,545 7,426,915 

Rye " 236,726 447,842 

Barley " 2,932,192 • 2,529,731 



Total " 44,024,164 39,100,923 

Receipts at the primary western markets for the past two years 
compare as follows : 

1886. 1887. 

St. Louis 12,309,364 14,510,315 bushels 

Chicago 16,771,743 21,848,251 

Milwaukee 8,444,697 9,221,691 

Peoria 486,385 1,138,975 

St. Paul 4,819,170 4,819,170 

Minneapolis 34,904,260 45,504,480 

Duluth 22,424,950 17,136,275 

Detroit 9,187,021 7,513,136 

Kansas City 2,881,132 1,932,868 

Toledo 16,978,818 14,377,841 



214 



C03IMEIIC1AL AND 



The corn crop of 1887 as reported by the department of agri- 
culture was 1,456,161,000 bushels, the smallest crop harvested 
since 1881. The yield per acre was 20.1 bushels against 22 
bushels for the crop of 1886. The crops of great corn growing 
States compares with former years as follows : 



Indiana. . 
Illinois. . 

Iowa 

Missouri 
Kansas . . 
Nebraska 



1887, bus. 

71,400,000 

141,080,000 

183,502,000 

140,949,000 

76,547,000 

93,150,000 



1886, bus. 
118,795,000 
209,818,000 
198,847,000 
143,709,000 
126,712,000 
106,129,000 



1885, bus. 
131,994,000 
268,998,000 
242,496,000 
196,861,000 
158,390,000 
129,426,000 



1884, bus. 
104,757,000 
244,544.000 
252,600,000 
197,850,000 
168,500,000 
122,100,000 



ELEVATORS. 
The Merchants' Elevator, an illustration of which is here 




Merchant 



D. P. Slattery, Pres 



presented, was commenced in the spring of 1885 and was origin- 
ally designed to hold 350,000 bushels, but one addition after an- 
other has been added so that to-day its storage capacity is 
1,300,000 bushels. It is built in sections, the machinery of 
which can be shut off from the main house and allowed to remain 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 215 

idle during the working of the main part. Economy of the high- 
est value is displayed in this as well as in the fact that it owns 
and controls its own Electric Light Plant, the lights of which can 
be shut off instantly from any part of the house not working. 
To say that this Elevator is the completest building of the kind in 
the world goes without saying, and is fully proved by the fact 
that it is rated by underwriters at a far lower rate than any other 
elevator in St. Louis. 

FLOUR. 

St. Louis, with the great south and west tributar}^ to her 
and lying in the immediate district of the great grain growing 
sections of the United States, is naturally a large supply depot 
for flour, most of the south and southwest and all of the south 
looking here for their breadstuffs. This city has long held the 
second rank as a flour producing city, only one other leading in 
the quantity produced, but she has always held the highest rank 
for the quality produced. St. Louis however does not depend 
alone on the demand of this country for the sale of her products 
in this line, as much of it goes abroad. The quality of the wheat 
handled by the milling concerns here has a great deal to do with 
the grade of the flour. It has long been understood in grain 
and flour circles that the St. Louis millers will have nothing but 
high grade and perfectly cured grain and this fact has given St. 
Louis flour a high reputation which the millers here strive to 
and do maintain. 

AMOUNT OP FLOUR MANUFACTURED IN VARIOUS CITIES. 

1887. 1886. 1885. 

Bbls. Bbls. Bbls. 

Minneapolis 6,379,264 6,168,000 5,221,243 

St. Louis 1,985,717 1,807,956 1,841,529 

Baltimore 496,244 540,567 526,992 

St. Paul..... 316,000 194,500 225,000 

Philadelphia... 240,000 

Milwaukee 1,214,648 960,000 961,152 

Buffalo 1^ 637,885 706,384 752,862 



216 



COMMERCIAL AKD 



1887. 1886. 1885. 

Bbls. Bbls. Bbls. 

Eichmoud 264,712 412,000 

Toledo •••• 305,000 310,000 

Detroit 253,000 296,500 255,500 

Chicago 514,870 494,789 ...... 

Duluth ... 40,000 10,000 

Kansas City 165,000 

Peoria 105,600 

The cut here shows one of the leading mills of the cit3\ 

The Regina Flour Mills. — The plant is situated at the cross- 
ing of the St. Louis, 
Iron Mountain & South- 
ern R. R. and of the 
Missouri Pacific R. R., 
and near the steamer 
docks. The daih' ca- 
pacity of these mills is 
1,200 barrels, and the 
construction and equip- 
ment has secured for 
it the name of the 
ModelMillof St. Louis. 
The offices of the mills 
are 601 to 623 South 
Main street, adjoining 

the mills, and the of- 
Regina Flour MlUs. 

ficers of the compan}'' 
are: Louis Fusz, President; Geo. H. Backer, Secretary-. 




WHITE LEAD AXD OILS. 

In this line of manufacture St. Louis leads all other cities. 
The lead mines of Missouri produce the pig lead, and St. Louis 
being the chief city of the State, consequently the large manu- 
facturing establishments devoted to white lead production located 
in St. Louis. There are three of these whose product is scat- 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



217 



tered perhaps more generally throughout the United States than 
any other of our large manufactories. White lead is used in 
every section of country and the St. Louis white lead has gained 
such a reputation that it finds ready market in all directions. 



1887. 



BAGGING MANUFACTURED. 
, 15,000,000 yards. | 1886 16,000,000 yards- 

HIGHWINES AND WHISKIES. 

Receipts Highwines and Whiskies. Shipments Whisky. 

1887...' 63,972 bbls. | 1887 99,290 bbls. 

1886 60,133 " I 1886 99,087 " 

RECEIPTS AND SHIPMENTS OF SUGAR. 



YEAR. 


Hhds. 


Bbls. 


Boxes. 


Bags. 


Hhds. 


Bbls. 


Bags. 


1887 

1886 


6,590 

32,887 


316,231 
242,075 


1,569 
792 


11,942 
105,580 


615 

771 


258,286 
330,349 


1,889 
2,463 



RECEIPTS AND SHIPMENTS OF MOLASSES, ICOFFEE AND RICE. 





MOLASSES. 


COFFEE. 


RICE. 


YEARS. 


RECEIPTS. 


SHIPMENTS. 


REC'TS. 


SHIP'TS 


REC'TS. 


SHIP'TS 




Bbls. 


Kegs. 


Hhds. 


Bbls. 


Kegs. 


Bags. 

184,312 
240,685 


Bags. 

212,819 
205,136 


Sks.&bls 


Pkgs. 


1887 . . . 
1886 ... 


30,895 
27,720 


19,580 
3,281 


1 


36,611 
24,141 


24,343 
18,810 


79,604 

72,079 


50,633 
41,571 



ST. LOUIS SUGAR REFINING COMPANY. 

This company is one of the representative sugar refining con- 
cerns in the United States and own a plant here the equal of, if not 
the superior, to any of these giant structures. It is located on north 
Main street, having a frontage of 137 feet with a depth along 
Ashley street to the north levee of 290 feet, 13 stories high. 

The foundation is on a solid rock base the stone having been 
quarried to a depth of 24 feet below the street level. One of the 
finest flowing artesian wells in the country is located on the plant, 



218 



COMMERCIAL AND 



§M '^J : ^ ''i^i '^ '^- ^J ■ '0^ ''^ ■^- '^^ 

^M m mmimi m m m m. m^ -^ 

Ig .^ '^ ^j ^ ^ ^ M m mi M'^^ 

'^^fg m mM -^ ^ '® 1^, M M .^ ^ ,1 

mMMMM M m^m, m 

':g 'fe^ mi M m] M m] m ¥i m 
««**« « ■• * ■■ 

ij j^ ^j j^\ ^J !^j ^j ^] ^ jp^. 

iS^ g:Kp]M] ^'ni mm. 





;n\;.i;i;i;i;;,i 



i, .V-^E^v) '.^^ ■ , 'S^'v i^SiV' s^^l^, ''"^^ ■ ' ;@ii ; ', .i^y > '. i^]' i ; , ; 1^] 



^V "5E.':\ ^. S^\ -te". _^si;^ /^, -^^ 









'k3s\ *[ '''.'ill 









the water having been known to St. Louis people for a great 
number of years as "Belcher's Water." The raw sugars are 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 21^ 

converted into the various styles of strictly pure cane sugars and 
syrups which have an established reputation for their excellence, 
and are then sold throughout the whole country. The offices of 
the company are at 204 North 2d street. Mr. W. L. Scott is- 
president and Mr. W. F. Havemeyer secretary. 

FIRE CLAY AND PRODUCTS. 

The Missouri deposits of fire clay, or in more exact terms the St. 
Louis deposits for the whole industry lies within a stone's throw 
from the southwestern limits of the city — are considered the best in 
the world. The following comparative analysis shows the compo- 
sition of the different fire clay deposits, from which it will be 
seen that those elements most essential to a tractable fire clay to 
wit, silica and alumina exist to a greater extent in the St. Louis 
clay than in any other, while those elements deleterious show to a 
less degree. There are a number of monster concerns here, mag- 
nificently equipped with all the improved or requisite machinery 
for producing fire brick, furnace linings, crucibles, glass pots, 
gas retorts, hollow fire proofing, sewer pipe, drain tiles and all 
the vitrified products of fire clay, whether for city, railroad or 
agricultural purposes. 

Analysis. English. German. St. Louis. 

Silica 63.03 48.79 63.25 

Alumina 23.03 28.50 23.20 

Oxide of irou ' .... 1.92 4.20 1.75 

Magnesia 20 .45 .06 

Lime 14 .10 .09 

Soda .06 .08 

Potash 18 .22 .07 

Hygroscopic water 2.10 3.50 2.15 

Water of composition with organic matter. 9.40 14.18 9.35 

The glass works and iron furnaces of the country east, west 
and south use almost exclusively the heat resisting fire clay pro- 
ducts for the St. Louis manufacturers. 

Evens & Howard. — Manufacturers of Fire Brick, Gas Retorts,. 
Sewer Pipe and other Fire Clay Goods. — This important manu^ 



220 



COMMERCIAL AND 



facturing plant was established in 1856, when it gave employment 
to about twent}' persons. By systematic, reliable and accurate 
methods in management, together with the high standard adopted 




B i a.itttfl .,.i£,-i|i V 



and followed in the manufacture of its products ; it has steadily 
increased, until these works are about the largest in their line 
in the United States, and give employment at present to a large 
number of persons. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 221 

Of the first important materials in all successful metallurgical 
and manufacturing operations, a substantial fire-resisting material 
is one of the most necessary. 

They have developed at their works a bed of the finest quality 
of fire clay, so that their product, even the raw clay, has found 
a market in Boston, Philadelphia, Pittsburg, St. Paul, New 
Orleans California, Mexico and territory nearer at home. Par- 
ticularly is their Missouri fire clay known to almost every glass 
manufacturer in the country. 

The product of no single fire clay industry is as well distributed 
as that from the locality of this plant. Their works, located at 
Howard Station, Missouri Pacific and St. Louis and San Fran- 
cisco Railroads, are equipped with the best machinery, housed 
in substantial brick buildings, having switch tracks into the yards 
so that goods are carefully loaded into cars that go through to 
their destination without rehandling. 

Evens & Howard's Gas Retorts have been sold in Portland, 
Me., Philadelphia, St. Paul, New Orleans, Denver and the Pacific 
Coast, and their lining for blast furnaces, at Green Bay, Mich., 
Alabama and California. Their Bessemer Tuyeres to Troy and 
Pittsburg, and their brick to almost every other city and section 
of this country, and to old Mexico, for lining all kinds of fur- 
naces ; all shapes and sizes are made to suit the various plans. 

Independent of the furnace lining industry, but made partially 
of the same material, is the manufacture of clay pipes for drain- 
age, which this factory has developed. They make them in 
sizes 3 to 24 inches inside diameter, in lengths of 2 feet each and 
in quantities of one mile per day. 

Recognizing the importance of complete drainage to the health 
and prosperity of any community, this company has perfected 
the manufacture of clay drainage pipes, for cities and farms, 
and culverts for large flow of water, so that this product, like 
their fire clay product, is known all over the West, even so far 
as San Diego, Cal., St. Paul and New Orleans. 



222 COMMERCIAL AND 



LUMBER. 



St. Louis is most admirably situated as regards the lumber dis- 
tricts of this country. With the Mississippi river to float the white 
pine from the northern forests and the same stream with its tribu- 
taries south of this point, together with splendid railway service 
penetrating the yellow pine and hardwood districts of Arkansas 
this should be the largest general lumber market in the country. 
Then again there is so much local building and improvement and 
such a vast region west which is constantly filling up with new 
settlers and the old ones becoming each year more able to properly 
improve their farms and houses that St. Louis should be even a 
much greater market than she is to-day. The business in lumber 
and the products of lumber, such as sash, doors. bUnds and all 
lumber building material is growing strongly each j^ear. There 
are more sash, door and blind factories in St. Louis than in any 
city of its size in this country and their increasing output has 
grown to proportions quite satisfactory to the concerns engaged 
in the trade. The heavy increase in the demand for white pine 
lumber this spring, was caused by the stoppage of the mills north. 
Owing to high water they were unable for many weeks to cut a 
log, therefore there was no fresh supply and the dry stock in the 
3^ards found ready sale and at advanced prices, some stock being 
entirely exhausted ; laths, for instance, were not in stock sufficient 
for the demand. The following figures will show the amount of 
lumber received and shipped during 1886 and 1887: — 

St. Louis Lumberman: —ThQ receipts of lumber b}^ river 
at St. Louis for the years 1887 and 1886 were as below, accept- 
ing the compilation of the harbor master and his staff: — 

1887. 1886. 

White pine, ft 131,490,066 12-t,151,170 

Yellow pine 113,000 73,790 

Poplar 9,471,041 8,420,462 

Cottonwood 6,436,000 3,925,500 

Cypress 239,100 200,757 

Sycamore 250,500 271,000 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 223 

1887, 1886. 

Ash 1,693,396 342,000 

Walnut 1,169,617 884,300 

Oak 998,519 211,475 

Gum 417,248 791,600 

Maple 148,000 

Hickory 2,500 13,500 

Cherry 7,000 

Totals, ft 152,435,987 139,288,554 

Assuming 10,000 feet to be an average car load, the total re- 
ceipts by rail were 409,640,000 feet. As the shipments were 
344,424,000 feet, the statistical situation at the close of the year 
may be summarized in this way : 

1887. 1888. 

Receipts 562,075,987 465,878,554 

Shipments 344,434,000 234,619,000 

Excess of receipts lU7,641,987 231,259,554 

In 1844 Messrs. Schulenburg & Boeckeler, engaged in the 
lumber business and the record showing their progress indicates a 
steady increase. In 1858, they handled 3,497,467 feet of lumber ; 
in 1859, 6,395,768 feet; in 1860, 8,783,525 feet; in 1880 the pre- 
sent company was incorporated, the officers of which are A. Boeck- 
eler, President; E. L. Hospes, Y.-P. ; Charles W. Behrens, 
Secretary, and L. C. Hirschberg, Treas. In 1880 their sales 
represented 45,000,000 feet; in 1881, 50,000,000 feet; in 1882, 
48,000,000 feet; in 1883,51,000,000 feet; in 1884, 51,500,000 
feet; in 1885, 52,500,000 feet; in 1886, 54,000,000 feet of lumber 
about 32,000,000 shingles and some 15,000,000 laths. These 
figures represent their sales only. The magnitude of their inter- 
ests in lumber and the influence the}^ exercise in the trade will be 
best understood by the following additional facts. They own 
large timber interests in the north, own and run their own tow 
boats, employ more than a thousand men and operate mills both 
in Minnesota and St. Louis. Their St. Louis yards lie alonar the 
river front from North Market street, covering an area of more 



224 



COMMERCIAL AXD 



than 30 acres and their new offices are in the midst of this plants 
corner Hall street and St. Louis avenue. 

John J. Ganahl Lumber Co. — This business was established 
in 18G3 under the name of Fleitz & Ganahl. The continued 
growth of the business, which has been commensurate with the 
progress of the city, necessitated the formation of a company, 
which was done in 1881 as the John J. Ganahl Lumber Company, 
with a paid up capital of 8100,000. In addition to a heavy stock 
of finely assorted white pine which the company receives monthly 




Johu J. Ganahl Lumber Co.'s Main Yards. 

b}^ raft from the mills in Wisconsin, they may make a specialty 
of yellow pine timbers, joist and finishing lumber and in connec- 
tion with other hard wood thev handle large quanities of poplar, 
cypress and California red wood. 

Their sash, door, blind and moulding business is ver}^ heavy and 
they carr}' at all times a large stock, enabling them to furnish 
everything in their line for building purposes, prompth'. There 
are few business men in the city better known or that hold a 
higher place in the estimation of their fellow-citizens than Mr. 
John J. Ganahl. The principal office of the company is in their 
new building erected for office purposes, at the corner of 2d and 
Park avenue. The officers of the company are John J. Ganahl, 
Pres. ; Fidel Ganahl, V.-P., and Louis J. Ganahl, Secretary. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS 



225 



Knapp, Stout & Co. Company. — This immense lumber concern 
have their St. Louis yards in the north end along Bremen avenue, 
the Wabash R. R. tracks, with an eastern line fronting on the Mis- 
sissippi river, altogether covering an area of some 40 acres in ex- 
tent. The company float immense rafts from their northern mills 
to their plant in this market, which they sell throughout the whole 
territory tributary to St. Louis. Being one of the largest lumber 
handlers in the country, this company has exerted a great influ- 
ence in making this market a depot for distribution and of exten- 
sive sale. Their offices are located on Bremen avenue, and the 
officers of the company are John H. Knapp, President; A. Tani- 
ter, V.-P. ; T. B. Wilson, sec. ; H. E. Knapp, ast. sec. ; T. D. 
Stout, ast. treasurer, and John H. Douglass, Treasurer. 

PhILIBERT & JOHANNINO MANUFACTURING COMPANY. In 1837 

Mr. Benjamin PhiHbert, now deceased, laid the foundation for 




Philibert & Johanuiiig Manufacturing Co. 

what has become one of the largest and most important manufac- 
turing industries in St. Louis. In 1874 he admitted Mr. Johan- 
ning, the firm then being Philibert & Johanning. In 1882 the 
present corporation was formed, and so extensive has their busi- 
ness become that throughout the building trade of the whole ter- 

15 



226 COMMERCIAL AND 

ritory tributary to this market they ship the products of their 
works. These consist of sash, doors, blinds, frames, glazed win- 
dows, mouldings, stair railings, balusters, newel posts, in fact all 
the lumber work used in the construction of buildings, including 
laths and shingles. Their manufacturing plant and office is lo- 
cated on Market street, west of Fifteenth, and is a brick building 
225x140 feet, 3 stories high, equipped with every grade of modern 
machinery best adapted to their purposes. Besides this plant 
they have large yards and warehouses at Seventeenth and Market 
streets and also at Eighteenth and Walnut streets. One feature 
of their business is worthy of special note, and that is, the high 
reputation they sustain among builders, architects and owners for 
the superior class of work turned out from their factor}- at all 
times. The officers of the company are : J. H. Kaiser, President ; 
Herman Kunz, Secretary and Treasurer. 

Methl'dy & Meyer. — This well known firm of lumber merchants 
was established here in 1870 having since dealt extensively in 
hard and fancy woods and in former years were very heavy 
shippers of these woods to Europe. Of late years their principal 
business has been that of white pine in which they have built up 
a large city and shipping trade. Tliey handle about 20,000,000 
feet of lumber annually, two-thirds of which is white pine. This 
firm were the introducers to this market of Florida long leaf pine, 
a class of timber of great durability and of immense length ; the}^ 
furnished 2,000,000 feet of these long timbers for the construc- 
tion of the great St. Louis Bridge. They have an immense plant 
lying along the north river front with railway and steamer ship- 
ping facilities commensurate with their large trade. Their down town 
offices are in the Temple building, Broadway and Walnut streets. 

HuTTiG Sash and Door Company. — We show in this connection 
an illustration of the warehouse of the Huttig Sash and Door 
Company, Main and Dock streets. This substantial and repre- 
sentative house, recognized as one of the most prominent and 
prosperous in its line in the West, was established in this city in 
1885. The parent house is at Muscatine, la., where it was estab- 
lished twenty 3'ear3 ago by the firm of Huttig Bros., and is now 



ARCHITECTURAL tST. LOUIS. 



227 




228 



COMMERCIAL AND 



doing a heavy business as' the Huttig Bros. Manufacturing 
Company. They have also a house, established five vears ao-o, 
at Kansas City, where the st3'le of the company is the Western 
Sash and Door Compan3\ Another branch house has just been 

established at St. Joseph, 
Mo. From St. Louis the 
companj- has a very heavj^ 
and constantlv increasing 
trade in all the country 
tributar}^ to this market. 
Their warehouse covers 
half a block, is a hand- 
so m e and substantial 
brick structure and is 
eompletel}* stocked with 
sash, doors, blinds, mold- 
ings, stair work, etc. 
Their factory, covering 
half a block at Tenth and 
MiiUanphy streets, i s a 
late acquisition, and is 
used for the manufacture 
of special sizes of sash, 
doors and blinds, interior 
■^' finish and fancy work of 
^ this description, the stocky 
work being supplied from 
the Muscatine factory. 
In mechanical equipment 
and every convenience and 
accessory calculated t o 
facilitate their business 
operations, they have no superior in the country, and their product 
is known to the lumber trade of the Northwest, West and South 
for its superior workmanship. Railwa}^ tracks, convenient to both 
warehouse and factory, give them first-class facilities for handling 




\ 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



229 



and shipment and enable them to fill all orders with dispatch. 
Sound judgment and intelligent methods of management, com- 
bined with the utmost financial stability and an accurate knowl- 
edge of the requirements of the trade, are prominent among the 
elements that have contributed to give this house its solid reputa- 
tion and a steady expansion of trade from year to year. The 
officers of the company- are AYm. Huttig, Jr., President; F. 
Huttig, treasurer ; C. F. W. Hutlig, secretary ; G. H. Huttig, 
manager. 

Riddle, Rehbeix & Co., proprietors of the Mississippi Planing 
Mills; manufacturers of doors, sash, blinds and packing boxes; 




Riddle, Relibeiu & Co.'s Mississippi Planing Mills, 

corner Thirteenth and O'Fallon streets. The planing mills shown 
in this cut are among the oldest established in St. Louis, having 
been purchased by Ladd, Patrick & Co., from Wade & Frost, in 
1859. Riddle, Rehbein «& Co. (Geo. T. Riddle and Chas. Rehbein) 
succeeded to the business in 1878. They employ 150 men, with 
an average weekly pa3^-roll of $1,800, and consumed during 1887 
over seven million five hundred thousand feet of lumber. In 
their sash, door and bhnd department they do not handle what is 



230 



COMMERCIAL AND 



called " stock work," but devote themselves exclusively to the 
manufacture of the better class of ordered work, mostly for city 
use, where their reputation for furnishing well seasoned lumber 
and superior workmanship is well known. 

Their box factor}^ is the largest and contains the most complete 
set of machinery of an}^ in the city ; and while they have a large 
cit}^ trade, they also ship large quantities '" cut out" to all parts 
of the country, their books this 3'ear showing shipments to parties 
in Texas, Colorado, Nebraska, Missouri, Illinois, Louisiana, 
Michigan, Pennsylvania and New York. 

Mr. Riddle was born and raised in St. Louis, and has been con- 
tinuously employed in the lumber business since 1865, while Mr. 
Rehbein has been connected with this one mill since 1859, both 
therefore having the experience necessar}' to properly understand 
the business and serve the interests of their customers. 

H. Gaus & Sons Manufacturing Company. — H. Gaus, presi- 
dent; F. J. Gaus, vice-president; Henry Gaus, Jr., secretary and 




H. Gaus & Sous Manufacturing Co. 



treasurer ; southeast corner Main and Clinton streets. This busi- 
ness had its inception in a small planing mill started by Mr. 
Henry Gaus in 18G3 at the corner of Sixteenth street and Cass 
avenue. Mr. Gaus, who had previously worked at his trade as a 
boxmaker, brought his practical experience to bear on his inde- 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 231 

pendent venture, closely supervised all its operations, and saw its 
trade steadily grow as the result of his careful management. He 
trained his sons in his own ways of industry and usefulness, and 
in 1879 Henry Gaus, Jr., became his father's partner, the factory 
having then become by additions 75x150 feet and three stories 
high. In 1884 the mill was destroyed by fire, but with character- 
istic determination the firm replaced it by a larger one at the 
southeast corner of Main and Clinton streets. In 1885 Mr. F. J. 
Gaus, the younger son of Mr. Henry Gaus, Sr., having attained 
his majority, was given an interest in the business and the pres- 
ent company was incorporated. The premises owned and occu- 
pied by the company, which have been steadily added to as 
occasion required, now consist of two and three story factories 
covering an area of 240x325 feet with large lumber yards at- 
tached. The factories are completely equipped with all the nec- 
essary plant and machinery. The company manufacture doors, 
frames, sash, blinds, mouldings and general planing mill work, 
packing boxes, egg cases, chicken coops, berry trays, fruit boxes, 
etc. They employ from one hundred to one hundred and fifty hands 
according to the season, their large box manufacturing business 
requiring the almost constant employment of sixty of these. In all 
departments of their business they do a large trade in the city and 
the States tributary to it as a business center, and enjoy a pros- 
perity which has been fairly earned by years of earnest effort. 

TOBACCO. 

St. Louis is the largest tobacco manufacturing city in the world. 
The principal reason why it is so lies in the fact that the city has 
the most central location and is therefore the best distributing 
field. Then again, St. Louis lies in the lap of the leaf tobacco 
producing section, not only of Missouri, but of Kentucky and 
Tennessee, the three great growers of the famous leaf, from 
which plug tobaccos are made. In the past ten years the farmers 
of Missouri have turned their attention somewhat to the cultiva- 
tion of the " Burley " tobacco, consequently that leaf produced in 



232 COMMERCIAL AND 

Missouri is quoted in the top notch in ail markets. Besides plug 
tobacco St. Louis turns out enormous quantities of line cut and 
smoking tobaccos. 

The leaf tobacco interest of Missouri is not as large as the 
manufacturing interests and resources of Missouri justify. With 
an output of 40,000,000 pounds in round numbers, from which the 
factories of St. Louis should handle through its warehouses not 
less than 25 to 30 thousand ho2;sheads. For reasons best known 
to the Missouri planters, the crop for the past several years has 
aorarecrated less than half that number or an averasfe of from 10 to 
12 thousand hogsheads. Of this crop one-half to two-thirds was 
of old stjde or export varieties and was largely bought up by 
foreign bu3'ers and forwarded without stopping on the St. Louis 
market. The principal part of the crop of this State is handled in. 
St. Louis. It is received at the warehouses in hogsheads, weighed 
by the State inspector, then put upon the brakes. The case is 
stripped off and then the tobacco sampled, about 10 pounds being 
taken out which is carefully bound into a bundle and sealed, leav- 
ing the leaves free and notes or warehouse receipts are issued for 
each package. It is then sold at public auction, after which it is 
recoopered and shipped out or stored as preferred by the pur- 
chaser. 

RECEIPTS AND SHIPMENTS OF LEAF TOBACCO. 

Receipts. Shipments. 

1887 37,592 hhds. 8,328 hhds. 

1886. 32,113 " 8,135 " 

1885 31,481 " 8,183 " 

1884 19,426 *' 4,863 " 

MANUFACTURED TOBACCO. 

The amount on which tax was paid in the First Missouri Dis- 
trict (of which St. Louis produces 96 per cent) was 40,284,675 
lbs., representing a value of $15,000,000, against 32,448,936 lbs. 
in 1886, valued at $11,500,000. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 233 

The total output of the United States for the fiscal year ending 
June 30, 1887, was 199,937,743 lbs., of which the First Missouri 
District produced 34,057,743 lbs., equal to 17 per cent. The in- 
crease over the year ending June 30, 1886, was 14,511,550 lbs., 
of which St. Louis produced some 30 per cent. 

The capital invested in this important branch of St. Louis com- 
merce is in the neighborhood of $5,000,000, and the number of 
hands employed, 2,400 to 2,500, 

The amount of manufactured tobacco sold by the manufact- 
urers here during the first four months of 1888 is represented as 
follows : 

KIND OF 
FIRM. TOBACCO. AMOUNT. 

Catlin Tobacco Company Fine cut 56.502^ 

'' " '' Smoking 1,101,073 

Drummond Tobacco Co Plug 2,932, 3o0^ 

Hills & Fritz Smoking 134,337 

Jas. G. Butler & Co Plug 414,674 

" " Smoking 17,164 

" " Fine cut 1,170 

Liggett & Myers Tob. Co Plug 5,272,166 

Miller & Worley Plug 83,557 

C. Peper Plug 277,545 

♦* Smoking 68,953 

" Fine cut 4,005 

Weisert Bros Smoking 94,425 

♦* *♦ Fine cut 150 

<* " Snuff 8,100 

Other factories Plug 15,000 

" " Smoking 5,000 

'' «' Snuff 2,500 



Total four months 10,488,651 



The Evans Bros. Tobacco Warehouse Co. located on their 
present site in May, 1873. Having a frontage of 345 by 150 feet, 
one story, on Twelfth and Poplar streets, and a two story building 
on Eleventh and Poplar streets, 150x120 feet, giving an easy 



234 



COMMERCIAL AND 










storage capacity for 
3,500 hog she ad s at 
one time. From the 
smallest handlers of 
the weed of a few years 
since, they have grown 
to be the largest, hand- 
ling double the amount 
of leaf last year than 
all other receivers. 
Their trade is not con- 
fined to Missouri, but 
includes Kentucky, 
Virojinia, North Caro- 
lina, Tennessee Arkan- 
sas and ever}' other 
state where tobacco is 
grown. 

Drummond Tobacco 
Co. — This great in- 
stitution to St. Louis 
was established in 
Alton, 111., where it did 
a large business and 
where the famous 
Horse Shoe brand of 
tobacco made by them 
had its origin. In 1879 
the Compan3''s busi- 
ness had grown too 
large for so small a 
town as Alton, and too 
large for the premises 
they occupied there, 
consequently they were 
on the lookout for a 
more suitable location. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



235 




Druiumoml Toljacco Co.'s lUiildiiiu-. 



236 COMMERCIAL AND 

finally selecting St. Louis and acquiring the fine site at Fourth 
and Poplar streets, and this factory together with the plant 
at Alton, wliich was kept running, was found inadequate to the 
demands upon them for their popular tobaccos. Therefore 
they were again forced to provide still more facilities, which 
tbe}^ did by purchasing from the Sisters of Charity the block 
once occupied by them as the Sisters' Hospital. This block 
fronts on 4th, Spruce, Third and Almond streets and upon which 
the Compan}^ erected the finest and most substantial structure 
ever before used as a Tobacco Factory. 

The Factory proper has a front of 90 feet on 4th to a depth of 
220 feet on Spruce street, and is six stories high, affording the 
enormous capacity of 60,000 pounds of plug tobacco daily, which 
requires an army of people to handle. 

WHOLESALE DRUGS. 

This is another line of business in which St. Louis leads any 
other one market in the country. With a capital of some 
$4,000,000 invested directly in wholesale drugs, the total ^-early 
transactions of the following wholesale houses will reach some- 
thing over $10,000,000. 

Meyer Bros. & Co., Richardson Drug Co., Geo. K. Hopkins 
& Co., J. S. Merrill Drug Co., Collins Bros. Drug Co., and 
Mellier Drug Co. — ■ These firms have made St. Louis a distribut- 
ing-point for drugs from which the territory north to Manitoba^ 
south to the city of Mexico, west to the Pacific ocean, and east 
through Ohio, is supplied. So extensive has the trade grown 
that to keep up with the demands, one of the largest houses — 
Meyer Bros. & Co. — have established extensive wholesale houses 
in other cities. They have one in Kansas City, one in Dallas, 
Texas, one in Fort Wajme, Indiana, besides a purchasing house 
in New York city. One feature of the wholesale business of St. 
Louis is worthy of note, and that is that, in all lines as well as 
drugs, a large capital is emplo3'ed, the firms are extraordinarily 
substantial and there is enough of competition to make an active 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 237 

market beneficial to the purchaser. It must not be understood 
that the wholesalers constitute all of the drug trade of this city. 
There are four monster manufacturing chemical companies who 
employ a capital of at least $4,000,000, producing an output of 
about .$10,000,000 yearl}-, which finds a market in Europe as well 
as in this country. 

COTTON. 

When the St. Louis Cotton Exchange became a thing of life 
under the leadership of men interested in tlie development of the 
cotton trade of St. Louis, the receipts of cotton at this market 
began to increase and have continued to grow larger each year 
as the cotton districts tributary to St. Louis find out the fact that 
this is generally the best market in the country on which to place 
the staple for sale. Then again the Factors of St. Louis, that is, 
the men who are engaged in the cotton business, handling the 
cotton for the planter or interior merchant, are regarded in busi- 
ness, financial and cotton- circles not only in this country, but in 
the marts of Europe, as better posted in cotton statistics, quality 
of staple and probable supply than any men engaged in the busi- 
ness, north or south. They had to be ; for men taking hold of 
a line that was held by other markets and developing that line to 
proportions of magnitude for this market, which was considered 
out of the cotton belt, shows, to saythe least, energetic qualities 
that count largely for the city in which they are engaged in busi- 
ness. , The cotton interest of St. Louis is its best interest, and 
why? — first, the amount of cotton handled reaches enormous 
figures, these figures must be douoled, then 1-3 more added. 
For every bale of cotton sold in St. Louis there is shipped out 
its full proceeds in supplies of some kind or another, besides 
which the planter or merchant-shipper will buy one-third if not 
one-half more than the amount of the proceeds of his shipment 
during the year, or his shipments to this market and purchases 
from it, will influence his neighbor merchant — though perchance 
a non-shipper — to also purchase his stocks of goods in this mar- 
ket. The cotton trade of St. Louis is very little understood out- 



238 



COMMERCIAL AND 



side of cotton circles, and a few large Jobbers who are members 
of the cotton exchange, or that when a jobber or manufacturer 
receives an order through the cotton factor for goods to be shipped 
to a plantation or a merchant who forwards his cotton to the fac- 
tor here, that that order is directly" influenced b}- the cotton inter- 
est, or in other terms, that if the cotton was not handled in St. 
Louis, the orders for goods would reach some other distributing 
point. Hence it is to the direct interest of all, the jobbers 
especially, to foster the cotton interests of St. Louis. 



GROSS RECEIPTS AND SHIPMENTS OF COTTON AT ST. LOUIS FOR THE 

3 YEARS. 



YEAR. RECEIPTS. 

1883-84 300,662 

Stock Sept. '83 4,568 



305,250 

1884-85 290,954 

Siock 1,512 



292,466 

1885-86 472,471 

Stock 1,609 

474,080 



Y'EAR. SHIPMENTS. 

1883-84 303,732 

Stock Sept. '84 1,512 



305,250 

1884-85 290,857 

Stock 1,609 



292,466 

1885-86 464.156 

Stock 9,924 



474,080 



GROSS RECEIPTS FOR PAST TWO YEARS. 

1886-87 417,007 1887-88 507,596 

These latter figures were cast on May 14th, 1888. 

WAREHOUSE OR NET RECEIPTS FOR THE PAST TEN YEARS. 

1878-79 237,437 1882-83 304,300 1885-86 240, 183 

1879-80 358,124 1883-84 228,414 1886-87 258,234 

1880-81 31 7,195 1884-85 203,584 1 887-88 251 ,944 

1881-82 259,157 

To date May 14th, 1888 



COMPRESSING COTTON. 

The St. Louis Cotton Compress Company, which may be taken 
as an exemplar of all three here — has a capital of $625,000, and its 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



239 



main buildings, which are the largest of the kind in the country, 
are situated on the east side of the tracks of the St. Louis, Iron 
Mountain & Southern Railroad, between them and the river, and 




equally accessible to both. Besides these main buildings, they 
have extensive compresses at the west side of St. Louis, on the 
tracks of the St. Louis & San Francisco Railroad, and at East St. 
Louis alongside the St. Loui^ & Texas Railway, at both of which 



^40 COMMERCIAL AND 

places there is space and facilities enough to enlarge the build- 
ings to an almost indefinite extent. In consequence of this con- 
Tenient accessibility to the lines of transportation, both rail and 
river, the cost of handling the bales — and this applies equally to 
the other compresses — is very much less in this market than in 
others, where the cotton has to be unloaded from the cars, loaded 
onto wagons, and hauled greater or less distances, through all 
sorts of weather and exposed to all sorts of liability to injury from 
wet and dirt. This last point is of the utmost importance to the 
cotton-grower and shipper, and it is rapidly coming to be under- 
stood among them that the cotton handled at the St. Louis presses, 
when it reaches either New England or Liverpool, the point of 
consumption, commands a market at once in preference to all 
others, simply on account of the certainty that it is in the best 
possible condition. By this it is not meant to be said that this is 
the only point where cotton is handled in such fashion as to send 
perfect bales to the factories, hut it is the onJy point where all the 
bales handled are necessarily sent out in good condition. 

The storage warehouses, although adjacent to the river, 
are thoroughly well-ventilated, and so perfectly arranged that 
neither undue moisture can injure, nor excessive dryness reduce 
the weight of the cotton — no matter how long it remains on hand. 
The officers of this compauN'- are : Wm. M. Senter, President ; 
Jerome Hill, Vice-President, and J. H. Reifsnyder, Secretary 
and Treasurer. 

Hill, Fontaine & Co. — A review of the commercial interests 
of St. Louis, especially those of cotton, would not be complete 
without mention of this firm. They have exerted an influence in 
making this city the cotton market she is and therefore are 
deserving:: of recognition in a work of this nature. The St. Louis 
house of Hill, Fontaine & Co. is exclusively a cotton house, handhng 
the staple directly for, and from the shipper to this market, while 
their other house, which is at Memphis, Tenn., are both wholesale 
grocers and cotton factors, the two constituting the largest hand- 
lers of cotton in the United States. The receipts of cotton in St. 
Louis have gvown steadily each j^ear, the gross amount handled 



THE NEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



A8T0R, LENOX AND 
TILDEN FOUNDATIONS 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 241 

showing a gain of about 100,000 bales for the past season, prov- 
ing a statement made by Messrs. Hill, Fontaine & Co. to the 
effect that St. Louis was the most central and conveniently lo- 
cated mart in the United States for handling cotton for both 
export and for American spinners. The intimate relations exist- 
ing between this house and the cotton growers and shippers is 
such that they are enabled to report on the condition of the crop 
and its probable total production so accurately, that their state- 
ments are regarded throughout commercial circles as the most 
reliable cotton index. Mr. Jerome Hill, the head of the St. Louis 
house, has done as much — putting it mildly — as any individual, 
to build up the cotton interest of this city, and has made his house 
the largest actual handlers of spinners' cotton in the United States. 
Senter & Co. — Cotton Factors and Commission Merchants ; 
northwest corner of Third and Walnut streets. — This house en- 
joys a high reputation among St. Louis merchants, and all with 
w^hom it has dealings. The house was established in 1864 b}^ the 
present members of the firm, who came to St. Louis from the 
South, where for many j-ears thej^ were prominent and successful 
business men. The firm at present is composed of Wm. M. Sen- 
ter and W. T. Wilkins, and transacts a general commission busi- 
ness in cotton, wool, hides, etc. The long experience of the mem- 
bers of this firm., their extensive connections, and first-class facil- 
ities give to them an advantage that is thoroughly appreciated by 
the cotton shippers. The house has large financial resources, 
and their prompt and liberal advances, quick sales and remittances 
have placed them to the front among the cotton factors of the 
country. 

COAL. 

The immense amount of manufacturing going on in St. Louis, 
supplemented with a heav}'- demand by the river and rail tonnage, 
makes this a large market for bituminous coal. In the near vi- 
cinity of St. Louis there are deposits of coal of almost unlimited 
extent, some of which are of exceptional good quality. The total 
receipts for 1887 were 50,410,095 bushels of bituminous, 131,600 
tons of hard coal and 175,550 tons of coke. 

16 



242 COMMERCIAL AXD 

The Bryden Coal and Coke Co. — This is one of the most ex- 
tensive coal mining companies and handlers of coal in the West. 
Its mines are located at Brj^den in Jackson County, Southern Illi- 
nois, upon the line of the 3Iobile and Ohio railroad, where the 
daily output runs from 20 to 25 cars. In addition it also handles 
the output of the mines at Perc}', Rosborough and Sparta, as well 
as other mines in Jackson count3\ The company has an extensive 
coal depot at Chester, and does a large river trade, in addition to 
its great supply depot in St. Louis, from whence the West and 
South generally is supplied promptly and on through bills of 
lading to any section accessible by rail or water. The varieties 
of coal handled by the Bryden Coal and Coke Company are : the 
Bryden Block, Big Muddy and Illinois coal, and the}^ are prepared 
to fill all orders, no matter how extensive, upon short notice and 
at the lowest possible figures. 

Mr. A. C. Bryden is the President of this company, and he is a 
gentleman thoroughly familiar with the great coal measures of 
Southern Illinois and one who is doing much for the development 
of that great resource. The company has oflices in the Equitable 
Building, Sixth and Locust streets. The Bryden Coal and Coke 
Company's business has assumed mammoth propoitions and is 
rapidly increasing, owing to the excellence of its coal as well as 
to its shrewd and careful manag-ement under the direction of its 
controlling spirit, Mr. A. C. Brj'den, to whom belongs the credit 
of having developed the famous Big Muddy coal field. The com- 
pany employs from 300 to 400 men the j^ear around. Mr. Br3'den 
also built the Grand Tower and Carbondale Railroad and was for 
a time its ojeneral manager. 

DEY GOODS— WHOLESALE. 

The same reasons that make St. Louis a large distributing center 
in other lines holds good in the above line. But there are still 
additional features connected with wholesale dry goods that make 
St. Louis the best market in this country for the buying interior 
merchant. 1st. There being a greater number of large jobbing 
houses in St. Louis than in an}^ other cit}^ and the competition 
being so active and the rivalry for business so strong tha tthe 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



243 



country merchant always has the benefit of actual bottom prices. 
2d. The number of houses engaged in the trade with their immense 
capital assures at all times a full and complete assortment to select 
from. 3d. Most of the desirable brands and styles of heavy 
cotton goods are manufactured South and are on sale in this market 
free of freight charges. This feature and the aggressive policy of 
the St. Louis jobbers in invading other territory and the close 
prices at which they are compelled to sell goods forced the manu- 
facturers of heavy cotton goods generally to lay them down here 
free of all freight charges. Therefore the country merchant buy- 
ing here has this margin to his credit. Lastly — every country 
merchant when visiting a wholesale mart, or is approached by the 
commercial representative of that mart, prefers to buy all of his 
stocks from one place of shipment, and this he can do in St. Louis. 
From the very best information, the capital employed in St. Louis 
in wholesale dry 
goods aggregates 
$12,000,000 and 
the total sales 
reach fully S55,- 
000,000. These 
figures convey a 
fuller review of 
the trade than 
would a volume 
of windy verbi- 
age. In this con- 
nection an illus- 
tration and brief 
sketch is pre- 
sented of some of the representative jobbers which will give the 
readers a fair idea of what St. Louis dry goods buildings are. 

Rice, Stix & Co. , a cut of whose mammoth building is here shown, 
established themselves in St. Louis during 1879 — from which time 
they have steadily increased the volume of their business. The 
house is one of the most conservative yet energetic in the wholesale 
dry goods line, and have always been aggressive in their policy 




Rice, Stix iV: Cd., Hroadway and St. Charles Street. 



244 



COMMERCIAL AXD 



towards luakino; this a commandino^ wholesale center. Holdino; 
the theory that if the trade of the smaller cities and towns came 
to St. Louis for dry .eoods, other lines would receive their share of 
the benefits. 

Sam'l C. Davis & Co. — The accompanying cut is a good repre- 

r -.:£,:,- "^ - -^-=— r -^— -= sentation of the 

fe=^ monster iron 

^^ building owned 

'**'^ and occupied by 

i this firm. In the 

I dry goods trade 

^ tributary to St. 

; Louis thej^ are 

:r well known and 







^l^l^l^ap^ it is also well 
^.-^^^ .*_.-- - ,- .. ^i;iQ-^ji ^j^at like 

the other whole- 
sale dry goods 
houses in St. Louis the}'' carry immense stocks of all lines of 
goods that are in demand in the West. South and Southwest. 



Sam'l C. Davis tk Co. 







^^ 







Ely- Walker Dry Goods Co. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



245 



WHOLESALE CLOTHING. 

f 
Until within the past few years St. Louis was not a great center 

in the line of wholesale clothing, nor was there much clothing 
manufactured here. The large seats for this important line were 
monopolized by the East up to about 1870 or thereabouts, then 
the trade had grown so large in the West, that enterprising men 
looking for locations in the vicinity of this trade, built extensive 
plants and put large amounts of capital in the business in more 
westerl}^ cities, — say Cincinnati and Chicago, these being the 
farthest west, until still other far-seeing men concluded to get into 
the heart of the great 
West, South and South- 
west, into the actual 
field, where they could 
find out the precise 
wants of the trade and 
make clothing suitable 
for the sections named. ^ 
This city being the 
seat of the greatest dry 
goods market, boot 
and shoe market, hat 
and cap market, hard- 

1 , J Schwab Clothinff Co.. Ei^^hth and Washington Ave. 

ware market and so on, 

the merchants buying here would of course prefer to also buy their 
clothing here, consequently there were men of foresight who saw 
this, and they concluded to make St. Louis the western distribut- 
ing point for clothing, so now the merchant buyer can find the wants 
of his trade, with fine stocks to select from, that are manufactured 
right here in St. Louis, equal to all the demands of his trade. When 
the great Schwab Clothing Company first established themselves 
in St. Louis, the clothing market was as has been said very insig- 
nificant, they came with plenty of capital, backed by a long ex- 
perience in the business, knew the wants of the sections tributary 
to this market, and went into the field to supply it with durable 




246 C031MERCrAL AND 

outer garments. The skilled labor was not here, but this obstacle 
they easily overcame by securing all they wanted of the very best 
hands from among the best workmen in New York, Cincinnati and 
Chicago, they alone having now in employ more than 5000 people, 
one shop of itself turning out complete over 500 coats a week. 
The company's principal place of business is in the fine block of 
buildings at the corner of Eighth street and "Washington avenue, 
of which the)'' occupy the entire upper stories, with their offices 
and salesrooms on the ground floor; besides this larse block thev 
have numerous small shops for manufacture in various parts of 
the city. Their trade is so extensive that it requires a large force 
of traveling men to reach it, and these drummers go throughout 
Illinois, Missouri, Arkansas, Texas, Kansas, Mississippi, Tennes- 
see, all the territories and New Mexico. The Schwab Clothing 
Company is only one of the large clothing concerns in St. Louis, 
therefore with the trade represented by such manufacturing 
establishments the clothing bu3'er need to look no farther east, for 
all he wants in this line and of f|uality and st3'Ie, equal to if not 
superior to that of anj- other market. 

BOOTS AND SHOES. 

The great west and south use annually more boots and shoes 
than all the remaining country. These sections of our country 
are agricultural and mining regions and the people engaged in 
these pursuits require substantial foot gear and plenty of it. St. 
Louis is the boot and shoe market for the most of this territor}^ 
and the trade is growing rapidlj". 

In the cities and towns throughout the regions above referred 
to there are more fine goods sold than in any section of this coun- 
tr}^ with an equal population, and the manufacturers of St. Louis 
are meeting that demand. One of St. Louis' large jobbing firms, 
who are also the most extensive manufacturers here, making a 
specialt}^ of ladies', children's and misses' fine hand-sewed shoes. 
The capital employed in this line in St. Louis in both jobbing and 
manufacturing is about $2,700,000^ with an aggregate sale of 
more than $11,000,000. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



247 



Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. — Since the establishment of this 
concern in this city the boot and shoe trade has increased more 
than 33 percent. The house commenced operations in 1872, and 
was incorporated January 1, 1884. They are manufacturers of 
ladies', misses' and children's shoes and employ in that department 
some four hundred or more skilled work people. Besides being 
large manufacturers they are heavy jobbers of men's and boys' 
boots and shoes and rubber goods. The fine block at 10th and 
Washington avenue occupied by them is being surrounded by 
other large whole- _- - ^ - 

salers in the various 
lines, thus concentrat- 
i n g the wholesale 
trade to this vicinity. 
The high standing of 
the company, their 
liberal and progres- 
sive business policy, 
including their cash 
system of sales as well 
as the quality of their 
goods, has won for 
them a trade through- 
out Indiana, Illinois, 
Kentucky, Tennessee, 

Mississippi Georcria Hamilton -Brown Shoe Co., 10th and Washington Ave. 

Alabama, Louisiana, Texas, Arkansas, Kansas, Iowa, Nebraska, 
Colorado and New Mexico that aggregated $2,500,000 during 
1887, which amount will be largely increased during the present 
year of 1888. 

Hats, Caps, Furs and Gloves, Wholesale — The amount of 
capital employed in this line is about $1,500,000, the sales reach- 
ing 84,500,000, and large full assorted stocks are carried by the 
different jobbing houses. 

No more noteworthy removal has taken place this year than that 
of the old and well known firm of Rothschild Bros., leading 








^ 



248 COMMERCIAL AND 

wholesale dealers in hats, caps and straw goods. On the 1st of 
April this firm removed to the magnificent new eight story 
building, just completed, at 811 Washington avenue, one of the 
handsomest and best appointed business structures in the city. 
The new building is right in the heart of the wholesale district of 
Washington avenue where all the leading houses are fast con- 
gregating. The house of Rothschild Bros., one of the oldest in 
its line in the west, was established in 1856, it has been in contin- 
uous and successful existence for nearly a third of a century. A 
large corps of experienced travelers are ever on the road taking 
orders for the house. Rothschild Bros, are manufacturers of 
hats, caps and straw goods and dealers in furs, gloves and um- 
brellas. Of these goods they carry an immense stock. They 
supply not only retailers but hundreds of jobbers, and themselves 
control the entire output of several factories. 

MILLINERY. 

In wholesale millinery the trade is large and represented by 
several extensive houses who carry full and complete stocks. 
The capital invested is ample while the total sales run into the 
millions. Messrs. Rosenheim, Levis & Co, one of the largest 
houses, will move into their new and magnificent building, 9th 
and Washington avenue, this season. 

GENTS' FURNISHING. 

A. Frankenthal & Brother, one of the laro^est firms eno-ao-ed 
in the manufacture of gentlemen's furnishing goods, will occupy 
the store next the corner. This firm were for many years located 
at N. Main street, but their largely increased trade required 
more space and they removed to the block at 407 and 409 N. 
Broadway in 1878. Besides being large manufacturers of gen- 
tlemen's furnishing goods of their own design and style, they are 
extensive jobbers, carrying a full and complete stock of all the 
leading goods of the line. In addition to the premises here they 
have factories located in other buildings employing constantly 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



249 



some 150 hands, with a force of experienced traveling salesmen 
who visit the States of Illinois, Arkansas, Louisiana, Texas, Indian 
Territory, Colorado, Nebraska, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and the 
west and southwest generally. The total sales of this house alone 
is about $750,000, and of all the houses engaged in the line the 
total will reach about $2,000,000. 



GROCERIES. 

The wholesale grocery trade of St. Louis is one of its large in- 
terests, there being some seven to eight millions of capital 
invested in the business with a total business in 1887 of about 
$40,000,000. 

The house of David Nicholson, 13 and 15 South 6th st., was- 




David Nicholson, Wholesale Grocer. 

established forty-five years ago, in 1843, and is now the oldest 
house in its line in St. Louis. It was also the first house to import 
direct through the custom house here and is now the largest im- 
porter of fancy groceries. From its excellent management it has 



250 COMMERCIAL AXD 

been a success from the start, the founder recognizing the fact 
that honest dealings was sure to bring successful trade, alwaj^s 
kept the best that could be bought in his line. Some of its spe- 
cialties are coffees, teas, clarets, champagnes, Scotch and Irish 
whiskies, castile soap, pure salad oils, etc., while in Bourbon and 
Eye whiskies thej^ cannot be excelled. It is enough to be said in 
any circle that your whiskies or wines came from " Nicholson's." 
In addition to the above they are sole agent for the Anheuser 
Bottled Lager Beer and for Joseph Burnett & Co.'s extracts, manu- 
factured at Boston, Mass. The sole agency for the United States 
and British America for the David Nicholson Liquid Bread also 
rests in this house. This is a substitute for all alcoholic drinks, 
and is used by invalids with the most beneficial results, and as a 
stimulating beverage for nursing mothers. The preparation, is 
commended as healthful, harmless and nutritious by the most 
eminent chemists in the United States, and is extensively sold 
throughout the country. 

AMERICAN WINE. 

The old world with its ancient notions and prejudices, once upon 
a time made claim to believe that it was the only possessor of 
the true process for making pure sparkling wine, and also that the 
people of the old world alone knew how to properlv cultivate the 
grape. These old ancients — honest no doubt, — had never con- 
ceived the idea that a new world was springing into being beyond 
the blue. Consequently when the daring of an American wine 
producer laid before their ancient eyes to be sipped over their 
ancient palates a sparkling nectar coming from they knew 
not where, their ancient notions were entirely upset, and these 
tasters, sippers and connoisseurs pronounced the product of the 
far away West the superior wine of the world, and so awarded. 

Anacreon's praise of the wines of ancient Greece were perhaps 
never equaled until George Augustus Sala penned the glorious 
qualities of American wine. 

In 1859 Mr. Isaac Cook concluded to found an industry by 
which he could carry out his theor}'', which was, that the grapes 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



•»' 



251 



■of this country if properly handled would produce wines superior 
to those made anywhere else in the world. His theory and prac- 
tice was correct, for at all the large European exhibitions his 
" Imperial Champagne " has been declared the highest premiums 
and its bouquette beyond imitation. The American Wine Com- 
pany of St. Louis continues the same processes of manufacture 
left by Mr. Isaac Cook, the founder, through his son Mr. D. G. 
Cook, who is the president of the compnny. It has grown to be 




American A\ iiie Uu.'fe i'laut, 



I). G. Cook, Pres. 



the leading concern of the kind in the United States and has spread 
the name of St. Louis and the fame of American wines throughout 
the civilized globe. 

An illustration of the plant here accompanies these few remarks, 
but the company have large plants located at Sandusk}^ Ohio, 
consisting of press-houses, w^ine cellars, etc. The wine vaults in 
this city are fifty feet deep, 100X200 feet area, with a storage 
capacity of 150,000 gallons and a corking capacity for 10,000 
bottles daily. 

AGRICULTURAL IMPLEMENTS. 



This is both a manufacturing and distributing point in these 
.goods and is the second in rank as a distributing center, while the 
St. Louis manufacturers go as far afield as any agricultural im- 



T^^ 



COMMERCIAL AND 



plement machines made, having a high reputation that is world- 
wide. It is difficult to estimate the total trade, but it reaches a 
very large sum, especialh' when the fact is considered that some 
of the large houses carry tremendous lines of vehicles, such as 
carriages, buggies, road carts, express wagons, sleighs etc., 

The exhibit building of Deere, Mansur, & Co. received first 
premium at St. Louis Fair 1885. Dimensions, 90x115 feet, con- 
taining \ acre floor space. Cost $5,000.00. The Company also 




Deere. Mansur o: Co. a Exhibit Building, Fair Grijuncl:^. 

received first premium for best display of agricultural implements 
made in the United States, awarded in 1875, 1876, 1880, 1881, 
1882, 1883, 1884 and 1886 to Deere, Mansur & Co., 515 and 517 
North Main street, St. Louis. 

In connection with the above cut, showing the new and elegant 
building recently erected by Deere, Mansur & Co., upon the 
o:rounds of the St. Louis Ao-ricultural and Mechanical Associa- 
tion, we desire to call attention briefly to some facts in connectioft 
with this firm's orrowth and business. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 253 

The firm of Deere, Mansur & Co., established in St. Louis in 
1874, b}' Messrs. A. Mansur and L. B. Tebbetts, is the St. Louis 
branch of the John Deere Moline Plow Works, which was founded 
in 1847. The St. Louis house was established for the purpose of 
facilitating the company's business in Missouri, southern Illinois, 
Arkansas, Texas, and the great South and Southeast. In 
that teritory alone, an annual business is done of about 
one million dollars, requiring a corps of fift}^ emploj^ees, at an ex- 
penditure for wages alone of between thirty and forty thousand 
dollars. 

The product of the Moline factories includes the celebrated 
John Deere Walking Plows, both steel and wood beam, the Deere 
Spring, Deere Parallel and Columbia Cultivators, Gilpin Sulky 
Plow, and the New Deal wheeled walking Plow, which has created 
a revolution in improved cultivating methods during the three 
years it has been before the public. The Deere Rotary Corn 
Planter, the Deere Wire Checkrower, also the Moline and Deere 
Stalk Cutter, together with a host of smaller cultivating tools and 
implements come also from the headquarters at Moline to be dis- 
tributed here at St. Louis. 

In connection with the goods manufactured at Moline, Deere, 
Mansur & Co. control the above named territory and take the en- 
tire product for it of some of the best known and largest manu- 
:faeturing establishments of implements and farm machinerj^ in 
the United States. Among the goods thus distributed are to be 
found the celebrated Mitchell Wagons, which for fift}' years have 
been the " Monarchs of the Road" — the Hoosier Drills, which 
are the most widely and favorablj^ known and most extensively 
manufactured of an^^ implement of this class, the Charter Oak 
Cane Mills and Sorgo machinery, etc. 

A very large part of the business at St. Louis is devoted to the 
manufacturing and handling of buggies, carriages and spring- 
work and vehicles of all descriptions. This has grown in fact to 
be a mammoth business in itself, and as a result, has earned for 
this firm the title of " Western Vehicle Headquarters." At their 
salesrooms. No. 515 North Main street, and at their three large 






254 COMMERCIAL AND 

warehouses, they carry on hand constantly a supply of from 100- 
to 200 car loads of implements, vehicles and farm machinery of 
all kinds and descriptions. 

Merchants and dealers in plows, cultivators, planters, stalk 
cutters, buggies, farm wagons, sorghum mills and evaporators,, 
hay rakes, corn shellers, feed cutters, corn and cob mills, field 
rollers, hay presses, fan mills and anything else in the line of 
farm machinery, will consult their interests by obtaining their 
merchandise from this house. The goods furnished are only of 
the best makes of their respective kinds, and the prosperity and 
reputation of the house has been built up on a liberal policy and 
a solid basis of fair dealino- with everyone. 

^YHITMAN Agricultural Company. — Chas. E. Whitman, Pres- 
ident; N. W. Perkins, Treasurer; H. L. Whitman, Secretary; R. 
M. Lane, Vice-President : Manufacturers of Ha}^ Presses, Agricul- 
tural Implements, etc. Clark Avenue and Eighth street. — Among^ 
the very large manufacturing concerns of the city, none enjoys a 
higher standing or more widespread reputation and patronage than 
the Whitman Agricultural Company. The business was established 
about twenty years ago, by Mr. Charles E. Whitman, who still 
remains at its head as President of the company, which was in- 
corporated in 1880. The works, three stories in height, occupy 
an area of 300 feet on Eighth street, by 150 feet on Clark ave- 
nue, also large buildings running through to Ninth street, making 
a floor space of over three acres. Their wood-working shoyjs, 
machine shops, foundry and forge shops are completely fitted 
with machinery of the most modern and improved design, and all 
the necessary appliances for the successful prosecution of all the 
manufacturing details of the business. A force ranging from 200 
to 300 men is emplo3'ed in the manufacture of horse and steam 
power hay presses, lever horse powers of all sizes, rail w a}" or 
tread powers, sawing machines, feed mills, road scrapers, corn 
shellers, seed sowers, feed cutters, harrows, cider and wine mills, 
garden, coal, wood brick and mortar barrows, railway and ware- 
house supplies, hose reels, lard and wine presses, revolving and 
side dump cars, iron and pork trucks, dry goods wagons, ware- 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUTS. 



255 



house trucks and wagons, baggage barrows, field and garden 
rollers, etc. The trade of the company extends to every part of 
the United States, Canada, Mexico, South America and Europe. 
The company takes especial pride in the superior workmanship of 
its o-oods. 



and the 
Whitman 
Hay Press 

has taken 
the honors 
wherever 
it has been 
exhibited, 
in compe- 
tition with 
those of 
other mak- 
e r s. It 
took the 
first prize 
in 18 80, 
1881 and 
1882, the 
gold med- 
al in 1883, 
and silver 
medal i n 
18 85, at 
the New 
York State 
Fairs ; the 

silver medal at Demer in 1884, and the fii&t prize at the New 
Orleans World's Fair in 1885. During the years 1886 and 
1887 it took first prize at Dallas, Texas, State Fair; Buenos 
Ayres ; first prize, gold medal, New England Fair at Bangor, 
Maine ; Nebraska State Fair ; Maine State Fair and at the North- 




:256 



COMMERCIAL AND 






ern, Central and South Americaa Exposition at New Orleans. 
Their hay presses have recently been adopted officially by the 
French, Spanish and Portuguese governments. A new railway 
power with governor or speed regulator, has been placed upon 
the market the past season, which is pronounced by all who have 
seen it to be superior to an3^thing j-et invented. The company 
has unsurpassed facilities for carrying on all the details of the 
business, is managed with marked efficiency, is enterprising and 
progressive, and prepared to fill orders in the most prompt and 
satisfactory manner, its sj^lendid record being a sufficient guar- 
antee for all its goods. 

We present an illustration of the large machinery store of Moses 
P. Johnson which is located on the northwest corner of Second 

and Morgan 
streets. This 
house has been 
established for 
more than twenty 
years, first, as the 
Owens, Lane & 
Dyer Machine 
Company and 
upon the death of 
the senior mem- 
ber of that firm 
the business was 
purchased by 
Wm. S. Robert & 
Co., Mr. Robert 
"having been a member of the old firm, and Mr. Johnson was 
the junior member of the new firm. At the death of Mr. Robert 
in 1886, the entire business was purchased by Mr. Johnson 
from the wife of deceased and is now sole proprietor. Ever 
since the earliest establishment of this house it has been known 
:as the leading machinery firm of the city, and justly noted for 
iair and honorable dealins:. 




Moses P. Johnson, 717 North Second Street. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 257 

Mr. Johnson is comparatively a young man, was born in the 
State of Massachusetts and came West in 1872, was for many 
years connected with one of the largest wholesale dry goods 
houses of this city. Upon associating himself with the machinery 
business, he was enabled to use the business knowledge so thor- 
oughly acquired and was soon f ulh'- identified with the machinery 
trade. His salesroom and factory is the model machinery 
house of the city and carries in stock a full line of all styles of 
engipes and boilers and manufactures a complete line of saw 
mills, gang edgers and in fact every kind of machinery used in 
the manufacturing of lumber. His trade extends to almost every 
State in the Union wherever lumber is manufactured and his name 
on machinery is recognized as a guarantee of its merit. 

Walter A. Wood Harvesting Machine Co. — The illustration 
on page opposite will give the reader an idea of the extent of the 
St. Louis plant of this great concern, but it would require several 
pages to illustrate their big plant at Hoosick Falls, N. Y. They 
there employ about 2,000 men, who average 240 days producing 
some 200 machines each day or a total of about 50,000 a year. 
The works are supplied with the best and most modern machin- 
ery that can be had, arranged to economize time and labor, 
steam-heated and lighted by electricity and gas. The raw mate- 
rials are first deposited in the appropriate wood-working and 
metal-working shops, passing then consecutively from one me- 
chanic to another till at length the finished parts of machines meet 
in the assembling-room to be put together as complete machines 
and shipped to all parts of the world. The company have their 
own locomotives and branch railway connecting their premises 
with the main line of the Troy & Boston R. R. 

Walter A. Wood Harvesting Machines comprise: Two-horse 
enclosed gear mower, tilt bar, 4 ft. 3 in. cut ; two-horse enclosed 
gear mower, tilt bar, 4 ft. 6 in. cut ; two-horse enclosed gear 
mower, tilt bar, 5 ft cut ; two-horse enclosed gear mower, tilt 
bar, 6 ft. cut; one-horse enclosed gear mower, tilt bar, 3 ft. 6 in. 
cut ; two-horse enclosed gear mower, without tilt, 4 ft. 3 in. cut ; 
two-horse enclosed gear mower, without tilt, 4 ft. 6 in cut; 

17 



2dS 



COMMERCIAL AND 



manual deliver}^ reaping attachment for 4 ft. G in. mower ; light 
steel-wheel harvester and binder, 5 ft. 6 in. cut : light steel-wheel 
harvester and binder, 6 ft. 6 in. cut; steel bundle carrier attach- 
ment for either size harvester and binder ; flax and clover attach- 
ment for either size harvester; transport attachment for either 
size harvester and binder ; light enclosed gear reaper, 5 ft. 6 in. 
cut; junior sweep-rake reaper, 5 ft. cut; mowing attachment for 
sweep-rake reaper, 4 ft. 3 in. cut ; new horse hay rake, used with 
one horse or two horses at option. 




Walter A. ^V 



Building, 2031 llandolpli Street. 



TABULAR STATEMENT OF PRODUCTION AND SALE OF WALTER A. WOOD 
HARVESTING MACHINES FOR THIRTY FIVE YEARS. 

1853 5001862 5,500 1871 15,771il880 27.908 

1854 .. 600 18G3 6,500il872 17,097'l881 40,413 

1855 1,200; 1864 7,500'l873 20,715 1882 44,22-; 

1856 2,500'l865 8,500 1874 20,480 1883 45,032 

1857 3,800|l866 10,500,1875 23,507;1884 48,315 

1858 4,500il867 11,50011876 23,836 1885 42,151 

1859 5,500|1868 17,500;1877 19,0711886 45,557 



1860 6,000 

1861 6,500 



1869 23,000 

1870 15,000 



1878 25,0651887 51, 

1879 24,920' 

[ Total... 672, 



484 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



259 



This magnificent result is proof incontestable of the supremacy 
of the machines that bear to all countries the name of Walter A. 
Wood, for it is success without any parallel. The St. Louis 
branch house under the management of Mr. Frederick W. Drury 
has rapidly increased the western output. 

L. M. RuMSEY Manfg. Co. — This concern was established in 
18G0 by L. M. and ]M. Rumsey, and was incorporated under its 
present style in 1880. The operations of the house after twent}-- 
eight years of continued growth represent an annual business of 
some .$4,500,000 and extend to every part of the United States, 
Canada, Mexico, Cuba and South America. They have works 





r 



"^# 




r.. M. Hunitey JlaiiuiactUiiu.^ ^u. s Plant. 

at Indianoplis, Ind., in addition to the plant here shown in 
the cut, covering two blocks on Morgan, Cherry, Second 
and Main streets with offices at 810 North Main. This entire 
plant is lighted by electric light furnished by dynamos owned b}'' 
the company. The works here give employment to 150 mechanics 
in the manufacture of every description of agricultural implements, 
grist, feed, cider and cane mills, ail kinds of screw presses, broom 
corn machines, over one thousand styles of pumps, and supplies 
the world with galvanized pump chains, made by a machine 
invented by Mr. L. M. Rumsey, which completes and fastens 
about one hundred links of chain per minute. In their lead 



260 COMMERCIAL AXD 

works they can turn out sheets of lead 8 by 50 feet from the thick- 
ness of paper up to the heaviest in use. They carry full lines of 
fire engines, hose reels, trucks and all fire apparatus and firemen's 
supplies, hose, belting, packing, etc., and nearly everj^thing 
requisite for building and supplying railroads and manufacture and 
deal in all kinds of lead and iron pipes ,^ and all fittings, tools and 
appliances for plumbers, gas, water and steam fitters, all kinds of 
iron and wood working machiner}-, and every description of sup- 
plies for foundries, machinists, blacksmiths, mills, wagon makers, 
miners and contractors. They also deal in hoisting engines, sta- 
tionary and portable, boilers, lathes, planers, shapers, gear cut- 
ters, files, all kinds of bells, every description of metals, etc., 
this catalogue might be extended indefinitely. Only a faint 
idea of the immensity of the business can be compressed into 
a short description. The officers of the company are L. M. Rum- 
sey. President ; M. Rumsey, Secretary ; A. M. Wood, Treasurer. 

GEAXITE IRONWARE, 

The largest manufacturing plant in the world turning out Gran- 
ite Iron Ware and kindred goods is located right here in St. 
Louis, at Cass Avenue and Second Street, it covering two 
blocks, a cut of which is here shown, together with a brief 
sketch of its history. 

In the fall of 1859, F. G. and W. F. Niedringhaus started in 
business together under the firm of Niedringhaus & Bro., in a 
room 25 b}' 50 feet. In 1862 they commenced making" shallow- 
stamped ware, the demand for which soon compelled them to en- 
large, and in 1864 the extent of their manufacturing capacity 
forced them to go on the market as manufacturers and jobbers of 
tinner's findings. 

In 1865 they began to make deep stamped ware, being at the 
time the second manufactor}^ of its kind in the United States. 

About this time they were incorporated as the St. Louis 
Stamping Company. In the spring of 1873 they began to experi- 
ment in the manufacture of enameled ware similar to that pro- 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



261 



duced in Europe, which they mastered in a very short time. The 
house soon discovered, however, that goods suitable for the Eu- 
ropean trade would not answer in the United States, and were at 
once con- 
V i n c e d 
that un- 
less some- 
thing su- 
perior and 
entirely 
different 
could be 
made, 
enamel- 
ed ware c 
w o u 1 d '^ 
never be- 
come pop- 
ular with 
the Amer- 
ican peo- 
ple. 

A series 
of experi- 
m e n t s 
were made 
to the so- 
lution f 
the prob- 
lem, which 
resultedin 
the p r 0- 

duction of the first piece of granite ironware on the 10th of April, 
1874. Since then this ware has l)een received with favor wher- 
ever introduced, not only in this country but in Elurope, South 
America, Australia and other parts of the world. 




262 



COMMEUCIAL AND 



The granite coating of this ware is a highi}- vitrified glass, 
perfectly insoluble and impervious to the action of vegetable 
acids, and is fully equal in purity to earthenware or the finest 

porcelaia. 
It is pre- 
f e r able, 
moreover, 
on account 
of its 
strength 
and dura- 
1) i 1 i t y , 
i t s light 
weight, 
I I nonbreak- 
^ able quali- 
{: ties and 
^ beiuo; un- 
•r injured in 
?. appear- 
^ a n c e or 
% otherwise 
^ by heat. 
The cheap- 
ness and 
purity of 
these en- 
a m e 1 e d 
o; o o d s 
have given 
them an 
immense 

popularity and tlie dema id i-< constantly enlarging, both for 
home and export trade. 

The body of granite iron-ware is made of sheet-iron of a 
superior quality, whicli at one time was manufactured onl}' in 




ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



263 



England. As the iron they ol)tained from England was not 
always up to the required standard, they decided to venture into 
the manufacturing of it themselves, notwithstanding the general 
declaration of sheet-iron manufacturers that it could not be made 
in this country. 

Accordingly, in 1870, thej^ purchased five acres of land within 
a mile and a half of the Court House, and began the erection of 
a rolling mill, built after the style of the English tin-plate mills. 
Starting in the spring of 1870, and by persistent energj^ their 
efforts were soon rewarded in making the desired quality. The 
mill is of mammoth proportions, capable of producing twenty 
tons of sheet daily. 

The President of the company is Mr. F. G. Niedringhaus, 
and its Secretary, Mr. William F. Niedringhaus. The branch 
houses of the company are at No. 96 Beckman street. New York, 
and No. 15 Lake street, Chicago. 

The Pacific Oil Company are very extensive producers and 
m a n u f a c- 
turersof lu- 
bricating, 
valve and 
railway oils. 
They sup- 
ply many of 
our large 
railways 
and mines 
by the year 

on contract; 

also brew- Pacific Oil Co., 1526 Poplar Street. 

eries, foundries, car-works and large factories generally. The 
company's most celebrated brands are " Paris Valve Oil," and 
" Kohinoor Car Grease," and these are standard goods in 
the entire western and southern market. The company's busi- 
ness extends from Ohio on the east and far into Canada 
on the north, to the city of Mexico on the south, and the 













264 



COMMERCIAL AND 



Pacific Ocean on the west. To look after this vast trade more 
than a dozen commercial travelers are necessary. The company 
has agencies and depots at St. Paul, Minn., and Fort Scott, Kan- 
sas. The success achieved by the Pacific Oil Co. in the last fif- 
teen years is due to the energy and correct business methods of 
its officers, O. L. Mersman, president, and B. F. Parmalee, sec- 
retary. The goods turned out and sold are always of the best 
quality and exactly as represented. 



PLATE AND WINDOW GLASS. 

This industry both as regards jobbing and manufacturing has 
increased here more that 100 per cent in the past five years. 
With the building going on consequent upon the improvement of 

the west, south and southwest, 
tosrether with the local de- 
mand — by no means small — 
this trade must necessarily 
show ver}^ largely increased 
sales in the coming seasons ; 
the margins of profit, however, 
are growing less as the compe- 
tition in the line is fully de- 
veloped. This applies to all 
grades of plate and window 
glass. A gratifying feature 
of the trade is a more general 
use of the finer grades of glass 
so that where formerl}^ archi- 
tects and owners only used 
sheet glass they now use plate 
glass finding: it in the end 

Y. A. Drew Gla-> Co., 7th and St. Charles, cheaper OU aCCOUUt of itS be- 
auty and durability. In former times plate glass was principally 
used for show windows in store fronts, now, however, there is 
hardly a building, store, residence or otherwise, but has plate 
glass nearly throughout. 




ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 265- 

The F. A. Drew Glass Company, a cut of whose building is 
here shown, has been one of the greatest factors in developing the 
glass trade of St. Louis. This house has never failed to take ad- 
vantage of any opportunity to not alone introduce their own 
goods, but to make St. Louis the western headquarters for glass 
of all kinds and to develop the taste for glass decoration in house 
ornamentation, both externally and internally. This company 
is one of the five large concerns — the others being in Chicago 
and New York — who take the entire output of the great Crystal 
Plate Glass Company, a concern of St. Louis, whose plate glass is 
acknowledged to be the finest and clearest made in the United 
States. It will be noted that in many lines of manufactured 
goods besides glass, that St. Louis leads the country both in the 
quantity and the quality, which statement is no idle boast, but is 
demonstrated by facts and acknowledged by those familiar with 
the products. 

The Crystal Plate Glass Company. — About thirty miles 
south of St. Louis, on the main line of the St. Louis, Iron Moun- 
tain and Southern Railway, is Crystal City, the home of plate- 
ojlass manufacture in the West. The works of the Crystal 
Plate Glass Company are located some distance from the station, 
but a small branch railway affords ready communication at all 
times. It is but a few years since it was the popular impression 
that plate glass could not be produced in this country, and that 
idea is but partially obliterated at the present time, while the 
facts are that much of the finest and largest plate glass now being- 
used in the finest buildings in all our large cities is made in this 
country from native material, and is in every respect equal to 
that of foreign make. In the manufacture of glass of the very 
best quality the Crystal Plate Glass Company stands in advance 
of all others. 

The immense works of the company were commenced in 1872 
by the American Plate Glass Company, with a capital stock of 
$250,000. In 1874 this was raised to $500,000, in 1880 to 1,000,- 
000, an d in 1883 to $1,500,000. 

The machinery and engines consist of 5 melting furnaces (all- 



:266 



C0M31ERCIAL AXD 



in the verv best kin''s of machinist- 



gas), 94 annealing kilns. 22 circular grinders, 50 smoothers, 36 
polishers, and 20 steam engines, together with complete outfits 

io;)ls and machinery for do- 
ing the company's 
own work. 

The company's 
officers are : E. A. 
Hitchcock, Presi- 
dent ; C. B. Burn- 
h a m, Vice-Presi- 
dent ; E. T. Allen, 
Secretary ; C. W. 
i Barnes, Treasurer, 
zl and Geo. F. Neale, 
{; Manage r. The 
X directors are : 

r. 

^ Carlos S. Greeley, 

3 C. B. Burnham,H. 

i 8. Piatt, Henry 

I Hitchcock, E. A. 

Hitchcock, John 

O'Fallon, VT. L. 

Huse, Alvah Man- 

s u r and E. T. 

Allen. 

The Mississippi 
Glass Co., Main 
and Angelica 
streets occupies a 
field in glass mak- 
ing peculiarly its own. Their manufactures consist principallj^ 
of glass known in the trade as rough and ribbed plate glass, 
Crown Disc, Cathedral and their own patent Ondoyant glass. 
The first is used largely in skylights, pannelings, etc., in fact 
wherever a strong glass is required. The latter three grades 
go into the decoration of windows, doors, car transoms, vesti- 




ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



267 



"bules or wherever an ornamental glass can be used. Their 
grounds cover several acres on which are a group of splendidly ar- 
ranged buildings, furnaces, etc., all convenient to direct shipping 
facilities. The works employ some 250 hands constantly, and 
their products — which are equal to any produced in the world — 
are shipped throughout the whole United States. Mr. Edward 
Walsh, Jr., St. Louis, is President; Mr. E. W. Humphrey, New 
York, Vice President. 




Mississippi Glass Co.'s Worlds. 



HYDRAULIC-PRESS BRICK. 

The construction of buildings throughout the new cities west of 
the AUeghanies has developed to a greater extent perhaps than 
any other part of this countr}' the qualities of the various clays 
serviceable for brick making purposes as well as the different stone 
deposits for building purposes. There is an almost unhmited 
supply of fine clay in and around St. Louis which is especially 
favorable to the requisites of that hard, smooth brick known as 
press-brick, and St. Louis people were not slow to see their worth 
nor to develop the brick manufacturing business. One concern 
alone in St. Louis, the St. Louis Hydraulic-Press Brick Co., 



268 



COMMERCIAL AND 




,\1 



mmmi 




3 

33 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 269 

have a capacity for turning out annually 60,000,000 bricks, which 
they sell throughout a territory including Ohio on the east to 
Califcrnia on the west. An extract from the Inland Architect on 
the subject of brick says: — 

"It is but a few years since straight brick, smooth in face, 
with sharp corners, were sought ; then uniformity of color was 
■exacted, which led to the assorting of brick to upwards of a dozen 
shades. Then ornamental brick was called for by the architects, 
who saw that ornamentation could be obtained through properly 
desio;ned and molded brick better than could be secured throuo:h 
the use of stone." The characteristics of the brick made by the 
St. Louis Hydraulic-Press Brick Co. are these : They are the strong- 
est bricks made in the country, artificial colors are not used in 
their composition, they are troubled less wdth whitewash, they are 
homogeneous, and if carving is to be done the bricks can be 
carved as easily as stone. Brick making has become an art and 
draughtsmen are constantly emploj^ed getting up new designs that 
when the individual brick is laid, any special idea can be carried 
into effect. St. Louis Hydraulic-Press Brick Co. have five yards 
in St. Louis ; a cut of one onlj' is shown. The offices of the com- 
pany are in the Turner Building. Mr. E. C. Sterling is president 
and Mr. H. W. Eliot secretary. Besides the works here, the 
largest in the county, they have the Union Press Brick works, lo- 
cated at King's Highway and Natural Bridge Road, with a capac- 
ity of 43,000,000 bricks annually. E. C. Sterling is President of 
this company ; H. W. Eliot, Vice-President, and C. N. Simpkins, 
Secretary and Treasurer ; office, 304 N. 8th street. In addition 
to the St. Louis plants they have works at Coliinsville, 111., the 
Illinois Hj'draulic-Press Brick Co., which company makes fine red 
pressed brick a specialty ; office, 304 N. 8th street ; E. C. Sterling, 
President ; E. A. Hitchcock, Vice-President ; W. H. Eliot, Secre- 
tary and Treasurer. Another large brick making company is the 
Findlay H^^draulic-Press Brick Co.'s plants. The w^orks are at 
Toledo and Findlay, Ohio. The officers of the company are E. 
C. Sterling, of St. Louis, President; S. S. Kimball, of Chicago, 
Vice-President ; H. W. EUot, of St. Louis, Secretary and Treas- 



270 COMMERCIAL AXD 

urer, and M. W. Brookes, of Findla}^ Ohio, Assistant Treasurer 
and Manager. 

Missouri GRA^'ITE. — There is not a State in this great country 
that has the versatility of resource to be found in Missouri. Not 
only does the soil produce all the cereals and of the best possible 
qualit}', every variety of fruit and vintage, orchids, tobacco, 
cotton, hemp, silk, etc., but the mines in this State bear unlimited 
quantities of iron, lead and other metals while her quarries contain 
beds of granite, marble and other line building stone unequaled 
anywhere else. It is only a few years ago that Maine had a 
monopoh'' of the granite production of the States, but Missouri 
has stepped into the field with granite quarries of unlimited 
extent and of a quality superior to all. -Just south of St. Louis- 
are located the properties of the Syenite Granite Company of 
St. Louis. 

Their quarries lie a few miles from the line of the St. 
Louis, Iron Mountain & Southern R. R., at Syenite, in St. 
Francois County, and at Graniteville, in Iron county. From 
the trunk line at Middlebrook Station the Syenite Granite 
Co. have built their own railroad, equipped it with locomotives, 
cars, etc., which connects with the quarries and works. The 
machiner}^ required at these works is of gigantic and expensive 
construction for there are blocks of granite removed from 
their native beds weighing in many cases as high as fifty tons. 
One of the finest pieces of granite ever sent out from any quarry 
was that of a solid monumental shaft 42 feet long weighing 
47 tons, which was sent from these quarries to Pittsfleld, Mass., 
and erected to the memory of the Hon. Thos. Allen. The beauty 
of the Missouri granite is beyond compare, so closely knit is it, 
and so hard that it is susceptible of polish even more smooth than 
glass. The durability of such a material is unquestioned and for 
building purposes, it is being sought after from every direction of the 
country. The finer buildings in Chicago have used it without 
stint, such as the Marshall Field building, the Rialto building, 
the "Rookery" perhaps the finest office building in the United 
States, the Studebaker building, etc. At Indianapolis the grand 



ARCHIl KCTl' AL >T. LOUIS. 



271 




272 COMMERCIAL AND 

TJnion Depot is constructed of this granite so are the finer build- 
ings at Omaha and Kansas City. The Syenite Company in ad- 
-dition to the rough blocks of granite are sending polished columns 
to New York City, New Orleans and to the whole west. It is 
used extensively in St. Louis, especially in the finer buildings, 
such as the new Odd Fellows Hall building, the new Mercantile 
Library building, the new Commercial building, the Liggett & 
Meyers block of buildings, the A. W. Fagin building, in the 
lower story and basement of the U. S. Custom House and Post- 
office, the Drummond Tobacco Co's. factory building, the Roe 
building, the Rosenheim building, and in Mr. Geo. W. Allen's 
residence, Grand and Washington avenues. 

STOVES. 

In this line St. Louis is a large producer, there being seven 
monster manufacturing concerns whose total output reaches 
many millions of dollars. 

Live and learn is a motto that is as true to-day as it was one 
hundred years ago, and it will be true a hundred years hence. 

Great merit is found in an article for a certain purpose, and, 
lo, in time a hundred other uses are found for the same thing. A 
visit to the display of stoves made by the Excelsior Manufac- 
turing Company, of St. Louis, teaches something about wire 
gauze. 

It has been clearly demonstrated that very little heat will pass 
through wire gauze, and this discovery led the Excelsior Manu- 
facturing Company to place wire gauze doors to the ovens of all 
Charter Oak cooking stoves. 

A most interesting experiment to determine the small quantities 
of heat that will pass through wire srauze can be made bv takinsj a 
piece of brass strainer cloth, a foot square, place one hand close 
to a flame, then draw the gauze between the flame and the 
hand ; it will be surprising to find how little heat will pass 
through the gauze. 

An experiment that few will believe without trying is to place 
the wire gauze over a flame, allowing it to almost touch the 
burner. It will be found that the flame will spread and the wire 



'O 



"^ 

hj 



X 
o 
B 

r" 
o 

► 

a 
•d 

■o 

H 
-c! 



o 










I---- 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 273 

become heated to a white heat, but the flame will not pass through 
it and the gauze will remain cool within an inch of the flame. 

At the works of the Excelsior Manufacturing Company, in St. 
Louis, a 4x5 feet wire gauze door is used instead of heavy 
iron doors, lined with fire-brick. This door can be touched 
with the hand, and a large body of melted iron can be seen in- 
side ; but the moment the doors are opened it is impossible to 
stand within ten feet of the opening. This is convincing evidence 
that heat will not pass through a wire gauze door, and establishes 
the claims of the Excelsior Manufacturing Company that a wire 
gauze door to an oven will not cool the oven. Experiments in 
the open air, when the thermometer registered 5° to 10° below 
zero, have proven that no more fuel is required then than for 
cooking in the house when the thermometer was 90° above zero. 
By placing these wire-gauze doors to the ovens of the Charter 
Oak stoves the Excelsior Manufacturing Company claim that 25 
per cent is saved in the shrinkage of meats in cooking, and that 
a six-pound roast will weigh as much after being cooked in one of 
their Charter Oak stoves as an eight-pound roast cooked in a tight 
oven. The extremities of fowls remain tender and juicy, while if 
cooked in a tight oven they become dried up. There is no saving 
in the weight of bread and biscuits, but they come from the oven 
lighter and larger. Fuel is saved by requiring less heat for roast- 
inof and bakincr. 

The Charter Oak is the oldest stove in the West, and the Ex- 
celsior Manufacturing Company have the largest works in the 
West. Their capacit}'' is 55 tons of iron per day, and if all of 
the Charter Oak stoves that were made last year were placed in a 
line three feet apart, the line would reach from Louisville to St. 
Louis, a distance of 260 miles. This compan}- makes the largest 
stove that is produced. It is 6 feet 11 inches long, and weighs 
1,500 pounds. 

They make a full line of all kinds of stoves and heaters for coal 
and wood. 

The officers of the company are Mr. Giles F. Filley, President ; 
Mr. Chas. F. Filley, Vice-President; and Mr. Geo. D. Dana, 
Secretary. 

18 



274 COMMERCIAL AND 



BREWING INDUSTRY. 

It may appear to some readers of this book that in giving the 
resources of the manufacturing interests of this city, that too large 
a claim is made for St. Louis, and that the figures generall}^ are 
exaggerated. In no instance has this been done and like many 
of the other lines of manufactures or productions of St. Louis, 
the brewing is far ahead of any other city in the whole world. In 
this countr}' every case of beer must bear the sign of the internal 
revenue department of the government, therefore the production 
is actually and correctly accounted for, while in the old countr}'- 
the pride of the brewers, together with their correct methods of 
business leaves no doubt that the statements of their production is 
correct. Consequent!}' it is found from their statements and 
from the government reports here that St. Louis leads in beer 
production. If then this city produces the greater quantity, 
quality must have something to do with it, for people all over 
the world are too well informed generallj-, and especially with re- 
gard to their beverages, not to know the difference between good 
and poor beer. There are twent3--two brewing establishments in St. 
Louis whose combined capital reaches colossal figures, and they 
give employment to an armj^ of people. 

A queer result of the temperance movement which has been ab- 
sorbing the attention of the American people of late is given in 
the recent report of the secretary' of the treasury. Notwithstand- 
ing an estimated increase of 2,000,000 in the population during 
the past year, the secretary reports a falling off of $3,262,944 in 
the revenue derived from whisky and other spirits, and this sum 
represents a decrease of 4,240,000 gallons in the quantity of spir- 
its consumed in the countr}' during the year ending with June 
last. The same treasury report which shows so decided a falling 
off in the consumption of spirits reveals an increase of $2,245,456 
in the internal revenue collected last fiscal year upon beer and 
fermented liquors, the figures being $19,676,731 for 1886 and $21,- 
922,187 for 1887. This increase of revenue shows that the coun- 
try consumed 7,000,000 gallons more of beer in 1887 than in the 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 275 

preceding year. This substitution of beer for liquors has been 
steadily going forward for some years. It is a gratifying evidence 
of a healtliful movement toward greater sobriety, economy and 
self-control in the drinking habits of the people. In St. Louis, 
one of the principal centers of the beer trade, the breweries have 
been steadily increasing their output, which in the aggregate was 
never so large as it is to-day. Thousands of men find employ- 
ment and millions of bushels of grain are annually consumed in 
the manufacture, and beer from St. Louis is sent in immense 
quantities throughout all the states and territories west of the 
lakes and to foreign countries. 

To supply the home and foreign demand for St. Louis beer 
1,280,091 barrels or 39,682,821 gallons of beer were manufactured 
in 1886, and the totals for 1887 show a great increase upon these 
figures 1,383,361 barrels or 43,575,872 gallons the largest increase 
perhaps has been made b}^ the Anheuser-Busch Brewing Associa- 
tion's establishment, which, under the energetic management ot 
President Adolphus Busch, has risen from a comparatively insigni- 
ficant position to that of the largest brewery in the world. The 
city's export trade in bottled beer dates from the introduction by 
Anheuser-Busch of the Pasteurizing process for the preservation of 
bottle beer. Previously this trade had been monopolized by Eu- 
ropean breweries, but to-day there is hardly a country in the 
world where the superior excellence of the Anheuser-Busch bot- 
tled beer is not known and appreciated. Though, properly dating 
only from the accession of President Busch in 1865, this estab- 
lishment has outstripped the largest breweries of the Old World, 
its output in 1886 being 379,237 barrels against 363,017 barrels 
for the Spaten brewery of Munich, 348,600 barrels for the Dreher 
of Vienna and 235,950 for the Pschorr of Munich. In like man- 
ner all the great breweries of Milwaukee, New York and Philadel- 
phia have been left behind. For the year ending on January 1st, 
1888, its product was 456,511 barrels, and its sales now are at 
the rate of 500,000 barrels a year. The bottling department is 
the largest in the world, and the output exceeds 25,000,000 bot- 
tles a year. 



276 COMMERCIAL AND 

The AxHEusER-BuscH Brewing Association employ over 1,200 




men, consume 1,100,000 bushels of barley, over 700,000 lbs. 
of hops, use over 400,000 barrels and boxes, consume 500,000 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS, 



277 



bushels of coal, requiring 1,500 cars to freight it, besides freight 

shipped and received which amounts to nearly 15,000 cars per 

year on which sum $1,000,000 is paid in charges. The meter 

shows 250,000,000 gallons of water used in beer making, cooling 

m a c h i nes, washing 

cooperage, bottles, i^ f> 

etc. They use 25,000 

tons of ice for packing 

beer in cars, ship 

2,000 full car loads 

of ice besides, and ^: 

cool the brewery by 2 

the chemical refrig- ^ 

crating machinery Z 

process. The g-round 2 

occupied by the brew- | 

ing, shipping depart- o 

ments, etc., covers "V: 

over 30 acres, the p 

shipping and loading '^ 

tracks are some three H. 

miles long, and they ^ 

pay out annually =' 

over a half million of ^ 

dollars in "wages f 

alone. This in brief 

gives an idea of the 

importance of such 

an institution to the 

city and State. 

GreenTree 
Brewery Co. — This company is one of the old solid 
business concerns of St. Louis with a financial standing of 
the most excellent kind and a prosperous business career dating 
back to the very foundation of their plant, which was a very small 
affair when compared to the monster group of buildings consti- 




278 



COMMERCIAL AND 









tuting their present capacities. The buildings as seen in the cut 
cover two large blocks of ground with a brewing capacity of 
more than 100,000 barrels of beer and a malting capacity of 
250,000 bushels. Besides the large home trade they have a 
splendid shipping business that is growing rapidly each year, 

which is easily ac- 
counted for, as their 
beers are of a uniform 
grade and superior 
quality and the nian- 
I agement of the com- 
i I pany's business is 
§ conducted on the most 
,. ^ ^ ^ liberal and progressive 
i^ i9%^C \li plan. The company's 




t>f^' 








i ^^.u,.^*!^" <=^ £ 



^£. 



^^^" ^^S ' * premium bottled beer 
I ^ for export and famil}^ 
,/ J 2 use, all of a superior 
1^ o quality, being highly 
.J 'Jf'^'ii^'^' '^recommended for 
s purity and unlformlt3^ 
They do a large bot- 
tling trade. The loca- 
tion of their immense 
plant is at Sidney and 
i=;*Lju:;irji!! utH^isfi ^■^i^St^s^.s^^s^p' ^*^ ^^^^""^ Qtli strccts, and the 
officers of the company are : Louis Schlossstein, President and 
Treasurer; E. Henr}^ Vordtriede, Secretary, and Henry Nico- 
laus. Superintendent. 

HusE & LooMis Ice and Transportation Co. was established in 
Louis first in 1861 under the firm name of Huse, Loomis & Co. 
and has since that date been continually in the ice business in this 




ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



279 



city changing from the firm to the corporate company in 1882. 
Wm. L. Huse is President, Luther Loomis, Vice-President and 
Treasurer. 

Their facilities for handling ice, both by barge loads and by 
car loads, are the very best. As they own their own steamboats 
and barges for water transportation and supply most of the ice 
dealers in the Mississippi valley with their supply of ice, being now 
the only ice dealers that ship to lower Mississippi points by barges. 
Their sources of supply are located in the upper Mississippi River 
and upper Illinois River, at Louisiana, Mo., Alton, 111., Beards- 



^^-^ ^-r^"*-- 




Chester & Keller Manufacturing Co.'s Plant. 

town, 111., Kingston Lake, III., Peoria, 111., and Clear Lake, 111. 
At each of these points they have ice-houses storing from 15,- 
000 tons to 80,000 tons, their total storage room exceeding 250,- 
000 tons. They deal only in northern ice, not cutting an}'- local ice. 

A large portion of their trade is supplying ice by car-load lots 
to dealers in Arkansas, Texas and other points south by railroad, 
having special advantages for filling such orders. 

Chester & Keller Mfg. Co., corner Main and Victor Streets, 
manufacturers of axe, pick, sledge and all kinds of hickory han- 
dles, also wagon and buggy wood-work specialties, oak and 
hickory spokes, etc. The officers of this company are E. S. 



280 



COMMERCIAL AXD 



Chester, President; Theo Tamm, Vice-President; and George 
Keller, Secretary and Treasurer, who have practical experience 
in this business and are familiar with all its details. 

Their large capital is concentrated upon the production of 
hickory handles and wood parts for wagons and buggies. By 
their combined efforts they have built up an immense trade, com- 
prising the leading local traffic and extending it to all parts of the 
United States and foreign countries. They give employment to 
over 250 hands and the products of this corapan}^ are recognized 
as standard goods. This compan}^ is the onl}' one of its kind in 
St. Louis and ranks highest as a western depot of supi^lies in this 
branch of the hard-wood business. » 

Bemis Bro. Bag Company, a cut of whose building we present 






o r F i c E fj. 







p f ^ If: if T 

[p B ffi [f 



[P 1 11 If' ft r 

f !r !r !ri_F f 

r T' rr [r if' ? irl ' 



JJt'ini.s Jiro. Ba,'' Co. 



here, are recognized leaders in their particular line in the 
United States. They commenced business in 1858 on Xorth 
Main street, in a small room on the second floor ; from there they 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 281 

moved to Commercial Alley, afterwards moving to Main street, 
where they occupied commodious premises until March, 188G. 
These becoming too small, they purchased their present site on 
Fourth and Poplar streets, fronting 126 feet on Fourth street, 
running back 126 feet on Poplar street. The building is six 
stories high, with basement under the entire building. This com- 
pany have, besides their St. Louis house, branches in Boston, 
Minneapolis and Omaha. They manufacture bags for flour, meal, 
corn, bran, oats, salt, sugar, wool, in fact bags of every imag- 
inable kind and shape used in all branches of business. The 
officers of the company are : J. M. Bemis, President ; J. G. Mar- 
riott, Vice-President ; S. A. Bemis, Secretary and Treasurer. 

Architectural Iron. — The immense amount of building con- 
stantly going on in a large city like St. Louis requires facilities 
for the production of the vast amount of iron work being used in 
the construction of these buildings. In this respect St. Louis is 
amply provided, the different works employing thousands of 
"workmen and turning out every variety of iron work used for 
building or ornamental purposes. 

SCHERPE & KOKEN ARCHITECTURAL IrON CoMPANY. IrOU 

Works and Foundry, Park avenue. South Eighth and Barry 
streets. (John F. Scherpe, President and Treasurer ; William T. 
Koken, Vice-President and General Manager. ) Manufacturers of 
every description of iron work required in buildings and struc- 
tures (from the stately modern office block, fire-proof, and towering 
twelve or fourteen stories in height to the unpretentious village 
store front). The management of this Company early recognized 
the important place of iron work in all modern architecture and 
from the start adapted their plant, with its many subsequent 
additions and improvements to the exclusive manufacture of that 
class of work on a large and economical scale ; and now their 
works are one of the largest and best equipped in that line west 
of the AUeghenies, and fully capable of meeting all demands that 
may be made, in the way of prompt execution of orders and most 
satisfactory fulfillment of every requirement in contracts for 



282 



COMMERCIAL AXD 



beaut}^ in ornamental and artistic finisli as well as for strength and 
reliability of materials used. 

The business of this Company has steadily grown, till now its 
products may be seen in ever^^ State and Territory west to Cali- 
fornia and south to Old Mexico, each and every one of them 
standing as a lasting tribute to the excellence of their work and 
showing also that their methods of doing business are being recog- 
nized and appreciated. 

Their manufactures include store fronts, girders, lintels, caps, 
sills, balconies, verandas, fence railings, roof crestings, shutters 







V- 






s^^^'St^&fei". 



Scherpe & Kokeu Architectural 



■ .'s Works. 



and doors, jail and vault work, stable fittings, gates, stairs, fire 
escapes, etc., etc., in an endless variety of styles. They also 
make a specialty of patent illuminating tiles (Hyatt's & Concrete) 
for sidewalk areas, skylights and floor lights, in short everything 
in the way of cast or wrought iron work, structural and orna- 
mental, that is used for building of any description. 

Their valuable illustrated catalogue should be in the hands of 
every one interested in building, it is a very handsome cloth bound 
book containing much valuable imformation for the building trade, 
and is mailed free on application. 

St. Louis Shot Tower Company. — The fact that Missouri is 
one of the principal States in the union containing vast lead de- 
posits, it is but reasonable to suppose that the principal cit}^ in 
the State would be the manufacturing center for products from 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



283 



lead. As early as 1835 a wooden tower was erected on the bluffs 
at Carondelet, known as Chouvin's Shot Tower. In 1846 the 




St. Louis Shot To\Yer C'o.'s riant. 



present company was established, which became incorporated in 
1857. The tower which is shown in the accompanying cut is a 



284 COMMERCIAL AND 

massive structure with a diameter of 31 feet at the base and 17 
feet at the top, and the floor from which the casting is done is 176 
feet from the tank of water into which the shot fall. The build- 
ings are located on Lewis street and cover one-fourth of a block. 
The offices of the company are at 100 North Main street ; Mr. 
G. W. Chadbourne is President and Mr. J. W. McLanahan, 
Secretary of the company. The products of the works include 
shot of any size and bar lead besides which the compan}' are ex- 
tensive dealers in pig lead. 

Ehret- Warren Manufacturing Co. — Successor to M. 
Ehret, Jr., & Co., St. Louis, and S. D. Warren & Co., St. Louis, 
and Kansas City. M. Ehret, Jr., & Co. were the largest coal tar 
distillers in the United States, and shipped more products of tar» 
and prepared roofing than an}^ other dealers in the United States. 
They sold last year to manufacturers alone over five millions of 
feet of Black Diamond Roofing and to the trade generall}'' about 
the same amount. S. D. Warren & Co. of St. Louis and Kansas 
City did a large manufacturing business in coal tar products 
such as tarred felt, roofing felt, sheathing papers, paving and 
roofing pitch, etc. They were perhaps the largest felt, giavel 
and composition roofers in the West and have roofed many of 
the large edifices as well as fire proof buildings in St. Louis and 
Kansas City as well as surrounding country since 1848, at which 
time they were established- in St. Louis. A few among the 
thousands of buildings roofed by them in St. Louis might be 
mentioned the seven stor}^ building of Samuel C. Davis & Co., the 
eleven story Equitable building, the Merchants' Exchange, 
Southern Hotel, the Gay building, and Roe building, all seven to 
ten stories and costing from two hundred thousand to one million 
dollars. Warren's fire proof gravel roof is known by all the lead- 
ing architects, builders and superintendents in the south and 
west and particularly so in St. Louis and Kansas City. The con- 
solidation of this firm with M. Ebret, Jr., & Co. was formed on 
the tenth of February, 1888, and was incorporated same date 
with a paid up capital of $150,000, under the incorporated name 
of Ehret-Warren Manufacturing Co. The officers of the com- 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



285 



pany are S. D. Warren, President ; W. E. Campe, Treasurer; 
and Por- 
t e r S . 
M arquis, 
Vice-Pies 
ident and 
gen era] 
manager. 
They 
manufac- 
ture roof- 
ing felt 
and pitch, 
black dia- 
mond pre- 
pared 
r o o fi ng, 
a s p h alt- 
um, paints, 
she athing 
felts, roof- 
in g felt, 
b u i Iding 
papers, 
oils, etc., 
and with 
the com- 
b i n e d 
plants in 
St. Louis p 

flTirl T^Q n Jli'JL' '!!i""'l'j'''''''''''''i'i'i'>''''i"i'»!iiiiiiiinii-iiiiiiiiiiiiiii i1 

sas City. 
Mo., the.v 










Ehret- Warren Manufacturinti' Co. 



will have 
the largest 
and most extensive plants of the kind in the west. Additional im- 



286 



COMMERCIAL AXD 



provements will be made during the year, affording extensive facil- 
ities for handling their large business which extends south to the 
gulf and west to the Pacific coast. Car load orders will be a spe- 
cialt}'' as well as making and applying their superior fire proof 
gravel and composition roofing over the west and south. The 
new concern has consolidated their offices at 113 Xorth 8th street 
and are in a position to supply the trade on any product they 
manufacture at manufacturer's prices. This is one of the most 
solid concerns in the country and with their enterprise, experience 
and push they propose to do as they have in the past, excel in 
quality of goods and roofs as well as make the most prompt 

shipments 
an}' and 
ever y- 
where. 

JohnM. 
Sellers. 
— In the 
manufac- 
t u r e of 
fire and 
water 
proof 
roofs and 
roofing 
materials 

Mr. Sellers has occupied a leading position ever since he 
established this business, which was in 1850. In addition 
to a large force of men engaged in the manufacture of 
roofing materials he keeps another force who are constantly 
employed in putting his gravel and composition roofing on the 
buildings throughout this city and surrounding territory. His 
business havino; grown so laro-e he established a branch house in 
Kansas City and from the two he reaches the southwest generally, 
especiall}' Kansas, Nebraska, Illinois and Missouri. His plant in 
St. Louis is located at 613 Chouteau avenue, on which it fronts 75 




-^ f 



John M. Sellers' Itouliui^ Mauufactorv. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



287 



feet Avith a depth of 200 feet to Papin street. His roofs cover 
many of the largest and finest structures in this city and other 
cities, while the large railway companies and prominent brewing 
establishments almost invariabl}^ use it. 

VARNISHES. 
St. Louis is not only a large distributing point for varnishes, 
but there is quite an extensive manufacturing business done. The 
field to be covered from here is a wide one and the varnish job- 
bers and manufacturers have succeeded in working it and in mak- 
ing St. Louis the 

for _ . 



western depot 
these goods. 

The headquarters 
of Murphy & Com- 
pany, varnish mak- 
ers, are at Newark, 
N. J. They have 
departments in New 
York City; Cleve- 
land, Ohio ; Chica- 
go, and St. Louis. 
The St. Louis de- 
partment was opened 
in 1883; and having ■^: _ __._=__ _^^i^ - --^~~ 

been burned out in Murphy "Varnlsh Co.'s Building. 

December of that year, the company purchased a lot on the cor- 
ner of South Fourth street and Clark avenue, and erected the 
handsome building shown in the cut. 

Murphy & Company make a specialty of high grade varnishes 
the best of care, skill and materials are employed by them in 
producing their goods. Their varnishes have therefore acquired a 
reputation second to none in the world. They are aggressive and 
pushing in their business methods, and there is probably not a 
town in the United States of five thousand or more inhabitants 
that does not have for its guest one of Murphy & Company's rep- 
resentatives at least once or twice a vear. 







288 



COMMERCIAL AXD 



Few are aware bow important a part varnish plays in the in- 
dustries in this country: manufacturers of carriages, railway 
cars, wagons, furniture, agricultural implements, iron work, and 
many other articles, — all demand the services of the varnish 
maker in preparing special grades for their individual needs. 
The custom of finishing offices, residences and public buildings in 
natural wood, instead of painting and graining them in the old- 
fashioned way, originated in the eastern cities a few years ago, 
and is rapidly growing in popularity from Michigan to Texas. 
The demand thus created for a durable, hard-dr3'ing varnish, 
that will prevent the absorption of moisture and bring out all the 
lurking beauties of the natural grain of oak, cherr}^ walnut, ma- 
ple, etc., was met by Murphj^ & Company by the invention of an 
article called Transparent AYood Finish, the secret of making 
which is known onl}' to themselves. Many prominent buildings 
in St. Louis and elsewhere have had the beauty of their fixtures 
enhanced and preserved b}' this material, and it is no doubt the 
best article for this kind of work, 3'et produced. They have also 
made great improvements, in recent years, in their fine carriage 
varnishes ; their palest durable bodj" varnish, for carriage finish- 
ing, having, in mau}^ trials, been found superior to imported Eng- 
lish varnish 




in durabil- 
i 1 3' and 
working 
qualities. 

The var- 
nish factor}'' 
of C. H. 
W. AYell- 
p o T T was 
established 
in 186 9, 
since which 
time they 
have con- 



C. H. W. Wellpott Varnish Works. 

stantly increased their trade, so much so that they are about to 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



289 




Luugstras Dj-eiiig & Uleauing Co. 
1300 to 1310 and 1316 to 1318 Park ave. 



build a large and commodious new factory. Their goods from 
the start were made in such a thorough manner that a customer 
once made was a customer for all time, this with the addition of 
new ones from year 
to year has made 
them the largest man- 
ufacturers in their 
line in St. Louis. 
Their principal var- 
nishes are furniture, 
chair and coach, al- 
though they make 
all kin d s. Their 
goods are to be found 
in all the territoiy 
tributary to St. 
Louis. The factory 
is located at 3217 and 3219 North Second street. Office, 3220 
and 3222 North Broadway. Telephone number 3001. 

LuNGSTRAs' Dyeing & Cleaning Co., 1300 to 1310 and 1316 to 
1318 Park avenue; city branch stores, gents' department, 105 

North Sixth street ; ladies' department, 
107 North Sixth street and 2339 Franklin 
avenue. This immense establishment 
proper, as will be seen from the cut of 
the plant, is one of the largest concerns 
of the kind in the West and stands without 
a successful rival in any part of the coun- 
try as to the character of work executed. 
In addition to the works at Park avenue, 
Linn and Thirteenth streets, the down 
town buildings and the other stores were 
necessary to assist in giving the company 
City stores: facilities for carryino^ on their large busi- 

Gents' dep't, 105N,6th St. „, ... .. 

Ladies' dep't, 107 N. 6th st. ness. ihe company will, on application, 
cheerfully forward pamphlets, directions and price lists. 

19 




290 



COMMERCIAL AND 



The Central Type Foundry, cor. Fourth and Elm streets, 
justly claims to be the largest and best appointed foundry in the 
world. It occupies almost the entire immense building, which is 
fitted with every convenience that can be thought of. The Cen- 
tral Type Foundry began business about ten 3'ears ago and has 
made a specialty of copper alio}' metal type, a compound which 
is warranted to be by far the lightest and most durable of type 
metals. The immense business of the Central extends over the 

civilized world. 
The}^ have agen- 
cies in all the 
principal cities of 
B A m e r ic a, also 
agents in En- 
yi gland, Germany, 
A u s t r alia, and 
the British pro- 
V i n c e 3. The 
] Central has re- 
1 c e n 1 1 y bought 
; the controlling 
inter est in the 
Boston Type 
F u n d r}^, the 
' oldest and largest 
foundry in New 
England, and 
with unlimited capacity and abundant means will long continue 
to occupy the foremost position among the makers of printers' 
material. The oflScers of the Central Type Foundry are C. 
Schraubstadter, President ; J. A. St. John, Treasurer and 
Manager. 

B. Thalmann — St. Louis Printing Ink Works ; Mr. B. Thal- 
mann established his St. Louis Printing Ink Works in 1869, and 
has seen his enterprise grow until it ranks among the leading 
factories of its kind in the country. His oflSce is at 210 Olive 




Central Type Foundry Building. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



291 



street, and his spacious factory, 100x105 feet in dimensions, is 
at 2117 to 2121 Singleton street, but so extensive has his business 
become that he finds even these large premises inadequate, and 
is preparing to build additional manufacturing premises. The 
works on Singleton street are equipped with a 45 horse-power en- 
gine, eight mills and all the latest improved machinery. Mr. 
Thalmann employs none but the most skilled labor, and carries on 
all the processes of printing ink manufacture, buying nothing but 
the raw oils and colors. Everything else is produced in the fac- 
tory ; he has his own black room, makes his own lamp black, and 
manufactures lithographic, steel plate, book, job, news and all 






f^ - 




B. Thalmaun Printing Ink AVorlis. 

kinds of printing inks, black and colored, of highest grade. His 
patronage steadily increases from year to year and is very large, 
including, besides a heavy city business, a large trade in the 
States of Missouri, Arkansas, Texas, Louisiana, Alabama, Ten- 
nessee, Illinois, Kansas, Colorado, Wyoming, Nebraska, Iowa, 
Minnesota and Wisconsin. This immense trade has been secured 
and retained by manufacturing superior goods and keeping them 
up to a uniform grade of merit, and by strictly attending to 
every detail of the business and applying correct principles to all 
his transactions. The ink used in this book is from Mr. Thal- 
mann' s factory. 



292 



COMMERCIAL AND 



Charles A. Drach & Co. — The cut here presented will appear 
in another place also as it contains two large establishments — that 
of the Globe- Democrat, the great morning daily Republican paper, 
and the firm named above. The firm of Chas. A. Drach & Co., 
was established in 1867 by Messrs. Strassburger & Drach and 
remained until 1882, since which time it has been conducted by 
Mr. Drach who is a thoroughly practical man in the line. He 
was engaged in the business at Cincinnati for ten years and at 

Chicago for four j-ears be- 
fore embarking in St. Louis 
now twenty-one years ago. 
There is an immense 
amount of electrotyping 
and stereotyping done in 




^^ that the work turned out 



by Chas. A. Drach & Co. 
is of a much superior 
qualit}' than can be had in 
similar establishments and 
on account of the rare 
promptness with which all 
orders entrusted to them 
are filled. This does not 
apply to St. Louis onl}^, 
for notwithstanding the 
large business done by them in the city they do large orders 
from Chicago, Qaincy and other Illinois towns, for Kansas 
City, St. Joe, and other Missouri towns, for Topeka. Leaven- 
worth and other Kansas towns, Dallas. Fort^orth and other Texas 
points, Los Angeles, and other California places and generall}^ 
throughout tlie West and South. In no department of art indus- 
try has there been greater improvement made in the past two 
decades than in electrotyping and stereotyping and St. Louis 
ranks second to no city on the continent in the line. 




Chas. A. Drach ^t Co. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



293 



DRY PLATES. 

G. Cramer Dry Plate Works. — One of tlie most interesting 
manufacturing plants in the city is that of this company which is 
located on Shenandoah and Buena Vista streets. The accompany- 
ing cut but 



poorly repre- 
sents the mag- 
nitude of the 
plant. In ad- 
dition to t h e 
floors above 
ground there 
are two cellars, 
one below the 
other, each of 
which is equal \ 
in area to the I 
whole of either .' 
floor above. ; 
It is here the ; 
fine work of 
preparing the I 
plates goes on. 
So delicate and 
sensitive is the 
composition, 
t h at all the 
work must be 
done in almost 
total dark- 
ness — just 
immediately 

in front of each operator there is a shaded light, or light re- 
flected through red glass. So sensitive are these plates that they 
must remain in the workman's hands before this light only 




294 



COMMERCIAL AND 



the shortest possible time. There are some eighty skilled men 
working in this way who only see the light of day after work- 
ing hours. 

In providing air and pure ventilation without light, there is a 
fine system of air funnels that most thoroughly accomplishes the 
object. These plates are used by photographers, and this com- 
pany has a business which extends throughout not only this coun- 
try but into all foreio^n countries, as the "Cramer plates," are 

known all over the civil- 
ized world, as unap- 
proached in speed and 
fine working q u a 1 i t i e s. 
The glass used is required 
to be of the choicest se- 
lections and of perfectly 
s t r a i g ht surface. The 
works are run by steam 
and have engine house, 
boiler house, and dyna- 
mo house, separate, while 
three fine springs supply 
the clear pure water which 
is requisite in the prepa- 
ration of the chemicals 
used in the process of 
H. A. Hyatt, 8th and Locust. manufacture. The oflaces 

of the company are on the main floor and the remaining portion 
of the upper part of the building is divided into systematically 
arranged departments under skilled hands for packing, labeling, 
storing and shipping. It is conceded to be the largest establish- 
ment of the kind known, and is a credit alike to the city as also to 
its owner, Mr. G. Cramer. 

H. A. Hyatt. — Photographic Goods, Picture Frames, Mould- 
ings, etc. ; Outfits for the Professional and i\mateur Photographer 
a Specialty ; Northeast Corner of Eighth and Locust streets. — 
The original establishment of this house occurred in 1848, Will- 




ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 295 

iam H. Tilford being its founder. Tlie firm of Gatchell & Hyatt 
succeeded to the business in 1873 and continued until 1881, when 
Mr. Hyatt became sole proprietor. The business has steadily 
grown from year to year and now embraces, in addition to the 
heavy city patronage enjoyed by the house, a large trade in all 
the territory tributary to St. Louis as a business center. The 
premises occupied by the business embrace three floors of the 
building, 25x140 feet in area, at the northeast corner of Eighth 
and Locust streets. A very large stock and full lines are carried 
including picture frames in approved modern and antique de- 
signs, mouldings in all styles and sizes, and a most complete as- 
sortment of all classes of goods for the use of photographers. It 
is the largest house in its line in the city and few in the country 
can compare with it either in the extent of its stock or the volume 
of its business. 

CAR MANUFACTURING. 

St. Louis is most advantageously located in regard to the pro- 
duction of cars for horse railways, cable lines, electric and other 
motor lines, including narrow gauge coaches. At the center of 
a hard wood region of unsurpassed quality, with iron in abund- 
ance and being the nearest large manufacturing city to the great 
west, south and southwest, St. Louis has greater facilities for the 
production and distribution of cars than any city in the country. 
There are three large manufactories here, who together turn out 
more cars 3^early than any other city in the United States and that 
means in the world, for the old world knows nothing of building 
cars in large numbers for street ways. The St. Louis Car Com- 
pany, whose plant is located convenient to shipping facilities — 
3023 North Broadway — had their large factory built especially 
for the purpose of car construction and equipped it with all the 
latest improved machinery, giving them a capacity of over 500 
cars a year; they employ some 200 hands and make horse, cable, 
electric and all other motor cars and narrow gauge coaches, which 
they supply to street way lines from Chicago on the northeast to 
California on the west and throughout the whole south and south- 



296 



COMMERCIAL AND 



west. The ears of St. Louis make have gained a reputation for 
elegance of finish and durability of construction that has caused 
their adoption more generally than those of any other manu- 
factured. The officers of the St. Louis Car Company are: Daniel 
McAllister, President; Julius Lefmann, Secretar\^ and Treas- 



urer; and P. M. Kling, Manager. 




PAiNT 



-''■■- ' ' ■• ''ii;llilIViACHINE SHOP ! 





St. Louis Car Co.'s Plant. 



Browxell & Wight Car Company. — F. B. Brownell, Presi- 
dent ; A. S. Partridge, Secretar}- ; Manufacturers of Street Cars ; 
2300 Broadway. — This business was originally established in 
1858, the present company being incorporated in 1875. The 
works cover half of two blocks at 2300 Broad wa}^, and are full}^ 
and completely equipped with all the necessary machiner3', plant 
and appliances for facilitating the efficient prosecution of the bus- 
iness. Employment is given to a force ranging from one hundred 
and fifty to two hundred workmen. The company manufactures 
street cars and has established an unsurpassed reputation for the 
superior workmanship, finish and perfect mechanism of its cars, 
of which it turns out from three hundred to four hundred per an- 
num. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS, 



297 



SADDLERY— WHOLESALE. 

There are eleven large concerns engaged in manufacturing sad- 
dlery and harness and in handling saddlery hardware who employ a 
capital of about $3,500,000 with annual sales of more than $10,- 
500,000 and these employ from 1,500 to 1,600 workmen. 
Besides these large factories there a number of smaller ones mak- 
ing whips, collars, and saddle trees and, by the way, this is the 
saddle tree market of the country as it is also the greatest center 
in the world in the 
manufacture and 
j b b i n g of sad- 
dlery, harness and 
saddlery hardware. 
The manufacturers 
here have a better 
appreciation of the 
wants of this trade, 
which they have 
studied in all its 
peculiarities, this 
with the concen- 
tration of immense 
capital in the busi- 
ness has made St. 
Louis the saddlery 
market. 

The p. Hatdens 
Saddlery Hard- 
ware Co. was es- 




The P. Haydens Saddlery Hardware Co. 



tablished in 1830, and with their numerous branch houses consti- 
tutes the largest concern of the kind in this or any other country. 
They maintain large houses besides St. Louis in the cities of Kewark, 
N. J., Bloomfield, N. J., Auburn, N. Y., Detroit, Mich., Colum- 
bus, O., Chicago, and Los Angeles, California. In these various 
establishments they manufacture saddles, harness, strap-work, 



298 



CO]SOIERCIAL AND 



hames, chains, collars, and all the many varieties of Saddlery 
Hardware known in the trade. Their St. Louis factory is located 
on Seventeenth street, convenient to railway facilities of Mill 
Creek Valley, and their offices and warerooms are at 510 and 512 
North Main street. Mr. C. H. Allen, Vice-President of the com- 
pany, is the manager of the St. Louis house. 

Jacob Straus Saddlery Company. — Jacob Straus, President; 
Philip Costam, Vice-President ; Adolph Sondheimer, Secretary 
and Treasurer ; Wholesale 
Manufacturers of Saddlery, and 
Jobbers of Saddlery Hardware. 
This is one of the largest houses 
in America and occupy the 
mammoth five-story and base- 
ment brick building 410. 412, 
414 North Sixth street. The 
building is one of the finest and 
most imposing blocks on the 
street and has a frontas^e of 60 
feet with a depth of 140 feet. 
The house was originally estab- 
lished in 1856 b}' Jacob Straus, 
the President of the present 
corporation, and the business 
was incorporated in 1884 with 
a capital stock of $300,000. 
The company employs about 
five hundred men, and manu- 
factures numerous specialties, 
among them Straus' patent halter, Straus' all leather flexible sad- 
dle, and Straus' patent metal spring side saddle. Every portion 
of the United States and Canada is visited by the twent}^ repre- 
sentatives of the firm and a large business is done even in the 
Eastern cities of New York, Boston and Philadelphia. Of late 
the house has sold extensivel}^ in Old Mexico. 

Leather Belting. — In every factor}' in the land belting is the 




Jacob Straus Saddlerv Co. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



299 



necessary element conducting machinery and motive power. 
The kind of belting then is the question for the operators of ma- 
chinery plants to decide. St. Louis has attained a world-wide rep- 
utation in this line of manufacture through the Shultz process or 
shultz. 

Patent Fulled Leather Belting. — The process of manufac- 
ture begins with selecting only green-salted butcher hides, and 
the butts only of these are used for belting, the remainder being 
worked into sole leather. They are then put through the same 
process as oak tanned leather except that, instead of being tanned 




Shultz Belting Co. '8 Works. 

through and through they are left in the vats only long enough to 
tan the surfaces, the interior remaining raw hide. The skins are 
then put through fulling machines and thoroughly worked for 
hours in oil, the result is a leather tanned on the surface and fulled 
inside, which makes it peculiarly soft and pliable and upon use be- 
comes very smooth on the side next the pulley, which it hugs bet- 
ter and transmits more power than any other belt made. The 
factory of the company is an extensive one as will be seen from 
the cut. It contains the most modern machinery, including sev- 
eral machines of Mr. Shultz' own invention and forms in itself 



300 



COMMERCIAL AND 




one of the most thriving and important manufacturing interests of 
St. Louis. Some of the belts made by this concern are enormous, 
fancy a 3 ply belt 36 inches wide, 160 feet long, weighing 1300 
pounds and costing $1,500 ; such work and even greater is being 
done b}^ the Shultz Belting Co. The products of the compan}^ are 
fulled leather belting, lace and Picker leather and their territory 
of sale includes all of the United States, Canada and the principal 
countries of P^urope. 

Chair Manufacturing. — This line of manufacture is entirely 
distinct from that of furniture, and constitutes of itself a monster 

industry in St. 
Louis. There 
are several large 
factories here 
c o n s i sting of 
^ immense plants, 
buildings, yards 
for s e a s o n ed 
lumber, etc., 
etc., and whose 
products have 
made St. Louis 
known as a 
m a nuf acturing 
and distributing 

point in this special line of manufacture. Taking the three large 
concerns as a guide there is about 700,000 dollars of capital 
employed in the business, with a total output annualh^ of a little 
in excess of that amount. The industry gives employment to an 
average of seven hundred hands, including men, b03^s and girls, 
two of the three large factories employing some girls. The other 
large factorj^ the 

J. H. CoxRADES Chair Co., a cut of whose building is here pre- 
sented by way of illustration, only employing males. The chair 
industry is well represented and the buyer in this line can find 
all the wants for his trade in St. Louis. 



raiiiiiiiiLHiifij 





mm 



mr 




J. H. Conrades C'liair L 



• ud and Tvler. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



301 



CARRIAGE MANUFACTURING. 

In times long ago the east was considered the only part of this 
country that had the facilities, skilled mechanics, materials, etc., 
with which to turn out a vehicle of superior quality or durability. 
Not so ifowadays, the western manufacturers being in the fieldr 
and knowing the exact wants of the big trade — that is the trade 
of the west — have completely captured this business, and 
besides, with vehicles of unsurpassed finish, style, and wearing 
qualities. St. Louis manufactures in this line are the equals of 
any produced and the demand for the home product is increasing 
rapidly every year. There is about Si. 500. 000 dollars invested 
here in the busi- 
ness, with a yearly 
product of some 
$2,500,000, givin.- 
e m p 1 o y m ent t- • 
more than 800 me- 
chanics. 

Jas. a. Wright 7^ -_-.,,« 
& Sons Carriage ^^^jj 
Company was es- ^ 
tablished in 1847 
by Mr. James A. 
Wright and from 
the commencement 




James A. Wright & Sons Carriage Co. 



has gained in importance until it occupies a leading position in the 
carriage manufacturing of the country. They have from the 
start made a specialty of the manufacture and repairing of fine 
carriages, etc. , and in their splendid six story building, which has 
a floor space of over 100,000 square feet, they carry a complete 
stock of finished coaches, landaus, barouches, surreys, wag- 
onettes, T-carts, phoetons, road wagons, in fact everything in the 
line of pleasure vehicles of rare finish and style. Their factory 
is a massive building 100 x 150 feet, at the corner of Washington 
avenue and 19th street, fully equipped, and gives employment to 



302 



COMMERCIAL AND 



nearly 100 skilled artisans whose workmanship has made the 
vehicles of this company famous. Mr. Jos. P. Wright is the 
President, and Mr. Frank L. Wright, Secretar^^ and Treasurer, 
of the Compan3^ Correspondence with parties desirous of pur- 
chasing an3"thing in their line is solicited. 

D. W. Haydock. — Wholesale manufacturer of carriages, 
buggies, surreys, etc.. Southwest corner of Tenth and St. Charles 
streets. Mr. D. W. Haj^dock came to this city from Cincinnati 
in 1878, becoming a member of the firm of Haydock Bros, and 
remainino; until the dissolution of that firm in 1883. He then 

went into business for 
U- _^tsami^ ^ himself at 1010 St. Charles 

street. In March, 1885, 
he was burned out and 
removed to his present 
lUarters at the corner of 
Tenth and St. Charles 
-treets, where he occupies 
.1 spacious four-story and 
asement building, 120x 
100 feet, fitted with all the 
necessary machinery and 
equipments for the suc- 
cessful prosecution of the 
business, and giving em- 
ployment to a force of three hundred workmen, all of whom are 
skilled mechanics. He makesaspecialty of fine and standard goods. 
His " D. W. Haydock Patent Cart" is the best two-wheeler in 
the world, while the Thomas coil spring bugg}^, for which he is 
sole agent in St. Louis, is without a superior. He manufactures 
Brewster side-bar, Timken side-bar, piano box, drop front, coal 
box, and Concord spring buggies, phaetons, barouches, sporting 
wagons, delivery wagons, jump seats, surreys, park wagons, etc., 
using the best materials, uniformly dished and perfectl}^ tracking 
wheels, and making ever\'thing in the best style and finest finish. 
Mr. D. W. Haydock devotes his whole time to his business, care- 




D. W. Haydock Carriage Manufactory. 
Tenth and St. Charles streets. 



THE iy£V7 YORir 






ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 303 

fully supervisiDg every detail, with the result that his goods are 
in demand in every part of the Union. He completed 4,500 jobs 
last year, and the indications are that 10,000 will be made during 
the present season. At the last Exposition his displa}^, an auto- 
matic exhibition of " Mary and Her Little Lamb," attracted 
much attention as one of the most unique and perfect. He has 
earned a merited success by excelling in the quality of his goods, 
prompt filling of orders and fairness in his dealings. 

Haydock Brothers. — Wholesale carriage manufacturers, 
northwest corner of Chouteau Avenue and Third Street. 

This firm has made rapid strides in progress since its establish- 
ment in 1878, and is to-day the largest establishment in the West, 
manufacturing buggies, phaetons, surreys, carriages, park and 
spring wagons, their works now occupy the entire block on Third 
Street, from Chouteau Avenue to Lombard Street, a distance of 
300 feet, and has a frontage of 150 feet on each of the latter 
thoroughfares. 

In addition to the main factory the premises include an ad- 
joining building on Chouteau Avenue. They also lease the large 
ware-room building, which covers the whole block on Broadway 
extending back to Sixth Street on Chouteau Avenue, which they 
utilize for storage of material, supplies, etc., this firm has a most 
complete plant, including all the most modern and improved 
machinery known to the manufacturers of vehicles, and gives 
steady employment to a force averaging about four hundred 
hands, and manufactures about (10,000) ten thousand vehicles 
annually. The work turned out at this establishment has a wide- 
spread reputation for its superior quality, the excellence of the 
material used, and the completeness of workmanship and beauty 
of finish, which is characteristic of every vehicle built at this 
factory. 

The firm has, in addition to their present building, a new fac- 
tory (see cut of building on opposite page), under process of 
erection, and a part of which is already completed and in use, 
located on Papin Street, extending from 13th to 14th Streets, six 
stories in height, and having a frontage on Papin Street of 325 



306 COMMERCIAL AND 

The officers of the compan}- are Michael Rohan, President ; Philip 
Rohan, Secretary and Treasurer ; and John Rohan, Vice-President 
and Superintendent. 

"Wm. Schotten & Co., direct importers, manufacturers of and 
dealers in teas, coffees, spices, etc. Office and sample rooms, 111 
and 113 South Second st., St. Louis. The house, established in 
1847, b}^ Wm. Schotten, father of the present proprietors, Hubertus 
and Julius Schotten, has from small beginnings become the largest 
one of the kind in the West. Its present proprietors are young men, 
St. Louis boys, thoroughly imbued with the business instincts of 
3'oung America. By keeping abreast with the times they have 
distanced all rivals and extended their trade over the West and 
South including the following States, Missouri, Illinois, Texas, 
Arkansas, Iowa and Nebraska. They carry a complete assorted 
stock of teas, coffees and spices and also grocer's sundries. Mr. 
Hubertus Schotten is the general manager while his brother Julius 
presides over its finances. In addition to the above they have 
large store rooms at 7 and 9 North 2d St., and their manufactur- 
ing department is equipped in the very best manner. Their capacity 
for coffee roasting alone being 500 bags a day. Their goods are 
known in the market as standard and first-class. A cut showinor 
the process of roasting coffee will interest many. 

PIANOS AND ORGANS. 

While St. Louis is not a heavy manufacturing point for goods 
of this class she is a large distributor of the manufactures of 
other cities. 

The wonderful development in taste for the best class of music, 
both in our homes and in our churches, and as a result the great 
and constanth' increasing demand throughout the west for the 
best musical instruments, is one of the strongest evidences of the 
growth of refinement and education among our people. No 
one thing affords so much pleasure and satisfaction in 
the home circle as a first-class musical instrument. Great 
credit, therefore, is due to those who have made a life study of 
the question of supplying ever}' f amil}' in the land with this source 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



307 




308 



COMMERCIAL AND 



of infinite pleasure and refinement and Messrs. Estey & Camp 
have done mucli to supply the west with fiist-class pianos and 
organs at moderate prices. 

The Estey Organ has for years held a high position as one of 
the leading organs of the world, and, owing to the energy of 
its makers in constantl}^ improving it, has outstripped all others 

in the race for merit 
and popularity. Feel- 
ing the necessity of 
being able to supply 
the demand for a piano 
of equal merit with 
the Estey Organ, the 
Estey Piano Company 
was formed some time 
since, and the Estey 
piano has already ac- 
quired the reputation 
of being the only real 
first-class piano which 
can be furnished at 
medium price. Thus 
with the Estey piano 
and the Estey organ, 
Messrs. Estey & Camp 
can supply every call 
for a fine musical in- 
*■ strument, and can 
yi»; and 'ji> (jiive street. make priccs and terms 

to suit all buyers. Their St. Louis house is located at 916 and 
918 Olive street, in new and elegant warerooms and visitors will 
always be welcome. 

This house has had a long and successful career in St. Louis, 
gained through the merits of their pianos and organs and through 
that strict adherence to sound integrity that wins the confidence 
of the public. They handle only first-class instruments which 




ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



309 



they sell for close cash figures or on the monthly payment plan and 
this feature by a reliable house is a great accomodation to the 
purchaser. Mr. Edward M. Read is manager of the St. Louis 
house. 

J. MoxTER & Co., 912 Olive street, was established in 1879, 
since which time 64,000 Steinway pianos have been sold. They 
handle besides these the pianos 
of Hazleton & Bro., the Sohmer, 
Gabler & Bro. : the Kutzman 
and James M. Starr & Co. 
Mr. Moxter is a practical piano 
maker and tuner, having learned 
his trade with the St. Louis 
Piano Company, and as a tuner 
of pianos he ranks second to 
no one, having devoted more 
than thirty years to that branch 
of the business. The company 
make a speciality of repairing 
pianos and have an establish- 
ment especially for that purpose 
at 911 Market street. The 
Steinway piano has an estab- 
lished reputation for its excel- 
lence throuojhout the music 



loving world and is selected on 




J. Moxter A: Co.,iil-J Olive. 



all great occasions on that 

account. They were used at the great Sangerfest, held here 

in June, 1888. 

The word '^ Home Comfort'' is now so universally known as 
applying to the splendid ranges made by the Wrought Iron 
Range Co. of St. Louis, that it is unnecessary to explain its ori- 
gin. These ranges are now more thoroughly sold throughout the 
Middle and Western States, five to one, than any range on the 
market. It is also being rapidly introduced into the Eastern and 
New England States, its great merit is conceded by all, and the 



312 



COMMERCIAL AND 



cific ocean. In December last, in orrler to facilitate bis large and in- 
creasing business, Mr. Hayes had it incorporated under its present 

name, but still controls 
its destinies and directs 
its affairs with the 
same energetic and 
accurate methods by 
which it has been built 
up to its present vast 
proportions. The com- 
pany occup3^ four floors 
of the elegant iron and 
stone buildings, lOOx 
150 feet, forming the 
northeast corner of 
Washinoton ave. and 
Seventh street. A 




Joseph M. Hayes Woolen Co., 7th & Washington av. 



force of fifty clerks and assistants are emplo3^ed, in addition to 
which fifteen traveling salesmen represent the house on the road. 
The company offer not onlj^ a large assortment of foreign woolens, 
but also the leading 
styles of fine and me- 
dium domestic fabrics 
for men's wear, while 
the stock of tailors' 
trimmings is full and 
complete. 

Newcomb Brothers 
Wall Paper Company. 
— George A. New- 
comb, President; 
Frank S. Newcomb, 
Secretary ; dealers in 
wall paper, curtain 
materials and art dec- 
orations; Seventh and 



Newcomb Bros. Seventh and Locust streets. 

Locust sts. — This is one of the prominent business firms of the city. 




ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



313 



It was established in 1852, and has earned a reputation for merit 
and artistic designs and workmanship, that has largely con- 
tributed to its successful patronage. After many years of suc- 
cess, the firm was incorporated as the Newcomb Bros. Wall Paper 
Co. in 1884. The stock carried is at all times large, and em- 
braces, besides the leading popular designs in wall papers, win- 
dow shades, curtain materials, etc., many original novelties in 
the way of interior decorations. Mr. George A. Newcomb, the 
senior member of the firm, 
and now President, is the 
active manager, and thor- 
oughly understands the re- 
quirements of his business. 
His high conception of 
merit, and his artistic taste, 
have combined to produce 
many delightful effects in 
decorations. 

Leonhard Rocs. — Be- 
fore establishing himself 
here in 1867, Mr. Leon- 
hard Roos had been en- 
gaged in the same line in 
New York City. His ex- 
p e r i e n c e, therefore, has 
not b e e n limited. He 
handles a full line of goods 
in furs, and makes a special- 
ty of work of the finest class. His exhibits at the Fair Grounds and 
the Exposition have been remarked as the finest ever displaj^ed in 
this vicinity. His trade is principally local, but he has many pa- 
trons also in Kansas, Nebraska and the neighboring states. He 
has about 18 or 20 hands employed the year round, and in the 
fall, his bus}' season, sometimes 40. His annual business amounts 
to about $150,000. 

In former years it was deemed necessary to send East for fine 




Leonhard Roos Fur Co. 



312 



COMMERCIAL AND 



cific ocean. In December last, in order to facilitate his large and in- 
creasing business, Mr. Hayes had it incorporated under its present 

name, but still controls 
its destinies and directs 
its affairs with the 
same energetic and 
accurate methods by 
which it has been built 
up to its present vast 
proportions. The com- 
pany occupy four floors 
of the elegant iron and 
stone buildings, lOOx 
150 feet, forming the 
northeast corner of 
Washinoton ave. and 
Seventh street. A 




Joseph M. Hayes Woolen Co., 7th & Washington av. 



force of fifty clerks and assistants are employed, in addition to 
which fifteen traveling salesmen represent the house on the road. 
Tlie company offer not only a large assortment of foreign woolens, 
but also the leading 
styles of fine and me- 
dium domestic fabrics 
for men's wear, while 
the stock of tailors' 
trimmings is full and 
complete. 

Newcomb Brothers 
Wall Paper Company. 
— George A. New- 
comb, President; 
Frank S. Newcomb, 
Secretary ; dealers in 
wall paper, c u r tain 
materials and art dec- 
orations ; Seventh and 
Locust sts. — This is one of the prominent business firms of the city 







Xewcomb Bros. Seventh and Locust streets. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



313 



It was established in 1852, and has earned a reputation for merit 
and artistic designs and workmanship, that has largel}^ con- 
tributed to its successful patronage. After many years of suc- 
cess, the firm was incorporated as the Newcomb Bros. Wall Paper 
Co. in 1884. The stock carried is at all times large, and em- 
braces, besides the leading popular designs in wall papers, win- 
dow shades, curtain materials, etc., man}^ original novelties in 
the way of interior decorations. Mr. George A. Newcomb, the 
senior member of the firm, 
and now President, is the 
active manager, and thor- 
oughly understands the re- 
quirements of his business. 
His high conception of 
merit, and his artistic taste, 
have combined to produce 
many delightful effects in 
decorations. 

Leonhard Rocs. — Be- 
fore establishing himself 
here in 1867, Mr. Leon- 
hard Roos had been en- 
gaged in the same line in 
New York City. His ex- 
p e r i e n c e, therefore, has 
not been limited. He 
handles a full line of goods 
in furs, and makes a special- 
ty of work of the finest class. His exhibits at the Fair Grounds and 
the Exposition have been remarked as the finest ever displayed in 
this vicinity. His trade is principally local, but he has many pa- 
trons also in Kansas, Nebraska and the neighboring states. He 
has about 18 or 20 hands employed the yeixv round, and in the 
fall, his bus}' season, sometimes 40. His annual business amounts 
to about $150,000. 

In former j^ears it was deemed necessary to send East for fine 




Leouhard Roos Fur Co. 



314 COMMERCIAL AND 

furs, and the fashions were dictated from there ; but the West has 
grown in culture in this respect commensurately with the advan- 
tages presented by leading houses, and now St. Louis ladies can 
better supply themselves with fashionable furs here, than they 
could in New York. Mr. Roos has lately occupied the handsome 
building shown in the illustration, at 512 Locust street, one door 
west of the new Mercantile Library building. 

The Bowman Dairy Company have lately finished their new 
building on the southeast corner of Sixteenth street and Franklin 
avenue, a view of which is presented here. The ground floors 
of these buildings furnish an area for the convenient handling 
of their business, to an extent of about twenty thousand square 
feet. In addition to this location they have large quarters, 
finished up specially for their trade, at Nos. 68-70 N. State 
street, Chicago, 111. The officers and owners of this company 
consist of Robert Bowman, president, St. Louis, Comfort E. 
Peck, vice-president, Chicago, Johnston R. Bowman, secretary, 
St. Louis ; Robert A. Bowman, treasurer, Chicago, and Earnest 
M. Bowman, assistant-secretary, St. Louis. With a paid-up 
capital of eighty thousand dollars their sales annually amount 
to two hundred and fifty thousand dollars worth of milk, cream 
and ice cream. In these specialties they outrank any other 
dealers west of the Allegheny mountains. This phenomenal suc- 
cess has been accomplished in a great measure from the fact that 
all of its officers are experts in the different branches of their 
business, and give to its management their entire and exclusive 
attention. See cut opposite page. 

St. Locis Bagging Company. — L. Levering, president ; H. R. 
Murray, secretar3^ ; manufacturers of "Phoenix," and " Globe" 
jute bagging; office 119 South Fourth street. This corporation 
was originally organized in 1855 as the St. Louis Bagging and Rope 
Company which was changed upon the renewal of the charter to 
the present style. It has always been a prosperous and prom- 
inent concern, and its business has steadily grown from j^ear to 
year, and it now enjoys an immense patronage in all the cotton- 
growing states. The company have a large factory at the corner 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 315 

of Twelfth and Gratiot streets fully equipped with all the latest 




Bowman Dairy Co. 

and most improved machinery, for the manufacture of bagging. 
A force of two hundred and twenty workmen are employed, many 



316 



COMMERCIAL AND 



SJlllBlilSgl 



of whom, including the superintendent, have been with the com- 
pany for about thirty years, the relations of the company with 
their employees having always been of the most satisfactory 
character. In addition to their manufacturing branch the com- 
pau}^ are agents for Pittsburg "Arrow" cotton ties. 

J. E. Cla.rk & Co., formerly Green & Clark, manufacturers of 
and wholesale dealers in Missouri cider and vinegar ; 2000 to 
2010 Pine street. — This business was established in 1867, in a 
comparatively modest way on Market street, but soon attracted 
the attention of the trade b}' the superiority of its product, until 
" Missouri Cider," the trade-mark of the firm, came to be 
acknowledged as an unequaled product, and the steadily increas- 
ing demand compelled the firm to seek new quarters. They 

now occupy an 
entire building 
of five stories, 
90x109 feet in 
d i m e n s i ns, 
'^§!i c ompletely 
equipped with 
ever}' facility 

J. E. Clark ^^t Co., Twentieth and Pine. and COnvC- 

nience for manufacturing, barreling, bottling and storing their 
product of Missouri cider and wine vinegar. They employ a 
force of sevent3'-five hands, and have in addition to a heavy 
cit}' business, a trade extending through the States of Missouri, 
Illinois, Kansas, Arkansas, Texas, Mississippi, Tennessee, Louis- 
iana, and the Southwest and South generally. 

The manufacture of artificial limbs is carried on in St Louis to 
such perfection that those who have been so unfortunate as to 
loose either an arm or a les; come long; distances to get a substi- 
tute for those members of the human frame. Many persons sup- 
pose that the manufacturers of arms and legs keep a stock of such 
on hand, which is a mistake however, as only such parts as are 
applied to the mechanical construction are in stock. To give the 
wearer a perfect substitute for the absent member of the bod}- the 







n JTriTTTIllfiSS 




^I-.. 






ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 317 

applicant should visit the apartments of the manufacturers so that 
the proper measurement can be taken and the Hmb made to order^ 
which will insure perfect results, in fact, if this is done the finished 
work makes the body whole again or as near it as the science of 
mechanism can do it. 

D. P. Kane is one of the leading manufacturers in this line, 
being one of the authorized makers for the U. S. government's 
soldiers. His efficiency has won him a high reputation, not only 
local, but throughout the land, and whoever the unfortunate, has 
been fortunate in securing his services. Having had a practical 
experience of a quarter of a century in manufacturing and ad- 
justing Artificial Limbs, and being fitted up with all the latest im- 
proved machinery used in their manufacture, he can furnish limbs 
of a much superior quality than those who are depending on 
having parts of their limbs made at various places. He makes in 
his own establishment every part of the Limbs that he manufac- 
tures, therefore he knows that every part will work in harmony 
with the other, and in case any part of a limb should need repair- 
ing it can be sent or replaced at once, as all the parts are made 
in duplicate. His improved system also enables him to furnish 
good limbs much cheaper than can be procured elsewhere and 
satisfaction guaranteed. His office and factory is at 205 N. ith 
street, and he has also a branch office corner 10th and Main 
streets, Kansas City. 

The Veteran and Railroad Men's Artificial Leg and Arms 
Manufacturing Company. — Michael Clear}^ manager; office 511 
Pine Street. This company make legs and arms to order ready 
to be applied at a moment's notice. These limbs are light but 
strong, and the natural movements of the wearer are so simulated, 
that only an expert can detect the substitution of the false for the 
real member. They have never yet failed to give perfect satis- 
faction, and that their artificial limbs are fully up to the highest 
standard, is demonstrated by the fact that they have been awarded 
first premium wherever they have been exhibited in competitive 
contest. Mr. Cleary's company is one of the places designated 
by the U. S. Government for furnishing discharged soldiers with 



318 COMMERCIAL AND 

artificial legs and arms ; paying also their transportation to and 
from his offlce. Mr. Cleary has made for his skill a record, a 
fact of itself sufficient to fix the standard of the specialties of his 
company. Mr. Clear\^ uses no self-measurement methods, but 
sends full information to all inquirers, and guarantees that every 
article which leaves the premises is precisely. as represented. 
His artificial limbs are warranted to give perfect satisfaction or 
no charge will be made. The eflficiency, elegance and durability 
of the company's limbs are emphasized by the fact that Mr. 
Cleary wears one of them himself in such a manner that it is dif- 
ficult to detect the fact. 

Heisler Electric Light Co. — Chas. Heisler, President, Man- 
ufacturers and Patentees of Arc and Incandescent Dynamo Ma- 
chines and Lamps, especiall}^ of the Heisler Long Distance 
Incandescent System. — The marvelous growth of this industry 
is best realized by calculating the enormous amount of capital 
that has been enlisted in the propagation of this system during 
the last two years. The Heisler Electric Light Co. [$200,000.00] 
the St. Louis lU'g Co. [$100,000.00] and 36 Central Station 
plants in all parts of this countiy representing a capital of at 
least $1,000,000.00. The great financial success which has at- 
tended every one of these enterprises and the perfection of the 
system in supplying all possible requirements for light from one 
central point, combining successfully the illumination of the 
streets with the universal supply of hght for commercial and do- 
mestic purposes, covering territories of an^^ desired extension, have 
earned for it the world wide reputation of its being the onlj^ system 
suitable to make successful competition to gas and to entirel}'' 
replace it. Its financial and technical strength has been chiefly 
brought to the test in the Eastern States, where in many instances it 
has superseded the old established companies furnishing gas and arc 
light illumination for entire cities. This remarkable success is due 
in the first place to certain inventions of great originality, the out- 
come of mechanical genius and persistent study and experiment in 
this and all other branches of electro-technic science, and second, 
to the superior methods applied in organizing the manufacture of 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 319 

the hundred of articles constituting an electric plant, which em- 
braces all degrees of mechanical skill, from the construction of 
heavy machinery to the finest piece of mechanism. One of the 
most important branches is the manufacture of the Heisler incan- 
descent lamps. This is forming a separate department of the 
factory on Seventh street, and it is stated the division of labor and 
the control of the same by means of automatic regulating devices 
is so perfect that it has been possible to dispense entirely with 
skilled labor, a matter of the greatest consequence for the reduc- 
tion of the running expenses of liglit plants. 

The building of these Central Stations in all parts of this coun- 
try, Oregon, Utah, Kansas, Missouri, Indiana, Minnesota, 
Texas, Arkansas, California, New Jersey, New York [7 large 
plants in the immediate neighborhood of New York], which in- 
cludes the construction of the electrical apparatus, the steam 
plant and the lines, has necessitated the keeping of a complete 
staff of expert electricians. The company has now at its com- 
mand such an effective force of trained engineers and the output 
of the Heisler factory has assumed such immense proportions that, 
as an example, it would not require more than four months' notice 
to build a great Central Station for the city of St. Louis with com- 
plete electrical and steam plants, consisting of boilers, heaters, 
pumps, engines, dynamos and automatic regulators, including 
also the construction of the necessarj'^ lines, for supplying the street 
illumination over the whole extent of the city, an area covering 
about 70 square miles. Near to 200 people are being employed in 
the various departments of the Heisler Electric Light Co. 

The St. Louis Illuminating Co. has been the first practical ap- 
plication of the Heisler system. It is one of the most extended 
incandescent plants in the world. The Central Station is at Sec- 
ond and Gratiot streets, and contains a steam plant of 500 H. P. 
capacity and electrical apparatus of a capacity of about 5,000 
lights. The circuits extend over a territory of not less than 12 
square miles. The company possesses pole lines along the streets 
from Fourth to Fourteenth and along Olive street from Fourth to 
Grand avenue. The business of the company is conducted on a 



320 



COMMERCIAL AND 



basis entirely different from the Eastern companies of the old 
systems, in as much as its operation is not confined to the sur- 




roundings of the station, extending to wherever there is a call for 
electric light irrespective of the distance. 

The distribution of Candle Power is of any variety from 15 to 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 321 

200 C. p., to suit the different requirements of private residences, 
commercial ligtiting, halls, clubs, libraries, etc. The progress of 
the company has been wonderful during the past year, owing to 
the merits of the light and to the reliable and satisfactory service. 
It is not too much to say that the entire retail business of this 
city, as far as it is distinguished by a fine display of merchandise, 
is using the Heisler Incandescent Light. Its brilliancy and un- 
varying steadiness makes it the superior of any other incandescent 
light in existence, a fact which is readily acknowledged by the 
Eastern visitors who are familiar with the quality of light fur- 
nished by the older systems. 

The financial success of this compan}^ is unparalleled in the his- 
tory of Electric Light Companies. It has been on a dividend 
paying basis ever since it was supplying the first 400-30 C. P. 
lights. It is rapidl}" approaching a point where it will exercise 
the control of the illuminating interests in St. Louis in regard to 
<^ommercial and private lighting. 

The history and career of the inventive genius and founder of 
these enterprises is a remarkable one and furnishes abundant 
illustration of what can be accomplished by brains, pluck and en- 
terprise. Mr. Charles Heisler, President of the compan}- whose 
title heads this paragraph, and managing director of the others, 
the St. Louis Illuminating Co. and American Carbon Co., which 
are the results of his wonderful power of invention, began his 
career in St. Louis in 1876 and has since done more to devise 
and render electric lighting practical and popular than any man 
living. He is a German, possessed of thorough education, and 
is a mechanical engineer and electrician of world-wide celebrity. 
He established himself here in the business of manufacturing 
hotel annunciators, house bells, burglar alarms, etc., which was 
a very successful enterprise from the first (1876). When his 
business had become thoroughly established and it had reached 
important proportions he formed the Heisler Elec. Bell and Bur- 
g;lar Alarm Co. The apparatus manufactured by this company 
ds of a very superior order and they are in general use every- 
where. There are many thousands of them in use, and they are 

21 



322 COMMERCIAL AND 

SO perfect that no re-adjustment or attention is required after 
once up. Notwithstanding the great and immediate success with 
which Mr. Heisler met in this line, his wliole desire was to ar- 
range and perfect a system of electric lighting, and much of his 
time was devoted to this object. He at last succeeded in this 
as in all other things, and the value of his discoveries and patents 
were early demonstrated in St. Louis and other western cities. 
So great was the success of this system, and so perfect the results, 
that in 1882 the Heisler Elec. Lt. Co. was incorporated with a 
paid up capital of 8200,000.00. which has been most successful ia 
its development and application of electric light for general illum- 
ination. While bnsil}^ occupied with the manufacture of arc light 
dynamos and arc light lamps after his own pattern he realized 
early the necessit}' of manufacturing the carbon points for electric 
light, and at a time when the manufacture of this article was con- 
sidered the secret of a few he proceeded to institute a manufac- 
turing process on his own accouat and to organize the American 
Carbon Co. (1879), and succeeded so well in regard to producing^ 
great quantities at cheap cost and of such excellent quality that 
the product goes out to all parts of the country, three-fourths of 
it being shipped to New York City. 

In regard to the Incandescent system which the company i& 
now manufacturing exclusively for all purposes of a Central 
Station Plant for street and indoor illumination as well as for 
outdoor purposes it must be stated that it is entirely his own 
original invention in direct opposition to the methods that were 
employed before. The difference can be stated in these words^ 
that while all the older systems are dependent on mains and sub- 
mains for conducting the current to the lights, the Heisler lamps 
are all connected on one single wire in series. It is at the present 
time the only successful long distance incandescent system. The 
character and high business standing of the patrons of this system 
indicate that it is its destiny to assume the most gigantic prq|)or- 
tions as a general illuminator. 

Fraatz Tot and Notion Company. — A. W. Fraatz, President 
and Treasurer ; John N. Kleff , Vice-President ; R. Veit, Secretary ; 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



;23 



Importers of Fancy Goods, Notions, Toys, etc. ; 619 and G21 
North Fourth street. — Twelve years ago, Mr. A. W. Fraatz, who 
had previously been engaged for eight years in the same line in 
Baltimore, established this business. The present company was 
incorporated in January, 1887, and occupies commodious and 
eligibly located premises. They are extensive importers and 
dealers at wholesale in notions, toys, fireworks, holiday goods, 
fancy deco- . -. 

rated glass- 
w ar e, baby 
c ar r i a ges, 
etc., and car- 
ry a large 
and finely 
assorted 
stock of all 
articles per- 
tain i n g to 
their line. 
I n addition 
to their he av}^ 
local busi- 
ness, they 
have a large 
and steadily 
i n c r e a s- 
ing trade 
th r oughout 

Missouri and Kansas and in Illinois ; a staff of active traveling 
salesmen representing the house in these States. In the depart, 
ments here, a corps of 34 assistants is employed. Mr. Fraatz 
is thoroughly experienced in all the details of the business, and 
to his active management the company owes, in a large degree, 
the prosperity which it enjoys. 

N. D. Thompson Publishing Company. — The Largest Sub- 
scription Book Publishing House West of New York. — The N. 




Fraatz Toy aud Nutiou Co. 



324 COMMERCIAL AND 

D. Thompson Publishing Co. of St. Louis and New York, is a 
business corporation regularlj^ organized under the statute laws 
of Missouri. It is the outgrowth of the old established firm of 
subscription book publishers, N. D. Thompson & Co. It was 
incorporated under the Great Seal of the State of Missouri, July 
30th, 1885, with enlarged facilities and a Paid-up Capital of Fifty 
Thousand Dollars (850,000), not including the Thompson Build- 
ing, at 1116 Pine street, St. Louis, where the Company's head- 
quarters are located — the property of its President ; and of 
course, exclusive also of much valuable real estate owned else- 
where by its individual officers. 

This company combines enterprise and solidity with strict in- 
tegrity^, and its career has been phenomenally successful. Sa^^s 
the dail}^ Missouri Republican : 

"It is a fact creditable to St. Louis that she has in the firm of 
N. D. Thompson Publishing Company, the largest distinctively 
book publishing house west of New York and Philadelphia. Be- 
ginning here in 1874, with seemingl}- modest pretensions, but 
with experience, tact, energy and broad enterprise, they have de- 
veloped a business that has not onl}'- placed them in the lead of 
Western book publishers, but made formidable rivalry with older 
Eastern houses. This rivalr}^ is not onl}" in bulk of business, but 
in the literary character and mechanical excellence of their books. 
Publishing exclusiveh^ for the subscription trade, they have done 
more to elevate the character of that branch of publishing, both 
by the excellence of their publications and their practical business- 
like methods of handling them, than, perhaps, any other house in 
America. 

Making a specialty of profusely and finely illustrated books, 
both of literary and practical value, they have demonstrated that 
works of genuine merit and good taste, produced even at an enor- 
mous expense, are, after all, the most profitable as well as the 
most satisfactory business investments. Their trade extends 
throughout the entire country. In the East it became so exten- 
sive as to necessitate the opening of a branch house in New York 
City, atEighth and Broadway, whichfor a number of years has been 



AKCHITECTUUAL ST. LOUIS. 



325 



runnmoj 
with 
marke d 
success. 
Three of 
their 
p u b 1 i- 
ca tions 
have had 
a sale 
exceed- 
ing 100,- 

000 cop- 
ies each 
of which 
3 0,0 
went to 
Austra- 

1 i a. In 
the m an- 
il f acture 
of their 
books 
constant 
employ- 
ment is 
given to 
about 
one hun- 
d r e d 
hands, 
and it is 
d u e to 
their 
e ff orts, 
more 
thaii any 
other :i;IH 
ho use, |pi! 
that St. W^ 




326 COMMERCIAL AND 

Louis has become a great publishing center. In selling their 
books profitable empWrnent is given to hundreds of canvassers, 
whom they specialh' instruct in successful methods of work." 

We present an excellent cut of the Thompson Building, photo- 
graphed for our columns by A. J. Fox and from another issue of 
the St. l^oms Republican's "Real Estate Xews," quote: "No- 
table among Pine street improvements, is the Thompson building 
recently erected between Eleventh and Twelfth streets. This 
building, which is extensivel}^ ornamented and highl}'- decorated, 
is owned and has been erected at great expense by N. D. Thomp- 
son, Esq., for the N. D. Thompson Publishing Company. It 
is in the eclectic stj'le of architecture, and is of iron, brick and 
galvanized iron construction, with plate and beautiful stained 
glass windows in the front. The front contains a uniquely built 
projecting bay window, commencing just above the first floor and 
extending to and merging into an oriental tower and crescent 
pediment above the roof, making the whole exterior one of im- 
posing and singular beauty. The interior finish is elaborate and 
highly ornamental." 

The principal offices of the Thompson Publishing Compan}- are 
on the second floor, embracing a very large general office, a 
private office, toilet rooms, etc. They are elaborately finished 
"with fine carving and ornamental work, which, together with the 
tasteful equipment of office furniture, makes one of the finest 
suites of business apartments in the cit3\ The vestibule, which 
is very roomy, has marble steps, and its Gothic doors are provid- 
ed with stained and ornamental glass. The vestibule floor is 
very handsomely laid with encaustic tiling, and, with the wains- 
coting of the same material highh' glazed, is a marked feature 
of the costly finishing. The building has an improved elevator, 
modern heating and lighting appliances, etc. In fact, it is first- 
class in every respect. 

" The X. D. Thompson Publishing Company forciljh' illus- 
trates, in the stead}' growth of its business, the great and varied 
advantages of St. Louis as a commercial center. It also demon- 
strates in a striking manner the immense importance of the sub- 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



327 



scription book trade which is its special line. Its canvassing 
agents are found in every State and territory, " down east " be- 
ing supplied from its branch house in New York. Its con- 
nections extend into Canada and Mexico, and during the past 
year it has repeatedly shipped five tons at a time of one of its 
publications to Australia. These shipments ^vere made in zinc- 
lined, hermetically sealed cases, to resist sea- water." 

Owning not only their own building, hut owning copyrights, 
plates and all the material entering 
into the manufacture of books, \ \ f 
every detail of this manufacture 
having their personal superintend- 
ence — employing the best machinery 
and material and the most skilled 
labor — this company is able to 
afford opportunities to canvassers 
presented by no other house in the 
west, and few, if any, in America. 

Up to the year 1871 St. Louis 
was without a reliable Director^^ 
On the advent of Mr. D. B. Gould, 
who in this year purchased the 
right from its former proprietor, ^""''^'^ Directory r.uiidmg. 

matters took a decided change and from this forward the St. 
Louis Directory has been one of the cleanest and most correct 
publications of the kind in the world. Mr. Gould is a 3'oung 
man, full of life and thoroughly identified with ever\'thing that 
appertains to the progress of this ;^reat city. 

Wooden Ware. — The Samuel Cupples Wooden Ware Com- 
pany, as is well known throughout business circles, is the largest 
concern of its kind in existence. The traveling salesmen of this 
house visit the cities and towns in the territory tributary to St. 
Louis in this line, which is from Maine to California and from 
the Gulf of Mexico to and beyond the Rio Grande. 

Soaps, Candles, etc. — St. Louis has several extensive houses in 




328 



COMMKKCIAL AND 



this line, employiug a capital of 81.000,000. giving work to 1,500 

people, who produce $2,500,000 worth of soai)s, oils, candles, etc. 

Furniture. — The iiumber of furniture factories is large, yet 

there are onporrnnities fur some ad'litiDnal ones on nn extensive 




A Bit of the Illuminatiou. 

scale ; probably the capital now used will reach $500,000, while the 
market in other lines would justify 85,000.0000 being emploj^ed 
in producing furniture for wholesale shipment. 

Iron. — This is a great market for iron and the seat of many 
extensive plants for the production of rails and bar iron while the 
jobbing trade is fully represented in all its branches. The 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 329' 

capital employed altogether is about $10,000,000 with an output of 
a little more than that amount. 

Hardware. — With seven very large jobbing houses in Hardware 
and Cutlery and several smaller ones St. Louis ranks as the largest 
distributing market in the country in this line. There is not less 
than 12 millions of dollars in the business and the trade is through- 
out the whole south, west, northwest and east to Ohio. 

The great feature of the fall festivities in St. Louis is the 
spectacular display of the " Veiled Prophet " whose grand entry 
into the city is witnessed by hundreds of thousands of people 
drawn from all parts of the country. Next the monster trades dis- 
play,, some of the individual exhibits of which cost as high as 
$5,000 for a single night's use. The illuminated streets and 
houses, the equal of which the world never saw, the grand full 
dress masked ball given in honor of his Royal Highness King V. 
P., the parades of other organizations, such as the Wheelmen, 
Base Ball Clubs, etc., and not least by any means though men- 
tioned last, the Flambeau battalions, are sights worth seeing. 
During the first week in October of each year St. Louis presents 
attractions that to witness will justify the expense and time in 
traveling thousands of miles. 

Permanent Exposition and Art Palace. — The engraving 
shows a perspective view of the grand structure which is to be 
erected in the Fair Grounds entirely composed of glass, iron and 
brick, and, therefore, completely fireproof. The main entrance 
is to be at the south end of the building, the total length of which, 
from south to north, will be 630 feet by 424 feet wide and 112 
feet high at the center. The roof of the central nave is to be a 
semi-circle truss of glass and iron, which will make the light both 
in the nave, and at the sides, as perfect as possible. 

The interior of the nave will contain the stage of the theatdr or 
music hall at the north end and the boxes and balconies on either 
side of it. These boxes and balconies mil open behind on to 
elegant promenades supported by colonnades and inclosed with 
brick walls, where the audience can stroll about and meet their 
friends or where they can have refreshments served in adjacent. 



330 



COMMERCIAL AXD 







rooms between the acts or 
parts of play, opera or lec- 
ture. This part of the build- 
ing, when in use for opera, 
concert or play, will be cut 
off from the main nave by 
aheav3" " drop curtain " that 
will be composed of iron or 
other incombustible material. 
The music hall is designed 
to seat 4,000 people. When, 
however, as, for instance, 
in convention times, it is de- 
sirable to provide accommo- 
dations for greater numbers, 
the " drop" can be raised 
and the entire area of the 
central nave used as an au- 
ditorium. In this wa}' 40,- 
000 people can be seated and 
eveTY one of them have a 
perfect view of the stage. 
No building of similar or 
anj'where nearly similar ca- 
pacity is known to exist in 
the world. 

On the right and left of 
the great nave, which by the 
way, will be filled with rare 
and exotic plants, shrubs, 
and trees, interspersed with 
fountains and made brilliant 
with the plumage of tropical 
birds, there are to be perna- 
ment exhibits made by mer- 
chants and manufacturers. 
This will all be placed in the 



ARCHITECTURAL 8T. LOUIS. 



331 



two-story division of the 
wings. Outside of these 
and only to be reached 
by corridors that will 
bring the visitor past the 
exhibits will be a series 
of courts, similar to those 
in S3T]enham palace, in 
which the architecture and 
ways of life of all ages 
and nearly all races will 
be displayed. There will 
be a Florentine court, a 
Pompeiian court, Ancient 
Roman, Grecian, Egyp- 
tian and Assyrian courts, 
courts illustrative of Mex- 
ico, China, Peru, Japan, 
Siam, the East Indian 





Esf^ptiaii Court 



Alycriaii C o u i f. 

countries, Russia, Ancient 
England, and, in fact, 
of all ages and races that 
can be considered either 
instructive or interesting. 
This monster building 
with its interior courts, 
stage, exhibition halls, 
etc., was designed by and 
will be erected under the 
supervision of Mr. Thos. 
Walsh, the architect. 
Many of the grandest 
structures in St. Louis are 
from his designs and were 
erected under his guid- 
ance. The government 
building, the new St. 
Louis University group 



332 COMMERCIAL AND 

of buildings, the handsome club house and grand stand of the 
St. Louis Jockey Club, the Eepublic building and the Chamber 
of Commerce being a few of them. 

The »American Engraving Co., corner Washington avenue 
and Third street, have completely revolutionized the wood engrav- 
ing business since their establishment here. Formerly those who 
required an artistic or well executed piece of wood engraving 
were under the necessity, many times, of having to look to New 
York for it, but since Mr. August Bayer, of this engraving com- 
pany, located here, the very finest sketching, designing and wood 
engraving is executed by his company. He is from New York> 
having been engaged in the engraving line there from a youth up. 
The difference between two pieces of wood engraving of the same 
subject carved by different men, may be as unlike in their ob- 
jects, which is to give a perfect illustration of the subject, as 
possible, one will be something like the design the other the exact- 
reproduction. St. Louis is fortunate in having an institution such 
as the American Engraving Company. 

It should be noted that in addition to the manufacturing, live 
stock, pork and beef packing interests of St. Louis, there are 
many large concerns engaged in these industries on the opposite 
bank of the Mississippi river in East St. Louis. They are for the 
most part really St. Louis people, the businesses run with St. 
Louis capital, but located there for special reasons. Among these 
large plants are those of Whittaker Pork Packing Co. , St. Louis 
Dressed Beef Co., East St. Louis Packing and Provision Co., 
National Stock Yards, Heim Brewing Company. 

The suburban resorts of prominence are Montesano Springs,. 
20 miles south, Creve Coeur Lake, 20 miles west, Florissant, about 
20 miles N. W., and Kirkwood, 14 miles S. W. There are fine 
springs at each of these and the attendance during warm weather 
is large. 

Becktold & Co. The Leading Book Manufacturers of the 
West. — One peculiarit}^ of the Southwest is a conservatism 
which takes account of vested interests as well as of purely specu- 
lative interests. This conservatism is quite consistent with un- 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 333 

tiring energy and intelligent progress, but it builds in view of a 
past and of a future and not in the spirit of " after us the 
deluge." This conserv^atism may be better or worse than the 
"progressive spirit" which takes account of nothing but con- 
stant changes ; still it is the spirit of business in the Southwest. 
It ceitainl}^ results in prosperity and steady growth, even though 
it be lacking in elan. 

The house of Becktold & Co., Publishers, Printers and Binders, 
maj^ serve as. an illustration. Beginning business in 1870. the 
firm undertook not to grow rich in a year, but to extend its busi- 
ness as rapidly as this could be done without risk to their cus- 
tomers, and instead of putting their whole effort into pushing 
their business, to reserve part of it for increasing their facilities 
and maintaining the excellence of the work done by them. It was 
the question of "the long run " or " the short run," and their 
wisdom has been vindicated by the result. The firm now occupies 
a quarter of a block in the heart of the business portion of the 
city ; have ever}^ appliance known to the trade ; have established 
a credit which causes them to be sought rather than to seek 
accommodation ; and have become known to the trade throughout 
the country. 

Their customers have learned to expect the best of work at the 
lowest prices which are remunerative ; they have learned to rely 
Implicitly upon any statement of the firm ; and a single experience 
with the firm removes all thought of competition. 

As the firm has enlarged its operations, and success has given 
them prominence in the community, they have been found to be 
acquainted with community interests and always ready to lend 
intelligent aid to these. 

Always devoting their personal attention to their business, they 
constantly bear in mind that success requires for its continuance 
the same effort that created it. The reputation of the house is to 
be jeopardized neither by inattention nor by allowing the quality 
of the work done to deteriorate or charges to grow extravagant. 
" A fair day's wages for a fair day's work ; " prosperity steadily 
increasing, rather than a sudden burst of success ; a business 



334 



COMMERCIAL AND 



which is to serve as the occupation of busy and honorable lives — 
these are the paramount aims of the^firm. As their plant has 
grown greater the firai has extended its sphere beyond the limits 
of the city and there is no business center in the United States 
which is not familiar with the name and excellent work of 
Becktold & Co., 200-212 Pine street, St. Louis. 




Becktold A: Lu. 

In closing this work it is but proper to recognize the excellence 
of the mechanical workmanship, which has been done by the 
Nixon-Jones-Printing Co. This house is not only fully equipped 
with all the paraphernalia, etc., that goes to make up a complete 
printing and book-making house, but is presided over by gentle- 
men of experience in the several departments. Mr. Geo. M. 
Bartlett is Secretary and Treasurer, and Mr. John T. Nixon is 
President and Manager. 




4!feJ^ 



THE NEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



AtTOR, LENOX AND 
TlWDiN FOUNDATIONS 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 335 



INDEX TO CONTENTS. 



Chapt 



ers. 

Page 

Agricultural and Mechanical Assn 38 

Amusements 70 

Architecture 178 

Cemeteries 168 

Charitable Institutions 140 

Churches 155 

City Government and Buildings 15 

Clubs 85 

Commercial 208 

Educational 99 

Financial 194 

Hotels 64 

Insurance .■: .♦; . ; , 191 

Libraries 133 

Military -. 83 

Office & Mercantile Buildings 184 

Parks 26 

Press, The 77 

Public Buildings 17 

Railway Lines 44 

Real Estate 170 

River, The 60 

Street Railways 40 

Streets, Ways and Boulevards 8 

Societies 93, 98 

Then and now 5 

Insets. 

Bank Commerce Building opp 19& 

Excelsior Manufacturing Co. Works, opp 272 

Frontispiece (steel engraving) , opp 5 

Grand Avenue High School, opp 99 

Haydock Bros. Building, opp 303 

Lindell Boulevard, opp 334 

Odd Fellows' Building, opp : 184 

St. Louis University, etc., opp 103 

Tayon Avenue Bridge, opp 58 

Turner Building, opp 177 

Vandeventer Place, opp 25 

Zoological Garden, scene in, opp 240 



^36 C03IMERCIAL AND 

Illustrations. 

Page 

Academy Visitation 119 

Alexian Brothiers Hospital 141 

Algerian Court 331 

American Central Insurance Vo 192 

American Wine Co 251 

Ames Hall 138 

Anheuser-Busch Brewery 276 

Anzeiger Des Westerns 80 

Armory 83 

Augusta Free Hospital for Children 1-12 

Bemis Bro. Bag Company 280 

Benton Monument 63 

Blair Monument 30 

Bowman Dairy Company, The 315 

Bridge 190 

Cathedral, The 156 

Central Type Foundry 290 

Chester & Keller Manufacturing Co 279 

Chestnut Street, East from Fourth 42 

Christian Brothers' College 106 

Chronicle, The Evening 79 

Church of the Messiah 157 

City Hall 15 

City Hospital 151 

Clark J. E. & Co 316 

Cook Avenue M. E. Church South 163 

Columbus Monument 35 

Commerce and Architecture 5 

Commercial Building 186 

Concordia College 120 

Conrades J. H. Chair Co 300 

Cotton Exchange 204 

Court House 14 

Cramer G. Dry Plate Company 293 

Crystal Plate Glass Company 266 

Custom House & P. ". 16 

Davis Saml. C. & Co 244 

Deere Mansur & Co 252 

Drach Chas. A. & Co 292 

Drew F. A. Glass Co 264 

Drummond Tobacco Co 235 

Eden College 122 

Egyptian Court 331 

Ehret- Warren Manufacturing Co 285 

Ely- Walker Dry Goods Co 244 

Equitable Building 44 

Estey & Camp . . .T 308 

Evans Bros. Tobacco Warehouse Co 234 

Evans & Howard 220 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 337 

Page 

Exposition Buildiug 75 

Fair Grounds Exposition 330 

Eire Department Building 19 

Eirst ctiurcli built in St. Louis 155 

First Congregational Church 159 

First Presbyterian Church IGq 

Four Courts and Jail 17 

Fourth street, north from Market 56 

Fraatz Toy & Notion Co 323 

Ganahl John J. Lumber Co ^ 224 

Gaus H. & Sons Manf g Co 230 

German Protestant Orphans' Home 146 

Globe-Democrat 79 

Good Samaritan Hospital • 148 

Gould Directory Co 327 

Grand avenue Presbyterian Church 161 

Grand Opera House 70 

Green Tree Brewery Co 277 

Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co 247 

Hanley James 304 

Haydens The P. Saddlery Hardware Co 297 

Haydock D. W 302 

Haydock Bros between 302, 303 

Hayes Jos. M. Woolen Co 312 

Heisler Electric Light Co 320 

High School 100 

Homoeopathic Medical College 113 

Home for Aged and Infirm Israelites 152 

Hotel of Early Days 64 

House of Industry ■ 140 

Humboldt Monument 39 

Hurst's Hotel 69 

Huse & Loomis Ice & Transportation Co 278 

Huttig Sash & Door Co 228 

Hyatt H. A 294 

Hydraulic-Press Brick Co 268, 271 

Illumination 328 

In Benton Park 40 

In Forest Park 10, 12, 27 

In Lafayette Park 22, 29, 31, 32, 41 

In Shaw's Garden 34 

In the Cemeteries 168, 169 

In the Park 24 

In Tower Grove Park 26, 36 

Insane Asylum 149 

Johnson Moses P 256 

Jones' Commercial College 116 

Laclede Building 194 

Law School, Washington University 127 

Library St. Louis University 104 

Liederkranz Hall 74 

Liggett & Meyers Buildings 174 

22 



338 COMMERCIAL AND 

Page 

Lindell Hotel 67 

Loretto Academy 117 

Lungstras Dying & Cleaning Co. (2) 289 

Manual Training School 123 

Marine Hospital 1 53 

Mary Institute 129 

Marquette Club 88 

Map 'Frisco Line 50 

Map Wabash Western Railway 51 

Mercantile Library 134 

Merchants' Exchange 20 

Merchants' Elevator 214 

Methudy & Meyer , 227 

Mississippi Glass Co 267 

Missouri Medical College 108 

Moxter J. & Co 309 

Murphy P. C 311 

Murphy Varnish Co 287 

Museum of Fine Arts 131 

Museum St. Louis University 105 

Newcomb Bros 312 

Nicholson David 249 

Old Spanish Fort 6 

Old Stockade House 7 

Olympic Theater 71 

Pacific Oil Co 263 

Peabody School 102 

Philibert & Johanning Manufacturing Co 225 

Pine street, east from Fourth 46 

Poor House and Farm 154 

Police Station, Lafayette Park 20 

Private Residence 172 

Public School Library 137 

Regina Mills 216 

Republic Building 77 

Residence L. L. Culver 171 

Residence Mrs. Browneil 179 

Residence W. B. Manny 181 

Rice, Stix & Co 243 

Riddle, Rehbein & Co 229 

Roe Building 187 

Rohan Bros. Boiler Manufacturing Co 305 

Roos Leonard 313 

Rosenheim Block 189 

Rumsey. L. M. Manufacturing Co 259 

Scherpe & Koken Architectural Iron Co 282 

Schotten Wm. & Co 307 

Shultz Belting Co : . . 299 

Schwab Clothins Co 245 

Second Baptist Church 158 

Sellers John M 286 

Shakespeare Monument 62 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 339 

Page 

Shaw's Garden, Entrance to 139 

Smith Academy 125 

Southern Hotel 65 

Straus Jacob Saddlery Co 298 

St. George's Episcopal Church 167 

St. James Hotel 68 

St. Paul's German Evangelical Church 166 

St. Peter and Paul's Roman Catholic Church 164 

St. Louis Car Company 296 

St. Louis Childreu's Hospital 143 

St. Louis Club 85 

St. Louis College Physicians and Surgeons 110 

St. Louis Cotton Compress Co 239 

St. Louis from Illinois Shore 60 

St. Louis Jockey Club 86 

St. Louis Jockey Club Race Course 38 

St. Louis Mullanphy Hospital 145 

St. Louis News Company 81 

St. Louis Post-Graduate College 112 

St. Louis Seminary 114 

St. Louis Shot Tower Co 282 

St. Louis Sugar Refining Co 218 

St. Louis Stamping Co T 261, 262 

St. Louis Union Stock Yards Co 209 

Temple Israel 165 

Thalmann B 291 

Third street from Pine 8 

Thompson N. D. Publishing Co 325 

Union Depot 45 

Union Market 206 

Vandalia Line 42 

Washington University 121 

Water Tower, New. , 23 

Water Works and Tower 21 

Wellpott C. H. W 288 

Westliche Post 80 

Whitman Agricultural Co 255 

Wood Walter A. Harvesting Machine Co. .* 258 

Wright James A. & Sons Carriage Co 301 

Wrought Iron Range Co .... 310 



Text. 

Abstracts of Title, 173. American Wines, 250. 

Academy of Visitation, 118. American Exchange Bank, 196. 

Agricultural Implements, 251. Apollo Hall, 73. 

Alexian Bros. Hospital, 141. Anheuser-Busch, 276. 

America The, 81 . Anzeiger The, 80. 

American Engraving Co., 332. Architectural Iron, 281. 

American Central Ins. Co., 191. Athletic, 90, 91, 92. 

American Central Ins. Bldg., 188. Augusta Free Hospital, 142. 



340 



COMMERCIAL AND 



Bassing, 217. 

Banks, 196. 

Bank Commerce, 196. 

Bank Commerce Building, 187. 

Bank Directors, 198, 200. 

Becktolcl & Co., 332. 

Bemis Bro. Bag Co., 280. 

Betts R. H. & Co., 177. 

Blind Asylum, 150. 

Blind Girls' Home, 144. 

Boatmen's Savings Bank, 196. 

Boots and Shoes, 246. 

Boiler Making, 305. 

Bowman Dairy Co., 314. 

Bremen Bank, 196. 

Brewing Industry, 274. 

Browriell-Wi2ht,^296. 

Bryden Coal & Coke Co., 242. 

Burlington System, 53. 

Building Associations, 201. 

Byrne John Jr. & Co., 176. 

Car Manufacturing, 295. 

Carriage Manufacturing, 301. 

Central Type Foundry,^ 290. 

Chair Manufacturing, 300. 

Charter Oak Stoves, 272. 

Chester & Keller, 279. 

Clark J. E. & Co., 316. 

Cleary Michael, 317. 

Clothing Wholesale, 245. 

Cairo Short Line, 55. 

Central Mo. R. R., 57. 

Centenary Methodist Church, 158. 

Central Presbvterian Church, 163. 

Chicago, Alton & St. L. R. R., 53. 

Chicago, Burl'n«S: Quincy Ry., 53. 

Chicago, St. L. & Paducah, 55. 

Church of the Messiaii, 157. 

Chronicle The, 79. 

City Hospital, 150. 

Citizens' Savings Bank, 197. 

Coal, 241. 

Conrades J. H. C. Co., 300. 

Cramer G. D. P. Co., 293. 

Crystal Plate Glass Co., 265. 

Coleman R. L. & Co., 8. 

Concordia Club, 89. 

Concordia College, 120. 

College Christian Bros., 106. . 

Commercial Bank, 196. 

Continental Bank, 196 

Coffee, 217. 

Cotton, 237. 



Compressing Cotton, 238. 

Covenant Mut. Life Ins. Co., 193. 

Davis Sam'l C. & Co., 244. 

Deere, Mansur & Co., 252. 

Donaldson & Co., 197. 

DrachChas. A. & Co., 292. 

Drew F. A. Glass Co., 265. 

Drugs Wholesale, 236. 

Drummond Tobacco Co., 234. 

Drv Goods Wholesale, 242. 

Drv Plates, 293. 

Dun R. G. & Co., 206. 

Eden College, 120. 

Ehret-Warfen Mfg. Co., 284. 

Elevators, 214. 

Elks Club, 89. 

Estey & Camp, 308. 

Evans Bros. T. W. Co., 233. 

Evans & Howard, 219. 

Excelsior Mfg. Co., 272, 273. 

Exchanges, 203, 205. 

Exposition, 75. 

Female Hospital, 150. 

Fisher & Co., 177. 

First Congregational Church, 159. 

Fire Clav and Products, 219. 

Flour, 2i5. 

Fourth National Bank, 196. 

Fraatz Toy and Notion Co., 322. 

Fraukenthal A. & Bro., 248. 

Franklin Bank, 196. 

Furniture, 328. 

Ganahl J. Lumber Co., 224. 

Gaus H. & Sons Mfg. Co., 230. 

Gaylord & Co., 197. 

German Savings Institution, 8, 196. 

Gentlemen's Driving Club, 90. 

German-American Bank, 196. 

Gents' Furnishings Wholesale, 248. 

German General Prot. 0. H., 147. 

German Protestant, O. H., 146. 

Germania Club, 89. 

Globe-Democrat, 46, 78. 

Good Samaritan Hospital, 148. 

Gould Directory, 327. 

Grable & Weber, 165. 

Grain, 213. 

Granite Ironware, 260. 

Grand Opera House, 70. 

Grand Avenue High School, 101. 

Green Tree Brewery Co., 277. 

Groceries Wholesale, 249. 

Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co., 247. 



ARCHITECTURAL ST. LOUIS. 



341 



Hardware, 329. 

Hatch Stephen D., 185, 194. 

Hats and Caps, 247. 

Hanley James, 304. 

Harmonie Club, 89. 

Hayes Jos. M. Woolen Co., 311. 

Hay dens Saddlery Co., 297. 

Haydock D. W., 302. 

Haydock Bros., 303. 

Heisler Electric Light, 318. 

High Wines, 217. 

Hill, Fontaine & Co., 240. 

Hoffman Sam'lH., 174. 

Home for Aged Israelites, 152. 

Hopkins H. S. & Co., opp. 58. 

Hotel Barnum, 69. 

Homoeopathic Med. College, 113. 

Huse & Loomis I. & T. Co., 278. 

Hurst's Hotel, 69. 

Huttig Sash and Door Co., 226. 

Hydraulic-Press Brick Co., 267. 

Hyatt H. A., 294. 

Illinois & St. L. K. R., 54. 

Indianapolis & St. L. R. R., 54. 

Insane Asylum, 150. 

International Bank, 196. 

Iron, 328. 

Jones Commercial College, 116. 

Johnson Moses P., 256. 

Kane D. P., 317. 

Kensington Garden, 76.' 

Knapp, Stout & Co. Company, 225. 

Koetter's Hotel, 69. 

Kohn &Co., 198. 

Laclede Building, 184. 

Laclede Bank, 196. 

Lafayette Bank, 196. 

Lafayette Park Presb. Church, 162. 

Laclede Hotel, 68. 

Law Library, 138. 

Leather Belting, 298. 

Legg J. B., 171, 179. 

Linden Hotel, 66. 

Liederkranz Hall, 73. 

Live Stock, 208. 

Little Bond Co., 198. 

Loretto Academy, 117. 

London Theater, 74. 

Louisville & N. R. R., 57. 

Lumber, 222. 

Lungstras D. & C. Co., 289. 

Marine Hospital, 151. 

Markets, 207. 



Mathews & W., 198. 
Manufactured Tobacco, 232. 
Marquette Club, 87. 
Mechanics' Bank, 46, 196. 
Merchants Elevator, 214. 
Methudy & Meyer, 226. 
Meyer Bros. Drug Co. 236. 
Merchants National Bank, 196. 
Mercantile Library, 133. 
Mercantile Club, 87, 
Merchants' Hotel 69. 
Missouri Pacific R. R., 48. 
Missouri Pacific Offices, 44. 
Mississippi V. T. Co., 61. 
Millinery, 248. 
Mississippi Glass Co., 266. 
Missouri Granite, 270. 
Missouri Medical College, 107. 
Miller L. Cass, 185, 194. 
Mobile & Ohio R. R., 54. 
Moxter J. & Co. 309. 
Mullanphy Savings Bank, 197. 
Murphy P. C, 310. 
Murphy Varnish Co., 287. 
Mullanphy Emigrant R. F.. 154. 
National Banks, 196. 
Newcomb Brothers, 312. 
Nelson & Noel, 198. 
Nicholson David, 249. 
Nixon-Jones Printing Co., 334. 
N. W. Savings Bank, 197. 
Odd Fellows Building, 184. 
Ohio & Miss. R. R., 54. 
Olympic Theater, 71. 
Pacific Oil Co., 263. 
People's Theater, 72. 
Permanent Exposition, 329. 
Pianos & Organs, 306. 
Pilgrim Con. Church, 160. 
Philibert & Johanning Mfg. Co. ,225. 
Pickwick Theater, 73. 
Plate & Window Glass, 264. 
Planters' House, 67. 
Post-Dispatch, 80. 
Pope's Theater, 74. 
Provisions & Packing, 210. 
Ramsey Chas. K., 181. 
Regina Mills, 216. 
Republic, 78. 

Reynolds Thos. R. & Co., 173. 
Rice, Stix & Co., 243. 
Riddle, Rehbein &Co., 229. 
Roe Bldg., 187. 



342 



COMMERCIAL AND 



Rosenheim Block, 188. 

Rosenheim Levis & Co., 248. 

Rosenheim A. F., 189. 

Rothschild Bros. 247. 

Rowse E. S., 176. 

Rohan Brothers, 305. 

Roos Leonhard, 313. 

Rumsey L. M Mfg Co., 259. 

Saddlery Wholesale, 297. 

Safe Deposit Cos., 202. 

Scherpe & Koken, 281. 

Schotten Wm. & Co., 306. 

Schulenburg & Boeckeler, 223. 

Schwab Clothing Co., 245. 

Schnaider's Garden, 74. 

Sellers Jno. M., 56, 280. 

Senter & Co., 241. 

Second Presbyterian Church, 158. 

Second Baptist Church, 158. 

Shipments of Grain, 61. 

Shultz Belting Company, 299. 

St. Louis Car Company, 295. 

St. Louis Bagging Company, 314. 

St. Louis College Phy. &Surg., 109. 

St. Louis Children's Hospital, 143. 

St. Louis Gun Club, 90. 

St. Louis Cotton Compress Co., 238. 

St. Louis Public Library, 135. 

St. Louis Post-Grad. College, HI. 

St. Louis Mullanphy Hospital, 145. 

St. Louis National Bank, 196. 

St. Louis Sugar Refinery, 217. 

St. Louis Seminary, 114. 

St. Louis Mercantile Library, 138. 

St. Louis Stamping Co., 260" to 263. 

St. Louis Shot Tower Co., 282. 

St. Louis University, 103. 

St. Louis & San Francisco Ry., 49. 

St. Louis, Keokuk & N. W. Ry., 52. 

St. Louis & Central 111., 53. 

St. L., Alton & T. H. R. R. Co., 55. 

St. Louis, Ark. & Texas Ry., 55, 

St. Louis, K.C. & Colo. Ry., 56. 

St. Louis Merchants' Bridge, 58. 

St. Louis Transfer Co., 58. 

St. Louis Republic, 78. 

St. Louis Tribune, 81. 

St. Louis News Company, 81. 

St. Louis Club, 85. 

St. Louis Bank-Note Company, 202. 



St. Louis Jockey Club, 87. 

St. L. Chess, Check. & W. Club, 90. 

St. Louis Base Ball Assn., 90. 

St. Luke's Hospital, 152. 

St. James Hotel, 68. 

Standard Theater, 73. 

Southern Hotel, 65. 

Star-Sayings, 79. 

Southwestern System, 48. 

Stoves, 272. 

Syenite Granite Co., 270, 272. 

Straus Jacob Saddlery Co., 298. 

Soaps, etc., 327. 

The Missouri Pacific R. R., 48. 

Third National Bank, 196. 

Thalmann B., 290. 

Thompson N. D. Pub. Co., 323. 

Tobacco, 231. 

Toledo & St. L. R. R., 57. 

Turner Chas. H. & Co., 177. 

Turner Building, 185. 

Turner R. E. & Bldg. Assn., 198. 

Uhrig's Cave, 73. 

University Club, 86. 

Ursuline Academy, 132. 

Varnish, 287. 

Vandalia Line, 42, 52. 

Venice, Marine and E. R. R., 57. 

Wabash Western Ry., 50. 

Washington University, 122. 

Wash. av. Presbyterian Church, 162. 

Walsh Thomas, 16, 331. 

Westliche Post, 80. 

Weil A. J. & Co., 198. 

Wernse Wm. F. & Co., 198. 

Wernse & Dieckman, 198. 

Wellpott C. H. W., 288. 

White Lead & Oil, 216. 

Wholesale Drugs, 236. 

Whitman Agricultural Co., 254. 

Wine, American, 250. 

Wiggins Ferry Co., 61. 

Wolff M. A. & Co., 175. 

Wood Walter A. & Co., 257. 

Wooden Ware, 327. 

Wright James A. Co., 301. 

Wrought Iron Range Co., 309. 

Young Ladies Seminary, 117. 



mm 






m 



i 



^'iff'i 



m 
'i'^}^i^i\